Keep Left Except When Overtaking Law.

Rishizze

Keep Left Except When Overtaking Law.

Postby Rishizze » June 4th, 2020, 8:04 am

Do you obey this law? How will this be monitored? Obstructing overtaking traffic is a $1000 fine and 3 points demerit.
I often see drivers sticking on the right lane driving slow(mainly women) and all other drivers have to pass them on the left lane. I witnessed a co-worker doing this on a 3 lane highway and many cars had to pass him on the left lane. When I confronted him, he said he will continue driving on the right lane because he drives at 100km/hr and no one is suppose to past him because they will be breaking the law. I told him he was breaking the law but he thinks not.
This type of driving and attitude really annoys me.
What are you thoughts?

Re: Keep Left Except When Overtaking Law.

Postby maj. tom » June 4th, 2020, 8:06 am

OP, is your co-worker is the police? Who is he to force other people how to drive on the roads? Why he doh mind he own business and car and drive safely? The law is keep left except when overtaking. If someone is breaking the speed limit what he gonna do? Follow them home and write up a ticket in his JD copy-book? By staying on the right he is creating an obstacle and 1 km behind him behind a line of traffic is a big Mack Truck loaded with gravel that cannot stop or slow down the same way a car does. He cannot see that and is not aware of it. He should police himself and his own car.

https://www.mynrma.com.au/cars-and-driv ... overtaking
Last edited by maj. tom on June 4th, 2020, 8:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby adnj » June 4th, 2020, 8:13 am

In general, you may not travel in the right hand lane if traffic is passing you on the left. You are obstructing traffic flow - even if you are traveling at the speed limit.

Police, ambulances, official transports, etc., may also typically travel above the posted speed limit.

jm3

Postby jm3 » June 4th, 2020, 8:26 am

during the lockdown the even with the roads much clearer there are still idiots doing 80-100 in the right hand lane.
the muffler bearing logic of well im doing 100 so firetruck everyone is infuriating i would join the police just to be able to give these people tickets.

Postby rspann » June 4th, 2020, 8:50 am

I noticed a tall red policeman who patrols the highway around the Gasparillo area on a bike driving on the right lane and making drivers go to the left lane . At first I thought he was clearing the way as an escort but then I realized the way he was gesturing and getting on , it had to be something more than that . By union overpass he pulled aside a driver who was not complying only to see it was a police officer while I was passing .

Postby sMASH » June 4th, 2020, 9:14 am

its illegal to over take on the left, but the right lane tends to have longer stretches of good road from north to the south, and u have the brainless that drive way under speed on the right lane.

but hear this, if everybody going like 96-100km, u not able to get to a speed to over take without breaking the limit, that means that the other right lane(s) supposed to be empty.. im talking about from the traffic management/legal/official thinking, point of view.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » June 4th, 2020, 9:34 am

I always try to stick to the "keep left unless overtaking" rule so if I do meet someone driving slow on the right lane, I can't be accused of overtaking on the left because I was already on the left and continued on my way. You can't expect me to slow down and wait on that driver

Postby Ben_spanna » June 4th, 2020, 9:35 am

ALl trucks and "T" vehicles are supposed ot stay in the left most lane and they have an even slower Legal limit, do we see that ever happening? Police cars and patrols pass them every day even flash their lights or blow their horns when they want to pass . Why doesnt the police simply pull them over slap a nice $5000.00 fine on them and start setting a example?

Postby aaron17 » June 4th, 2020, 9:40 am

Ben_spanna wrote:ALl trucks and "T" vehicles are supposed ot stay in the left most lane and they have an even slower Legal limit, do we see that ever happening? Police cars and patrols pass them every day even flash their lights or blow their horns when they want to pass . Why doesnt the police simply pull them over slap a nice $5000.00 fine on them and start setting a example?

Should have a limit on the left and slow lanes..80 and under.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 4th, 2020, 11:32 am

it's the law, but rarely enforced unless you driving like an absolute shitbag

Postby 88sins » June 4th, 2020, 12:16 pm

Rishizze wrote:Do you obey this law? How will this be monitored? Obstructing overtaking traffic is a $1000 fine and 3 points demerit.
I often see drivers sticking on the right lane driving slow(mainly women) and all other drivers have to pass them on the left lane. I witnessed a co-worker doing this on a 3 lane highway and many cars had to pass him on the left lane. When I confronted him, he said he will continue driving on the right lane because he drives at 100km/hr and no one is suppose to past him because they will be breaking the law. I told him he was breaking the law but he thinks not.
This type of driving and attitude really annoys me.
What are you thoughts?

going by this post alone your coworker seems to be an idiot with a need to be schooled by paying fines & a revoked dp. Them so should be moving around with bicycles & tricycles, not gas or eletric powered vehicles
There's multiple reasons to keep to the left besides the fact that its law & is one of the FIRST things you learn in regulations:
-Easier & safer stop to pick up or let off passengers
-Easier access to the shoulder to stop in case of emergency or vehicle failure
-Keeps a lane free for use in case an emergency vehicle needs to pass
-Lowers the risk of someone hitting you from either side so if someone operating another vehicle swerves into you you can pull to the left into the shoulder & avoid them instead of risking pulling to the left & hitting another vehicle coming up from behind you

typical jackass-on-d-road "ah go do evyting rite in LO tuh geh meh licn, & ah could do wha ah want on d road once popo & lo not around after" mentality

Postby j.o.e » June 4th, 2020, 12:22 pm

Right lane drivers are the most annoying thing and truth be told contribute to traffic and accidents. One right lane driver tapping his brakes from south to town will cause a ripple effect of traffic behind him.

Postby Rovin » June 4th, 2020, 12:33 pm

this topic is my biggest pet peeve on d highways especially heading south

setta mc drivers both male & female drivers cruizin without a care in world sometimes doing 80 or less never coming off d right lane

i bet if u ask them they go say well d right lane is d smoothest lane to drive on so dise why

if d popo start to charge ppl for this d treasury go full up ...

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 4th, 2020, 2:11 pm

depending on the vehicle im driving and if i have time to waste i have a good cure for this,

what i do is go in front of them and release my accelerator and roll along decelerating in front of them, when u look in the rear view mirror u would see the confused look on their face and realize that they dont even know what they are doing.

Postby maj. tom » June 4th, 2020, 2:40 pm

That may cause more problems for the drivers using the right lane to overtake 1 km behind you. If the car in front suddenly decelerates to match the lane speed it can cause a miscalculation for the driver.

I say leave it. I'm not police, i can't control how other people drive and the decisions they make on the roads.

Postby gastly369 » June 4th, 2020, 3:00 pm

We the members of the 7 seater taxi/PH association say drive anywhere and anyhow yuh want

Thanks.

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 4th, 2020, 3:09 pm

While you guys at it, please do not drive with your high beams on, thanks.

rebound

Postby rebound » June 4th, 2020, 3:12 pm

Its a mentality that disgusts me also. On the Autobahn, the vehicle moving faster is always given RoW and from what I saw, it was understood by everyone.

I felt safer on a road with no speed limit and its just because people comply to the rules.

Only God knows when we would get there.

Postby skylinechild » June 4th, 2020, 8:41 pm

rebound wrote:Its a mentality that disgusts me also. On the Autobahn, the vehicle moving faster is always given RoW and from what I saw, it was understood by everyone.

I felt safer on a road with no speed limit and its just because people comply to the rules.

also you need to be certified to give basic first aid in order to drive on the autobhan...

should we ALSO make first aid training and stopping to give first aid mandatory in order to drive on the CRH or UBH ??

Postby 88sins » June 4th, 2020, 9:03 pm

skylinechild wrote:
rebound wrote:Its a mentality that disgusts me also. On the Autobahn, the vehicle moving faster is always given RoW and from what I saw, it was understood by everyone.

also you need to be certified to give basic first aid in order to drive on the autobhan...

should we ALSO make first aid training and stopping to give first aid mandatory in order to drive on the CRH or UBH ??

Actually not a bad idea.
Might teach some of these jackasses some respect for life on the road, least there'd be more people that can help by at least maybe keeping someone that was in an accident alive till first responders arrive.

Hwells

Postby Hwells » June 4th, 2020, 11:05 pm

'should we ALSO make first aid training and stopping to give first aid mandatory in order to drive on the CRH or UBH ??'

mandatory rob in your mc for stoping. 9/10 sorry but me aint stopping for nothing.

Postby nervewrecker » June 5th, 2020, 12:14 am

Overtaking on thier lane usually helps them get the point.

Female in a lancer nearly clear away the barrier a day

Esp when your back bumper on thier front bumper.

Postby sMASH » June 5th, 2020, 1:23 am

trinis, by default, as a mandate, when god create them, must NOT understand that another human being has the ability to have RoW. it is in our constitution that the individual has the RoW. it is our sovereign right as a person, against all other persons.
the concept that another person can have RoW is an alien concept from neptune

Postby Gem_in_i » June 5th, 2020, 1:51 am

Now days is traffic on right lane because slow driver not moving to left and nothing in front them.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » June 5th, 2020, 9:37 am

sMASH wrote:

trinis, by default, as a mandate, when god create them, must NOT understand that another human being has the ability to have RoW. it is in our constitution that the individual has the RoW. it is our sovereign right as a person, against all other persons.
the concept that another person can have RoW is an alien concept from neptune

This should apply to taxi drivers, p cars for hire and individuals who exit side streets onto main roads haphazardly and individuals who enter the second lane on a roundabout but they leaving on the first exit

rebound

Postby rebound » June 8th, 2020, 9:22 pm

skylinechild wrote:

Really?? Did they ask you for that as a tourist? or do you have a German Permit? First aid was not required for me to drive on it as a visitor.

Postby maj. tom » June 8th, 2020, 9:28 pm

First Aid should be taught in high school. Just like beginner's driver's ed.

Postby RedVEVO » June 9th, 2020, 12:57 am

gastly369 wrote:We the members of the 7 seater taxi/PH association say drive anywhere and anyhow yuh want

Thanks.

We the members of the Euro Car Association say drive anywhere and anyhow yuh want

Thanks