Issues with reopening Schools in T&T , Vaccines for Children etc

Do you support a Shift System for all schools?

Yes
50%
No
50%

Total votes: 30

Re: Issues with reopening Schools in T&T , Vaccines for Children etc

Postby Chimera » January 25th, 2022, 2:47 pm

Lol none of those schools enforcing protocols besides temperature test and sanitizing at the door in the morning.

You realistically cannot enforce it.

I sure everyone had co workers and classmates who never wash hand after using toilet .

You feel the world magically get more hygienic.
Half of the world don't even believe in vaccinations.

Postby paid_influencer » January 30th, 2022, 5:51 pm

supposedly the MoE going to make an announcement on rapid kits to be distributed at school

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/gadsby- ... s-students

I have heard stories of kids in the US getting the rapid tests at school. Kids were instructed to take them at home, but kids being kids started doing them in school and asking other students if it positive (showing other kids the two lines on the test). lol

good question is how much covid are we willing to allow in schools. Will it be a zero-covid zone? quarantine a class if one student pops positive? quarantine adjacent classes? the whole school? teachers quarantining for primary contacts with covid, or only if they themselves get covid? i donno, i read some stuff but haven't seen those answers. ,maybe adnj can find them, he is a cool guy with that stuff

Postby matr1x » January 30th, 2022, 6:20 pm

MOE trying to kill teachers

Postby paid_influencer » January 30th, 2022, 6:34 pm

prediction:

MoE going to abandon the concept of quarantining exposed persons and TUTTA ent going to realize it happened.

Just now it will be show up to work/school unless you actively have covid and we will all pretend it always was that way and nothing changed.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » February 4th, 2022, 12:33 pm

It is alleged that The MOE says that there is not need to social distance in schools.

If this is true it maybe lunacy at its finest

Postby De Dragon » February 5th, 2022, 9:33 am

cornfused wrote:It is alleged that The MOE says that there is not need to social distance in schools.

If this is true it maybe lunacy at its finest

The tragedy is that you have equally dotish MoE and TTUTA in a dick measuring contest, which cannot end well.

Postby Redman » February 5th, 2022, 9:34 am

As of last night
All forms will be in school on alternate days, and are expected to strictly follow protocols

Postby Chimera » February 5th, 2022, 10:49 am

Waiting to see how they deal with lunch break.

Students not allowed to socialize?

What about kids with underlying medical conditions mixing with other students?

I predicting this gonna last 2 to 3 weeks maximum before they all shut it down again when infection start to sweep through. Adults don't listen to regulations. You expect kids to?

I hope no kids die because of it

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 5th, 2022, 2:33 pm

Initially most schools had set one day a week for each year group - so all form 1 on a monday, all form 2 on a tuesday etc.
The ministry then stated that the minimum is 2 days per week per student, so now schools have twice the number of students on each day as previously planned.

Some schools are being proactive about it and setting up spaces where desks can be distanced and santization etc as well as orientation sessions in the first week.

What schools cannot control is the travelling to school, school bus, driver, public transport, walking out in groups to get a taxi or maxi etc.

I'd usually say lets see what happens, but in this case that may mean people getting sick and even dying.

The other new mandate is that ALL secondary school teachers must report for work in school all day. I'm not sure how they are supposed to carry out online classes for the year groups that are not in school on that day with the school's single internet infrastructure handling all those teachers at once

Postby Chimera » February 5th, 2022, 2:37 pm

Schools not even going to be able to control students in the schools.

Washrooms.
Cafeteria lines if there's a cafeteria.
General socializing.

This whole thing make no sense and its alot of unnecessary risk

Postby matr1x » February 5th, 2022, 2:44 pm

Spoke to 2 schools in the south east. They have not received any sanitary products. We are not ready for Monday

Postby hover11 » February 7th, 2022, 2:46 pm

They found 30 million to allocate for carnival but can't find the money to increase ppl pay , so be it
FB_IMG_1644259453882.jpg

Postby redmanjp » February 7th, 2022, 5:19 pm

took an extra 20 mins on the highway today driving into POS. i guess its goodbye to smooth sailing traffic from now- and worse when all primary school kids, daycare and their parents go back to work daily.

except it had traffic even after i pass UWI lights- :roll:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 7th, 2022, 5:24 pm

To the parents here how did first day go today?
Any feedback from the kids?

VII

Postby VII » February 7th, 2022, 6:28 pm

Yes my last son resumed today in std 5, only his class at school, there was a slight delay in commencing due to the relevant teachers arriving a little late.

Parents have to stay in their cars, school finishes at 1 pm and Wednesdays are set aside for min of health sanitization ..

It's so strange, before this two years ago I had 2 teens at college also, and now only have one preteen in std 5 soon to be in college if all goes well

The two teens did well in their subjects during the lock down one year apart ,opted out of A levels and are pursuing onilne courses complimenting our family business interests while being actively involved also, which is a very effective level of education by itself.

They just turned into men over the last 2 years and like many others opted out of going to school for another 2 years for A-levels..

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:To the parents here how did first day go today?
Any feedback from the kids?

Postby Dave » February 7th, 2022, 8:02 pm

Will report tomorrow...form 1 going for the first time.

Postby Dave » February 8th, 2022, 6:03 pm

No issues. Kids were provided with a sanitizer at their desk. Adequate social distancing and spacing in classes as well as throughout the school. Satisfied with what took place.
Still not in agreement but it is what it is.

Postby paid_influencer » February 11th, 2022, 9:48 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Initially most schools had set one day a week for each year group - so all form 1 on a monday, all form 2 on a tuesday etc.
The ministry then stated that the minimum is 2 days per week per student, so now schools have twice the number of students on each day as previously planned.

Some schools are being proactive about it and setting up spaces where desks can be distanced and santization etc as well as orientation sessions in the first week.

What schools cannot control is the travelling to school, school bus, driver, public transport, walking out in groups to get a taxi or maxi etc.

I'd usually say lets see what happens, but in this case that may mean people getting sick and even dying.

The other new mandate is that ALL secondary school teachers must report for work in school all day. I'm not sure how they are supposed to carry out online classes for the year groups that are not in school on that day with the school's single internet infrastructure handling all those teachers at once

wait, serious talk,

if kids have 2 days of physical school a week,

and TUTTA not dealing up in hybrid learning (no online classes),

what the kids doing the other 3 days during the week? home work? scratching?

Postby paid_influencer » February 11th, 2022, 9:52 pm

wish I could embed twitter videos here,

Look at what happening in the US.

https://twitter.com/Jules31415/status/1 ... 1831174150
(make sure the sound is on for full effect)

we going to follow them down that same path of insanity and dotishness lol

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 11th, 2022, 10:05 pm

Most of those kids aren't even wearing masks so I don't see what difference it would make if there is no more masks starting from tomorrow.

Postby paid_influencer » February 11th, 2022, 10:12 pm

^true dat. in that level of exposure kids gonna get it masks or not anyway

Postby Chimera » February 11th, 2022, 10:36 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Initially most schools had set one day a week for each year group - so all form 1 on a monday, all form 2 on a tuesday etc.

wait, serious talk,

By hybrid it means they not doing both on the same day.

Like not teaching physical classes as well as streaming classes online for students who didnt come to school.

Its either one or the other

Postby Chimera » February 11th, 2022, 10:58 pm

In pres chag the teachers have an option as classes are split in two...

It's either you stream the classes to the batch of children who are at home or you teach it twice
Most teachers are streaming

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 11th, 2022, 11:41 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

wait, serious talk,

By hybrid it means they not doing both on the same day.

Like not teaching physical classes as well as streaming classes online for students who didnt come to school.

Its either one or the other

Correct - teachers are doing online classes from in school if the class has that day at home.
So teacher will be in school with zoom/teams/google open and teaching while kids are home attending class online.

Some schools are doing both physical and online where the teacher is teaching a physical class but also streaming it via Zoom/Teams etc for the students that are home.

Either way, face to face has NOT been 100% turnout for most schools this past week.

Postby Kenjo » February 12th, 2022, 2:19 am

paid_influencer wrote:wish I could embed twitter videos here,

Look at what happening in the US.

https://twitter.com/Jules31415/status/1 ... 1831174150
(make sure the sound is on for full effect)

we going to follow them down that same path of insanity and dotishness lol

Why is it insanity and dotishness, it’s a gradual return to normalcy . Even if people think they are at higher risk there is nothing to stop you from keeping masks actually. Same way Trinidad is partially returning to normal people will complain. Open fully people will complain , lockdown ….. people will complain

Postby sMASH » February 12th, 2022, 7:20 am

stay home stay safe.
u cant be frighten for covee and sending ur children to stay for hours on end in a room with 20+ other strangers.
those mind sets are diametrically oppositional.

if u fraid covee , keep them home. if u want them go to school, then is covee all the away.
choose one mindset and go full 100.

Postby Chimera » February 15th, 2022, 7:05 pm

So any of allyuh kids/nephews/nieces schools have covid affecting students and their family?

My nephew tell me in his form 1 class of 18....
6 students have covid and home on quarantine with their fams

Postby Kenjo » February 15th, 2022, 7:11 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:So any of allyuh kids/nephews/nieces schools have covid affecting students and their family?

My nephew tell me in his form 1 class of 18....
6 students have covid and home on quarantine with their fams

So the rest of the term they should all be set and ready to go .most likely all will be mild symptoms

Postby redmanjp » February 15th, 2022, 10:39 pm

sMASH wrote:stay home stay safe.
u cant be frighten for covee and sending ur children to stay for hours on end in a room with 20+ other strangers.

if u fraid covee , keep them home. if u want them go to school, then is covee all the away.

all adults should be vaccinated so we dont fraid when (not if) covid comes home from school. i say all adults cuz even though u might be in your 40s or 30s and think u young and safe even a lil weight makes u high risk and well plenty ppl in that category.

https://fortune.com/2021/12/09/covid-infects-fat-cells-long-severe-illness-overweight-obese/

i hope the idea of 'thick' being good gets wiped out.

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » February 15th, 2022, 11:52 pm

redmanjp wrote:
sMASH wrote:stay home stay safe.

all adults should be vaccinated so we dont fraid when (not if) covid comes home from school. i say all adults cuz even though u might be in your 40s or 30s and think u young and safe even a lil weight makes u high risk and well plenty ppl in that category.

https://fortune.com/2021/12/09/covid-infects-fat-cells-long-severe-illness-overweight-obese/

i hope the idea of 'thick' being good gets wiped out.
Remember when being thick was a strong build man or good portion woman and not just obese.