COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 36884 cases, 1018 deaths, 5823 active, 30043 recovered in T&T

Postby sMASH » July 23rd, 2021, 5:44 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
matr1x wrote:So allyuh hear democrats trying to block a bill to declassify Intel on covid origins?

i hear dat.

https://edition.cnn.com/2021/07/16/poli ... index.html

Senior Biden officials finding that Covid lab leak theory as credible as natural origins explanation

CNN

and WHO want to investigate the origins of COVID and China say NO.

This thing more and more looking like the truth getting break out slowly so they don't start a war.

WHO wanted a 2ND round of investigations, which is what china blanked.

i can see where the first rounds might not have been sufficient, and was done just to rubber stamp that they "looked into to it" and "closed the lab leak-gate".

why they might not have done a proper investigation, is cause at the time, it was trump pushing kung-flu, and the hip thing was to cancel anyyyything trump say.
and now that hes not there and more damning info that leading to lab leak and gain of function has surfaced, the WHO might want to ACTUALLY do an investigation.

i myself gave it the benefit of the doubt taht it was really a man eat bat, cause i thinking a deadly virus lab will have stringent measures to prevent releases. and i agree with gain of function research given 2 provisions: its used to see how the pathogens can develop, and prepare vaccines before hand, and that ur cleanroom protocols be 110%, 100% of the time.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 36884 cases, 1018 deaths, 5823 active, 30043 recovered in T&T

Postby De Dragon » July 23rd, 2021, 6:20 pm

Loling at the people here who feel that even if the virus is Chinese originated, that China will be made to feel any sanction :lol: :lol:

Postby matr1x » July 23rd, 2021, 6:31 pm

No, but it would prove what we suspected. Chinese government worse than nazis

Postby bluefete » July 23rd, 2021, 6:47 pm

De Dragon wrote:Just got the news that my sarubhai's(sp?) mother is critical at Couva ICU. Really nice lady whose home I've visited quite a few times in the past for various limes, gatherings etc. (pre-Covid of course).

Sorry to read this. Hope all goes well.

If only more people realized that Covid is very real.

Postby De Dragon » July 23rd, 2021, 7:06 pm

matr1x wrote:No, but it would prove what we suspected. Chinese government worse than nazis

What are we supposed to do with that?

Postby hover11 » July 23rd, 2021, 7:10 pm

Keep taking that Sinopharm and Sinovac and think China has your best interests at heart
matr1x wrote:No, but it would prove what we suspected. Chinese government worse than nazis

What are we supposed to do with that?

Postby sMASH » July 23rd, 2021, 7:12 pm

PariaMan wrote:Was she vaccinated if not why not ?
De Dragon wrote:Just got the news that my sarubhai's(sp?) mother is critical at Couva ICU. Really nice lady whose home I've visited quite a few times in the past for various limes, gatherings etc. (pre-Covid of course).

Didn't ask, he was in a mess at the time.

by chance u know if they tried the unconfirmed treatments like the ivermectin and hydroxichlorquine?

Postby bluefete » July 23rd, 2021, 7:22 pm

Duane: I just heard the CMO speak favourably about that study on Sinopharm from Sri Lanka via China.

Do you want to tell him it was reported by China? :) :) :) :)

Postby sMASH » July 23rd, 2021, 7:30 pm

De Dragon wrote:Loling at the people here who feel that even if the virus is Chinese originated, that China will be made to feel any sanction :lol: :lol:
well, they 1 child policy is now 3, so even if any body take action, it will not make a dent

Postby redmanjp » July 23rd, 2021, 7:57 pm

sMASH wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
matr1x wrote:So allyuh hear democrats trying to block a bill to declassify Intel on covid origins?

i hear dat.

https://edition.cnn.com/2021/07/16/poli ... index.html

Senior Biden officials finding that Covid lab leak theory as credible as natural origins explanation

CNN

and WHO want to investigate the origins of COVID and China say NO.

This thing more and more looking like the truth getting break out slowly so they don't start a war.

WHO wanted a 2ND round of investigations, which is what china blanked.

i can see where the first rounds might not have been sufficient, and was done just to rubber stamp that they "looked into to it" and "closed the lab leak-gate".

why they might not have done a proper investigation, is cause at the time, it was trump pushing kung-flu, and the hip thing was to cancel anyyyything trump say.
and now that hes not there and more damning info that leading to lab leak and gain of function has surfaced, the WHO might want to ACTUALLY do an investigation.

i myself gave it the benefit of the doubt taht it was really a man eat bat, cause i thinking a deadly virus lab will have stringent measures to prevent releases. and i agree with gain of function research given 2 provisions: its used to see how the pathogens can develop, and prepare vaccines before hand, and that ur cleanroom protocols be 110%, 100% of the time.

china blocked a thorough WHO investigation - had little to do with trump.

there were warnings about lab safety since 2018 or thereabout surrounding the wuhan lab self

Postby paid_influencer » July 23rd, 2021, 9:25 pm

TTT Live Online

Vaccine hesitancy is high among health care workers.

Minister of Health, Terrence Deyalsingh indicates that apart from doctors, less than 50 percent of employees in the health sector have received their COVID-19 jabs.

Terry-Ann Browne-Campbell has the details.
https://youtu.be/ai4hhuP6ITI

Doctors 90% vaxxed,
Nurses 40% vaxxed.

"if they succumb to the delta variant, the system collapses- it collapses" -the Minister of Health.

Postby sMASH » July 23rd, 2021, 9:54 pm

well dont bring it in because ya letting people in without 14 day quarantine, but can still carry the virus.
lol.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 23rd, 2021, 10:00 pm

sMASH wrote:well dont bring it in because ya letting people in without 14 day quarantine, but can still carry the virus.
lol.
Cannot keep it out .Just take the vaccine .Silly people

Postby sMASH » July 23rd, 2021, 10:29 pm

PariaMan wrote:
sMASH wrote:well dont bring it in because ya letting people in without 14 day quarantine, but can still carry the virus.
lol.

so why keep the other people in quarantine? if 'u cant keep it out'

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 23rd, 2021, 11:08 pm

https://www.cnn.com/2021/07/21/health/d ... index.html

Patients begging for vaccine but it's too late

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 23rd, 2021, 11:16 pm

sMASH wrote:
PariaMan wrote:
lol.

Its about trying to slow the spread it will get here but we want to flatten the curve

Seems simple enough to understand

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 37065 cases, 1026 deaths, 5783 active, 30265 recovered in T&T

Postby Gladiator » July 23rd, 2021, 11:24 pm

Serious question... if someone takes a third dose of Sinopharm will that boost immunity even more?

PariaMan

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 37065 cases, 1026 deaths, 5783 active, 30265 recovered in T&T

Postby PariaMan » July 23rd, 2021, 11:32 pm

Gladiator wrote:Serious question... if someone takes a third dose of Sinopharm will that boost immunity even more?
But speaking at a Science Media Centre briefing on the preprint, Andrew Pollard, the clinical trials lead for the vaccine and director of the Oxford Vaccine Group, said, “There’s no indication today that we need boosters. It is something where we need to keep looking at the data and make decisions as the months go by.

Pollard added, “We have countries facing huge waves of disease at this moment with a largely unvaccinated population. We saw the new very sharp increase of cases in Bangladesh over the weekend. And that is a situation where getting the first dose to more people as soon as possible is the most urgent priority. Before third doses are given, we should be trying to make sure all those vulnerable people—the older adults and those with other health conditions, all around the world—are protected. That’s the most urgent thing to do.”

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 23rd, 2021, 11:35 pm

Seems he is saying that priority right now is to get people fully vaccinated with 2 doses before we think about a third dose

Postby sMASH » July 23rd, 2021, 11:58 pm

PariaMan wrote:
sMASH wrote:
PariaMan wrote:
lol.

Its about trying to slow the spread it will get here but we want to flatten the curve

Seems simple enough to understand

so then make the vaccinated go tru the same quarantine time as the other people...

Postby paid_influencer » July 24th, 2021, 8:57 am

Gladiator wrote:Serious question... if someone takes a third dose of Sinopharm will that boost immunity even more?

there are two pre-print studies being reported on wrt Sinopharm right now.

The first reported was this one out of Sri Lanka:
https://www.medrxiv.org/content/10.1101 ... .full-text

The Sri Lanka study was simultaneously reported as "Sinopharm gives protection against Delta," by the Chinese State Media and "Sinopharm's COVID-19 shot induces weaker antibody responses to Delta -study," by Reuters.

If you look at the full text, you'll see the Sri Lanka study had only 10% of participants over age 60. Even with that small sample, they recorded "seroconversion rates were significantly lower (p<0.001) in individuals >60 years compared to those who were 20 to 39 years."

Then we got this preprint out of Hungary, linked by adnj yesterday:

The Hungary study provides far more data on Sinopharm for persons over age 60. The age distribution for the Hungary study is below:

unnamed-chunk-3-1.png

As you can see, the majority of persons in that study are over age 60. This is good, because that age group was identified as an evidence gap by the WHO at the time Sinopharm got EUL listing.

SAGE.jpg

The Hungary study is for the express purpose of filling in that evidence gap. And here's the results:

unnamed-chunk-5-1.png

You see that big group of dots right at the bottom of the graph? That's the problem. Those are people >60 that failed to generate sufficient antibody response to the Sinopharm vaccine.

That's in line with what's been found in other countries, including Bahrain and the UAE that are advising booster doses for people >60 that received Sinopharm.

TL:DR: If you are age 20-39 and got Sinopharm, you good. No boosters for you. If you are >60, you need to pay attention in case the MoH starts advising booster shots.

Postby aaron17 » July 24th, 2021, 9:26 am

I heard antibodies increase more with further time spacing between first and second dose?

Postby adnj » July 24th, 2021, 9:26 am

PariaMan wrote:
But speaking at a Science Media Centre briefing on the preprint, Andrew Pollard, the clinical trials lead for the vaccine and director of the Oxford Vaccine Group, said, “There’s no indication today that we need boosters. It is something where we need to keep looking at the data and make decisions as the months go by.

Pollard added, “We have countries facing huge waves of disease at this moment with a largely unvaccinated population. We saw the new very sharp increase of cases in Bangladesh over the weekend. And that is a situation where getting the first dose to more people as soon as possible is the most urgent priority. Before third doses are given, we should be trying to make sure all those vulnerable people—the older adults and those with other health conditions, all around the world—are protected. That’s the most urgent thing to do.”
This is the face mask question again, "Don't wear them because we don't have enough to go around."

A booster will probably help. It will likely be required annually or in anticipation of a Covid spike.

"Pfizer CEO Albert Bourla said people will “likely” need a third dose of a Covid-19 vaccine within 12 months of getting fully vaccinated.

He also said it’s possible people will need to get vaccinated against the coronavirus annually."

https://www.cnbc.com/2021/04/15/pfizer- ... onths.html

Postby paid_influencer » July 24th, 2021, 10:03 am

PariaMan wrote:

that quote was in reference to the AZ vaccine tho. The Sinopharm vaxx in a different position as I posted on the last page.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 24th, 2021, 10:21 am

With not enough fully vacinated with two doses as yet it obviously is not the time to think about a third vaccine dose of any type

Postby paid_influencer » July 24th, 2021, 10:28 am

PariaMan wrote:With not enough fully vacinated with two doses as yet it obviously is not the time to think about a third vaccine dose of any type

what if two doses does not give enough protection to high-risk groups?

Check the last page. I posted graphs and stuff. There is growing evidence that two doses of Sinopharm might not give sufficient protection in the elderly.

In which case, a "booster" dose of Pfizer or Moderna in those patients is the appropriate response. Some countries are already doing that.

Postby hover11 » July 24th, 2021, 10:44 am

This is the thing the narrative keeps changing, however one thing I do know is that FDA will never approve Sinopharm or Sinovac, Chinese will never be willing to stand liability for their product
paid_influencer wrote:
PariaMan wrote:With not enough fully vacinated with two doses as yet it obviously is not the time to think about a third vaccine dose of any type

Check the last page. I posted graphs and stuff. There is growing evidence that two doses of Sinopharm might not give sufficient protection in the elderly.

In which case, a "booster" dose of Pfizer or Moderna in those patients is the appropriate response. Some countries are already doing that.

Postby adnj » July 24th, 2021, 10:45 am

paid_influencer wrote:

Now you are getting into the argument of widespread vaccination with an acceptable vaccine efficacy vs. high efficacy vaccinations only for a targeted, high-risk group.

Although each has its merits and proponents, current medical opinion indicates the best solution involves very quickly and very widely dispensing vaccines with acceptable levels of efficacy to reduce the risk of hospitalization and death, and simultaneously reducing or eliminating the need for testing and public restrictions.

In other words, even if a vaccine has a relatively low efficacy, its impact in preventing death and disease can still be significant.

Vaccines can be tweaked or modified, just as they are with flu each year, but with COVID-19 this may not be necessary if a large enough number of people are vaccinated and if the vaccines continue to provide a moderate level of protection against SARS-CoV-2. And even a low efficacy vaccine might suppress infections enough to ease immediate pressures on health systems and reduce deaths to an acceptable level, while more effective vaccines are developed and distributed. In other words, even if a vaccine has a relatively low efficacy, its impact in preventing death and disease can still be significant.

https://www.gavi.org/vaccineswork/why-e ... ely-useful
Last edited by adnj on July 24th, 2021, 10:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » July 24th, 2021, 11:01 am

paid_influencer wrote:

there are two pre-print studies being reported on wrt Sinopharm right now.

The first reported was this one out of Sri Lanka:

The Sri Lanka study was simultaneously reported as "Sinopharm gives protection against Delta," by the Chinese State Media and "Sinopharm's COVID-19 shot induces weaker antibody responses to Delta -study," by Reuters.

If you look at the full text, you'll see the Sri Lanka study had only 10% of participants over age 60. Even with that small sample, they recorded "seroconversion rates were significantly lower (p<0.001) in individuals >60 years compared to those who were 20 to 39 years."

Then we got this preprint out of Hungary, linked by adnj yesterday:

The Hungary study provides far more data on Sinopharm for persons over age 60. The age distribution for the Hungary study is below:

unnamed-chunk-3-1.png

As you can see, the majority of persons in that study are over age 60. This is good, because that age group was identified as an evidence gap by the WHO at the time Sinopharm got EUL listing.

SAGE.jpg

The Hungary study is for the express purpose of filling in that evidence gap. And here's the results:

unnamed-chunk-5-1.png

You see that big group of dots right at the bottom of the graph? That's the problem. Those are people >60 that failed to generate sufficient antibody response to the Sinopharm vaccine.

That's in line with what's been found in other countries, including Bahrain and the UAE that are advising booster doses for people >60 that received Sinopharm.

TL:DR: If you are age 20-39 and got Sinopharm, you good. No boosters for you. If you are >60, you need to pay attention in case the MoH starts advising booster shots.

So why would our man of the year, innocent, totally apolitical, just trying his best, professional health practitioner and public servant Dr. Parasram talk about the Sri Lanka study which is being propped up by China, but not the Hungarian study?