US charges Venezuelan president with 'narco-terrorism'

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 26th, 2020, 8:13 pm

The US has charged Venezuela's President, Nicolás Maduro, and other senior officials in the country with "narco-terrorism".

It accused them of flooding the US with cocaine and using drugs as a weapon to undermine the health of Americans.

The charges were announced by Attorney General William Barr. A $15m (£12.5m) reward is being offered for information leading to Mr Maduro's arrest.

The US move will further escalate tensions between the two nations.

Washington has long accused the Venezuelan president of leading a corrupt and brutal regime, a charge he has repeatedly rejected.

It backs the opposition leader Juan Guaidó, who declared himself interim president last year.

The new charges represent an escalation in the longstanding US pressure campaign on Mr Maduro, which also includes sweeping sanctions on Venezuela's oil industry.

US blacklists Russian oil firm for helping Maduro
Venezuela reveals 'secret talks' with US
Venezuela: What you need to know
As well as Mr Maduro, the US charged more than a dozen top Venezuelan officials. These included the country's defence minister and the supreme court's chief justice.

"The Venezuelan people deserve a transparent, responsible, representative government that serves the needs of the people - and that does not.... engage in illicit narcotics trafficking," the US state department said.

What does the US indictment say?
The charges against Mr Maduro and 14 members of his inner circle include narco-terrorism, drug trafficking, money laundering and corruption.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-latin-america-52053799

as if the US already don't have enough things to worry about right now

Dohplaydat

Re: US charges Venezuelan president with 'narco-terrorism'

Postby Dohplaydat » March 26th, 2020, 9:47 pm

Odd timing as well.

Postby Redman » March 26th, 2020, 10:38 pm

Haa it worked like a charm last time with Noriega.
Bong to work again.
Nobody will suspect anything
Ent Elliot?

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » March 26th, 2020, 11:30 pm

Cocaine import agency

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » March 27th, 2020, 6:55 am

:drinking: :drinking: :drinking:

Snyper

Postby Snyper » March 28th, 2020, 8:26 am

It's not that hard for the US to get him, just a repeat of soleimani
Last edited by Snyper on March 28th, 2020, 6:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 28th, 2020, 10:07 am

Well maduro is a pest eh so might as well just get rid of him at this point, I sick of this Venezuelan situation at this point it eh go matter if they bomb he cacahole or not

Postby Dizzy28 » March 28th, 2020, 10:49 am

And the first thing after that announcement that we do is meet with the Venezuelan VP!!

VII

Postby VII » March 28th, 2020, 12:02 pm

And? You one of those US cant do no wrong and sheit icecream people ? Keep lapping it up bro..

Dizzy28 wrote:And the first thing after that announcement that we do is meet with the Venezuelan VP!!

Postby Dizzy28 » March 28th, 2020, 4:37 pm

You went real fast from a sensible tuner to a "til a dead"

!
VII wrote:And? You one of those US cant do no wrong and sheit icecream people ? Keep lapping it up bro..

Dizzy28 wrote:And the first thing after that announcement that we do is meet with the Venezuelan VP!!

Postby De Dragon » March 29th, 2020, 10:37 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:You went real fast from a sensible tuner to a "til a PNM dummy sheep"

!
VII wrote:And? You one of those US cant do no wrong and sheit icecream people ? Keep lapping it up bro..

*Fixed*

Postby The_Honourable » April 1st, 2020, 9:16 pm

Trump: US to Deploy Anti-Drug Navy Ships Near Venezuela

President Donald Trump is sending Navy ships toward Venezuela to beef up counter-narcotics operations in the Caribbean following a U.S. drug indictment of Venezuelan leader Nicolás Maduro.

By Associated Press, Wire Service Content - April 1, 2020, at 8:00 p.m.

MIAMI (AP) — President Donald Trump announced Wednesday that Navy ships are being moved toward Venezuela as his administration beefs up counter-narcotics operations in the Caribbean following a U.S. drug indictment against Nicolás Maduro.

The announcement came at the start of the daily White House press briefing to discuss the coronavirus pandemic, which has left much of the country in lock-down and which the government warns could cause 100,000 to 240,000 deaths.

“The Venezuelan people continue to suffer tremendously due to Maduro and his criminal control over the country, and drug traffickers are seizing on this lawlessness,” Defense Secretary Mark Esper said after the president's announcement.

The deployment is one of the largest U.S. military operations in the region since the 1989 invasion of Panama to remove Gen. Manuel Noriega from power and bring him to the U.S. to face drug charges. It involves assets like Navy warships, AWACS surveillance aircraft and on-ground special forces seldom seen before in the region.

The goal is to nearly double the U.S. counter-narcotics capacity in the Western Hemisphere, with forces operating both in the Caribbean and eastern Pacific. Esper said the mission would be supported by 22 partner nations.

“As governments and nations focus on the coronavirus there is a growing threat that cartels, criminals, terrorists and other malign actors will try to exploit the situation for their own gain,” said Trump. "We must not let that happen."

The enhanced mission has been months in the making but has taken on greater urgency following last week's indictment of Maduro, Venezuela's embattled socialist leader, and members of his inner circle and military. They are accused of leading a narcoterrorist conspiracy responsible for smuggling up to 250 metric tons of cocaine a year into the U.S., about half of it by sea.

“If I was just indicted for drug trafficking by the United States, with a $15 million reward for my capture, having the U.S. Navy conducting anti-drug operations off my coast would be something I would worry about," said Sen. Marco Rubio, a Florida Republican who has been among those calling for a tougher stance against Maduro.

Maduro's communications minister, Jorge Rodriguez, called the deployment a "desperate attempt to distract attention from the tragic humanitarian crisis" in the U.S. caused by the coronavirus. In an ironic jab, he said that for “the first time” in decades the U.S. is trying to choke off the supply of cocaine, which he noted mostly comes from Colombia, a staunch U.S. ally.

Maduro has blasted the Trump administration’s offer of a $15 million reward for his arrest, calling it the work of a “racist cowboy” aimed at getting U.S. hands on Venezuela’s vast oil reserves, the world's largest.

Others have faulted a U.S. plan, unveiled Tuesday by Secretary of State Mike Pompeo, to create a five-member council without Maduro or Guaidó to govern the country until elections can be held within a year. While its the first attempt in months by the U.S. to seek a negotiated solution to Venezuela's stalemate, coming on the heels of the indictments many say it has little hope of succeeding and likely to drive Maduro farther away from the path of dialogue.

The Trump administration has long insisted that all options are on the table for removing Maduro, including military ones. Still, there’s no indication then, or now, that any sort of U.S. invasion is being planned.

Rather, the sending of ships fits into a longstanding call by the U.S. Southern Command for additional assets to combat growing antinarcotics and other security threats in the hemisphere.

It could also be an attempt to send a message of protection for Maduro's U.S.-backed rival, Juan Guaidó.

Maduro’s chief prosecutor ordered Guaidó to provide testimony Thursday as part of an investigation into an alleged coup attempt. Guaidó, the head of Venezuela's congress who is recognized as his country's legitimate leader by the U.S. and almost 60 other nations, is unlikely to show up, raising the possibility he could be arrested. The U.S. has long insisted it will not tolerate any harm against Guaido.

In January, another Navy vessel, the USS Detroit, conducted a freedom of navigation operation off the coast of Venezuela in a show of pressure against Maduro.

“That presence sends a big statement about U.S. commitment, it sends a big statement to our friends, it reassures them, and then to our adversaries that those are capable performers,” Adm. Craig Faller, the head of the U.S. military's Southern Command, said in congressional testimony last month.

The report of the planned deployment comes two days after one of Venezuela's naval patrol boats sank after colliding with a Portuguese-flagged cruise ship near the Venezuelan-controlled island of La Tortuga. Maduro accused the ship of acting aggressively and said it was possibly carrying “mercenaries” seeking his ouster.

“You have to be very naive to see this as an isolated incident,” Maduro said Tuesday night on state TV.

But Colombia Cruise Services, the operator of the cruise ship, said the patrol boat fired gunshots and than purposely rammed into the liner at speed. There were no passengers on board and none of its 32 crew members were injured, the company said.

Source: https://www.usnews.com/news/us/articles ... -venezuela

Postby bluefete » April 1st, 2020, 9:26 pm

The USA waving the big stick again.

As bad as Maduro may be, it is US economic sanctions that have Venezuelans really suffering.

Postby hydroep » April 2nd, 2020, 9:10 am

Postby nemisis » April 2nd, 2020, 9:18 am

Coincidentally trump was on news talking about how they need to do something about the Saudis and Russians with respect to oil....

Postby rspann » April 2nd, 2020, 12:42 pm

Growlers did really say , "show me your friends "..............

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 4th, 2020, 12:26 pm

Postby hydroep » April 4th, 2020, 12:31 pm

Imagine if...certain people met to sell Maddy out. $15M US split down the middle is plenty morney yunno...:|

Postby Redman » April 4th, 2020, 12:37 pm

But isnt Guido-the US puppet known to be associated with the Narcos?

Maybe we should just ask the US to prescribe our foreign policy for us.

Postby maj. tom » April 4th, 2020, 1:58 pm

USA feel Venezuela is another Nicaragua. They didn't learn from Vietnam. They didn't learn from 9/11. They didn't learn from Libya. They didn't learn from Afghanistan. They didn't learn from Iraq. USA will never learn. One day China will turn around and start the end of our world with them.

Postby De Dragon » April 4th, 2020, 3:37 pm

One thing you have to give to the Yanks, when they create a charade, they go all out to maintain it.

snypaz

Postby snypaz » April 4th, 2020, 4:10 pm

No Navy carriers in the Gulf yet? Cause when I saw that announcement, my first thought was boats off Icacos.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 4th, 2020, 4:11 pm

Trinidad need to stay out of Venezuela affairs and make sure our fingerprints are no where near their eventual downfall.

Plenty ppl in TnT fail to realise that the world is grouped according to region. Venezuela issue is one for their south american nations to contend with. We have nothing to do with them. TnT is to focus on caricom.

Any issue between USA and Venezuela really don't need any "assistance" from caricom to find a solution.

Trinidad's business is to deal with whoever sitting in the palace at any given point in time. Whether it's Guido or Maduro. Let's hope that new anti drug boat is effective and slows the influx of drugs and guns to our country.

Postby Gladiator » April 4th, 2020, 4:12 pm

Saw a video with the Venezuelan military mobilising...
IMG-20200404-WA0003.jpeg

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » April 4th, 2020, 4:57 pm

Venezuela navy vessel sinks after 'ramming cruise ship

https://www.bbc.com/news/amp/world-lati ... a-52151951

A Venezuelan navy coastal patrol boat sank in the Caribbean after allegedly ramming a cruise ship that it had ordered to change direction.

The owners of the Portuguese-flagged RCGS Resolute said the naval vessel Naiguata also fired shots in an "act of aggression in international waters”.

The collision left the cruise ship, which has a reinforced hull for sailing in icy waters, with only minor damage.

Venezuela accused the Resolute of an act of "aggression and piracy".

It also said it "did not rule out" that the cruise ship "was transporting mercenaries to attack military bases in Venezuela".

President Nicolás Maduro has previously accused the United States and other countries of plotting to overthrow him.

The incident took place near La Tortuga Island, a Venezuelan federal dependency, on 30 March.

Colombia Cruise Services, which operates the Resolute, said the cruise ship had been carrying out routine engine maintenance in international waters more than 13 nautical miles (24km) from La Tortuga.

A statement from the Hamburg-based company said that shortly after midnight, the Naiguata radioed the Resolute, questioning its intentions, and ordered the captain to follow it to a port on Isla Margarita, to the east.

“While the master was in contact with the head office, gunshots were fired and, shortly thereafter, the navy vessel approached the starboard side at speed... and purposely collided with the RCGS Resolute," it added.

"The navy vessel continued to ram the starboard bow in an apparent attempt to turn the ship’s head towards Venezuelan territorial waters."

Although the Resolute - a purpose-built polar expedition vessel - suffered minor damage, the patrol boat began taking on water after hitting its bulbous bow, according to the statement.

Colombia Cruise Services said the Resolute remained in the area for more than an hour and contacted rescue co-ordinators on the Dutch Caribbean island of Curaçao. All attempts to contact the Naiguata went unanswered and the Resolute eventually sailed to Willemstad on Curaçao, it added.

A statement by the Venezuelan military (in Spanish) accused the Resolute of "cowardly and criminal" behaviour, "since it did not attend to the rescue of the crew".

It said all the crew of the Naiguata had been rescued, but did not give details.

Defence Minister Vladimir Padrino López accused the Resolute of ramming the vessel , "which caused its sinking".

President Maduro said an investigation had been launched and he expected "maximum collaboration" from authorities in Curaçao.

Postby hydroep » April 4th, 2020, 5:08 pm

If the shyte hits the fan ah wonder if Sh!tkicker go remain "neutral" again...:|

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 4th, 2020, 5:20 pm

Adjustments.JPG

Postby aaron17 » April 4th, 2020, 5:40 pm

Plot thickens why the vp of venez came here especially on a flight.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 4th, 2020, 6:07 pm

hydroep wrote:If the shyte hits the fan ah wonder if Sh!tkicker go remain "neutral" again...:|

If you pick a side then you also have to contribute assets to any possible military action bro. Do you want to side with Trump and when they want to invade they asks you to contribute personnel and possibly land space for their troops etc for the forseeable future?

Cockroach have no place in fowl party and Trinidad is a baby roach in this.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » April 4th, 2020, 10:05 pm

Where is the video of the us helicopter landing troops in Venezuela