COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

widdyphuck

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 30183 cases, 713 deaths, 8578 active, 20892 recovered in T&T

Postby widdyphuck » June 20th, 2021, 11:58 am

Screenshot_20210620-113101_Facebook.jpeg

timothymcdavid

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 30183 cases, 713 deaths, 8578 active, 20892 recovered in T&T

Postby timothymcdavid » June 20th, 2021, 11:59 am

Ivermectin came up in a whatsapp group with some of high school classmates back in May this year. Two of them guys obviously alot brighter in school than me are doctors in the UK they said they dont use it for covid19 they mentioned remdesivir as well as a couple others. UK has significance cause they tend to look at cost as well as efficacy of drugs unlike the states who tend to look at what's best.

Postby De Dragon » June 20th, 2021, 1:00 pm

mero wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Fellas, what's this "JUHN Scarfy" you all keep mentioning in here all the time?
Jumped up house ni99er... Scarfy...I have no idea..

de dragon is the master of making up primary school nicknames he alone knows the meaning of.

Don't try to keep up

Awww, I'll get a few UNC ones so you don't have to beat up and fake racial outrage, because I have explained the Malcolm X meaning behind my use of it for several years now. Don't Red Colos Bag de scene.

Postby De Dragon » June 20th, 2021, 1:05 pm

DMan7 wrote:Fellas, what's this "JUHN Scarfy" you all keep mentioning in here all the time?

Malcolm X referred to Negroes who forget/deny their blackness as "jumped up house negroes". The Scarfy part is that ridiculous scarf he wears to Parliament. Our PM was fixated on tea parties, paintings, golf and scar wearing so I coined the term for him.
Now, and I suspect the LFD RFD PNM will run in here with the same nonsense, because when they can't take jamming they try to tag you as racist, it has no racial undertones, but you're invited to read Malcolm X's views on it and the context in which he, an humbly I, use it.

Postby redmanjp » June 20th, 2021, 1:52 pm

timothymcdavid wrote:Ivermectin came up in a whatsapp group with some of high school classmates back in May this year. Two of them guys obviously alot brighter in school than me are doctors in the UK they said they dont use it for covid19 they mentioned remdesivir as well as a couple others. UK has significance cause they tend to look at cost as well as efficacy of drugs unlike the states who tend to look at what's best.

u talking about hospitalized patients? ivermectin can be used to treat mild covid at home. i think even as a prophylactic to prevent it. if everyone took it it can reduce hospitalizations. we just have to be mindful of any side effects or adverse events especially if u taking it on a regular basis.

Postby Kenjo » June 20th, 2021, 2:14 pm

redmanjp wrote:
timothymcdavid wrote:Ivermectin came up in a whatsapp group with some of high school classmates back in May this year. Two of them guys obviously alot brighter in school than me are doctors in the UK they said they dont use it for covid19 they mentioned remdesivir as well as a couple others. UK has significance cause they tend to look at cost as well as efficacy of drugs unlike the states who tend to look at what's best.

u talking about hospitalized patients? ivermectin can be used to treat mild covid at home. i think even as a prophylactic to prevent it. if everyone took it it can reduce hospitalizations. we just have to be mindful of any side effects or adverse events especially if u taking it on a regular basis.

Taking on a regular basis ? People who don’t have corona taking it prophylactically ?

Postby Habit7 » June 20th, 2021, 4:17 pm

The low deaths today might upset wtf

Postby K74T » June 20th, 2021, 4:18 pm

106 new cases and 5 deaths

Postby hover11 » June 20th, 2021, 4:28 pm

106 positive cases out of approx. 350 tests…nowhere was open today or yesterday
K74T wrote:106 new cases and 5 deaths

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 20th, 2021, 4:34 pm

Kenjo wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Taking on a regular basis ? People who don’t have corona taking it prophylactically ?

Yup, single dose now then second dose after 72 hours. Then repeat this in 8-12 weeks for prophylaxis.
There are a few different recommendations. This is one of them.

Postby paid_influencer » June 20th, 2021, 4:34 pm

106 cases tho

Postby aaron17 » June 20th, 2021, 4:43 pm

Maybe today is like a Monday....

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » June 20th, 2021, 4:48 pm

Holiday weekend
An that's out of 350 test. Doh get too happy

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 20th, 2021, 4:58 pm

106 cases, time to open up now!

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » June 20th, 2021, 5:00 pm

DMan7 wrote:106 cases, time to open up now!
Same thing I thinking bro.
Back to number 1 in the world.
Not even UK and America have it so good.
Rowley is really a boss...

Postby The_Honourable » June 20th, 2021, 5:01 pm

ST Auto wrote:Holiday weekend

Exactly...

Over the next few days, we should get a clearer picture.

Postby paid_influencer » June 20th, 2021, 5:10 pm

allyuh think positive nah.. the overall trend is numbers going down and if it keeps going down, we can re-open soon.

There was the concern that the events on June 9th might have caused a spike. 9+14 is 23, so if that spike had wases to come, it would are come today or tomorrow. So breathe a sigh of relief and give thanks because it could have been worse.

God is a Trini

Postby De Dragon » June 20th, 2021, 5:12 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
ST Auto wrote:Holiday weekend

Exactly...

Over the next few days, we should get a clearer picture.

Just make sure to stay perfectly silent when case numbers/deaths rise, because Tuntsy, the leader of the LFD RFD PNM Mimosa Pudica Brigade, will be upset and accuse you of "celebrating death" :roll:

Postby hover11 » June 20th, 2021, 5:12 pm

God is a trini yet over 700 trinis died ok
paid_influencer wrote:allyuh think positive nah.. the overall trend is numbers going down and if it keeps going down, we can re-open soon.

There was the concern that the events on June 9th might have caused a spike. 9+14 is 23, so if that spike had wases to come, it would are come today or tomorrow. So breathe a sigh of relief and give thanks because it could have been worse.

God is a Trini

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » June 20th, 2021, 5:14 pm

This week we will see what takes place as weekend numbers together with a holiday will always be low

Postby aaron17 » June 20th, 2021, 5:34 pm

Somebody said this on facebook...

'A lot of people don't read the fine print below, it's 350 tests TODAY but the positive results were taken from the period 16th to the 19th, so ALL the positives did not come from the 350 tests done today...'

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 20th, 2021, 5:37 pm

aaron17 wrote:Somebody said this on facebook...

'A lot of people don't read the fine print below, it's 350 tests TODAY but the positive results were taken from the period 16th to the 19th, so ALL the positives did not come from the 350 tests done today...'

Correck is right!

Postby redmanjp » June 20th, 2021, 5:49 pm

wtf wrote:Carnival 2k22 gonna be epic..

Only if uncle Sam blesses us with some 500000 pfizer. But KCR say we doh need rolls royce vaccine :(

Penguin

Postby Penguin » June 20th, 2021, 6:04 pm

aaron17 wrote:Somebody said this on facebook...

yea i kinda fed up explain that to people. Lots of people also think the figures for today is 106 divided by 5 too.
Last edited by Penguin on June 20th, 2021, 6:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby aaron17 » June 20th, 2021, 6:33 pm

Is there a time limit of having funerals rather than limited nos of ppl?

Postby MaxPower » June 20th, 2021, 7:47 pm

hover11 wrote:God is a trini yet over 700 trinis died ok

Could have been 7,000 if the PNM did not act.

The UNC wanted to open up the country….can you imagine what would have been the consequences?

The 700+ we have is the result of the Govt giving people a chance to be responsible. We could not have locked down “jus so”….had to try to see if it would work with eased restrictions….clearly not.

Master Keith taking win for handling the pandemic.

Still a damn mess, but he taking win.

Postby A172 » June 20th, 2021, 8:25 pm

just as a comparison last year's lockdown most of the general private sector was closed for 72 days (march 28 - june 6)

right now we are currently home for 43 days since may 9th

given the specifics of this lockdown common sense will tell u it will run just as long or even longer than last year's so expect at least 1 more month of lockdown

august/sept for reopening seems realistic

Postby redmanjp » June 20th, 2021, 9:12 pm

unlike last year we didn't have a variant spreading so we have to be careful. plenty ppl hadda get vaxxed between now and August.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 20th, 2021, 11:04 pm

hover11 wrote:God is a trini yet over 700 trinis died ok

Could have been 7,000 if the PNM did not act.

The UNC wanted to open up the country….can you imagine what would have been the consequences?

The 700+ we have is the result of the Govt giving people a chance to be responsible. We could not have locked down “jus so”….had to try to see if it would work with eased restrictions….clearly not.

Master Keith taking win for handling the pandemic.

Still a damn mess, but he taking win.

You don't get it ... This is a Zugzwang.
If you Lock down you cause this
-Poverty, soul crushing poverty where you can't feed your family
-Economic devastation that can spiral downward for a decade or more
- Mental health is sacrificed, Suicides/Substance abuse rate skyrocket
- Breakdown of the family unit which is the bedrock of a functional society
All these eventually lead to social unrest

If you don't lock down you get a high number of deaths from your vulnerable population and an overwhelmed health system which cascades down into failures in dealing with non communicable diseases.

Either way you're screwed
So like I said ... No win situation

Postby redmanjp » June 20th, 2021, 11:52 pm

this is why we have to mass vaccinate, the wuhan strain was more managable but not this brazil one. and the indian one is worst.