Re: Random Posts Thread ...

Postby Rovin » July 30th, 2022, 11:43 am

xtech wrote:12D56D46-C55D-45E8-B7F9-642262B6D7D0.jpeg

thats a cool pic , arnie like boi wa u go do - dem men have meh looking short

he almost a foot shorter than will & andre is sad to be even taller than will ...

Postby Rovin » July 30th, 2022, 8:12 pm

Postby maj. tom » July 30th, 2022, 10:22 pm

Does this trigger a long lost memory for anyone else? Around mid-1999 on the radio. Fridays I think? Weekly top 40s near the lower end. And then it disappeared. And I have not heard it again until today.

The opinion column it was based on. This was a top 40s hit played on radio. Of a man just reading this speech. Really weird.
https://www.chicagotribune.com/columns/chi-schmich-sunscreen-column-column.html

Postby alfa » July 30th, 2022, 10:39 pm

maj. tom wrote:Does this trigger a long lost memory for anyone else? Around mid-1999 on the radio. Fridays I think? Weekly top 40s near the lower end. And then it disappeared. And I have not heard it again until today.

The opinion column it was based on. This was a top 40s hit played on radio. Of a man just reading this speech. Really weird.

I remember it's being a big hit back then. Heard it once or twice on radio since. As I got older I understood better some of these things he spoke about

Postby Rovin » July 30th, 2022, 11:20 pm

clearly remember it , havent heard it on d radio since they used to play it often back in its time

stumbled on it on YT a few yrs ago & i supposed to have it in my collection ...

Postby De Dragon » July 31st, 2022, 12:56 pm

That Baz Luhrmann plays on 103.5 from time to time

Random Posts Thread ...

Postby Rovin » August 8th, 2022, 5:17 pm

Eating doubles with chopsticks
well it still going in yuh belly anyhow u eat it ...

Postby shogun » August 8th, 2022, 11:20 pm

She proficient with them chopsticks too.

Need to up my game, yo

Postby maj. tom » August 11th, 2022, 8:08 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 12th, 2022, 10:35 am

maj. tom wrote:Does this trigger a long lost memory for anyone else? Around mid-1999 on the radio. Fridays I think? Weekly top 40s near the lower end. And then it disappeared. And I have not heard it again until today.

Maybe they need to play this again for the current generation

Postby aaron17 » August 12th, 2022, 10:49 am

^^ one of a kind track..nostalgia

Postby maj. tom » August 13th, 2022, 10:35 am

In June 2022 a Reddit user (/u/sarsaparilla170170), uploaded probably THE most wanted Lost Media from Sesame Street, the Wicked Witch episode from 1976 (Ep 847).

The original Wizard of Oz 1939 film actress Margaret Hamilton guest starred. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wicked_Witch_of_the_West#Hamilton's_other_appearances_(including_on_Sesame_Street)

This episode of Sesame Street was actually banned from airing after the first time and lost media until now. Why? Because WITCH and somewhat adult themes for a 1976 children's television broadcast.

I watched a bit of it. Some of the interlude cartoons I can still remember watching in my day, the music and content was so good, creative, original. Like the letter "Capital I" song, and the frog climbing the branch i still remember. Compare that to how Sesame Street media has changed now. Also a nice glimpse of contemporary life in some the clips filmed in 1975, 47 years ago. Very entertaining!

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 13th, 2022, 11:02 am

Bruh....thanks for that.

Postby maj. tom » August 13th, 2022, 11:05 am

the Sesame Street Pizza!!! @ 18:50
Who remembers that! I think it was filmed for the first set of production in 1969.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 13th, 2022, 11:17 am

Over the years I have watched every bit shown besides the witch parts. I did not miss seasme street back in the day, twice a day for years then once a day when I started school till I was maybe 8 or 9.
Last edited by Strugglerzinc on August 13th, 2022, 11:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rovin » August 13th, 2022, 11:21 am

a whole hr bai , i will hadda watch dat home on my tv

SS started in 1969 way b4 my time but i do know of old skool show from d 80s until they started d season with hiphop\latin intro then i eh feel to watch it as much ...

xtech

Postby xtech » August 18th, 2022, 8:46 am

Japan has a message for its young adults: Drink more alcohol

Japanese government officials, worried about shifting demographics and a sharp decline in sin tax revenue, have come up with an unusual fix for their fiscal woes: encouraging young people to drink more.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/world/20 ... cohol-tax/

Postby shogun » August 21st, 2022, 7:15 am

Local dude dug this up. Trying to remember exactly where.

Had the link a while, kept forgetting and lost it.

245723435_1855694354602659_6667843785793989973_nzz.jpg

245919634_1855694207936007_2705861963944790198_n.jpg

245783030_1855694304602664_5318090937540445603_n.jpg

245772365_1855694251269336_2161598669221330190_n.jpg

Postby maj. tom » August 21st, 2022, 10:44 am

At first i wat to say it has fictional resemblance to a Spanish Conquistador sword. But the handle looks very modern, maybe aluminium given the oxide layer and the entire piece is in too excellent condition. Alum started being mined during the Napoleon years and was a very precious metal at that time. But this still looks much too modern and good condition for that.

Give more details please, link the post. UWI archaeology took it and examined it?

Postby Rovin » August 21st, 2022, 1:53 pm

nice post of that sword thingy

this is making d rounds on fb , have to admit i never saw it b4 but man its a great piece of education for kids if they could understand it at a young age ... some adults too can learn from this

Postby shogun » August 21st, 2022, 1:54 pm

maj. tom wrote:At first i wat to say it has fictional resemblance to a Spanish Conquistador sword. But the handle looks very modern, maybe aluminium given the oxide layer and the entire piece is in too excellent condition. Alum started being mined during the Napoleon years and was a very precious metal at that time. But this still looks much too modern and good condition for that.

Give more details please, link the post. UWI archaeology took it and examined it?

Know you would be one of the Tuners that might be able to help gauge the authenticity/age.

As far as I remember the link was posted just a day or two after it was dug up and I believe the guy found it at a construction site. Doubt UWI archeology center had a chance to look at it yet, when I saw the post. If I find the link again will post it. Had it saved somewhere and only came across the pics in a folder and decided to post them here with what I remember from the post.

Postby timelapse » August 21st, 2022, 5:34 pm

shogun wrote:Local dude dug this up. Trying to remember exactly where.

Had the link a while, kept forgetting and lost it.

245723435_1855694354602659_6667843785793989973_nzz.jpg

245919634_1855694207936007_2705861963944790198_n.jpg

245783030_1855694304602664_5318090937540445603_n.jpg

245772365_1855694251269336_2161598669221330190_n.jpg
That reeks of Angelo Bissessarsingh.RIP.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 22nd, 2022, 6:02 am

A Santa Cruz man who had a little too much to drink and fell asleep behind the wheel before deciding to park the car and travel home, was later robbed of his vehicle.

The 42-year-old of La Sagesse Road reported that around 11:45 pm on August 19, he got into the silver coloured CK4 Mitsubishi Lancer which had been parked along Maloney Street, Petit Bourg, San Juan, in the vicinity of Bermudez Biscuits Co. Ltd. after having some drinks.

He admitted to rolling down the window as he fell asleep.

The victim awoke around 2 am on August 20 and observed the key had been removed from the ignition.

However, he went back to sleep until 7:30 am, following which he awoke and secured the car by locking all doors and windows manually before he left.

Returning to the location around 11 am the same day, the victim realised the car was missing.

Officers of the San Juan CID visited the scene, and a report was lodged with the Stolen Vehicles Unit.

Requests for CCTV footage from businesses and residents in the area have also been made.

one word. idiot!

Postby shogun » September 3rd, 2022, 10:52 am

These everywhere online lately.

300172802_582980363304304_3361842472293337040_n.jpg

Postby Rovin » September 3rd, 2022, 10:58 am

every few mths ppl repost it - it also have d 1 with d galant making d rounds too ...

Postby shogun » September 3rd, 2022, 11:00 am

Yeah, think I saw that one too.

Postby Rovin » September 5th, 2022, 2:13 pm