COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 94213 (+579) cases, 2973 (+22) deaths, 15436 active, 75804 recovered in T&T

Postby timelapse » January 24th, 2022, 10:21 am

wtf wrote:Why aren't Chinese,Syrians or Venezuelans succumbing to the virus?
About 10 venes on my side with it.They self quarantined

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 94213 (+579) cases, 2973 (+22) deaths, 15436 active, 75804 recovered in T&T

Postby Chimera » January 24th, 2022, 10:34 am

Them venes immune system different. U ever see on a worksite that 10 venes would drink from the same bottle mouth? I feel them and the Chinese on the whole healthier than the trini population.

And plenty of them still gone for their vaccines as well.

I really wonder if they allowing foreign nationals place in ICU and HDU though

Postby pugboy » January 24th, 2022, 10:38 am

95% of venes are not past middle age and the other 5% are kids

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » January 24th, 2022, 11:35 am

**Breaking News Tuners**
We have an Omicron Sub Variant on our hands called BA.2.

Get vaccinated.

Wear your mask.

Watch your distance.

Wash your hands.

Stay Safe.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 24th, 2022, 11:45 am

wtf wrote:**Breaking News Tuners**

Get vaccinated.

Wear your mask.

Watch your distance.

Wash your hands.

Stay Safe.

It's been known a while now and hasn't been considered a variant of concern. It's definitely taken off in India and Denmark though, but fortunately it seems just as mild as Omicron.

Nothing to be worried about.... yet

Postby alfa » January 24th, 2022, 12:35 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Them venes immune system different. U ever see on a worksite that 10 venes would drink from the same bottle mouth? I feel them and the Chinese on the whole healthier than the trini population.

I've been saying for a long time that with over 3000 people dead we should be able to get some better stats about COVID deaths in Trinidad. Namely categorizing deaths by age gender sex race comorbidities and if the person was generally sickly etc. Then we can get a better picture instead of only hearing 90 something percent of deaths are unvaccinated and we have one more bed left. The lack of info feeds more conspiracy theorist and fear mongering and will do more harm than good

Postby Chimera » January 24th, 2022, 12:39 pm

I think PEA did foia requests for that same info a while back. Not sure what came of it though.

Postby adnj » January 24th, 2022, 1:23 pm

alfa wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:Them venes immune system different. U ever see on a worksite that 10 venes would drink from the same bottle mouth? I feel them and the Chinese on the whole healthier than the trini population.

I've been saying for a long time that with over 3000 people dead we should be able to get some better stats about COVID deaths in Trinidad. Namely categorizing deaths by age gender sex race comorbidities and if the person was generally sickly etc. Then we can get a better picture instead of only hearing 90 something percent of deaths are unvaccinated and we have one more bed left. The lack of info feeds more conspiracy theorist and fear mongering and will do more harm than good
Additional information on TTO COVID deaths accompanied every COVID-19 update.

Postby redmanjp » January 24th, 2022, 1:34 pm

adnj wrote:COVID-19: how long is contagious period for Omicron, Delta?

UK health officials estimated the impact of different isolation periods on COVID-19 infectiousness.

Five days from symptoms or a positive test, 31% of people with COVID-19 were contagious, they said.

Testing negative on rapid tests on days 5 and 6 cut the risk of being infectious to 7%, they said.

https://www.businessinsider.com/covid-h ... 2022-1?amp

can we shorten our 14 or 21 day quarantine period if we do a 2nd test and its negative? it seems we still using the old data that applied to the Wuhan strain. (just like MOH website only recommends workplaces cleaning surfaces and not one word about masks or vaccination)

Postby redmanjp » January 24th, 2022, 1:40 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
wtf wrote:**Breaking News Tuners**

Get vaccinated.

Wear your mask.

Watch your distance.

Wash your hands.

Stay Safe.

It's been known a while now and hasn't been considered a variant of concern. It's definitely taken off in India and Denmark though, but fortunately it seems just as mild as Omicron.

Nothing to be worried about.... yet

mild doesn't mean for 100% of cases, with everyone getting infected in a short period of time it will still overwhelm hospitals even if its only 5% need hospital care. and with BA2 worst yet. with immune escape variants its like d whole population unvaxxed when it comes to infections- though T cell immunity will keep some out of hospital.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 24th, 2022, 1:53 pm

adnj wrote:Natural immunity against COVID lowered risk more than vaccines against Delta variant, new study says

Unvaccinated people who had previously contracted COVID-19 and survived were better protected against the Delta variant than those who were only vaccinated, according to a new study published on Wednesday.

With the release of the research, which was published in its Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) emphasised that "vaccination remains the safest strategy" against the disease.

"Viruses are constantly changing, including the virus that causes Covid-19," the CDC said in a statement.

"The level of protection offered by vaccination and surviving a previous infection changed during the study period. Vaccination remains the safest strategy for protecting against COVID-19".

The study also pointed out that relying on contracting the disease as a strategy to gain immunity potentially carries serious complications, such as hospitalisation, long-term health problems, and death, while vaccines have proven to be extremely safe and effective.

The study was conducted before booster doses were widely available, and before the emergence of the Omicron variant, which now accounts for more than 99 per cent of new cases in the US. It is, therefore, possible that the balance has shifted towards vaccination being more effective than immunity following infection.

However, the results published on Wednesday provide key insights into the differences between vaccine-acquired and post-infection immunity.

The health authorities studied cases in the states of New York and California from late May to November 2021. Delta became the majority disease in the US at the end of June.

During the period analysed by the researchers, the people with the least protection by far were those who had neither been vaccinated nor fallen ill in the past.

But before Delta, vaccinated people who had not previously contracted COVID-19 were better protected than unvaccinated people who had already fallen ill.

After the introduction of Delta, the ratio was reversed.

https://www.euronews.com/next/2022/01/2 ... iant-new-s

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: What the Rowley is this I seeing here? After men get ban from Twitter for saying that same thing? Whey! Nah!

Postby adnj » January 24th, 2022, 1:57 pm

redmanjp wrote:
adnj wrote:COVID-19: how long is contagious period for Omicron, Delta?

UK health officials estimated the impact of different isolation periods on COVID-19 infectiousness.

Five days from symptoms or a positive test, 31% of people with COVID-19 were contagious, they said.

Testing negative on rapid tests on days 5 and 6 cut the risk of being infectious to 7%, they said.

https://www.businessinsider.com/covid-h ... 2022-1?amp

can we shorten our 14 or 21 day quarantine period if we do a 2nd test and its negative? it seems we still using the old data that applied to the Wuhan strain. (just like MOH website only recommends workplaces cleaning surfaces and not one word about masks or vaccination)

You may want to concentrate on shortening the acceptable lead time for a PCR test for no-quarantine TTO entry first. It currently stands at seventy-two hours.

That same link references at least one study that showed time from a positive test or symptoms onset to peak viral particle load be as short as three days.

Postby redmanjp » January 24th, 2022, 2:09 pm

yeah but implementing the reduced time period for pre entry pcr test now instead of weeks ago or months ago for delta is closing d barn door after the horse bolt. if we did it back in September we would have less delta cases and less death to deal with (delta being the most severe variant).

many countries have long reduced quarantine period to 10 days, and more recently a few to 5, though the 5 might be a little too risky. asymptomatic ppl should at least have an option to retest after a week instead of staying in quarantine despite their infectious period being long over. yeah they still may be a very small risk of a few still being infectious but hey we taking bigger risks now with the economy being open despite the high level of infection.

with our long period a large portion of the working population will be under quarantine including essential services. the virus has changed since wuhan we need to adapt too.

Postby zoom rader » January 24th, 2022, 2:58 pm

We probably did , but the red government ppl got them first and selling it

Postby pugboy » January 24th, 2022, 3:10 pm

for sure, the amount of ppl who returned and tested positive

adnj wrote:You may want to concentrate on shortening the acceptable lead time for a PCR test for no-quarantine TTO entry first. It currently stands at seventy-two hours.

That same link references at least one study that showed time from a positive test or symptoms onset to peak viral particle load be as short as three days.

Postby adnj » January 24th, 2022, 3:12 pm

redmanjp wrote:yeah but implementing the reduced time period for pre entry pcr test now instead of weeks ago or months ago for delta is closing d barn door after the horse bolt. if we did it back in September we would have less delta cases and less death to deal with (delta being the most severe variant).

many countries have long reduced quarantine period to 10 days, and more recently a few to 5, though the 5 might be a little too risky. asymptomatic ppl should at least have an option to retest after a week instead of staying in quarantine despite their infectious period being long over. yeah they still may be a very small risk of a few still being infectious but hey we taking bigger risks now with the economy being open despite the high level of infection.

with our long period a large portion of the working population will be under quarantine including essential services. the virus has changed since wuhan we need to adapt too.

I know of no shortage of essential workers. Do you know of any? Perhaps there is a shortage of vaccinated essential workers. That's a fairly straightforward fix.

Postby pete » January 24th, 2022, 3:41 pm

Only way they can reduce the test time for travel to Trinidad is to accept a rapid test. As it is in many places in the US you need to pay for an expedited test to get it back in that time.

Canada has random PCR testing for incoming passengers and they need to isolate until they get their results. Why we didn't do that and add the cost on to the airport fees I have no idea.

Postby K74T » January 24th, 2022, 4:01 pm

389/18

FB_IMG_1643054451670.jpg

Postby hover11 » January 24th, 2022, 4:03 pm

Presumptuous at the very least
FB_IMG_1643054573302.jpg

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » January 24th, 2022, 4:08 pm

Why are so many people still dying from a weak virus?

Postby Chimera » January 24th, 2022, 4:14 pm

wtf wrote:Why are so many people still dying from a weak virus?
Yea wtf really going on.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » January 24th, 2022, 4:18 pm

Rip
Screenshot_20220124-161134_Facebook.jpg

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 24th, 2022, 4:19 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
Yea wtf really going on.

Lock down the country now. If you lock down the vaccinated the unvacxed who is in the majority will be free to live an as pre vaccine there will be low death an low cases.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 24th, 2022, 4:26 pm

1. Unvaccinated population is still large, compare how the UK (much more boosted and vaxed) experienced Omicron to the US
2. Large portion of our elderly got Sinopharm, Sinopharm without boosters after 6 months probably isn't going to have much protection sadly
3. Trinis more unhealthy than ever, we have been locked down for basically two years, so much exercising and activity has stopped + pandemic weight
4. Delta is probably still quite prevalent (or at least was 2 weeks ago when these recently dead people were infected).

Postby st7 » January 24th, 2022, 4:30 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
Yea wtf really going on.

Lock down the country now. If you lock down the vaccinated the unvacxed who is in the majority will be free to live an as pre vaccine there will be low death an low cases.
we need people to answer 1+1 before making posts i feel

Postby Chimera » January 24th, 2022, 4:43 pm

Lock down the vaccinated you say?
Well yes.

Postby matr1x » January 24th, 2022, 4:52 pm

Just remember phizer was fined 2.3 billion US for criminal intent on a drug product gone wrong.

I wonder what their vaccine will fetch

Postby redmanjp » January 24th, 2022, 4:58 pm

low weekend numbers. wait for Wednesday and Thursday. might get ah 1500-2000. ent omicron supposed to double every 2-3 days? so the omicron cases would quadruple after 1 week. :shock: the delta cases remaining constant.

Postby hover11 » January 24th, 2022, 4:59 pm

England drops testing requirement for vaccinated travellers 

Come February 11th eligible fully vaccinated travellers heading to England will no longer need to provide a negative COVID-19 test either pre- or post-arrival. Instead, travellers will only need to fill out a passenger locator form before travelling. The announcement by Transport Secretary Grant Shapps comes as major UK airlines resume regular scheduled flights to Trinidad & Tobago.   

Rules are also being eased for the unvaccinated with travellers arriving in England no longer being required to quarantine. However, they will still be required to take a pre-departure test and a PCR test on or before day 2 after arriving in England. Over the last two years, travellers have faced numerous challenges flying to the UK including changing rules and expensive tests. 

A Virgin Atlantic spokesperson told Guardian Media, “The removal of all testing for vaccinated passengers is the final step in moving towards frictionless air travel, allowing passengers to reconnect with loved ones and business colleagues. It restores customer confidence and demand will be boosted in a critical booking window for the travel industry.” 

The spokesperson also said the company would “continue to work with UK Government on an evidence-based framework for variants of concern, eliminating border closures which have proven to be ineffective.” 

These new rules only apply to England as other parts of the UK set their own public health policies. 

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/england-drops-te ... ravellers/