COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 94213 (+579) cases, 2973 (+22) deaths, 15436 active, 75804 recovered in T&T

Postby hover11 » January 24th, 2022, 5:01 pm

I confused the vaccine prevents infection from covid now? Stupid move

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 94213 (+579) cases, 2973 (+22) deaths, 15436 active, 75804 recovered in T&T

Postby adnj » January 24th, 2022, 5:08 pm

hover11 wrote:Presumptuous at the very least
FB_IMG_1643054573302.jpg
Presumptuous? Probably not.

Omicron's not the last variant we'll see. Will the next one be bad?

Experts told Live Science that they wouldn't be surprised if a troublesome new coronavirus variant crops up this year — but that it's difficult to predict how quickly that variant would spread, how well it would evade the human immune system or whether it would cause more severe disease than prior versions of the virus. 

The omicron variant gained an edge over delta both because it is highly transmissible and because it can evade the immune defenses of vaccinated and previously infected people. This has allowed the variant to infect part of the population that delta can't readily infect, Kartik Chandran, a virologist and professor of microbiology and immunology at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine in New York City, told Live Science. Similarly, to compete with omicron, future variants of concern would need to make similar gains in both transmissibility and immune evasiveness, Chandran said. 

"There's no reason to believe that the virus has run out of room, genetically," he said. "I would expect that we're going to see more variants, and we're going to see similar types of wave-like behavior," meaning a surge in infection rates following a new variant's introduction.

But while the next problem variant may easily spread and outwit the immune system, the trajectory for its other traits, such as virulence — the severity of disease caused by the virus — remains unclear.

What could the next variant of concern be like? 

Given the current rate of coronavirus infection worldwide, and the mutation rate of SARS-CoV-2, "it is predictable that new variants will emerge," Karen Mossman, a professor of pathology and molecular medicine at McMaster University in Ontario, told Live Science in an email. But as we've learned over the last two years of the pandemic, not every new variant will be competitive enough to take over, she said. 

Future variants could gain a competitive edge via several routes. In theory, one of these potential trajectories could result in a virus that's more transmissible than omicron while causing less severe disease, Mossman said.

"Viruses need to propagate and spread to new hosts. The most successful viruses do this by rapidly spreading without causing symptoms," because the infected host can easily move about and pass the bug to additional hosts, Mossman said. "It is not advantageous to a virus to kill off its host before it can spread." 

Omicron may be less likely to cause severe disease than prior variants, Live Science previously reported. In part, that may be because it grows more easily in the upper airways and less well in the lungs — which may also help the variant spread more easily. In this case, it does seem like the virus may have evolved to be less virulent as a result of its increased ability to jump between hosts.

But there's no guarantee that the next variant of concern will make the same trade-off, Mossman noted. "A collection of mutations that provide a selective advantage may also induce more severe disease," she said. 

https://www.livescience.com/coronavirus ... icron-2022

Postby adnj » January 24th, 2022, 5:13 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
wtf wrote:Why are so many people still dying from a weak virus?
Yea wtf really going on.

Lock down the country now. If you lock down the vaccinated the unvacxed who is in the majority will be free to live an as pre vaccine there will be low death an low cases.

While TTO's fully vaccinated total population is currently less than 49%, half of the population had at least a first-dose on December 14.

Postby adnj » January 24th, 2022, 5:18 pm

matr1x wrote:Just remember phizer was fined 2.3 billion US for criminal intent on a drug product gone wrong.

I wonder what their vaccine will fetch

Damm but this muthafukja can't spell still.

Postby redmanjp » January 24th, 2022, 5:19 pm

omicron only looking at the 7.5% booster rate. everyone else is fair game for at least mild infection but will have protection from severe infection from T cell immunity. but 51% still risking a severe case.
Last edited by redmanjp on January 24th, 2022, 5:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » January 24th, 2022, 5:20 pm

Time to move on with our lives and forget this virus.

Postby redmanjp » January 24th, 2022, 5:26 pm

wtf wrote:Time to move on with our lives and forget this virus.

in a few weeks perhaps. but for now we have to brace for omicron. and delta is still with us.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 24th, 2022, 5:27 pm

wtf wrote:RipScreenshot_20220124-161134_Facebook.jpg

And you know all them judges was fully uped. Rip.

Postby hover11 » January 24th, 2022, 5:27 pm

redmanjp wrote:

in a few weeks perhaps. but for now we have to brace for omicron.
Don't forget omicron and Carnival, perfect combination

Postby st7 » January 24th, 2022, 5:30 pm

omicron and unvaxxed - perfect combination

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 24th, 2022, 5:34 pm

:oops:
hover11 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

You can't play mas an fraid corona

Postby adnj » January 24th, 2022, 5:45 pm

Mmoney607 wrote::oops:
hover11 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

You can't play mas an fraid corona
You can't play mas and be without vaccination credentials.

Postby paid_influencer » January 24th, 2022, 5:47 pm

K74T wrote:389/18

FB_IMG_1643054451670.jpg

omicron wave done already :drinking:

Postby paid_influencer » January 24th, 2022, 5:52 pm

redmanjp wrote:omicron only looking at the 7.5% booster rate. everyone else is fair game for at least mild infection but will have protection from severe infection from T cell immunity. but 51% still risking a severe case.

should T-cells be made a load-bearing pillar of public health tho?
FGRJNV4XsAAr9ac.jpg

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » January 24th, 2022, 5:55 pm

What is really the cause of hundreds of persons still getting COVID-19?

Is it that people still don't know how to use a mask properly at this point?..

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 24th, 2022, 5:57 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
redmanjp wrote:omicron only looking at the 7.5% booster rate. everyone else is fair game for at least mild infection but will have protection from severe infection from T cell immunity. but 51% still risking a severe case.

should T-cells be made a load-bearing pillar of public health tho?

0% lolololol

Postby paid_influencer » January 24th, 2022, 5:58 pm

if you really believe in your heart vaccination is our way out, you need to start putting pressure on the govt to move up booster schedules and change the definition of "fully-vaccinated" to include a booster after 6 months. The science is really clear on this. Dose #3 is needed after 6 months (and earlier if you got J&J, Sinopharm or AZ-- which is most of the vaccinated population).

death365

Postby death365 » January 24th, 2022, 6:00 pm

BA.2%20is%20overtaking%20Omicron%20variant-1643061579684.jpg

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 24th, 2022, 6:02 pm

the world would be a better place if all humans died and dinosaurs make a comeback.

Postby hover11 » January 24th, 2022, 6:02 pm

How retarded some of you sound
FB_IMG_1643061717197.jpg

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 24th, 2022, 6:03 pm

wtf wrote:What is really the cause of hundreds of persons still getting COVID-19?

Is it that people still don't know how to use a mask properly at this point?..

omicron is community spread they say:

2c42505747d29c055254507205f82a08.jpg

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 24th, 2022, 6:07 pm

Death_Should_Not_Be_Feared.jpg

open everything back up and let life decide.

Postby st7 » January 24th, 2022, 6:08 pm

hover11 wrote:How retarded some of you soundFB_IMG_1643061717197.jpg

vAcCineS ArE KiLlING tHE UnvACcinAteD

how you and the other stupid ignorant people sound

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » January 24th, 2022, 6:18 pm

hover11 wrote:How retarded some of you sound
FB_IMG_1643061717197.jpg
Headaches aren't contagious you dumbass.

Postby redmanjp » January 24th, 2022, 6:25 pm

paid_influencer wrote:if you really believe in your heart vaccination is our way out, you need to start putting pressure on the govt to move up booster schedules and change the definition of "fully-vaccinated" to include a booster after 6 months. The science is really clear on this. Dose #3 is needed after 6 months (and earlier if you got J&J, Sinopharm or AZ-- which is most of the vaccinated population).

same thing i thinking- for omicron onwards if safe zones are to be 'safe' ppl need booster shots for entry , at least ppl who are 6 months on from the primary doses. unless the strategy is to seed omicron to push out the more severe delta (which it is doing elsewhere) :roll:

Postby adnj » January 24th, 2022, 6:33 pm

redmanjp wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:if you really believe in your heart vaccination is our way out, you need to start putting pressure on the govt to move up booster schedules and change the definition of "fully-vaccinated" to include a booster after 6 months. The science is really clear on this. Dose #3 is needed after 6 months (and earlier if you got J&J, Sinopharm or AZ-- which is most of the vaccinated population).

same thing i thinking- for omicron onwards if safe zones are to be 'safe' ppl need booster shots for entry , at least ppl who are 6 months on from the primary doses. unless the strategy is to seed omicron to push out the more severe delta (which it is doing elsewhere) :roll:

You can put pressure on the government or you can put pressure on the business owner and let them do it. Vote with your dollar and don't go to the safe zone until the rules are changed.
Last edited by adnj on January 24th, 2022, 6:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hover11 » January 24th, 2022, 6:34 pm

ed360123 wrote:
hover11 wrote:How retarded some of you sound
FB_IMG_1643061717197.jpg
Bro do you take EVERYTHING literally.....ok read and spell..you took a vaccine to protect others make it make sense....any fking sense :S

Postby redmanjp » January 24th, 2022, 6:40 pm

hover11 wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
Bro do you take EVERYTHING literally.....ok read and spell.you took a vaccine to protect others make it make sense....any fking sense :S

prior to omicron it did in addition to protecting u from severe covid also reduce the likelihood of simply getting infected. only as omicron is an immune escape variant that it no longer gives protection from infection- so with delta and previous strains spread from 1 vaxxed to another person was reduced, and even more if the 2nd person is also vaxxed. u should watch that Vox video about efficacy over and over 100 times so u don't ask this question again. :roll: :roll:

when the updated vaccine targeted against omicron is ready it should give some protection against infection as well. in the mean time 2 doses still protect u from severe covid, and booster shots also reduce infections rates so get vaxxed and boosted so u doh infect your grandparents.
Last edited by redmanjp on January 24th, 2022, 6:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hover11 » January 24th, 2022, 6:42 pm

redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
Bro do you take EVERYTHING literally.....ok read and spell..you took a vaccine to protect others make it make sense....any fking sense :S

prior to omicron it did in addition to protecting u from severe covid also reduce the likelihood of simply getting infected. only as omicron is an immune escape variant that it no longer gives protection from infection- so with delta and previous strains spread from 1 vaxxed to another person was reduced, and even more if the 2nd person is also vaxxed. u should watch that Vox video over and over 100 times so u dont ask this question again. :roll: :roll:
Ok and if the other person is unvaxxed it still passes on the virus and when I say unvaxxed I include children 5 to 11

Postby redmanjp » January 24th, 2022, 6:47 pm

no. it reduces it to any person - just that it reduces it even more to a person who is vaxxed.

the reason it reduces the chance is that the vaxxed person is less likely to BE INFECTED in the first place! u cant pass on what u don't have. also u clear the virus faster even if infected, leaving less opportunities for spread.

and we still have the deadly delta in our midst to deal with until omicron replaces it.