COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 30183 cases, 713 deaths, 8578 active, 20892 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » June 21st, 2021, 12:08 am

drchaos wrote:You don't get it ... This is a Zugzwang.
If you Lock down you cause this
-Poverty, soul crushing poverty where you can't feed your family
-Economic devastation that can spiral downward for a decade or more
- Mental health is sacrificed, Suicides/Substance abuse rate skyrocket
- Breakdown of the family unit which is the bedrock of a functional society
All these eventually lead to social unrest

If you don't lock down you get a high number of deaths from your vulnerable population and an overwhelmed health system which cascades down into failures in dealing with non communicable diseases.

Either way you're screwed
So like I said ... No win situation

No no Dr……..it’s Trinis that don’t get it.

If they complied with the protocols they wouldnt put themselves in this position.

So what then? Don’t lock down and let Trinis continue to be irresponsible? Na man, all that you list there would have been worse if we did not lock down.

We can’t throw those sad stories on the Govt, they gave us a chance to be responsible and we failed. You cannot blame them for making the decision to lock down. Heck it’s not even a real lockdown.

But ur right, you’re screwed either way but you’re just more screwed with an opened economy.

drchaos

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 30183 cases, 713 deaths, 8578 active, 20892 recovered in T&T

Postby drchaos » June 21st, 2021, 7:46 am

drchaos wrote:You don't get it ... This is a Zugzwang.
If you Lock down you cause this
-Poverty, soul crushing poverty where you can't feed your family
-Economic devastation that can spiral downward for a decade or more
- Mental health is sacrificed, Suicides/Substance abuse rate skyrocket
- Breakdown of the family unit which is the bedrock of a functional society
All these eventually lead to social unrest

If you don't lock down you get a high number of deaths from your vulnerable population and an overwhelmed health system which cascades down into failures in dealing with non communicable diseases.

Either way you're screwed
So like I said ... No win situation

No no Dr……..it’s Trinis that don’t get it.

If they complied with the protocols they wouldnt put themselves in this position.

So what then? Don’t lock down and let Trinis continue to be irresponsible? Na man, all that you list there would have been worse if we did not lock down.

We can’t throw those sad stories on the Govt, they gave us a chance to be responsible and we failed. You cannot blame them for making the decision to lock down. Heck it’s not even a real lockdown.

But ur right, you’re screwed either way but you’re just more screwed with an opened economy.

Brits are some of the most disciplined people in the world. If you get a chance/had a chance to spend some time in the UK this is extremely apparent.

They followed protocols, religiously.
Did this save them last year?
Hand washing for a respiratory virus spread by resp droplets?
Sneezes and coughs can aerosolize particles up to 21 feet, what does 6 feet matter?
Cloth and surgical masks have shown no efficacy in real world studies, only opinion pieces and dummy studies in controlled environments.

Even when Trini’s weren’t following the rules last year things still weren't so bad.

You were dealing with virus that seemed to thrive in a temperate environment to one that has mutated with selection pressures in a tropical environment.

And ask yourself who managed to do nothing about a porous border for 6 years that let said virus into the country.

Is it the guy/leader you are touting as having Saved us all?
Last edited by drchaos on June 21st, 2021, 11:46 am, edited 2 times in total.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 30183 cases, 713 deaths, 8578 active, 20892 recovered in T&T

Postby aaron17 » June 21st, 2021, 8:11 am

Nah...mankind is to blame. We all have the need to socialize with others. It is built in our dna which will lead to the virus winning anyhow you take it. Soon it will feel like the virus manifesting itself out of thin air.

Postby redmanjp » June 21st, 2021, 1:12 pm

CMO today said that the P1 or Gamma variant has an R0 of about 5!

that is infection can spread from 1 person to 5 and so on like this: 1>5>25>125>625>3125 !

the previous strain is about 2.5 so will spread like this: 1>2.5>6.25>15>39>97

so after 5 levels of transmission, P1 generates 31 times more cases!

that explains a lot of what has happened the past several weeks. and why its taking so long to reduce daily infections.

so though we did have a lot of activity for Easter as well as other things, clearly that wasn't the only factor. but it also means that what was OK with the original strain is no longer safe with P1.

elec2020

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 29956 cases, 699 deaths, 8803 active, 20454 recovered in T&T

Postby elec2020 » June 21st, 2021, 2:00 pm

elec2020 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:England is back on restrictions and they have quality vaccines
elec2020 wrote:
drchaos wrote:
elec2020 wrote:but vaccinated getting reinfected already. Look at Seychelles, 86% of the Seychelles’ targeted population for vaccination (70,000 people) got the shots but yet still cases and deaths on the rise (5 deaths, 493 new cases yesterday). So what is the point. Is the 14 per cent that causing the people to still get infected? Can't make this sheit up.

Silence ... No response to this.

They don't have a response. They can use whatever news article that doctor so and so say this and that but I looking at facts. And according to the facts Seychelles highly vaccinated populace back to getting cases. Some other countries too mind you.

They are not back on, they have very very limited restrictions right now. Basically everything but night clubs are open.

They delayed their full removal of all restrictions by a month due to the presence of the Indian variant.

But expect full freedom in the UK next month.

didn't know u worked for Boris Johnson and know exactly when the UK will remove all restrictions.

No fool it's in the news.

https://www.bbc.com/news/explainers-52530518

just as he extend it before he can extend it again. So u cannot say with surety that the restrictions will be removed. But given the latest protests that just might happen

https://www.express.co.uk/news/uk/14511 ... vid-update

case in point, "Britain's daily Covid cases rise by 37% in a week to 10,633 - as Boris warns of a 'rough winter' ahead, refuses to rule out MORE lockdowns and dashes hopes of overseas summer holidays". I hope you can get a refund of that crystal ball you does be using to make such statements with so much certainty.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/articl ... early.html

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 29956 cases, 699 deaths, 8803 active, 20454 recovered in T&T

Postby teems1 » June 21st, 2021, 2:07 pm

elec2020 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:England is back on restrictions and they have quality vaccines
elec2020 wrote:
drchaos wrote:
Silence ... No response to this.

They don't have a response. They can use whatever news article that doctor so and so say this and that but I looking at facts. And according to the facts Seychelles highly vaccinated populace back to getting cases. Some other countries too mind you.

They are not back on, they have very very limited restrictions right now. Basically everything but night clubs are open.

They delayed their full removal of all restrictions by a month due to the presence of the Indian variant.

But expect full freedom in the UK next month.

didn't know u worked for Boris Johnson and know exactly when the UK will remove all restrictions.

No fool it's in the news.

https://www.bbc.com/news/explainers-52530518

just as he extend it before he can extend it again. So u cannot say with surety that the restrictions will be removed. But given the latest protests that just might happen

https://www.express.co.uk/news/uk/14511 ... vid-update

case in point, "Britain's daily Covid cases rise by 37% in a week to 10,633 - as Boris warns of a 'rough winter' ahead, refuses to rule out MORE lockdowns and dashes hopes of overseas summer holidays". I hope you can get a refund of that crystal ball you does be using to make such statements with so much certainty.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/articl ... early.html

The death count is still low with an increase from 3 to 5. This means the mass vaccination drive has worked.

Remember the vaccine is there to make a severe case which requires hospitalization into a mild one which can be handled at home.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » June 21st, 2021, 2:53 pm

^ please note that my point with Dohplaydat is that he alluded with confidence that Britain would be free again in July. I stated that he cannot say that with certainty. And then tried to belittle my point. My article shows that just as i said before, unless u working i with Johnson u do not know that restrictions will be fully removed.

Postby K74T » June 21st, 2021, 2:54 pm

13 IMMIGRATION OFFICERS TEST POSITIVE FOR COVID-19:

Via i95.5fm.

Postby pugboy » June 21st, 2021, 3:19 pm

granted they interface with a lot of the public,
but you would think that in their job they should be able to have little interaction with other officers
guess not

K74T wrote:13 IMMIGRATION OFFICERS TEST POSITIVE FOR COVID-19:

Via i95.5fm.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 21st, 2021, 4:33 pm

148 cases today, the number of cases staying in the 100 range now.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 21st, 2021, 4:34 pm

We need to start opening back up now.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » June 21st, 2021, 4:40 pm

DMan7 wrote:We need to start opening back up now.

Remember when 148 cases and 10 deaths were HUGE numbers?

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » June 21st, 2021, 5:17 pm

Y'all doing like if you doh know Monday an after a long weekend numbers does be low.

Penguin

Postby Penguin » June 21st, 2021, 5:25 pm

ST Auto wrote:Y'all doing like if you doh know Monday an after a long weekend numbers does be low.

So expect us to be back at 250s tomorrow? I noticing the hospitalizations not going down at all, why is that?

Postby pugboy » June 21st, 2021, 5:59 pm

could be the variants

Penguin wrote:
ST Auto wrote:Y'all doing like if you doh know Monday an after a long weekend numbers does be low.

So expect us to be back at 250s tomorrow? I noticing the hospitalizations not going down at all, why is that?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » June 21st, 2021, 6:02 pm

as i said before there will be a sudden drop in cases as they doctor the numbers to ensure the 1% business and fast food open up. dont be fooled and trow caution to the wind. still obey all covid protocols and dont rush the fry chicken and doubles.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » June 21st, 2021, 6:10 pm

condolences on another ttps member falls to covid. hats off.

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » June 21st, 2021, 6:28 pm

DMan7 wrote:We need to start opening back up now.

and start the process all over again , Trini's kinda thick if you ain't realize.

Postby aaron17 » June 21st, 2021, 6:28 pm

Tomorrow might be less than 200 .

Postby Gladiator » June 21st, 2021, 6:44 pm

Smart fella...I suspect that these "statistics" are being cooked up to justify whatever plan they have.

The only thing they can't fabricate is the death numbers. That's why they spend so little time on that statistic during the press conferences.
daring dragoon wrote:as i said before there will be a sudden drop in cases as they doctor the numbers to ensure the 1% business and fast food open up. dont be fooled and trow caution to the wind. still obey all covid protocols and dont rush the fry chicken and doubles.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » June 21st, 2021, 6:48 pm

Numbers low.
Time to open back up now.

Postby Gladiator » June 21st, 2021, 6:48 pm

You sounding like a lonely supporter. Beetham and sealots people making plenty PNM hate videos on social media.

They used covid as a disguise to steal money, rig an election and the lockdown as a pathetic attempt to curb forex expenditure and fix crime stats.

They also lying about the vaccines. Almost everything is a lie.
hover11 wrote:God is a trini yet over 700 trinis died ok

Could have been 7,000 if the PNM did not act.

The UNC wanted to open up the country….can you imagine what would have been the consequences?

The 700+ we have is the result of the Govt giving people a chance to be responsible. We could not have locked down “jus so”….had to try to see if it would work with eased restrictions….clearly not.

Master Keith taking win for handling the pandemic.

Still a damn mess, but he taking win.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 30767 cases, 747 deaths, 8148 active, 21872 recovered in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » June 21st, 2021, 6:55 pm

MOAC (Mother of all Carnivals) coming

AlphaMan

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 30767 cases, 747 deaths, 8148 active, 21872 recovered in T&T

Postby AlphaMan » June 21st, 2021, 6:59 pm

paid_influencer wrote:MOAC (Mother of all Carnivals) coming

Cant wait for it. :angel: :angel:

Postby aaron17 » June 21st, 2021, 7:19 pm

Mother of all Covid

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 21st, 2021, 7:25 pm

aaron17 wrote:
Mother of all Covid

Lmao.

Who hadda ded, goh ded.

Penguin

Postby Penguin » June 21st, 2021, 7:35 pm

Honestly, though given that covid rarely spreads outdoor, also by then most people would be vaccinated and carnival and fetes are mainly people under 30, I think having it would be fairly safe.

Let's see the outcome of these fully packed, no masks Eurocup games, it will be a good test as to whether we can have Carnival safely.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 21st, 2021, 8:58 pm

elec2020 wrote:^ please note that my point with Dohplaydat is that he alluded with confidence that Britain would be free again in July. I stated that he cannot say that with certainty. And then tried to belittle my point. My article shows that just as i said before, unless u working i with Johnson u do not know that restrictions will be fully removed.

Yeah he does this all the time ...

I suspect he may actually be the real Dr. Fauci or a relative ... The arrogance and smug behavior.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 21st, 2021, 9:02 pm

Penguin wrote:Honestly, though given that covid rarely spreads outdoor, also by then most people would be vaccinated and carnival and fetes are mainly people under 30, I think having it would be fairly safe.

Let's see the outcome of these fully packed, no masks Eurocup games, it will be a good test as to whether we can have Carnival safely.

If you could invent a boomsie sanitizer for the ladies after the fellars take a wine, yuh could make a killing next carnival.

Make sure it lubricates, shines and sanitizes with an easy to use applicator. :lol: :lol: :lol: