Future of Caribbean Airlines

Re: Future of Caribbean Airlines

Postby hover11 » August 9th, 2022, 8:51 am

Also let foreigners pay the full costs, there is no reason as to why foreigners should be benefiting from our privileges. How could a foreigner and I be paying the same costs atm to travel to Tobago when it is my tax dollars subsidizing. How is that fair. Government needs to start running it's businesses like a business and not a rum shop.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 9th, 2022, 9:02 am

hover11 wrote:Also let foreigners pay the full costs, there is no reason as to why foreigners should be benefiting from our privileges. How could a foreigner and I be paying the same costs atm to travel to Tobago when it is my tax dollars subsidizing. How is that fair. Government needs to start running it's businesses like a business and not a rum shop.

Because Tourism!!

Wait till you find out how much tax payers money is spent on Tourism otherwise.

Postby hover11 » August 9th, 2022, 9:08 am

hover11 wrote:Also let foreigners pay the full costs, there is no reason as to why foreigners should be benefiting from our privileges. How could a foreigner and I be paying the same costs atm to travel to Tobago when it is my tax dollars subsidizing. How is that fair. Government needs to start running it's businesses like a business and not a rum shop.

Because Tourism!!

Dizz,

Let's be realistic here how much money does Tobago make from tourism, we spending money and I not saying no but it have to make sense. Where are the returns ? Every year the THA budget demands increase. We pumping millions into tourism possibly billions into tourism into the last decade , what have we achieved? This all comes back to my point give Tobago their autonomy, let us see if tourism can really support their economy wholly and solely.

leavingforgood

Postby leavingforgood » August 9th, 2022, 9:24 am

hover11 wrote:

Because Tourism!!

Dizz,

Let's be realistic here how much money does Tobago make from tourism, we spending money and I not saying no but it have to make sense. Where are the returns ? Every year the THA budget demands increase. We pumping millions into tourism possibly billions into tourism into the last decade , what have we achieved? This all comes back to my point give Tobago their autonomy, let us see if tourism can really support their economy wholly and solely.

Nothing but facts.

Trinidad and Tobago does not have a tourism culture and I am tired of the government halfassing it. They keep dangling the tourism carrot by pumping in millions of dollars into that dead sector while refusing to acknowledge the root of the problem. T&T's tourism sector needs a major overhaul with younger people at the forefront, who actively dedicate their careers to making Tobago a real tourism hub.

Postby hover11 » August 9th, 2022, 9:28 am

leavingforgood wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Because Tourism!!

Dizz,

Nothing but facts.

Trinidad and Tobago does not have a tourism culture and I am tired of the government halfassing it. They keep dangling the tourism carrot by pumping in millions of dollars into that dead sector while refusing to acknowledge the root of the problem. T&T's tourism sector needs a major overhaul with younger people at the forefront, who actively dedicate their careers to making Tobago a real tourism hub.
If you fail to do anything about crime then alll that money spent behind tourism is moot. No investor or tourist will want to come here looking at our crime rate. Sad reality.

leavingforgood

Postby leavingforgood » August 9th, 2022, 9:36 am

hover11 wrote:
leavingforgood wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Because Tourism!!

Dizz,

Nothing but facts.

If you fail to do anything about crime then alll that money spent behind tourism is moot. No investor or tourist will want to come here looking at our crime rate. Sad reality.

Hell, even the locals don't want to be here and don't even get me started on the piss poor customer service. If we want to have a fighting chance at a tourism sector, we need to do like those Asian countries and have schools dedicated to training potential employees on how to act like they actually want visitors to the country. The crime situation is a whole other demon in itself. I don't know how we will resolve that because it's so deeply ingrained in our culture.

Postby j.o.e » August 9th, 2022, 9:36 am

hover11 wrote:
leavingforgood wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Because Tourism!!

Dizz,

Nothing but facts.

Tell that to Jamaica and Mexico. But I do agree crime is an issue

Postby MaxPower » August 9th, 2022, 9:53 am

Another issue that contributes to the happiness in Trinis asses.

Let them pay.

Postby st7 » August 9th, 2022, 10:02 am

govt workers need to ween off the govt too.

backpay shouldn't be a thing. that's just a big loss to state agencies. if you want more money, go get another wuk

Postby hover11 » August 9th, 2022, 10:09 am

st7 wrote:govt workers need to ween off the govt too.

backpay shouldn't be a thing. that's just a big loss to state agencies. if you want more money, go get another wuk
Stupid and irrelevant comment but I shall indulge , there are certain things that are established based on collective agreements just as how in your private contract of work it is stated your hours of work, rate of pay etc the collective agreement establishes the policies and procedures between that relationship of the employer and the employees. Backpay stimulates the economy, where in that more money is placed into the hands of workers who in turn spend it in businesses. Who we going to wait to stimulate the economy the private sector? HA, would love to hear your brilliant ideas to revive this economy wait you have none.... anyway you had no problem when politicians received their backpay and salaries increased yet you want to take from the small man. Lol.

Postby st7 » August 9th, 2022, 10:18 am

says the govt sufferer constantly posting on trinituner during work hours...

Postby hover11 » August 9th, 2022, 10:20 am

st7 wrote:says the govt sufferer constantly posting on trinituner during work hours...
See you provided nothing of substance as per usual....you're dismissed, you can crawl back in your hole now
Last edited by hover11 on August 9th, 2022, 10:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby st7 » August 9th, 2022, 10:31 am

hovee you always on tuner on govt company time, yet still want backpay for sitting and scratching your ass while demanding full benefits like the average govt sufferer?

lolll

state agencies are making a loss with allyuh workers oui. time for allyuh to get the wasa treatment so that allyuh go actually be productive 8 hrs a day

Postby hover11 » August 9th, 2022, 10:38 am

"The airline industry is extraordinarily complex and requires lots of cash to meet capital and operating expenses. Airlines are in business to operate profitably, and air fares and flight schedules are set to make a profit. For every route, airlines determine the cost to produce a seat on the flight and the realistic passenger loads at which the revenues generated meet the cost of operating the flight,” Lutchmedial said.

https://trinidadexpress.com/business/lo ... ium=social

Postby adnj » August 9th, 2022, 10:49 am

leavingforgood wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Because Tourism!!

Dizz,

Nothing but facts.

What's the tourism draw? Who is flying to Trinidad instead of going to Aruba or Cancun or Rio? You think people will go to Tobago instead of Puerto Rico? The Pitch Lake instead of Lake Geneva?

You're just the latest troller (and probably not a new one) to blow up the forum with sadass bullshitt posts about not so much.

leavingforgood

Postby leavingforgood » August 9th, 2022, 11:57 am

adnj wrote:
leavingforgood wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Because Tourism!!

Dizz,

Nothing but facts.

What's the tourism draw? Who is flying to Trinidad instead of going to Aruba or Cancun or Rio? You think people will go to Tobago instead of Puerto Rico? The Pitch Lake instead of Lake Geneva?

You're just the latest troller (and probably not a new one) to blow up the forum with sadass bullshitt posts about not so much.

Sigh. I'll indulge your ignorance.

Similar to many European, Asian, and South and North American countries, Trinidad and Tobago can develop festivals, events, casinos and fiscal incentives that draw tourism to the country with the right collaborations and legislations.

The fact that you think the only way to have tourism is to go look at a physical place like the pitch lake, tells me you are all mouth and probably have never been on a plane, boat, or car beyond a maxi. I am not a fan of Trinidad & Tobago at all, but even I can see potential in it with the right guidance and culture change, which it has sorely lacked for decades.

Pretending that T&T cannot develop its culture to suite tourism is like saying the UAE will only be a pile of sand that produces oil, France is only the Eifel Tower, or England is only Buckingham palace. You clearly lack vision, knowledge, and culture, and are most likely a sufferer from the depths of some village with dirt roads.

The internet is vast, go educate yourself.

Postby MaxPower » August 9th, 2022, 12:23 pm

Heard alot of CAL flights full even with the hot ticket prices.

Business is great.

Postby pugboy » August 9th, 2022, 12:31 pm

they could raise the price and offer frequent flyer discounts for those who really need to travel back and forth a lot like the tobagonians

Postby hover11 » August 9th, 2022, 12:40 pm

Reality is they can't keep running at a loss or else we digging ourselves a deeper hole which is a government bailout. Similar to that of Clico. How CAL is being run atm is unsustainable! Either cuts cost or increase fares. CAL has to be profitable to survive. The last thing we want is for the national airline to go broke or taxpayers funding the deficit via subsidies. May sound harsh but let the the people who use the service, pay for it. Otherwise it's going down the same road as Petrotrin.

Postby adnj » August 9th, 2022, 12:47 pm

leavingforgood wrote:[
quote="adnj"][quote="leavingforgood"][quote="hover11"][quote="Dizzy28"][quote="hover11"]Also let foreigners pay the full costs, there is no reason as to why foreigners should be benefiting from our privileges. How could a foreigner and I be paying the same costs atm to travel to Tobago when it is my tax dollars subsidizing. How is that fair. Government needs to start running it's businesses like a business and not a rum shop.[/quote]

Because Tourism!!

Wait till you find out how much tax payers money is spent on Tourism otherwise.[/quote]Dizz,

Let's be realistic here how much money does Tobago make from tourism, we spending money and I not saying no but it have to make sense. Where are the returns ? Every year the THA budget demands increase. We pumping millions into tourism possibly billions into tourism into the last decade , what have we achieved? This all comes back to my point give Tobago their autonomy, let us see if tourism can really support their economy wholly and solely.[/quote]

Nothing but facts.

Trinidad and Tobago does not have a tourism culture and I am tired of the government halfassing it. They keep dangling the tourism carrot by pumping in millions of dollars into that dead sector while refusing to acknowledge the root of the problem. T&T's tourism sector needs a major overhaul with younger people at the forefront, who actively dedicate their careers to making Tobago a real tourism hub.[/quote]What's the tourism draw? Who is flying to Trinidad instead of going to Aruba or Cancun or Rio? You think people will go to Tobago instead of Puerto Rico? The Pitch Lake instead of Lake Geneva?

You're just the latest troller (and probably not a new one) to blow up the forum with sadass bullshitt posts about not so much.[/quote]

Similar to many European, Asian, and South and North American countries, Trinidad and Tobago can develop festivals, events, casinos and fiscal incentives that draw tourism to the country with the right collaborations and legislations.

The fact that you think the only way to have tourism is to go look at a physical place like the pitch lake, tells me you are all mouth and probably have never been on a plane, boat, or car beyond a maxi. I am not a fan of Trinidad & Tobago at all, but even I can see potential in it with the right guidance and culture change, which it has sorely lacked for decades.

Pretending that T&T cannot develop its culture to suite tourism is like saying the UAE will only be a pile of sand that produces oil, France is only the Eifel Tower, or England is only Buckingham palace. You clearly lack vision, knowledge, and culture, and are most likely a sufferer from the depths of some village with dirt roads.

The internet is vast, go educate yourself.[/quote][/quote][/quote]

Wrong. The three main ingredients are:

Transportation - Provide more flights. Regulate the taxi service. Shorten commute between islands.
Accommodation/ Lodging - better worldwide hotel chain representation. Increase the number of rooms.
Food and Beverage - better, more varied restaurants near the hotels.

Fighting over how young the representatives are is your layman's dumbass solution? Small businesses and tiny guest houses need to go. If you want conventions and large party bookings putting three or four thousand visitors into two or three hotels simultaneously, start with sleeping, eating and transportation. Nobody but a Trini is happy drinking rum and eating on the side of the road.

unimatrix-001

Postby unimatrix-001 » August 9th, 2022, 6:39 pm

adnj wrote:
quote="adnj"][quote="leavingforgood"][quote="hover11"][quote="Dizzy28"][quote="hover11"]Also let foreigners pay the full costs, there is no reason as to why foreigners should be benefiting from our privileges. How could a foreigner and I be paying the same costs atm to travel to Tobago when it is my tax dollars subsidizing. How is that fair. Government needs to start running it's businesses like a business and not a rum shop.[/quote]

Because Tourism!!

Wait till you find out how much tax payers money is spent on Tourism otherwise.[/quote]Dizz,

Let's be realistic here how much money does Tobago make from tourism, we spending money and I not saying no but it have to make sense. Where are the returns ? Every year the THA budget demands increase. We pumping millions into tourism possibly billions into tourism into the last decade , what have we achieved? This all comes back to my point give Tobago their autonomy, let us see if tourism can really support their economy wholly and solely.[/quote]

Nothing but facts.

Trinidad and Tobago does not have a tourism culture and I am tired of the government halfassing it. They keep dangling the tourism carrot by pumping in millions of dollars into that dead sector while refusing to acknowledge the root of the problem. T&T's tourism sector needs a major overhaul with younger people at the forefront, who actively dedicate their careers to making Tobago a real tourism hub.[/quote]What's the tourism draw? Who is flying to Trinidad instead of going to Aruba or Cancun or Rio? You think people will go to Tobago instead of Puerto Rico? The Pitch Lake instead of Lake Geneva?

You're just the latest troller (and probably not a new one) to blow up the forum with sadass bullshitt posts about not so much.[/quote]

The internet is vast, go educate yourself.[/quote][/quote][/quote][/quote]

Transportation - Provide more flights. Regulate the taxi service. Shorten commute between islands.
Accommodation/ Lodging - better worldwide hotel chain representation. Increase the number of rooms.

Fighting over how young the representatives are is your layman's dumbass solution? Small businesses and tiny guest houses need to go. If you want conventions and large party bookings putting three or four thousand visitors into two or three hotels simultaneously, start with sleeping, eating and transportation. Nobody but a Trini is happy drinking rum and eating on the side of the road.[/quote][/quote][/quote][/quote][/quote]

I know one chain increasing room count...they have found a very niche and profitable market. Places like Thailand are internationally renowned for this type of niche market. Perhaps this should also be part of our tourism plan? :evilbat:

Postby st7 » August 9th, 2022, 6:44 pm

put up a hotel in curepe XD

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 9th, 2022, 10:32 pm

adnj wrote:

Because Tourism!!

Nothing but facts.

Fighting over how young the representatives are is your layman's dumbass solution? Small businesses and tiny guest houses need to go. If you want conventions and large party bookings putting three or four thousand visitors into two or three hotels simultaneously, start with sleeping, eating and transportation. Nobody but a Trini is happy drinking rum and eating on the side of the road.[/quote]

Only the third sensible post you ever make in your life. I surprise to see your dissing tobago, or it's because pnm lose

Postby adnj » August 10th, 2022, 5:34 am

Mmoney607 wrote:
adnj wrote:

Because Tourism!!

Nothing but facts.

Fighting over how young the representatives are is your layman's dumbass solution? Small businesses and tiny guest houses need to go. If you want conventions and large party bookings putting three or four thousand visitors into two or three hotels simultaneously, start with sleeping, eating and transportation. Nobody but a Trini is happy drinking rum and eating on the side of the road.[/quote][/quote][/quote]
Only the third sensible post you ever make in your life. I surprise to see your dissing tobago, or it's because pnm lose[/quote][/quote][/quote][/quote][/quote][/quote][/quote]

You don't agree with what I post because you can't understand what I post. You can't understand what I post because you're stupid.

leavingforgood

Postby leavingforgood » August 11th, 2022, 1:08 pm

adnj wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
adnj wrote:

Because Tourism!!

Nothing but facts.

Fighting over how young the representatives are is your layman's dumbass solution? Small businesses and tiny guest houses need to go. If you want conventions and large party bookings putting three or four thousand visitors into two or three hotels simultaneously, start with sleeping, eating and transportation. Nobody but a Trini is happy drinking rum and eating on the side of the road.[/quote][/quote][/quote]
Only the third sensible post you ever make in your life. I surprise to see your dissing tobago, or it's because pnm lose[/quote][/quote][/quote][/quote][/quote][/quote][/quote][/quote][/quote][/quote]

You don't agree with what I post because you can't understand what I post. You can't understand what I post because you're stupid.[/quote][/quote][/quote][/quote][/quote][/quote][/quote][/quote][/quote][/quote][/quote][/quote][/quote]

Focusing on providing more flights does not fix the logistics issues Caribbean Airlines has. That is simply putting a band aid on a bullet wound. Caribbean Airlines needs to look at its supplychain structure and ensure its employees do their jobs efficiently to get the current service provided running like a well oiled machine.

The same goes for T&T's maxi, taxi, and bus sector. I do agree with the regularization of the current taxi industry and ensuring the policies are enforced.

Your solution does not invite more visitors to the country. There are many hotels throughout Trinidad and Tobago struggling to have their rooms booked. Building more hotels does not resolve that problem. You clearly pulled that 2-3 hotel figure out your a-s because POS alone has more than 2-3 hotels.

You are probably somebody's great grandfather if you cannot see why having younger representatives in the tourism sector is relevant. With social media dominating the way a country looks to outsiders and many of the social media influencers being younger, do you really think a 75 year old is the right person to be at the forefront of a groundbreaking tourism overhaul?

Having global hotel chains in the country does not resolve the tourism issue. Again, if you educated yourself you would know this. What is needed is proper marketing, culture, customer service, and itineraries for a broad rage of clientele.

Small businesses and tiny guest houses are a nonfactor in a tourism scenario. Those who want to stay there will stay there, period. Not every tourist stays at a hotel, there are backpackers, college kids, missionaries, etc.

For the restaurants, there needs to be an emphasis on better ingredients and better customer service. The quality of the food in many local restaurants is appalling, especially given the prices. If the locals do not think the food is worth it, why would tourists? A thousand bad restaurants are still bad restaurants.

Most of your solutions reek of someone who has only thought about this in theory but never experienced it in practice.

Again, I say: The internet is vast, go educate yourself, and if you can afford it, go book yourself a trip to another country. Maybe then you'll stop living in La La Land.

Postby hover11 » December 14th, 2022, 12:49 pm

Good governance
FB_IMG_1671036495126.jpg

Postby Dizzy28 » December 15th, 2022, 10:19 am

hover11 wrote:Good governance FB_IMG_1671036495126.jpg

Decreases in subsidies is generally always good.
Reduces inefficiencies

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » December 15th, 2022, 12:24 pm

Fyi I think the unsubsidized airbridge would cost us just over a $100usd a person

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » December 15th, 2022, 3:32 pm

I am calling BS on the 100USD ticket price to Tobago ... it might cost CAL 100USD for a 15minute flight but let us be honest here these Govt corporations arent run in an efficient manner.

Nevertheless a one way flight to Barbados and Guyana is about 1hour and costs 130 and 174USD respectively ... So folks gonna have to justify/substantiate that I am all for scrapping subsidies but taxpayers shouldnt have to be funding inefficiency either.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 15th, 2022, 3:59 pm

^ In July of this year CAL stated that the cost per flight hour on the Tobago route is US$17,306. https://tt.loopnews.com/content/cal-see ... -airbridge

Those ATRs hold what 70 persons? You do the math