COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 30183 cases, 713 deaths, 8578 active, 20892 recovered in T&T

Postby adnj » June 19th, 2021, 6:24 pm

A potential new antiviral drug for COVID-19

Compound targets essential viral enzyme and prevents replication in cells

The experimental drug TEMPOL may be a promising oral antiviral treatment for COVID-19, according to a new study of cell cultures by a team of researchers that includes Penn State scientists. TEMPOL can limit SARS-CoV-2 infection by impairing the activity of a viral enzyme called “RNA replicase.”

A paper describing the work, which was led by researchers at the National Institutes of Health’s Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD), appears today (June 3) in the journal Science.

The study team was led by Dr. Tracey A. Rouault, head of the NICHD Section on Human Iron Metabolism. It discovered TEMPOL’s effectiveness by evaluating a more basic question on how the virus uses its RNA replicase, an enzyme that allows SARS-CoV-2 to replicate its genome and make copies of itself once inside a cell.

The researchers found that RNA replicase (specifically a subunit of the enzyme called “nsp12”) requires iron-sulfur clusters for structural support. Their findings indicate that the SARS-CoV-2 RNA replicase requires two iron-sulfur clusters to function optimally. Earlier studies had mistaken these iron-sulfur cluster binding sites for zinc-binding sites, likely because iron-sulfur clusters degrade easily under standard experimental conditions.

https://news.psu.edu/story/660566/2021/ ... g-covid-19

Biden administration to invest $3.2 billion for Covid-19 antiviral pills

The Biden administration announced a $3.2 billion plan Thursday to build up the country's supply of drugs to treat Covid-19 and future viral threats.

The plan, called the Antiviral Program for Pandemics, will spur clinical trials and the manufacturing of promising treatments for Covid-19, with the goal of gaining authorization from the Food and Drug Administration for some antivirals and making them available to the public within a year, the Department of Health and Human Services said in a statement.

Effective antiviral medicines could be taken at home, preventing surges in hospitalizations and leading to fewer deaths, the department said. The effort, which will also include research into other viruses with pandemic potential, will be funded by the American Rescue Plan, it said.

https://www.nbcnews.com/politics/white- ... t-n1271174

elec2020

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 30183 cases, 713 deaths, 8578 active, 20892 recovered in T&T

Postby elec2020 » June 19th, 2021, 6:28 pm

bluefete wrote:At this rate, I don't know when I will get vaccinated.

Do your research on those J&J vaccines, eh. Not good news at all and we are getting expired or very close to expired doses.

Not true. The Johnson and Johnson vaccine expiration was extended by the CDC.

https://apnews.com/article/joe-biden-co ... 711cc5585f

LOL. Can't make this sheit up

elec2020

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 29956 cases, 699 deaths, 8803 active, 20454 recovered in T&T

Postby elec2020 » June 19th, 2021, 6:30 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:England is back on restrictions and they have quality vaccines
elec2020 wrote:
drchaos wrote:
elec2020 wrote:but vaccinated getting reinfected already. Look at Seychelles, 86% of the Seychelles’ targeted population for vaccination (70,000 people) got the shots but yet still cases and deaths on the rise (5 deaths, 493 new cases yesterday). So what is the point. Is the 14 per cent that causing the people to still get infected? Can't make this sheit up.

Silence ... No response to this.

They don't have a response. They can use whatever news article that doctor so and so say this and that but I looking at facts. And according to the facts Seychelles highly vaccinated populace back to getting cases. Some other countries too mind you.

They are not back on, they have very very limited restrictions right now. Basically everything but night clubs are open.

They delayed their full removal of all restrictions by a month due to the presence of the Indian variant.

But expect full freedom in the UK next month.

didn't know u worked for Boris Johnson and know exactly when the UK will remove all restrictions.

No fool it's in the news.

https://www.bbc.com/news/explainers-52530518

just as he extend it before he can extend it again. So u cannot say with surety that the restrictions will be removed. But given the latest protests that just might happen

https://www.express.co.uk/news/uk/14511 ... vid-update

elec2020

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 29956 cases, 699 deaths, 8803 active, 20454 recovered in T&T

Postby elec2020 » June 19th, 2021, 6:33 pm

Habit7 wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
hover11 wrote:You said with sinopharm it will minimize the spread you forget that we have children here who when schools reopen in September will become spreaders by themselves as they cannot be vaccinated at this time, the virus will be here moving through the community allowing for possible mutations
Dohplaydat wrote:
drchaos wrote:
The point is that the 30 to 40% of the population that refuse to vaccinate are not the reason for variants and the virus enduring. This FLASE claim has been said over and over from people on this forum.

Not entirely true, it's not black and white. Vaccinated people even with Sinopharm will have reduced spread, especially to other vaccinated persons as well.

If we all get vaccinated we all do our part to sideline Covid. And yes it's unlikely Covid will ever disappear, but it needs to become a non issue.

also if that is the case then why cases on the rise in Seychelles who are highly vaccinated. Stop bending the facts.

Because it is mainly among the unvaccinated Seychellois experiencing the Delta variant. The vaccinated Seychellois are having much less hospitalisation and almost zero death.

with all due respect you have the stats for that?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » June 19th, 2021, 8:13 pm

19 dead today. They thought they could fool us with numbers like 4 and 7.smh
They too incompetent to get this under control.
Wait till they vaccinate the majority of the population with Sinopharm and that turn out to be useless.. That will be the biggest blunder of all..

Postby MaxPower » June 19th, 2021, 8:20 pm

wtf wrote:19 dead today. They thought they could fool us with numbers like 4 and 7.smh
Wait till they vaccinate the majority of the population with Sinopharm and that turn out to be useless.. That will be the biggest blunder of all..

How did it get out of control in the first place?

Trinis are supposed to be wearing their masks, sanitizing often and keeping their distance. They continue to be irresponsible which gave the Govt no choice to impose restrictions after they gave them many chances.

When will Trinis get it right?

How many more must die?

The biggest blunder is Trinis just don’t care.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » June 19th, 2021, 8:25 pm

wtf wrote:19 dead today. They thought they could fool us with numbers like 4 and 7.smh

Trinis are supposed to be wearing their masks, sanitizing often and keeping their distance. They continue to be irresponsible which gave the Govt no choice to impose restrictions after they gave them many chances.

How many more must die?

Some idiot tell them go Tobago and a next idiot send them home to quarantine with they whole family when they test positive.

Postby aaron17 » June 19th, 2021, 8:28 pm

Steups

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » June 19th, 2021, 8:28 pm

Don't worry hair and make up say it going dung.

This is a continuation of the other spike created by Rowley last week.

Postby redmanjp » June 19th, 2021, 8:37 pm

the state quarantine could have worked months ago with less than 500 active cases but 9000? where they getting room for all of them?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » June 19th, 2021, 8:43 pm

redmanjp wrote:the state quarantine could have worked months ago with less than 500 active cases but 9000? where they getting room for all of them?
Field hospitals.

Postby Habit7 » June 19th, 2021, 8:43 pm

elec2020 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
hover11 wrote:You said with sinopharm it will minimize the spread you forget that we have children here who when schools reopen in September will become spreaders by themselves as they cannot be vaccinated at this time, the virus will be here moving through the community allowing for possible mutations
Dohplaydat wrote:
drchaos wrote:
The point is that the 30 to 40% of the population that refuse to vaccinate are not the reason for variants and the virus enduring. This FLASE claim has been said over and over from people on this forum.

Not entirely true, it's not black and white. Vaccinated people even with Sinopharm will have reduced spread, especially to other vaccinated persons as well.

If we all get vaccinated we all do our part to sideline Covid. And yes it's unlikely Covid will ever disappear, but it needs to become a non issue.

also if that is the case then why cases on the rise in Seychelles who are highly vaccinated. Stop bending the facts.

Because it is mainly among the unvaccinated Seychellois experiencing the Delta variant. The vaccinated Seychellois are having much less hospitalisation and almost zero death.

Around 20% of those who were admitted to hospital for treatment had been vaccinated, but their cases weren't serious, the Ministry of Health said Monday. Almost none of the critical and severe cases requiring intensive care had been vaccinated, and no one who has been vaccinated has died of Covid-19.

Radegonde said Thursday that only two people in the country are in intensive care.

"The conclusion is that the vaccines are protecting the people. Those who have been vaccinated are not developing any complications," Radegonde said. "We remain confident that the vaccines -- both of them -- have helped the country. Things would have been worse."

https://www.cnn.com/2021/05/14/africa/s ... index.html

Postby MaxPower » June 19th, 2021, 8:49 pm

wtf wrote:

How many more must die?

Some idiot tell them go Tobago and a next idiot send them home to quarantine with they whole family when they test positive.

Yeh bro, total total mess.

If the virus killed on contact or were making people bodies start to bubble would they take it more seriously.

Covid is too much of an inconvenience to many.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » June 19th, 2021, 9:27 pm

redmanjp wrote:the state quarantine could have worked months ago with less than 500 active cases but 9000? where they getting room for all of them?

So why the puck they was doing it in the 1st place??? Anyone with half a brain know it was unsustainable. But they were caught up in the hype of being no. one in the world. As soon as this situation get a little difficult(their fault), the thing get out of control and we see people like parasram for the s'thongs they really aare.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » June 19th, 2021, 9:33 pm

Habit7 wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Around 20% of those who were admitted to hospital for treatment had been vaccinated, but their cases weren't serious, the Ministry of Health said Monday. Almost none of the critical and severe cases requiring intensive care had been vaccinated, and no one who has been vaccinated has died of Covid-19.

Radegonde said Thursday that only two people in the country are in intensive care.

"The conclusion is that the vaccines are protecting the people. Those who have been vaccinated are not developing any complications," Radegonde said. "We remain confident that the vaccines -- both of them -- have helped the country. Things would have been worse."

https://www.cnn.com/2021/05/14/africa/s ... index.html

thanks for that information. I appreciate backing your statement with facts.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 19th, 2021, 9:39 pm

drchaos wrote:
elec2020 wrote:but vaccinated getting reinfected already. Look at Seychelles, 86% of the Seychelles’ targeted population for vaccination (70,000 people) got the shots but yet still cases and deaths on the rise (5 deaths, 493 new cases yesterday). So what is the point. Is the 14 per cent that causing the people to still get infected? Can't make this sheit up.

:lol: Yes, we all know there is no possibility whatsoever of getting infested after you get vaccinated.
Didn't we start more than piecemeal vaccinations recently? What are our numbers? Is that 80% of a population fully vaccinated? Herd immunity is to drive the virus to manageable levels like the flu, not eradicate it completely, thus freeing up your healthcare systems.
You sure talk weird for a doctor.

The virus is endemic, which means it will continue to make its rounds and mutate every couple of months.

Vaccine/Natural acquired immunity is the only way to reach a steady state where this becomes just like the seasonal flu.

People who don't want the shot will eventually get natural infection and very highly likely survive. They will then become immune and therefore contribute to Heard Immunity so getting us to where we need to be.

So how many deaths/hospitalizations/long term debilitation are you willing to to tolerate before natural immunity? Please include how many of your family in your figures

That's NOT up to me or you ... Medicine and Medical intervention has and should always remain INFORMED CONSENT.

Its up to the Individual to make the choice between getting the vaccine acquired immunity or choosing not to.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » June 19th, 2021, 9:49 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:

So why the puck they was doing it in the 1st place??? Anyone with half a brain know it was unsustainable. But they were caught up in the hype of being no. one in the world. As soon as this situation get a little difficult(their fault), the thing get out of control and we see people like parasram for the s'thongs they really aare.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 19th, 2021, 9:55 pm

These lockdowns real harsh on the populations mental health dred ...

I expect as soon as they start opening up people will react like bubbles in a champagne bottle after you shake it and pop the cap.

Postby pugboy » June 19th, 2021, 9:56 pm

but they were send ambulance with police to pickup ppl in the earlies
blocking road and ting
even asymptomatic ppl

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » June 19th, 2021, 10:11 pm

We need to scrap this team that has failed the country and get both the pnm and the unc to appoint a multidisciplinary team to handle everything covid , health, economy, border, everything. Both pnm and unc should get an equal number of persons on the board. And leave everything in their hands.

Get rid of fans boys and fan girls like trotman.

Postby aaron17 » June 20th, 2021, 7:55 am

They say borders are opening soon. We know it porous since inception.. smh.

Postby De Dragon » June 20th, 2021, 8:28 am

drchaos wrote:

:lol: Yes, we all know there is no possibility whatsoever of getting infested after you get vaccinated.
Didn't we start more than piecemeal vaccinations recently? What are our numbers? Is that 80% of a population fully vaccinated? Herd immunity is to drive the virus to manageable levels like the flu, not eradicate it completely, thus freeing up your healthcare systems.
You sure talk weird for a doctor.

The virus is endemic, which means it will continue to make its rounds and mutate every couple of months.

Vaccine/Natural acquired immunity is the only way to reach a steady state where this becomes just like the seasonal flu.

People who don't want the shot will eventually get natural infection and very highly likely survive. They will then become immune and therefore contribute to Heard Immunity so getting us to where we need to be.

So how many deaths/hospitalizations/long term debilitation are you willing to to tolerate before natural immunity? Please include how many of your family in your figures

That's NOT up to me or you ... Medicine and Medical intervention has and should always remain INFORMED CONSENT.

Its up to the Individual to make the choice between getting the vaccine acquired immunity or choosing not to.

It not being up to you is obvious, that's a job for medical professionals, but it was a rhetorical question btw, given your natural immunity leanings,

Postby De Dragon » June 20th, 2021, 8:31 am

Mmoney607 wrote:We need to scrap this team that has failed the country and get both the pnm and the unc to appoint a multidisciplinary team to handle everything covid , health, economy, border, everything. Both pnm and unc should get an equal number of persons on the board. And leave everything in their hands.

Get rid of fans boys and fan girls like trotman.

Will never happen. You really see JUHN Scarfy and Tearsy even having any UNC member on a panel, far less equal numbers? They have to be the shot callers, no matter the unmitigated disaster they are presently presiding over, with several failed vaccine rollouts, but as JUHN Scarfy say "one bad day in 15 months eh too bad keke keke keke"

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 20th, 2021, 9:42 am

https://www.nature.com/articles/s41429-021-00430-5

New paper looking at mechanisms of action of Ivermectin in Covid 19.

Seems to block the hyper-inflammatory effects of the virus.
Blocks viral cell entry
Facilities interferon release from infected cells
Also disrupts RNA replication

This stuff is cheap with decades of safety data.
All we need is a few more clinical
Trials to confirm what we already know.

Postby De Dragon » June 20th, 2021, 9:52 am

Bless we up with a number nah "dr"?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 20th, 2021, 10:47 am

De Dragon wrote:Bless we up with a number nah "dr"?

I ordered a stash
St Clair pharmacy has it for like $15 dollars a tab
Some People charging $50-100 a tab so doh get chain up.

Consult your personal physician if you gonna do this as it should be doctor supervised. Since the data set is incomplete on Ivermectin and we are awaiting approval from major health bodies.

Postby mero » June 20th, 2021, 11:14 am

DMan7 wrote:Fellas, what's this "JUHN Scarfy" you all keep mentioning in here all the time?
Jumped up house ni99er... Scarfy...I have no idea..

de dragon is the master of making up primary school nicknames he alone knows the meaning of.

Don't try to keep up

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 20th, 2021, 11:23 am

drchaos wrote:https://www.nature.com/articles/s41429-021-00430-5

New paper looking at mechanisms of action of Ivermectin in Covid 19.

Seems to block the hyper-inflammatory effects of the virus.
Blocks viral cell entry
Facilities interferon release from infected cells
Also disrupts RNA replication

This stuff is cheap with decades of safety data.
All we need is a few more clinical
Trials to confirm what we already know.

I've looked at quite a few studies on Ivermectin, the one in Mexico City was promising for sure.

I do think it should be used as a treatment, there's honestly no downside only positives.

There's a local doctor on my Facebook who is compiling all the evidence for it, also saying there's a few doctors already using it here. He's honest and clear that it's not a miracle drug but it can save some lives, so that's more than enough reason to use it.

He may have an article in the papers about it soon. He's also bashing the CDC, FDA and WHO for being slow moving organisations that need to learn to adapt to a fast changing Pandemic.

Postby paid_influencer » June 20th, 2021, 11:32 am

whut dose ivermectin bro i might stock up before it sellout