Liter of fresh coconut water in POS by the Savannah $70

By Grand Bazaar $40

Where have BESS Food Prices Now ?

Postby MaxPower » June 14th, 2020, 1:49 pm

Work hard to avoid those problems.

Posting for Vene who came here starving and now shops at Massey.

Re: Where have BESS Food Prices Now ?

Postby RedVEVO » June 14th, 2020, 6:29 pm

Everybody shops at Massy ..

BUT look and see how 1000 s come for free hamper with Inshan ..

But some people do not know that best prices around the corner ..

And other too proud to say they are starving in Trinidad ..

Hence anger and crime and ..... violence :D

Postby rspann » June 14th, 2020, 6:32 pm

Hungry family by me. Thank God unckle Wayne get food cards from the ministry . He show me the cards .

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » June 14th, 2020, 6:32 pm

100lb potato $50

Postby rspann » June 14th, 2020, 6:35 pm

Potato is 50 lb bag for $50 . Small food stalls all over now food cheap. Big shot son not bringing food for siblings and mother. Uncle have to give food card he get where he working in the ministry.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 2nd, 2021, 5:13 am

In the last six months, there have been steep increases in the prices of imported food items.

The price of pigtails, according to importers, skyrocketed by 74 per cent, canned corned beef went up by 36 per cent, yellow split peas and lentils rose by 34 per cent, brown sugar climbed by 25 per cent, and canned tuna increased by 15 per cent.

Other food items are set to increase by up to 50 per cent in some cases when compared to last year’s prices. The consensus among industry stakeholders is that prices will not stop rising anytime soon. Consumers will now have to dig deeper into their pockets to purchase even the basic food items from wholesalers and retailers.

People's savings and disposable incomes shrinking

Locally, the COVID-19 pandemic has forced thousands of businesses to close their doors leaving thousands of people unemployed, with others working reduced hours and taking home less pay. Rising food prices are now adding to the explosive cocktail.

Complicating the situation, President of SATT Rajiv Diptee said, is the fact that consumers are "out of savings" after a year of the pandemic which means they have little disposable income to spend on basic food items. He said this has resulted in growing theft in supermarkets as some are forced to turn to crime to survive.

Diptee told the Sunday Guardian that because consumers’ savings have evaporated and they are spending less, it has impacted supermarkets’ bottom line.

He said because consumers do not have much disposable income, supermarket owners are being "cautious" in how they purchase stock for the reopening of schools, religious holidays, and other calendar events.

"We noticed that on the Monday when restaurants reopened there was no rush. That greatly concerns us. From the operational point of view for business owners including supermarket owners the concern is that you have to plan. Year on year, we have seen a 20 per cent to 25 per cent decrease in revenue in supermarkets."
Payless Supermarket, Port-of-Spain

January July

2kg pack of rice $19 $21 (based on brand)

9kg soap powder $60 $70

900 grammes bottle of oil $15 $18

Small tin of peas and beans $6 $8

Maharaj Westside, Arima

Naisa Foil 75ft                               $25.25        $29.95

Maggi Coconut Milk Powder 50g       $5.50      $5.95

Miss Anna Arrowroot Flour 115g       $10.65       $11.25

Gullon Cereale Fruit Fiber 300g     $12.30      $13

Always Ultra Thin Reg Wings 18s  $23.75      $26.95

Swiss Mayo 375ml                            $14.30      $15.30

Trinidad gone tru yes in every way from covid management to feeding its citizen to a bleak looking future.

Postby pugboy » August 2nd, 2021, 7:00 am

as manning said time to band yuh belly

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 2nd, 2021, 8:12 am

Might just left it here
IMG-20210801-WA0052.jpg

Postby redmanjp » August 2nd, 2021, 8:37 am

MaxPower wrote:Work hard to avoid those problems.

while we in lockdown?

Postby Dave » August 2nd, 2021, 8:52 am

What about these wholesalers places like Geelal, Camacho etc? It does look like a fish market by Geelal but anyone can say if these places are worth the hassle?

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » August 2nd, 2021, 9:27 am

Well plenty of them robbing ,selling guns and drugs and breaking ATMs so they could afford it. The law abiding ones finding it hard so they going back Vene.

dogg

Postby dogg » August 3rd, 2021, 2:12 pm

Dave wrote:What about these wholesalers places like Geelal, Camacho etc? It does look like a fish market by Geelal but anyone can say if these places are worth the hassle?

Even before covid I avoided Geelal because of the cramped shopping area. Worse yet now. I don't even want to drive past there. Is daily superspreader events now.

You know how I've been saving $$ this rounds?

Month end sales at big supermarkets. Of course not during peak times.
There are LOTS of loss-leaders available. Staples and others.
Massy/diskomart, Best deals Curepe, Better deals Aranguez, Coss cutters, Xtrafoods and many others, the named ones are those that are close to me. Check their facebook pages.

as A small example, I stocked up on a year's worth of canned pineapple (my wife insists we buy it canned) at 33% off regular price at one of those month end sales this month. Every month I stock up discounted items.

But you gotta make up your mind to do some driving to get the specials.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 5th, 2021, 6:05 am

sam1978 wrote:

Well plenty of them robbing ,selling guns and drugs and breaking ATMs so they could afford it. The law abiding ones finding it hard so they going back Vene.

Say it louder man, real facts here. If you does see them in pricemart :lol:

Postby SR » August 5th, 2021, 6:30 am

Price club has better pricing than xtra foods and tru value on most of the basic stuff.

Grocery bill cut by around $400 a visit compared to the other 2 which are very close to me.

Xtra foods plenty for 20 does be a good deal as well.

Massy ..... doh go there

Postby timelapse » August 5th, 2021, 7:48 am

Chasemart even cheaper than Price Club

Postby pugboy » August 5th, 2021, 9:00 am

xtrafoods ain’t all that tbh
many things higher than massy

for example lotus bakers flour is $16 there
massy is $14.75 and most other places $14.50
low cost supermarket is $14

low cost in cunupia is one of the cheapest for many things
you will get fresh local mushrooms $25/lb
everywhere else is $32-35

Postby SR » August 5th, 2021, 7:37 pm

Yuh could get halaal spanish there too......

Postby RedVEVO » August 7th, 2021, 6:24 am

pugboy wrote:xtrafoods ain’t all that tbh
many things higher than massy

for example lotus bakers flour is $16 there
massy is $14.75 and most other places $14.50
low cost supermarket is $14

low cost in cunupia is one of the cheapest for many things
you will get fresh local mushrooms $25/lb
everywhere else is $32-35

Extra Foods @ Xtra this weekend :D

Their "Plenty for $20" seems to pull a tremendous crowd !

However there seem to be a lack of the COVID protocols :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Postby RedVEVO » August 7th, 2021, 6:31 am

sam1978 wrote:

Sambo totes plenty :lol:

And then totes and totes some more .

Send us the source of your statistics when you say "plenty of them" ?

You must believe in the science of statistics .

Or it's just senseless chats from your oracle of wind :D

Were you ever a flag woman ?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 7th, 2021, 10:30 am

WTF happen during this week? i pass in the market and EVERYTHING increase in price from $1 to a third or half price more. i pay $5 for tomatoes and its $12 this week, ocro 2 for$1, bush was $5 now $7, sweet pepper was $6 now is $12, lettuce was $7 now is $10. what i would have spend $150 on i spend about $100 more. Masters say chicken and duck scare and eggs also. WTMC the govt doing to ensure food security ? property tax? increase taxes on apples and foreign cheap fruits that they say is luxury items? flood was in cascade, st anns an maraval which DO NOT produce anything of value and with that is more and more pressure on people ease of the lighthouse.

Postby bluefete » August 7th, 2021, 10:39 am

Wham to you? You answered your own question :lol: Rain fell this week in non-agricultural areas. Market prices must increase.

I noticed the same thing in Tunapuna Market yesterday. But I got a good barbadine for $10.00 (punch made already and in the fridge) / potatoes for $2/lb / Carrots at $5/bag / sweet potatoes at $6/lb (expensive for me but say what) .

daring dragoon wrote:WTF happen during this week? i pass in the market and EVERYTHING increase in price from $1 to a third or half price more. i pay $5 for tomatoes and its $12 this week, ocro 2 for$1, bush was $5 now $7, sweet pepper was $6 now is $12, lettuce was $7 now is $10. what i would have spend $150 on i spend about $100 more. Masters say chicken and duck scare and eggs also. WTMC the govt doing to ensure food security ? property tax? increase taxes on apples and foreign cheap fruits that they say is luxury items? flood was in cascade, st anns an maraval which DO NOT produce anything of value and with that is more and more pressure on people ease of the lighthouse.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 7th, 2021, 11:11 am

bluefete wrote:Wham to you? You answered your own question :lol: Rain fell this week in non-agricultural areas. Market prices must increase.

I noticed the same thing in Tunapuna Market yesterday. But I got a good barbadine for $10.00 (punch made already and in the fridge) / potatoes for $2/lb / Carrots at $5/bag / sweet potatoes at $6/lb (expensive for me but say what) .

daring dragoon wrote:WTF happen during this week? i pass in the market and EVERYTHING increase in price from $1 to a third or half price more. i pay $5 for tomatoes and its $12 this week, ocro 2 for$1, bush was $5 now $7, sweet pepper was $6 now is $12, lettuce was $7 now is $10. what i would have spend $150 on i spend about $100 more. Masters say chicken and duck scare and eggs also. WTMC the govt doing to ensure food security ? property tax? increase taxes on apples and foreign cheap fruits that they say is luxury items? flood was in cascade, st anns an maraval which DO NOT produce anything of value and with that is more and more pressure on people ease of the lighthouse.

it have parking by that market? i paid $4 for potatoes in central. might have to pass tunapuna next week.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 7th, 2021, 11:15 am

One lil rain fall...all veggies gone sky high. Imagine if we get ah storm

Postby RedVEVO » August 7th, 2021, 11:44 am

You have to know where to shop these days ole timer :D

Try Xtra " Plenty for $20 "

Bush is 3 for $10
Tomatoes $10 bag and $20 bag
Zabocar $16.99
Apples 10 for $20
Shark $15 per pound

Postby Dave » August 7th, 2021, 11:50 am

How do you know specifics when you said you are not in Trinidad at the moment to meet Maxpower?
If you were Pinocchio you would be able to go around the world and touch yourself!
RedVEVO wrote:

You have to know where to shop these days ole timer :D

Try Xtra " Plenty for $20 "

Bush is 3 for $10
Tomatoes $10 bag and $20 bag
Zabocar $16.99
Apples 10 for $20
Shark $15 per pound

Postby Rovin » August 7th, 2021, 1:15 pm

ah man aksin bout wey ha ting cheap so e cud later post imaginary meals e makin

... :drinking:

viedcht

Postby viedcht » August 7th, 2021, 3:50 pm

Rovin wrote:ah man aksin bout wey ha ting cheap so e cud later post imaginary meals e makin

... :drinking:
Tomorrow is peas & rice & escargot, with squash blossoms stuffed with cigar ashes