Issues with reopening Schools in T&T , Vaccines for Children etc

Do you support a Shift System for all schools?

Yes
50%
No
50%

Total votes: 30

Re: Issues with reopening Schools in T&T , Vaccines for Children etc

Postby paid_influencer » December 29th, 2021, 10:33 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:c8a0f8bd-e1de-4866-b249-0026f1ce4779.jpg

as a parent, not looking forward to this. My kid (and myself and my wife) got bad sick from a bad cold she caught at school a few years ago and it was absolute hell. Had to go the the Emergency Department, was how bad it got.

They open those lower primary and ECCE levels and I guarantee everybody child going to get COVID. Just thinking about that makes me want to vomit. For the love of God, let them continue online classes and leave the physical schools only for those that really can't do online.

and I know the country don't have money for this, but the long-term solution:
-build out physical infrastructure so Primary schools are not overcrowded
-make running water available in all schools
-build/retrofit with infrastructure for ventilation and HEPA filtering
-build infrastructure so lunch/snacking will be done outdoors only (no indoor dining)
-some sort of mechanism to identify sick children (testing)
-physical facilities to quarantine children
-punish parents who send sick children to school (and many, many parents do this)
-continue online classes as a full-fledged option for children that are vulnerable.

instead the MoE going to sit on their tails and say "wha we goh do" while children get sick and die.

PwWHuH8.jpg
nINtJkW.jpg
2HrNAod.jpg
0y7cgSx.jpg

Postby paid_influencer » December 29th, 2021, 10:36 pm

sMASH wrote:Omicron spread will inoculate when it overtakes the delta. The question is if it will happen by end January or February...

if it happens later, u will get a month extra of delta deaths. So just a month more of extra deaths before that rate subsides with these measures

I just would have waited till omicron is about, so the new mixing will spread that and not the delta

omicron f**ks over children at 3x the rate of Delta.

And Delta f**ks over children worse than the original strain.

omicron going to kill plenty children next year

Postby sMASH » December 29th, 2021, 10:49 pm

Doubling rate of omicron, from UK, seems to be 2-5 days. When we got our first case is not true, just a cover up to pin point that it here.
The omicron was spreading all over way befure the workd detected it.

Given that vaxed could spread covee, and they come in un quarantined, that's the source.

I assume it here a while, we got confirmation of a non traveling case, which would support that.
Given the doubling time and the extra traffic due to the season, by the middle of January u should see it matching delta.

Once it matches, within a two weeks we should see the death rate fall as the delta is displaced.

We not testing the variants enough to get a clear picture, but omicron is so very transmisable, that u can just use UK trends to get an idea.
It just marginalized the delta within a month or two...

Once we get a few more unconnected cases, safe to assume we have community spread... The chain reaction is confirmed.
Just sit back and wait a month or two to see omicron dominate... And subsequent death rate plummet.

Same thought to anticipate the UK omicron, and that is unfolding as presumed.
Same thinking with Trinidad.

Only two unknowns; if omicron is established, and if the season boosted delta too much and it reduced feedstock for omicron.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » December 30th, 2021, 1:59 am

paid_influencer wrote:
sMASH wrote:Omicron spread will inoculate when it overtakes the delta. The question is if it will happen by end January or February...

if it happens later, u will get a month extra of delta deaths. So just a month more of extra deaths before that rate subsides with these measures

I just would have waited till omicron is about, so the new mixing will spread that and not the delta

Baldhead aint care. He saw the US send war ships an couldnt remove muduro an the world forgot so baldy can sit an let every fuqin person die an say he recover the economy during covid an everybody will still vote for them.

Postby Redman » December 30th, 2021, 7:22 am

paid_influencer wrote:

When you say fks over children at 3x...can you define what you're saying.

Where you get this information from?

Everything I've seen says omnicron ismore transmissible but milder across the board.

Postby De Dragon » December 30th, 2021, 7:39 am

Redman wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

Everything I've seen says omnicron ismore transmissible but milder across the board.

Notice how anti vaxxers can't seem to stay om message?
Wasn't it "98% recover" "Omicron mild" "vaxxed still getting Covid" just this week?
Anti vaxxers are the premier goalpost shifters.

Postby timelapse » December 30th, 2021, 8:06 am

I have realized that antivaxers live in a world of theory with no real proof of anything, only speculation.Whether it be pseudo science or religion, is still theory.People of that mentality generally can't be swayed by any sort of physical evidence.They don't live in the real world.

Postby matr1x » December 30th, 2021, 8:10 am

Covid vaccine hesitation and anti vaxx is not the same thing.

Their concerns are founded on mistrust of systems and authority. And you can't blame them. Do you trust the government?

Postby Redman » December 30th, 2021, 8:15 am

Redman wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

Wasn't it "98% recover" "Omicron mild" "vaxxed still getting Covid" just this week?

Eh?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 30th, 2021, 8:15 am

Learning to live with the virus also means your little brats have to learn to live with it too alongside the adults. Can't escape from that.

Postby timelapse » December 30th, 2021, 8:46 am

matr1x wrote:Covid vaccine hesitation and anti vaxx is not the same thing.

Their concerns are founded on mistrust of systems and authority. And you can't blame them. Do you trust the government?
This is a global pandemic.You really feel PNM has the mental capability of engineering that?

Postby matr1x » December 30th, 2021, 8:53 am

timelapse wrote:

This is a global pandemic.You really feel PNM has the mental capability of engineering that?

They are good at exploiting situations. Real money spent and very little accountability.

You think the pnm care about the health and well being of Trinidad?

Postby redmanjp » December 30th, 2021, 9:33 am

DMan7 wrote:Learning to live with the virus also means your little brats have to learn to live with it too alongside the adults. Can't escape from that.

but at least the US and other 1st world countries have vaccines for children 5 and up now so they can 'live with it' they also have a lot more testing, and antiviral pills now. we in trini have none of that. so the young ones who may have underlying conditions and cant be vaxxed are screwed.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 30th, 2021, 9:49 am

redmanjp wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Learning to live with the virus also means your little brats have to learn to live with it too alongside the adults. Can't escape from that.

but at least the US and other 1st world countries have vaccines for children 5 and up now so they can 'live with it' they also have a lot more testing, and antiviral pills now. we in trini have none of that. so the young ones who may have underlying conditions and cant be vaxxed are screwed.

Maybe it's coming that's why they announce schools opening physically next year.

Postby timelapse » December 30th, 2021, 9:53 am

matr1x wrote:
timelapse wrote:

They are good at exploiting situations. Real money spent and very little accountability.

If you can equate a global pandemic with pnm , good day to you.

Postby sMASH » December 30th, 2021, 10:44 am

4th jabs +
Mandates
Pass ports
Segregation,

Seems the conspiracy theorists got the bulk of it right

And still breathing fine.

And u will mutating Down to another cold.
Covid 19 is the disease, of infection of the lungs, coughing, etc.
Sars cov2 is the virus that causes the covid disease.
The omicron only infecting the bronchia, not the alveoli... So hence why only mild symptoms.

So the virus is mutating to not cause the typical covid symptoms... But more cold symptoms

So, essentially covid will be disappearing, and we will have another endemic cold, brought on by the Sars cov 2 virus.

Postby Redman » December 30th, 2021, 11:29 am

https://www.nytimes.com/2021/12/28/heal ... tions.html

LIVECovid-19 UpdatesCoronavirus Map and CasesTesting: What to KnowWhere Deaths Are Rising
Omicron Is Not More Severe for Children, Despite Rising Hospitalizations
More children are being treated for Covid, but a combination of factors, including low vaccination rates, most likely explains the increase.
The New York Times
By Andrew Jacobs
Dec. 28, 2021
The latest coronavirus surge sweeping the United States, much of it driven by the highly contagious Omicron variant, has produced a worrisome rise in hospitalizations among children, not to mention heightened anxiety among parents nationwide.

Several states have reported increases of about 50 percent in pediatric admissions for Covid-19 in December. New York City has experienced the most dramatic rise, with 68 children hospitalized last week, a fourfold jump from two weeks earlier.

But even as experts expressed concern about a marked jump in hospitalizations — an increase more than double that among adults — doctors and researchers said they were not seeing evidence that Omicron was more threatening to children.
Last edited by Redman on December 30th, 2021, 12:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby matr1x » December 30th, 2021, 12:04 pm

timelapse wrote:
matr1x wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Can't
Understand
National
Treasury-looting
?

Postby timelapse » December 30th, 2021, 12:34 pm

matr1x wrote:
timelapse wrote:
matr1x wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Can't
Understand
National
Treasury-looting
?
Both things are true, but unrelated.
Thats like blaming your body weight for Imbert's fiscal policy.

Postby matr1x » December 30th, 2021, 12:44 pm

timelapse wrote:
matr1x wrote:
timelapse wrote:
matr1x wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Can't
Understand
National
Treasury-looting
?

More accurately, people don't trust the government not to poison them

Postby timelapse » December 30th, 2021, 1:03 pm

matr1x wrote:
timelapse wrote:
matr1x wrote:
timelapse wrote:
matr1x wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Can't
Understand
National
Treasury-looting
?

More accurately, people don't trust the government not to poison them
Who's government?As far as I am aware, T&T does not produce any vaccines.
Are you one of those Trinis that identifies as American?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 30th, 2021, 1:04 pm

sMASH wrote:4th jabs +
Mandates
Pass ports
Segregation,

The omicron only infecting the bronchia, not the alveoli... So hence why only mild symptoms.

So the virus is mutating to not cause the typical covid symptoms... But more cold symptoms

So, essentially covid will be disappearing, and we will have another endemic cold, brought on by the Sars cov 2 virus.

How many people died?
What about multiple flu vaccines or yellow fever vaccine cards to travel?

Postby adnj » December 30th, 2021, 8:10 pm

Mandates
Pass ports
Segregation,

Politicized vaccination response.
Social media fueled misinformation campaigns.
Vaccine inequality.
Higher risk of infection for unvaccinated persons.
Higher death rates among unvaccinated persons.
Indifference to public risk by unvaccinated persons.
Hyper criticism of mainstream treatments.
Hyper acceptance of unproven treatments.
Virus mutation to airborne and/or less than lethal variant.
Annual boosters to match virus mutations.
Public restrictions for unvaccinated persons.
Lock downs to decrease public mobility.
International travel bans.
Mask mandates.
Testing mandates.
Vaccine mandates for high risk groups.
Materials export restrictions.

Some of the methods used to mitigate pandemic spread and associated expected issues straight out of the pandemic management playbook.

https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/202 ... eaths.html

https://www.bmj.com/content/368/bmj.m1066

Postby De Dragon » December 30th, 2021, 8:15 pm

Redman wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

Eh?

Not directed at you Colos :lol:

Postby De Dragon » December 30th, 2021, 8:19 pm

Mandates
Pass ports
Segregation,

How many people died?
What about multiple flu vaccines or yellow fever vaccine cards to travel?

The typical anti vax/revolutionary feels vaccine mandates, travel health requirements etc., started with Covid, because it fits their inane narrative. Half of them complied willingly in the past, but as someone once said, a little information can be a dangerous thing, especially if it is not rooted in science or facts.

Postby paid_influencer » January 1st, 2022, 2:39 pm

anyone heard anything on when age 5-11 vaxx would be available on the island?

really weird there is 0 reporting on it that I can find.

Postby hover11 » January 1st, 2022, 2:42 pm

paid_influencer wrote:anyone heard anything on when age 5-11 vaxx would be available on the island?

really weird there is 0 reporting on it that I can find.

No Pfizer jabs yet for children five-11 in Trinidad and Tobago

Even though the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) recently gave the green light for children five-11 in the US to be vaccinated with the Pfizer covid19 vaccine, this country will not do so until the World Health Organization (WHO) has given approval.
Epidemiologist Dr Avery Hinds stated the Ministry of Health’s position during Monday’s covid19 briefing.
Hinds explained, “The FDA’s approval is basically a national-level approval for the US.
“As additional data is collected, collated, analysed and then a consensus position is developed by the WHO, which is the group to which we refer for global mandate approval guidelines on existing vaccines, then our existing policies will be modified in accordance with that global guidance.”
Hinds added that the WHO’s research process for vaccine approvals consists of an international panel considering data taken from studies all over the world.

While the FDA gave the green light for children five-11 to be given Pfizer jabs on October 29, the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention must also sign off on the decision before they can be given.
The Prime Minister has long said any covid19 approved by the WHO for children five-11, once it is available, will be added to the list of mandatory vaccines for children to attend government schools.
During a press conference on October 2, Dr Rowley said, “Once there is a vaccine that is available for this infection and it’s sanctioned by the WHO, the government of Trinidad and Tobago will make efforts to get that vaccine for our children, and such a vaccine would be added to the list of vaccines for children which we have grown up with.”

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/11/01/no-pfi ... nd-tobago/

Postby Dizzy28 » January 4th, 2022, 10:50 am

What is the purpose of reopening schools if you gonna make kids come physically for one week in an entire term?

Capture.JPG

My SiL is in SAGHS U6 and they have to attend for 5 days throughout the term but not scheduled as Hillview has above.

Anyone else knows if this is unique to the Presbyterian schools or other schools as well?

Postby st7 » January 4th, 2022, 11:10 am

Dizzy28 wrote:What is the purpose of reopening schools if you gonna make kids come physically for one week in an entire term?

Capture.JPG

My SiL is in SAGHS U6 and they have to attend for 5 days throughout the term but not scheduled as Hillview has above.

Anyone else knows if this is unique to the Presbyterian schools or other schools as well?

i assume those schools schedule it like that so they can say they have students attending physically so they can get away with teaching virtually (which is preferred).