COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116769 (+926) cases, 3486 (+19) deaths, 20915 active, 92368 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » February 9th, 2022, 8:19 pm

but yuh know the CMO once said once u wearing a mask while exposed to a positive case u dont need to quarantine - and he was talking about ordinary ppl not doctors/nurses. but what we know about clothe masks and omicron i hope that only applies to kn95s and medical masks.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116769 (+926) cases, 3486 (+19) deaths, 20915 active, 92368 recovered in T&T

Postby Chimera » February 9th, 2022, 8:25 pm

hover11 wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:Hovie spend atleast 18 weeks with full pay quarantine. Government work nice eh.
Not my fault if all my exposures were work related
That 2013 salary though.

Postby paid_influencer » February 9th, 2022, 8:26 pm

question - if someone goes to a health center to get swabbed, do they automatically hand that person a quarantine notice?

Postby Chimera » February 9th, 2022, 8:30 pm

paid_influencer wrote:question - if someone goes to a health center to get swabbed, do they automatically hand that person a quarantine notice?
Yes once you say you have symptoms and you go to test they giving you quarantine notice. Alot of people are abusing it. Specifically public servants as they are really the only ones being paid while on quarantine and don't have to work from home.

Postby redmanjp » February 9th, 2022, 8:30 pm

paid_influencer wrote:question - if someone goes to a health center to get swabbed, do they automatically hand that person a quarantine notice?

yes. i guess it would be the same as for symptomatic positive ppl - 10 days plus 3 days without symptoms

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 115843 (+573) cases, 3467 (+7) deaths, 20609 active, 91767 recovered in T&T

Postby st7 » February 9th, 2022, 9:02 pm

DMan7 wrote:Waaay me ain't come in this thread in awhile and it seems to be the same old same old with numb nuts over there. Damn boi.

a man like you busy playing golf :lol: :lol:

Postby redmanjp » February 9th, 2022, 9:34 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
Yes once you say you have symptoms and you go to test they giving you quarantine notice. Alot of people are abusing it. Specifically public servants as they are really the only ones being paid while on quarantine and don't have to work from home.

but u have to have visible symptoms or the nurse have to take their temperature- not so? or they taking your word for it?

Postby Kenjo » February 9th, 2022, 9:37 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:

but u have to have visible symptoms or the nurse have to take their temperature- not so? or they taking your word for it?

Well taking word for it means you are telling the truth so if the man say he got exposed I’m work and went for swabbing he has to be having symptoms and sufficient time gone by to clinically have the swab come back positive . You won’t get swabbed for the the first sneeze .

Postby redmanjp » February 9th, 2022, 9:40 pm

if u sneezing already u already past the incubation period and should be testing positive. in fact the CDC say u cud test on day 5 even without symptoms afaik

DMan7

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 115843 (+573) cases, 3467 (+7) deaths, 20609 active, 91767 recovered in T&T

Postby DMan7 » February 9th, 2022, 9:41 pm

st7 wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Waaay me ain't come in this thread in awhile and it seems to be the same old same old with numb nuts over there. Damn boi.

a man like you busy playing golf :lol: :lol:

Ah coming to hit yuh with a "As of midnite tonite" on saturday. :D

Postby Chimera » February 9th, 2022, 9:44 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:

They taking your word for it. Remember its a 2 or 3 week stay at home quarantine eh. Where you could get lock up for leaving the house if police catch you......

When I tested positive with a private antigen I never got any quarantine order.
My wife tested negative with a antigen the same day.

Then a few days after she went through mt hope staff section to do a pcr and immediately get put on a 2 or 3 week quarantine.....simply because she had contact with a positive person. (Me)

Postby hover11 » February 9th, 2022, 10:21 pm

Today in the health centre a guy was on the phone in the back of me speaking rather loudly it was hard to not overhear what he was saying. He said he had received his antigen test and it was positive , for four days he went to work and symptoms worsened then he decided to finally come do the PCR , however, he didn't want to pay 1000 for it so he decided to come do it at the health centre. Anyway, apparently more persons in his office are developing symptoms because of his carelessness, honestly what's the point of an antigen if you still have doubts after taking it and inevitably have to take the PCR test that you were trying to avoid? I don't mind the swab tbh, it's the more accurate test available.

Postby Chimera » February 9th, 2022, 10:48 pm

Antigen test means private lab and no quarantine order and no NIS benefits I assume.

So that's why they do the pcr after. To get the official quarantine order

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 10th, 2022, 6:32 am

hover11 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:Hovie like yuh get a 2 weeks paid quarantine again. Yuh gt
21 days sir

21 days? who give yuh that? CMO adjusted the quarantine times recently- 14 days alone for exposed persons.
I thought so too but it seems st Joseph health centre doing their own thing...I ain complaining

u test positive or just a contact of one?

had a positive in my office too.

redmanjp if you all wearing the mask indoors at the office can you all get infected from the positive case?

Postby redmanjp » February 10th, 2022, 12:19 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
hover11 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:
21 days sir

21 days? who give yuh that? CMO adjusted the quarantine times recently- 14 days alone for exposed persons.
I thought so too but it seems st Joseph health centre doing their own thing...I ain complaining

redmanjp if you all wearing the mask indoors at the office can you all get infected from the positive case?

if its kn95s hardly likely. maybe more so for those wearing cloth masks.

the person came in Monday morning and wasn't feeling well but left shortly after - they were wearing a mask as far as i have been told. coworkers sprayed down his area with lysol on monday and then after hearing he tested positive we used a sanitation device throughout the office again yesterday.

there is 1 coworker within 6 feet of him and 2 within 9 feet, not sure if they were wearing masks but again he didn't stay long monday morning after he came in. he may have felt slightly 'under the weather' over the weekend so its possible he could have been contagious from friday, but so far no one else has symptoms.

Postby Chimera » February 10th, 2022, 12:49 pm

For people who have co workers and shared office spaces etc.....

Do people really keep on their masks as they should? Co-workers really doesn't be mixing at lunch time and going out for food together in the same vehicle and not wearing mask and if people buy a batch of kfc or pizza ....they does really take their meals and move seperate and eat on their own?

When I use to work in a government company years ago...Friday was day to make chow.....everybody eating from the same bowl....

If ceo order lunch for everyone....we all liming together in the lunch room ( really a whole seperate building dedicated for lunch) and watching TV and mixing

If a crew going out to get food....4 or 5 workers rolling in one vehicle......

Every Friday after 1pm is to play all fours until 4pm and then go lime after.

Things change that much? People shunning co workers and coasting if co workers come to mix with them or share food or snacks with them?

Postby adnj » February 10th, 2022, 12:50 pm

redmanjp wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:
hover11 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:
21 days sir

the person came in Monday morning and wasn't feeling well but left shortly after - they were wearing a mask as far as i have been told. coworkers sprayed down his area with lysol on monday and then after hearing he tested positive we used a sanitation device throughout the office again yesterday.

there is 1 coworker within 6 feet of him and 2 within 9 feet, not sure if they were wearing masks but again he didn't stay long monday morning after he came in. he may have felt slightly 'under the weather' over the weekend so its possible he could have been contagious from friday, but so far no one else has symptoms.

Reported likelihood mask use test results.

What is added by this report?

Consistent use of a face mask or respirator in indoor public settings was associated with lower odds of a positive SARS-CoV-2 test result (adjusted odds ratio = 0.44). Use of respirators with higher filtration capacity was associated with the most protection, compared with no mask use.

https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/71/wr/mm7106e1.htm

Postby hover11 » February 10th, 2022, 12:58 pm

adnj wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:
hover11 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:21 days sir

Reported likelihood mask use test results.

What is added by this report?

Consistent use of a face mask or respirator in indoor public settings was associated with lower odds of a positive SARS-CoV-2 test result (adjusted odds ratio = 0.44). Use of respirators with higher filtration capacity was associated with the most protection, compared with no mask use.

https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/71/wr/mm7106e1.htm

Question what about double masking with cloth masks, not all the time u want to use your n95 unnecessarily

Postby redmanjp » February 10th, 2022, 3:06 pm

i think the effectiveness could change with omicron tho. as in less effective, especially cloth masks

Postby adnj » February 10th, 2022, 3:26 pm

redmanjp wrote:i think the effectiveness could change with omicron tho. as in less effective, especially cloth masks

Masks are less effective with omicron. Infection likelihood is also tied to whether the other person is masked and the amount of time you spend in their proximity. This data is pre-delta.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 10th, 2022, 3:46 pm

Cool story

I am fully vaccinated plus boost on dec 28th

Sat dow Wednesday in a car with a girl for 2 hours

She with mask I without

She started feeling sick the next day

She tested positive yesterday a week later with antigen test

I tested negative yesterday with antigen and negative today PCR.

I only had slight chills over the weekend

Feeling normal today

She was vaccinated but not boosted. Thinks she got it from a girl who hugged her at work

Back to work tomorrow

Postby MaxPower » February 10th, 2022, 5:07 pm

Friends,

Remember from Day 1 i emphasized on the importance of mask wearing.

Again, this is a virus and we must protect our noses and mouths from harmful particles.

Invest in proper masks, not jockey shorts over your face.

Alluyuh Trinis love buying a set of rum and crap food and want to take selfies in all the top restaurants and bars…..but breaksin to wear a N/KN95……gosh order some blasted masks on Amazon.

Postby hover11 » February 10th, 2022, 5:08 pm

PariaMan wrote:Cool story

She with mask I without

Feeling normal today

She was vaccinated but not boosted. Thinks she got it from a girl who hugged her at work

Back to work tomorrow
All that to say you boosted. Ok then

Meanwhile a 70 sum year old man with a heart condition and probably other unmentioned comorbidities ,contracted covid and lived to tell the tale both when he was vaccinated and unvaccinated. What's your point?

Postby adnj » February 10th, 2022, 5:45 pm

Autopsy confirms Kansas woman died of allergic reaction to COVID-19 vaccine

Posted at 10:23 AM, Feb 10, 2022

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Following an investigation by the Kansas Department of Health and Environment into the death of a Kansas woman last year, an autopsy confirms her cause of death was an allergic reaction to the Moderna COVID-19 vaccine.

68-year-old Jeanie M. Evans of Effingham, Kansas, received her vaccine in Jefferson County in March 2021. After receiving the shot, she began to experience anaphylaxis, according to KSHB 41's previous reporting.

"The decedent was a 68 year old female with a medical history of hypertension, environmental allergies, "allergic disorder", and reactive airway disease (not asthma), with previous anaphylactic reaction to albuterol," the autopsy report said.

It then described that, on March 23, 2021, about 15 minutes after receiving her first dose of the vaccine, she began to complain that her airway was becoming blocked.

"EMS was called and arrived on scene where she was noted to have severe respiratory distress with labored breathing and stridor and poor oxygen saturation," the report said.

Evans was then transported to the emergency room. She was pronounced dead on March 24.

"Based on the available case history and autopsy findings, it is my opinion that Jeanie Evans, a 68 year old female, died as a result of anaphylaxis due to COVID-19 vaccine administration," the report concluded.

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, anaphlaxis after receiving the COVID-19 vaccine is rare, with only five people per one million vaccinated experiencing it.

There have been 7,820 deaths due to COVID-19 infections in Kansas and 906,603 deaths in the U.S., according to the CDC.

https://www.kshb.com/news/coronavirus/a ... ?_amp=true

Postby adnj » February 10th, 2022, 5:46 pm

hover11 wrote:

She with mask I without

Feeling normal today

Back to work tomorrow

Meanwhile a 70 sum year old man with a heart condition and probably other unmentioned comorbidities ,contracted covid and lived to tell the tale both when he was vaccinated and unvaccinated. What's your point?

What's your point?

Try harder.

Postby Chimera » February 10th, 2022, 5:47 pm

hover11 wrote:

She with mask I without

Feeling normal today

Back to work tomorrow

So the man posting his experience being in close contact with someone who tested covid positive....in a thread where we talking about coronavirus and the vaccine....and you asking him whats his point?

Postby hover11 » February 10th, 2022, 5:57 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
hover11 wrote:

She with mask I without

Feeling normal today

Back to work tomorrow

So the man posting his experience being in close contact with someone who tested covid positive....in a thread where we talking about coronavirus and the vaccine....and you asking him whats his point?
I counteracted his point, the fact remains an elderly man survived covid not once but twice both when he was vaccinated and unvaccinated. Not a healthy 70 year old to begin with

Postby Chimera » February 10th, 2022, 6:09 pm

In your mind....your point counteracts his point?

Really?

Postby st7 » February 10th, 2022, 6:15 pm

hover see a man tell a story with a gyal and decide to fight him on it yes.

a man didnt even tell it to make a point, it was just his experience.

hover must be bored and lonely at home with he 21 days. any gyal ever come to yuh 'house' hover? :lol:

Postby adnj » February 10th, 2022, 6:32 pm

PariaMan is telling HIS story.

Hoover is telling someone else's story.