COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 13802 cases, 224 deaths, 4078 active, 9500 recovered in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » May 12th, 2021, 10:38 am

Habit7 wrote:
wtf wrote:Seems like the virus is "choosing" its victims wisely.Screenshot_20210512-080449_Facebook.jpeg

The bodybuilder had kidney and heart issues. He was far from a healthy victim.
And bodybuilders on the whole may not necessarily be good models of health. Despite being more muscle than an average human their BMI would still place them in the obese range and those restrictive diets would fack them up. And then there is the issue of "supplements"

Yip, certain supplements and juices do much damages to your kidneys and heart. It also shrinks your balls too.

KCR had covid, so did his contemporary and UWI Mona friend Tim Goopeesingh, so did Suruj Rambachan as well as Jack Warner who is older than all of them. Being old is a higher risk but it doesn't mean that it is a death sentence.

Yes I fed up tell people the survival rate for over 70s is still 85%.

And Lawrence Marshall was far from healthy, either roids or insulin abuse damaged his kidneys years ago.

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 13802 cases, 224 deaths, 4078 active, 9500 recovered in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » May 12th, 2021, 10:41 am

bluefete wrote:
bluefete wrote:Dohplaydat: Help me out with some stats please.

The figures we get cover a 3 day period. So on:

May 11th we get - May 8-10 = 358 new cases.

May 10th we get - May 7-9 = 99 new cases.

May 9th we get - May 6-8 = 233 new cases

So logically, we have, for example, May 8 repeated 3 times.

I know the figures are not broken down but is it that the figures for May 8th are repeated 3 times or the total figures for May 8th are given over a 3 day period?

Still waiting.

As far as I know, right now most of the results are not even if the last 24-72 hours, there are all kinds of delays going on. Theoretically, whatever you see gets reported today really are a mix of results anywhere from the last 48 hours to 2 weeks ago

Postby bluefete » May 12th, 2021, 10:42 am

^^ Dang. Thanks much. So we will never really know the truth.

Postby aaron17 » May 12th, 2021, 10:50 am

wtf wrote:Seems like the virus is "choosing" its victims wisely.Screenshot_20210512-080449_Facebook.jpeg

The bodybuilder had kidney and heart issues. He was far from a healthy victim.
And bodybuilders on the whole may not necessarily be good models of health. Despite being more muscle than an average human their BMI would still place them in the obese range and those restrictive diets would fack them up. And then there is the issue of "supplements"
I heard that.

Postby aaron17 » May 12th, 2021, 10:51 am

I also heard the father and son who died had asthma? Dont quote me on that.

Devourment

Postby Devourment » May 12th, 2021, 11:18 am

aaron17 wrote:I also heard the father and son who died had asthma? Dont quote me on that.

Asthma isn't strongly correlated to covid-19 mortality unless you have severe asthma. That said, I have asthma and everytime I get the flu (twice in my life), it's developed into chest infections and breathing problems for almost a month or two. Covid could very well be quite harsh for me.

Postby redmanjp » May 12th, 2021, 11:19 am

Postby Chimera » May 12th, 2021, 11:19 am

right now sahara dust levels high as well

Postby Dizzy28 » May 12th, 2021, 11:26 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:right now sahara dust levels high as well

Yea....I feeling it in my throat. Good thing we home oui!!

abducted

Postby abducted » May 12th, 2021, 11:42 am

Americans here setting up field hospitals. For those wondering why army was erecting tents at couva.
Couva hospital car park and not sure of the other location.

85f34590-c617-41b2-8100-14683dadc9d6.jpg

Postby redmanjp » May 12th, 2021, 11:44 am

^ jean pierre complex as well

but wha about medics? they using our own army medics cuz a bed without HC workers doh make sense

Devourment

Postby Devourment » May 12th, 2021, 11:50 am

abducted wrote:Americans here setting up field hospitals. For those wondering why army was erecting tents at couva.

That's good and bad news...as it means things are getting worse.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 12th, 2021, 11:52 am

Why are our jounalists so bad at math.

We are not doing 6000 tests a day.....is' around 1400 per day if you look at the last 2 weeks.

Postby redmanjp » May 12th, 2021, 11:54 am

dr wheeler say countries are not prioritized for vaccines based on a surge of cases/deaths

Postby aaron17 » May 12th, 2021, 11:57 am

So the majority who didnt obey regulations easter time and prior....i guess they all in this predicament?

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 13802 cases, 224 deaths, 4078 active, 9500 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » May 12th, 2021, 12:10 pm

abducted wrote:Americans here setting up field hospitals. For those wondering why army was erecting tents at couva.

Hmmmm looks like a 1% can be treated comfortably there...

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » May 12th, 2021, 12:14 pm

IMG-20210512-WA0039.jpeg

Postby aaron17 » May 12th, 2021, 12:19 pm

Tough love

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 12th, 2021, 12:19 pm

aaron17 wrote:So the majority who didnt obey regulations easter time and prior....i guess they all in this predicament?

Did you meet or spend time with anyone indoors without a mask? Doesn't even matter if they were 6ft apart, MIT research has said even 60ft indoors isn't enough.

If so, you are and everyone who did are complicit.

Postby aaron17 » May 12th, 2021, 12:22 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
aaron17 wrote:So the majority who didnt obey regulations easter time and prior....i guess they all in this predicament?

Did you meet or spend time with anyone indoors without a mask? Doesn't even matter if they were 6ft apart, MIT research has said even 60ft indoors isn't enough.

Well they need to push that research in the guidelines. And vaccines are the only way forward.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 12th, 2021, 12:26 pm

aaron17 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Well they need to push that research in the guidelines. And vaccines are the only way forward.

Well CDC did say it was airborne based on research like this.

https://www.cnbc.com/2021/04/23/mit-res ... study.html

The actual study:
https://www.pnas.org/content/118/17/e2018995118

Postby toyolink » May 12th, 2021, 12:28 pm

We are in for a rough ride for at least the next 2 weeks given the statistical trajectory of our current rates and the condition drivers already in play.
Our best case scenario suggest that the increased vigilance initiated maybe 1 week ago may impact on our circumstances sometime in June.
Once these simple facts are accepted and we do our part there is light at the end of the tunnel.
Emotionally and mentally we must also prepare for thresholds of 500 daily infection and 10 daily deaths with our health care system reflecting some of what we saw in New York last year at this time.
Panic, fear and depression need to be guarded against since these reactions wont help and may lead further complications. Focus on the work we must all put in to protect each other and find ways to be constructive in our way forward starting with keeping the spirit in your household in the right place.

Postby redmanjp » May 12th, 2021, 12:30 pm

no safer from airborne infection but safer from droplet infection i would imagine?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 12th, 2021, 12:30 pm

Plenty people still on the road..
People have money..

Postby MaxPower » May 12th, 2021, 1:14 pm

wtf wrote:Plenty people still on the road..
People have money..

Boiii,

Hear na...its ridiculous and people like they on shopping sprees in the groceries, pharmacies and hardwares.

Anyone see how much cars in Price/Pennywise/Heartland Plaza Chag?? Like wtf

A lock down is needed to put a stop to this nonsense.

Why cant these annoying Trinis stay home?

Postby Habit7 » May 12th, 2021, 1:16 pm

wtf wrote:Plenty people still on the road..
People have money..

Boiii,

Hear na...its ridiculous and people like they on shopping sprees in the groceries, pharmacies and hardwares.

Anyone see how much cars in Price/Pennywise/Heartland Plaza Chag?? Like wtf

A lock down is needed to put a stop to this nonsense.

Why cant these annoying Trinis stay home?

So I guess you left your home to observe this?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 12th, 2021, 1:19 pm

16354 Sgt Sookram of NED just passed away due to COVID-19.
IMG-20210512-WA0033.jpeg
IMG-20210512-WA0033.jpeg (10.07 KiB) Viewed 1370 times
IMG-20210512-WA0029.jpeg

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 12th, 2021, 1:32 pm

Xtra foods grand bazaar some staff have Covid but management are not alerting public . From credible source.

So Massy St.Augustine has a Covid outbreak and didnt close the store one wrapper one in the meat room one in the bakery and 2 from produce and 3 cashiers and they keeping it secret . A worker try to highlight it on the media and media was escorted out by security .

Just heard from a Republic Bank staff that their Valpark branch was closed from today 11th May to 24th May due to a covid cases.

4 FedEx employees tested positive for covid and management refuses to let other workers quarantine.

Postby Kenjo » May 12th, 2021, 1:40 pm

redmanjp wrote:^ jean pierre complex as well

but wha about medics? they using our own army medics cuz a bed without HC workers doh make sense

Tadah!!

Postby aaron17 » May 12th, 2021, 1:46 pm

wtf wrote:Xtra foods grand bazaar some staff have Covid but management are not alerting public . From credible source.

So Massy St.Augustine has a Covid outbreak and didnt close the store one wrapper one in the meat room one in the bakery and 2 from produce and 3 cashiers and they keeping it secret . A worker try to highlight it on the media and media was escorted out by security .

Just heard from a Republic Bank staff that their Valpark branch was closed from today 11th May to 24th May due to a covid cases.

4 FedEx employees tested positive for covid and management refuses to let other workers quarantine.
Idk if tru buh what i can tell you on the other side of things in the public sector..ppl with 2 or 3 week rotation ...they want long weekend by staying home friday and/or monday and they will make it up by working on another day...rel scene.