Where to buy a Convex lens mirror for driveway?

Postby aaron17 » July 18th, 2020, 7:42 am

I have a severe blindspot when reversing out of my driveway on one side. I have seen homeowners have the smaller lens rather than those big public ones. I have no clue if it would work or where to buy it. Any help appreciated. Thanks.

Last edited by aaron17 on July 29th, 2020, 8:44 am, edited 2 times in total.

speedmelter

Re: Where to buy Physical Fisheye lens mirror?

Postby speedmelter » July 18th, 2020, 8:07 am

Call one of those glass places.. e.g delta glass etc

Postby aaron17 » July 18th, 2020, 8:21 am

speedmelter wrote:Call one of those glass places.. e.g delta glass etc
Ok cool

Postby adnj » July 18th, 2020, 8:23 am

aaron17 wrote:
speedmelter wrote:Call one of those glass places.. e.g delta glass etc
Ok cool
Convex mirrors are usually sold by safety and security suppliers.

agent007

Postby agent007 » July 18th, 2020, 8:24 am

IRP Fire and Safety

Postby maj. tom » July 18th, 2020, 8:55 am

I think i see those convex traffic mirrors in a big hardware not too long ago.
Allied Homestore maybe, or maybe Southern Supplies. You should call around OP.

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 18th, 2020, 3:40 pm

Just take an ordinary mirror and heat it up

then press in the middle with ur hands. (from the underside, otherwise you'll get a concave lens instead of a convex lens)

NR8

Postby NR8 » July 21st, 2020, 1:16 pm

Safety Plus sells them in various diameters.

Postby aaron17 » July 23rd, 2020, 2:17 pm

NR8 wrote:Safety Plus sells them in various diameters.
Called in pt lisas and they out ah stock.

Postby RedVEVO » July 24th, 2020, 3:22 pm

If you have problem driving backwards ( reverse procedure ) out of the home ..

Just do a reverse parking and in the mornings when you leaving your wife's sister you go straight .

Why you want to put up a big mirror in front the house ?

You think your lover have more lovers ?

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » July 24th, 2020, 3:40 pm

You didn’t try delta glass man? I remember some years ago they supplied about 50 for a project

Postby aaron17 » July 24th, 2020, 4:33 pm

RedVEVO wrote:^^

If you have problem driving backwards ( reverse procedure ) out of the home ..

Just do a reverse parking and in the mornings when you leaving your wife's sister you go straight .

Why you want to put up a big mirror in front the house ?

You think your lover have more lovers ?
Lol i dont want to back up into a bike man.

Postby aaron17 » July 24th, 2020, 4:33 pm

speedmelter wrote:You didn’t try delta glass man? I remember some years ago they supplied about 50 for a project
Will try

Postby ronsin1 » July 25th, 2020, 8:17 pm

Caribbean Glass normally has

Postby nervewrecker » July 25th, 2020, 8:21 pm

aaron17 wrote:I have a severe blindspot when reversing out of my driveway on one side. I have seen homeowners have the smaller lens rather than those big public ones. I have no clue if it would work or where to buy it. Any help appreciated. Thanks.

like you get the contract to supply the mirrors?

Postby aaron17 » July 26th, 2020, 3:18 pm

aaron17 wrote:I have a severe blindspot when reversing out of my driveway on one side. I have seen homeowners have the smaller lens rather than those big public ones. I have no clue if it would work or where to buy it. Any help appreciated. Thanks.

like you get the contract to supply the mirrors?
Lol

Postby aaron17 » July 26th, 2020, 5:47 pm

New Image is attached at beginning of thread.
I was thinking of buying it through amazon but idk what diameter would be suitable.

Postby maj. tom » July 26th, 2020, 6:33 pm

You could try reverse parking your car in your yard. It takes like 10 seconds more. Just learn to use your side mirrors. Or drive in and 3 point if it have space. 15 seconds more ritual every day.
Try it and see if the blind spot still relevant if you coming out head first.

Postby adnj » July 26th, 2020, 7:38 pm

aaron17 wrote:New Image is attached at beginning of thread.
I was thinking of buying it through amazon but idk what diameter would be suitable.
You probably want a minimum size in the 12 to 16 inch range.

You can also use a salvaged truck convex outside rearview mirror for the time being.

Postby aaron17 » July 26th, 2020, 8:06 pm

maj. tom wrote:You could try reverse parking your car in your yard. It takes like 10 seconds more. Just learn to use your side mirrors. Or drive in and 3 point if it have space. 15 seconds more ritual every day.
Try it and see if the blind spot still relevant if you coming out head first.

Forgot to mention in the picture of my driveway. It is not really so vast in the green area. Its kinda complicated to park , so its not like a simple drive in to park situation. The mirror would be better.. unless you want to see a more detailed driveway area.

Postby aaron17 » July 26th, 2020, 8:07 pm

Postby Rovin » July 26th, 2020, 8:25 pm

like mentioned above : local glass supplier shud have it

check around to see if it might actually be cheaper here than to import it ....

Postby aaron17 » July 27th, 2020, 7:27 pm

Rovin wrote:like mentioned above : local glass supplier shud have it

check around to see if it might actually be cheaper here than to import it ....
Cool thx

Postby aaron17 » July 29th, 2020, 8:43 am

I reversed park today in my driveway..was the hardest thing to do. Fear of driving into the drain or hitting a post.
N.b I have posts under my house so I does drive under.
When I drove out ..it was really easy with no hesitation.
But I have to consider my other older family members who use the driveway normally. They don't have a sense of awareness. They are accustomed to reversing out. I guess the driveway is too narrow.

Called a glass place: $1300tt for 18 inch

Re: Where to buy a Convex lens mirror for driveway?

Postby maj. tom » July 29th, 2020, 9:13 am

Adjust your side mirrors properly, lean over to see, and practice. Reverse slowly, it's not a race.
Ent your driving instructor taught you how to reverse and park between those 2 poles in the training course? Ent he show you the turning radius points of the car at the front mirror and the rear bumper? So you line up those points with the obstacle and lock the steering wheel. Go to an empty car park on Sunday mornings with 2 cones and practice!

There are good tutorials on YouTube to cover this theory, if your instructor never taught you this.
I recommend this channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/ConduiteFacil ... verse+park

Postby pugboy » July 29th, 2020, 9:19 am

can you put a steel grate over the corner of the drain to get some more ground space as well

screwbash

Postby screwbash » July 29th, 2020, 6:36 pm

sell d car buy ah aqua or note

Postby aaron17 » July 30th, 2020, 10:03 am

Thanks for the video tips..never knew certain techniques in those vids even though what I learnt from driving school.

Is the sun a major disadvantage of convex mirrors? At dawn....sun is gonna be directly opposite to the mirror. So it may not make sense to use it.

Postby Dave » July 30th, 2020, 10:43 am

But that would be part of the day, the other times it would prove useful and safe.
I saw someone do this already on a solid brick wall, they put vented blocks eye level in the car to assist with the blindness you experience.

Postby Chimera » July 30th, 2020, 11:02 am

I might have one for sale for $900. Lemme know if interested
aaron17 wrote:I reversed park today in my driveway..was the hardest thing to do. Fear of driving into the drain or hitting a post.
N.b I have posts under my house so I does drive under.
When I drove out ..it was really easy with no hesitation.
But I have to consider my other older family members who use the driveway normally. They don't have a sense of awareness. They are accustomed to reversing out. I guess the driveway is too narrow.

Called a glass place: $1300tt for 18 inch