Who Agree with Gabriel Faria?

Rishizze

Who Agree with Gabriel Faria?

Postby Rishizze » June 19th, 2020, 8:54 am

Who agree with Faria comments and do you think he should have apologized. Faria was speaking about both parties so which voters are he influencing?

Re: Who Agree with Gabriel Faria?

Postby pugboy » June 19th, 2020, 9:00 am

from what i read the main complaint was about the govts use of approximating taxation which would be forcing them to pay taxes based on past revenue whilst the current revenue is the opposite, shortman dont want to hear anything about that

so faria may have a point as they tryingto squeeze blood out of stone
yet paid a pile of money for redhouse pride and prizoner transport contracts

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » June 19th, 2020, 9:05 am

i fully agree, both sides are quite sickening and even worse are their supporters as all ah dem when parliament done does laugh and drink together an cheers to hoodwinking the entire population.

Postby Redman » June 19th, 2020, 10:21 am

Election season start.

Every criticism is a UNC plot.
Every defense is a PNM tillahded

No meeting of the minds
No real communication
No progress.

Postby Rovin » June 19th, 2020, 10:43 am

no matter what d issue : d raging bull cud verbally rough up anybody & nobody doh hav no problem with dat ....

Postby zoom rader » June 19th, 2020, 10:43 am

Redman wrote:Election season start.

Every criticism is a UNC plot.
Every defense is a PNM tillahded

No meeting of the minds
No real communication
No progress.
All this and you still voting for PNM scum to preserve you DNA

Postby Ben_spanna » June 19th, 2020, 10:54 am

Faria only standing up for what’s right and fair.... pm really overstepping his bounds here and being arrogant and out of place for someone in his position. He should not have apologised

Postby maj. tom » June 19th, 2020, 10:55 am

‘Remember Manning’s warning’

THE Prime Minister’s recent attack on TT Chamber CEO Gabriel Faria was part of a trend of behaviour and people should remember the warning of late prime minister Patrick Manning, said political scientist Dr Indira Rampersad.

Rampersad in a telephone interview said it was not the first time the PM has behaved in this manner. “We saw the kind of language that was used to describe the Opposition Leader and other people,” Rampersad said.

She said the Prime Minister’s attacks are usually worse than what was in the post and some people speculate that he may not have written it himself. She noted the saying “those whom the gods wish to destroy they first make mad” and questioned whether Rowley’s recent behaviour was reflective of that quote.

“We saw him attacking the media unceremoniously and for no good reason. We saw him attacking individual journalists. We saw him going against the wishes of TTUTA and teachers regarding the Secondary Entrance Assessment (examination date). Now he is attacking the Chamber of Commerce and a big community like the business sector.

“But this is very typical of Prime Minister’s behaviour. It is nothing unusual. A leopard cannot change its spots.” She said people should not forget (in 2009) when then prime minister Manning described Rowley in Parliament as a “wajang” and a “raging bull”.

“In this silly season, all kinds of things will happen. (Rowley) thinks he is on a wave. But I don’t know how many people will want to continue with him as prime minister.”

TRUMPIAN

Lead consultant at Demming Communications Dennise Demming in a post entitled “a Trumpian rant versus clear communications” said Communications Minister Donna Cox delivered a “masterful stroke” on media enquiries about her health but it was in stark contrast to Rowley’s Facebook rant.

“And you see an attack on someone in a position of leadership who is simply speaking his truth about the business community and the government’s lack of action. Faria has consistently spoken and written about outstanding VAT and how it negatively impacts the business community. The Prime Minister’s ‘Trumpian’ rant reminded me of the ‘bullishness he was accused of by the late former prime minister Patrick Manning.”

Demming added: “The Prime Minister would do well to embrace the counsel of his Minister of Communications while pausing any inclinations to revive the ‘raging bull, wajang or Rottweiler behaviours of which he has been rightfully accused in the past.”

The Nationwide Organisation of We The People (NOW) in a statement said it takes umbrage with the Prime Minister’s outright attack against Faria.

“Mr Faria is a citizen of our TT who, under the Constitution, has guaranteed rights to freedom of speech, expression, and association. The brazenness of Dr Rowley’s social media post, especially in these challenging times, is dangerous, divisive, worrisome, and potentially destructive.”
https://newsday.co.tt/2020/06/19/rememb ... s-warning/

Postby Redman » June 19th, 2020, 10:56 am

Maybe.
With DNA like yours floating around.....I will happily keep mine.

I will vote for who makes sense to me.
Maybe is the UNC wasn’t such an abject failure...we all would have a better choice.
Sadly they are unable up to this time to make a credible attempt.

Maybe you should come up for air and advise them how to do that.

Postby paid_influencer » June 19th, 2020, 11:12 am

Gabriel Faria get off easy. He should be thankful to his Prime Minister for not revealing more. Being in public life is not easy and Gabriel get some first-hand experience now.

Mr. Faria attacked all politicians, PNM, UNC and PEP alike. People like my leader, Phillip Edward Alexander, go through this battle daily but PEA is the only man brave enough to fight that fight and say what needs to be said. The more people here bash him and attack him, the more I respect him.

Postby pugboy » June 19th, 2020, 11:14 am

It’s also more likely the case that Faria stepped out of line since rowlee and many of farias bosses have better understanding amongst themselves

paid_influencer wrote:Gabriel Faria get off easy. He should be thankful to his Prime Minister for not revealing more. Being in public life is not easy and Gabriel get some first-hand experience now.

Mr. Faria attacked all politicians, PNM, UNC and PEP alike. People like my leader, Phillip Edward Alexander, go through this battle daily but PEA is the only man brave enough to fight that fight and say what needs to be said. That is why he has my vote. Vote PEP.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » June 19th, 2020, 11:15 am

I saw an article in the guardian i think stating that Faria handed in a letter of resignation as well following his apologies... it has not been accepted as yet... but when i read Faria's comments is nothing different to what the man on the street says... politicians are greedy... all they do is tax the hell out of us... and both parties are rubbish... sad to see people clamoring for his resignation based on comments we always say... thats why u gotta be anonymous Mr. Faria when u making comments u know politicians wouldnt like... people solemnly wanna see u rise... but when it comes to seeing your downfall... tickets for that sell out quick quick

Postby bluefete » June 19th, 2020, 11:16 am

You could have posted some info to help us ignoramuses out. I went "farrin" to get this.

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2020/06/18 ... amber-ceo/

Trinidad PM blasts ‘disrespectful’ T&T Chamber CEO

Stabroek News June 18, 2020

(Trinidad Guardian) Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley yesterday launched a scathing attack on T&T Chamber of Industry and Commerce CEO Gabriel Faria, saying he had a “disrespectful mouth” and an “acid tongue.”

The Prime Minister made the comments on his Facebook page but did not say why he attacked Faria or what prompted the post.

In the post, which amassed 336 reactions and 74 comments within two hours of posting, Rowley blasted Faria for not offering himself for public office “because he is only about himself and what he can suck from the country.”

But while disparaging Faria for not offering himself, Rowley also said if Faria did offer himself for public office “he will be dismissed with a swift kick in the pants.”

“As head of the Chamber of Commerce Gabriel Faria can have no private view which he expresses as the “known” head of the Chamber. He knows exactly what he is doing and it is him trying to influence voters with his dismissive shallowness whilst being very disrespectful to the country’s leadership,” Rowley wrote.

While there are no public reports of Faria speaking out recently about the selection process or the country’s leadership, Rowley seemed to be referring to something specific.

“If he is so disdainful of all the people who offer themselves for office through all political parties and who the population selects freely and fairly, to run their affairs, then why doesn’t he give a few years of his brilliance and perfection in service of the public interest,” the PM said.

Rowley lashed even harder at Faria, saying the population “sees him for what he is.”

“A disrespectful mouth with precious little value rattling around in the Chamber with his acid tongue,” Rowley said.

Rowley did not respond to calls or messages yesterday for clarification on what prompted the post. He also declined calls to his mobile phone.

But even Faria was blindsided by the comments when contacted yesterday.

“I have no idea what it’s about,” Faria said in response to WhatsApp questions from Guardian Media on what may have prompted Rowley’s harsh words.

But while Faria was in the dark about the attack, one Government minister pointed Guardian Media to an interview the Chamber CEO did on TTT on Monday morning, in which Faria was critical of Minister of Finance Colm Imbert.

In that segment, Faria spoke about the Mid-year Review and described the Government’s positive post-COVID-19 outlook as “unrealistic”.

Saying that the Government owed suppliers over $5 billion, Faria said, “I gave an estimate, I would love the Minister of Finance to validate or say it’s wrong. I gave an estimate that the Government owes suppliers over $5 billion. If the Government does not pay that $5 billion, then it is quite possible that he can manage his expenses.” He added, “The Government is actually trying to charge business taxes based on last year’s income. Almost every business is showing reduced business.”

Faria said that by not paying suppliers, overstating tax income and not paying Value Added Tax, the Minister of Finance could make his numbers “happen.”

“If you don’t pay suppliers and if you charge businesses tax on last year’s income and if you don’t pay the balance of VAT refunds, which by my estimate is $2.5 billion, it is quite possible to achieve the numbers the Minister of Finance says,” Faria said.

Faria also said taxes should not be charged on this year’s earnings because of the disruption caused by COVID-19. He said it would be “irresponsible” for the State to charge the companies taxes based on those figures, adding the Minister of Finance has been “ignoring” the Chamber on that matter.

“The Minister has the power to make the numbers he has put out happen. We speak on behalf of the business community. Let’s put that out there and make sure we do the right thing,” Faria said.

Postby pugboy » June 19th, 2020, 11:21 am

The problem is them politicians except the corporates to keep towing the line and being good to govt in exchange for whatever favours whilst the man in the street bawling

The business community bawling right now as much as the poor man so Faria just echoing those sentiments and rowlee gutterness come out

elec2020 wrote:I saw an article in the guardian i think stating that Faria handed in a letter of resignation as well following his apologies... it has not been accepted as yet... but when i read Faria's comments is nothing different to what the man on the street says... politicians are greedy... all they do is tax the hell out of us... and both parties are rubbish... sad to see people clamoring for his resignation based on comments we always say... thats why u gotta be anonymous Mr. Faria when u making comments u know politicians wouldnt like... people solemnly wanna see u rise... but when it comes to seeing your downfall... tickets for that sell out quick quick

Postby pugboy » June 19th, 2020, 11:22 am

Imagine that, local media fraid to publish it

bluefete wrote:You could have posted some info to help us ignoramuses out. I went "farrin" to get this.

(Trinidad Guardian) Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley yesterday launched a scathing attack on T&T Chamber of Industry and Commerce CEO Gabriel Faria, saying he had a “disrespectful mouth” and an “acid tongue.”

The Prime Minister made the comments on his Facebook page but did not say why he attacked Faria or what prompted the post.

In the post, which amassed 336 reactions and 74 comments within two hours of posting, Rowley blasted Faria for not offering himself for public office “because he is only about himself and what he can suck from the country.”

But while disparaging Faria for not offering himself, Rowley also said if Faria did offer himself for public office “he will be dismissed with a swift kick in the pants.”

“As head of the Chamber of Commerce Gabriel Faria can have no private view which he expresses as the “known” head of the Chamber. He knows exactly what he is doing and it is him trying to influence voters with his dismissive shallowness whilst being very disrespectful to the country’s leadership,” Rowley wrote.

While there are no public reports of Faria speaking out recently about the selection process or the country’s leadership, Rowley seemed to be referring to something specific.

“If he is so disdainful of all the people who offer themselves for office through all political parties and who the population selects freely and fairly, to run their affairs, then why doesn’t he give a few years of his brilliance and perfection in service of the public interest,” the PM said.

Rowley lashed even harder at Faria, saying the population “sees him for what he is.”

“A disrespectful mouth with precious little value rattling around in the Chamber with his acid tongue,” Rowley said.

Rowley did not respond to calls or messages yesterday for clarification on what prompted the post. He also declined calls to his mobile phone.

“I have no idea what it’s about,” Faria said in response to WhatsApp questions from Guardian Media on what may have prompted Rowley’s harsh words.

But while Faria was in the dark about the attack, one Government minister pointed Guardian Media to an interview the Chamber CEO did on TTT on Monday morning, in which Faria was critical of Minister of Finance Colm Imbert.

In that segment, Faria spoke about the Mid-year Review and described the Government’s positive post-COVID-19 outlook as “unrealistic”.

Saying that the Government owed suppliers over $5 billion, Faria said, “I gave an estimate, I would love the Minister of Finance to validate or say it’s wrong. I gave an estimate that the Government owes suppliers over $5 billion. If the Government does not pay that $5 billion, then it is quite possible that he can manage his expenses.” He added, “The Government is actually trying to charge business taxes based on last year’s income. Almost every business is showing reduced business.”

Faria said that by not paying suppliers, overstating tax income and not paying Value Added Tax, the Minister of Finance could make his numbers “happen.”

“If you don’t pay suppliers and if you charge businesses tax on last year’s income and if you don’t pay the balance of VAT refunds, which by my estimate is $2.5 billion, it is quite possible to achieve the numbers the Minister of Finance says,” Faria said.

Faria also said taxes should not be charged on this year’s earnings because of the disruption caused by COVID-19. He said it would be “irresponsible” for the State to charge the companies taxes based on those figures, adding the Minister of Finance has been “ignoring” the Chamber on that matter.

“The Minister has the power to make the numbers he has put out happen. We speak on behalf of the business community. Let’s put that out there and make sure we do the right thing,” Faria said.

Postby bluefete » June 19th, 2020, 11:24 am

Lest we forget.

Postby paid_influencer » June 19th, 2020, 11:27 am

this is the apology/whatup message referenced in the OP

https://www.looptt.com/content/tt-chamb ... oliticians

Postby pugboy » June 19th, 2020, 11:32 am

Note fat Mac was one of his few supporters back then

bluefete wrote:Lest we forget.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » June 19th, 2020, 11:33 am

Rowley and the PNM are right....when you get jackass to ride,ride them till they dead!!

Postby bluefete » June 19th, 2020, 11:44 am

pugboy wrote:Note fat Mac was one of his few supporters back then

bluefete wrote:Lest we forget.

I was laughing at Penelope and Mac's expressions the whole time.

Postby bluefete » June 19th, 2020, 11:45 am

paid_influencer wrote:this is the apology/whatup message referenced in the OP

https://www.looptt.com/content/tt-chamb ... oliticians

What does he have to apologize for? He is damn right!

Postby bluefete » June 19th, 2020, 11:50 am

Maybe I should put this in the PNM thread but it seems better here for the moment.

Thursday, October 22, 2009
Manning calls Rowley "a raging bull"; defends UDeCOTT

Prime Minister Patrick Manning launched a scathing attack on Diego Martin West MP Dr Keith Rowley in Parliament Wednesday, saying when Rowley faces opposition he behaves like a "raging bull".

Manning was on the floor of the House of Representatives for the debate on the UDeCOTT validation bill, which passed with unanimous support.

But it was Rowley who was on his mind. And his contribution was a direct attack on the MP who on Monday made an impassioned plea to members of his own party to stand up against corruption in the People's National Movement (PNM).

Rowley told the House of Representatives his mission is to break the mold of corruption in the PNM, adding that those who defend UDeCOTT are adding to the damage to the PNM.

"There are strong forces that are making it their duty to make sure this Commission of Inquiry does not succeed," he charged.

He said by passing a validation bill "we are validating the hope to save the PNM. We of the PNM, other than anybody else in this country, have a particular interest in this matter...the PNM is on trial!"

n his response to Rowley Manning said he had to "suffer" from his cabinet colleague's bullying for 12 years, going back to the time Rowley ran against him for the leadership of the PNM.

"The minute you oppose my good friend, he gets very, very angry. And if you oppose him strongly, he becomes a raging bull...You don't know the trouble I have seen. I have had to live with that for 12 years," Manning said.

The prime minister said he had enough of it and fired Rowley last year for that kind of behaviour. That decision, he said, also served as a lesson to the new cabinet members.

"Mr Speaker, we do not tolerate bullying in the secondary school system. And we not tolerating bullying in the Cabinet. And if the member for Diego Martin West wishes a Cabinet in which bullying is the order of the day, he is going to have to form that Cabinet himself. It ain't going to happen in this one. We not tolerating it!" Manning declared.

He presented the House with a photo of Rowley saying it was a snapshot of a man full of hate. "I see hate, bitterness, acrimony, animosity and, Mr Speaker, I see a man completely out of control."

Rowley sought permission for the the prime minister to give way so he could ask a question: "I would just like to ask him the name of the brand that he was drinking, so that I could avoid it," Rowley said.

Manning was quick to reply with biblical references.

"Mr Speaker, the brand from which I was drinking was the Holy Bible...If I appear to be drunk, I am drunk on God and love," as he snapped at Rowley for suggesting that Manning's reference to the Bible was blasphemy. "Yuh believe you are a God? Yuh not God, yuh know," Manning said.

He insisted on quoting from the Bible, saying when the PNM was preparing its candidates for the last general election, it discussed Corinthians, chapter 13, which speaks of the power of love.

He said the only candidate absent from that session was Rowley, so he seized the opportunity to preach to Rowley and the House.

"Since he didn't hear it then, I want him to hear it now...'If I could speak all the languages of earth and of the angels but didn't love others, all I would be is a noisy gong or a clanging symbol.' How did my friend sound on Monday? Noisy gong, clanging symbol?" Manning asked.

He said hate is impairing Rowley's judgment as he went on to defend Calder Hart and UDeCOTT.

He relied on two UDeCOTT media releases, in which Hart and his wife denied any interest or involvement a $367 million contract awarded to CH Development. He said UDeCOTT also stated that no member of the Hart family was involved in the award of the contract.

Manning said both Rowley and the opposition have ignored the denials and are claiming there is a relationship between Hart and CH Development based on the word of a jilted lover, a reference to Carl Khan, the former husband of Hart's wife.

"It is not really Calder Hart and UDeCOTT. They want the prime minister and the Government of Trinidad and Tobago. That is what they after. And they cannot understand how we ain't fall yet. And let me tell you, we shall not fall."

Posted by Jai Parasram at 10/22/2009 07:20:00 AM

http://jyoticommunication.blogspot.com/ ... -bull.html

Postby Rovin » June 19th, 2020, 12:36 pm

ah man in his private capacity expressed his personal views & treid to stay neutral by saying ALL politicians but because his day job is head of COC dat doh mean he speaking on their behalf

faria didnt have to apologize or be called into d principals office like ah lil boy for a buff up

d irony is rowdy complaining & crying victim about somebody else's disrespectful mouth & acid tongue when he doing dat fpr d past 30+yrs of being an mp ....

Postby 88sins » June 19th, 2020, 12:51 pm

what the hell is a gabriel faria?

Lou Screuz

Postby Lou Screuz » June 19th, 2020, 2:26 pm

Rishizze wrote:Who agree with Faria comments and do you think he should have apologized. Faria was speaking about both parties so which voters are he influencing?

Faria just said what any free thinking Trinbagonian already knows

that apology was no kind of apology :D

and is not no accident that D' Guardian put his comment big big on the front page for all to see :lol:

Postby zoom rader » June 19th, 2020, 2:28 pm

Lou Screuz wrote:
Rishizze wrote:Who agree with Faria comments and do you think he should have apologized. Faria was speaking about both parties so which voters are he influencing?

Faria just said what any free thinking Trinbagonian already knows

that apology was no kind of apology :D

and is not no accident that D' Guardian put his comment big big on the front page for all to see
Nice, you saw it

VII

Postby VII » June 19th, 2020, 2:50 pm

Buh that's a guardian article...I saw it since yesterday..

What do you really mean ?

pugboy wrote:Imagine that, local media fraid to publish it

bluefete wrote:You could have posted some info to help us ignoramuses out. I went "farrin" to get this.

antlind

Postby antlind » June 19th, 2020, 3:08 pm

TT is a banana republic ruled by a wanna be dictator. And the sad thing is the opposition is so woefully inept that we will continue to live in this banana republic and be ruled by this wanna be dictator for another 5 years.

Postby zoom rader » June 19th, 2020, 3:10 pm

antlind wrote:TT is a banana republic ruled by a wanna be dictator. And the sad thing is the opposition is so woefully inept that we will continue to live in this banana republic and be ruled by this wanna be dictator for another 5 years.
Becareful bro mods in here will say you are a self hater

Postby The_Honourable » June 19th, 2020, 3:15 pm

Monkey know which tree to climb... Growley knows who and who not to rough up.