COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 121683 (+412) cases, 3544 (+9) deaths, 21132 active, 97007 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » February 23rd, 2022, 4:12 pm

doh know if deaths just fluctuating or if this is an upward trend again, particularly with BA2 which might be more severe

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 121683 (+412) cases, 3544 (+9) deaths, 21132 active, 97007 recovered in T&T

Postby hover11 » February 23rd, 2022, 4:12 pm

Who dead dead

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » February 23rd, 2022, 4:14 pm

hover11 wrote:NumerosFB_IMG_1645646739935.jpg

^ caused by carnival

Postby sMASH » February 23rd, 2022, 4:41 pm

give it a week or two. carnival, school, beach river all those cases yet to come.

Postby matr1x » February 23rd, 2022, 5:05 pm

Can't live in fear

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » February 23rd, 2022, 8:36 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
hover11 wrote:NumerosFB_IMG_1645646739935.jpg

^ caused by carnival
Correlation does not necessarily equal causation.

Postby paid_influencer » February 23rd, 2022, 8:49 pm

hospitalizations drop again.. down to 318.

less hospitalizations == less deaths (after about a week).

I realize that I've been openly incoherent lately. I do apologize for my posts. I don't know what is happening anymore. COVID doesn't make sense. On one hand, unending death and sickness, on the other hand, we need to move forward. It is difficult to process. ??????????.

Postby paid_influencer » February 23rd, 2022, 8:57 pm

hoard medications

Postby st7 » February 23rd, 2022, 9:02 pm

wanna-be kan-ye?

Postby alfa » February 23rd, 2022, 9:14 pm

I believe carnival might be the litmus test as to if the worse of covid is really past us. If cases and deaths rise again we might have to continue with the status quo of over the last two years, if not maybe we can follow the cdc and start relaxing mask mandates.

Postby hover11 » February 23rd, 2022, 9:21 pm

Gotta keep the narrative going, if only they were vaccinated
FB_IMG_1645665644243.jpg

bamfo_dennis

Postby bamfo_dennis » February 23rd, 2022, 9:22 pm

so d doctor lying den?

Postby paid_influencer » February 23rd, 2022, 9:39 pm

that is the mental health doctor in the picture? she is the best part of the media briefings. I always stop to listen to her.

but see that news report is why I have cognitive dissonance.

On one hand, kids too young to be vaccinated are being sent back to physical school in April because "we have to get back to normal." As a parent, this is terrifying but I can see why it is being done.

On the other hand, kids getting MIS-C and going to the hospital. Not everybody's kid will "get back to normal," some people's kids will suffer horribly and die.

lol, what do I do, mental health doctor on the press conference? what the fark should I do.

bamfo_dennis

Postby bamfo_dennis » February 23rd, 2022, 9:50 pm

Senior Paediatric Emergency Medicine Specialist at the North Central Regional Health Authority, Dr. Joanne Paul

meh eh kno i just copy n paste all dat from the link.
papers lying tho she is d mental health doctor n u does sign off when she talkin
plus who is she anyway rite? allyuh know more dan the chirren doctor specialist who musse studying longer dan since u come out ur own mudda.

cyat know wat time in d nite to yowl yes.

Postby Country_Bookie » February 23rd, 2022, 10:06 pm

Did we ever make any progress on getting supplies of Paxlovid or the other pill from Merck to treat severe cases of Covid-19? England has removed all Covid-19 restrictions because their doctors have a wide range of treatments available. Monoclonal antibodies is another.

Anyone knows if we started using similar treatments locally?

Postby paid_influencer » February 23rd, 2022, 10:07 pm

great, thanks for the correction.

Postby paid_influencer » February 23rd, 2022, 10:12 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:Did we ever make any progress on getting supplies of Paxlovid or the other pill from Merck to treat severe cases of Covid-19? England has removed all Covid-19 restrictions because their doctors have a wide range of treatments available. Monoclonal antibodies is another.

Anyone knows if we started using similar treatments locally?

I heard rumors some people were getting Monoclonals privately around Christmas.

I doubt we getting any of the few treatments remaining. Omicron nerfed most of the monoclonals. The remaining drug treatments like Paxlovid and omicron-effective monoclonals are globally scarce.

edit: We might get the still-effective-against-Delta ones tho, since most of the developed world have stopped using them.

Postby paid_influencer » February 23rd, 2022, 10:38 pm

bamfo_dennis wrote: papers lying tho she is d mental health doctor n u does sign off when she talkin
plus who is she anyway rite

For the record, I said "I stop to listen to her," because I do think she is one of the most helpful parts of the press conferences. I do genuinely and highly respect her.

I do not "sign off when she talkin," that is a complete falsehood. You should apologize for misrepresenting my post.

bamfo_dennis

Postby bamfo_dennis » February 23rd, 2022, 10:46 pm

sorri boi ah read one ting and then meh weak brains interpret it the wrong way and i write nonsense becuz ah had to keep d narrative goin.....ah hope dis sounding familiar.

Postby paid_influencer » February 23rd, 2022, 10:52 pm

apology accepted, thanks bro

Postby MaxPower » February 23rd, 2022, 10:59 pm

Cute

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 125210 (+722) cases, 3596 (+14) deaths, 20994 active, 100620 recovered in T&T

Postby sMASH » February 24th, 2022, 7:29 am

https://guardian.co.tt/news/doctors-agr ... d8525e2b9a

guardian wrote:Doctors agree with COVID-19 Committee Report: Patient care compromised

by
9 hours ago
Wed Feb 23 2022

Kalain Hosein

From the outside looking in, COVID-19 hospitals across T&T have been seen as places of horror.

This widespread perception of sub-standard care has led to critically ill patients waiting too long to seek care.

The result is a self-fulfilling prophecy of COVID-19 patients converging on the nation’s Accident and Emergency departments, sometimes on death’s doorsteps.

Are these assumptions about the parallel healthcare system, specifically care within the nation’s intensive care units (ICUs) and high dependency units (HDUs), based on reality?

This was one of the many questions the Government-appointed committee recently attempted to answer while investigating care within the nation’s parallel healthcare system.

According to the 105-page report laid in Parliament on February 18, there were at least four mentions that the quality of care within the healthcare system was impacted.

In the first instance, the report noted strained human resources during surging cases impacted the quality of care. This shortage was noted amongst nurses, which was the most pervasive and continues today, as well as orderlies, attendings and patient escorts.

Guardian Media spoke with doctors on the frontlines of the COVID-19 battle, some of whom had been stationed within a COVID-19 ICU for nearly two years.

One lamented, “I mean the shortage of nurses has definitely compromised patient care. We always have doctors in the hot zone, so the people who are in the hot zone from 11 pm to 6 am usually wait for the oncoming team to come inside the hot zone and hand over to them.”

A hot zone is an area with actual or potential contamination and has the highest potential for COVID-19 exposure.

Speaking on the condition of anonymity, the doctor explained, “A big part of ICU and HDU care is the nursing. The nurses are very, very short-staffed. Doctors have to pick up the slack where nurses can’t do more. We would have to do it for the patient. But then, that makes it hard for us to do our job as well.”

The committee’s COVID-19 report had similar findings.

“Some reports speak of one nurse to 20 to thirty 30 patients. This sort of staffing ratio would point to a decreased level of care,” the doctor said.

In another section of the report, the committee found, “one nurse in a COVID-19 ICU regularly nursed six patients during surges. This points to a serious decrease in the level of care during surges.”

However, this wasn’t the only problem doctors faced within the nation’s ICUs.

Another doctor complained, “PPE (personal protective equipment) is available, but it is not the best. Sometimes the surgical coats we get have dry-rotted and you have to try on at least three different ones. Sometimes in the morning when you come to work, there are no scrubs available, so you have to wait a couple of hours before going into the hot zone. The overall quality of the PPE is not the best, but PPE is available, which is what the politicians like to say. Everywhere has PPE but most times, we have to end up bringing our own face shields.”

With staffing shortages continuing and there remains a delay in getting PPE, could this lead to another compromise of care?

One COVID-19 ICU doctor responded, “If there’s a delay because there are no scrubs or PPE for them (doctors) to come in, most times, especially if there are really unstable patients who we cannot just leave alone, the doctors who are supposed to finish their shift at 6 am end up leaving the hot zone at 8 am.”

As doctors and nurses continue to fight on the frontlines against COVID-19, within their control, one doctor exhaustedly said, “We go the extra mile to make sure everything is covered.”

Over the next few days, Guardian Media will be bringing you accounts of doctors within the Hot Zones of the COVID-19 ICUs across Trinidad and Tobago’s parallel healthcare system. If you’d like to share your story, on or off the record, you can reach out at kalain.hosein@guardian.co.tt.

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 125210 (+722) cases, 3596 (+14) deaths, 20994 active, 100620 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » February 24th, 2022, 11:19 am

The healthcare system was inefficient and corrupted before Covid so i don’t see what the big deal is now.

The problem is not Covid, it’s the people we have employed.

But sure, blame Covid like everything else.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 125210 (+722) cases, 3596 (+14) deaths, 20994 active, 100620 recovered in T&T

Postby adnj » February 24th, 2022, 11:33 am

MaxPower wrote:The healthcare system was inefficient and corrupted before Covid so i don’t see what the big deal is now.

What was the incremental healthcare system load associated with COVID infections?

Postby redmanjp » February 24th, 2022, 11:55 am

MaxPower wrote:The healthcare system was inefficient and corrupted before Covid so i don’t see what the big deal is now.

true but covid made it worse, especially last April when we were days away from collapse with the gamma variant that came in when borders were closed (i wonder how?) and we had to go into SOE & lockdown.

even 1st world nations like US & UK were struggling with covid max.

Postby hover11 » February 24th, 2022, 4:21 pm

UPDATE
FB_IMG_1645734050709.jpg

Postby K74T » February 25th, 2022, 4:05 pm

638/5

FB_IMG_1645819405039.jpg

Postby K74T » February 25th, 2022, 5:15 pm

Surprised SP has it cheaper.

20220225_171509.jpg

Postby redmanjp » February 25th, 2022, 5:53 pm

^are they FDA authorized?

Postby K74T » February 25th, 2022, 5:55 pm

Yes