COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 71361 (+763) cases, 2158 (+24) deaths, 10840 active, 58363 recovered in T&T

Postby hover11 » December 2nd, 2021, 5:03 pm

daring dragoon wrote:756/21 the new normal.

600 dead by mth end and 21000 new infections. Same arguments daily.
At the end of the day the government don't care nor do the ppl ,no more arguments ,so again I ask.....who cares? Things nice

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 71361 (+763) cases, 2158 (+24) deaths, 10840 active, 58363 recovered in T&T

Postby pugboy » December 2nd, 2021, 5:12 pm

who ded ded

Postby paid_influencer » December 2nd, 2021, 5:33 pm

pugboy wrote:who ded ded

make this the national motto and print it on the money

Postby hover11 » December 2nd, 2021, 5:40 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
pugboy wrote:who ded ded

make this the national motto and print it on the money
Why stop there , make It our watch words I sure Terrence could remember that

Postby paid_influencer » December 2nd, 2021, 5:43 pm

some graphs from twitter today
FFoBI3HVIAQihwu.jpeg
FFnyEVIWYA0mR4v.jpeg
TI68aDj.jpeg

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 71361 (+763) cases, 2158 (+24) deaths, 10840 active, 58363 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » December 2nd, 2021, 5:58 pm

hover11 wrote:

At the end of the day the government don't care nor do the ppl ,no more arguments ,so again I ask.....who cares? Things nice

Jason,

No one cares.

This is very similar to when the murder rate escalated in T&T.

Remember?

Eventually it became the norm and no one cares.

Covid deaths are being treated just as the murder rate….just another day in “paradise”.

Imagine the amount of Trinis that want to hear more cases and deaths so they can make a scene and post on social media.

People are dying Jason Moe.

Postby zoom rader » December 2nd, 2021, 6:05 pm

hover11 wrote:

Jason,

No one cares.

This is very similar to when the murder rate escalated in T&T.

Remember?

Eventually it became the norm and no one cares.

Covid deaths are being treated just as the murder rate….just another day in “paradise”.

Imagine the amount of Trinis that want to hear more cases and deaths so they can make a scene and post on social media.

People are dying Jason Moe.
Yup no one cares , and red government does very little

Postby redmanjp » December 2nd, 2021, 6:34 pm

Kenjo wrote:
pugboy wrote:yeah once we keep adding additional capacity and medical staff it is only a problem fir those who get seriously ill

Adding medical staff you say ?

and this is the thing- dr richards done say a bed is not a bed

unless we get help from the army/defense force- i think they have medics and other equipment not so?

Postby st7 » December 2nd, 2021, 6:42 pm

i should volunteer my help since i was pre-med with meh 3 in cxc Biology

Postby aaron17 » December 2nd, 2021, 6:46 pm

When is the next master keith buf/blame to the nation?

Postby pugboy » December 2nd, 2021, 6:46 pm

hurry and do some more research to qualify

st7 wrote:i should volunteer my help since i was pre-med with meh 3 in cxc Biology

Postby MaxPower » December 2nd, 2021, 7:00 pm

st7 wrote:i should volunteer my help since i was pre-med with meh 3 in cxc Biology

Volunteer to do what?

You already complain so much here, you would do the same on the job or when “volunteering”.

And a 3? Na man you hadda study your work a little more and bring home the distinctions.

We need dedicated people bro.

Postby st7 » December 2nd, 2021, 7:17 pm

Volunteer to do what?

You already complain so much here, you would do the same on the job or when “volunteering”.

And a 3? Na man you hadda study your work a little more and bring home the distinctions.

We need dedicated people bro.

i only complain about the village idiot complainer :drinking:

Postby st7 » December 2nd, 2021, 7:18 pm

pugboy wrote:hurry and do some more research to qualify

brb there's some social media posts i should read

Postby aaron17 » December 2nd, 2021, 8:19 pm

:?

Postby K74T » December 2nd, 2021, 9:51 pm

Either Covid or THA elections related

Screenshot_20211202-215042_Facebook.jpg

Postby paid_influencer » December 2nd, 2021, 10:00 pm

K74T wrote:Either Covid or THA elections related

Screenshot_20211202-215042_Facebook.jpg

nooooooooo way this is about covid at 3 days before election. He might talk about covid, maybe a lot, but he ent saying or doing anything or substance.

Postby paid_influencer » December 2nd, 2021, 10:26 pm

tomorrow gonna be an interesting day tho. All the science so so far on Omicron is bad news and all the Public Health Authorities wait on the weekend to break.. bad news. People don't really forget the bad news on weekends, just they don't pay attention much

Today they announced that yea, Omicron is officially confirmed all over the US and in community transmission all over the world. Tomorrow whatever they announce might be worse. Probably the immune evasion on natural immunity? They might do that tomorrow just to get people used to the idea. They're definitely not gonna talk about immune evasion to vaccine-based immunity. And fo shiet not gonna say it is anything but "mild". Remember when Trotman got up in early 2020 to tell us how mild it would be? Same thing. Everything about 2020 is happening again. A fresh start to the pandemic, just with a way worse pathogen this time. lmao

Postby paid_influencer » December 2nd, 2021, 10:39 pm

apparently when you pcr test an omicron patient, one of the pcr gene sequences will fail (because the gene sequence was there on the ancestral strain but not there on omicron). the pcr test will be positive and there is no functional difference in the test, but it is a quirk that happens with some variants. same sequence would have failed with alpha, for example. and the person running the pcr test notices this can make a big "hrmmmm" when it happens.

if they want to "hrmmm" for a few days before they sequence the sample (and confirm which variant it is), well they can hrmmm away until it is a politically good time to sequence.

maybe.. Rowley has something to announce? lmao. nope. hahahaha

this list got longer over the past few days, way longer today. probably gonna be nice and long AF tomorrow
https://bnonews.com/index.php/2021/11/omicron-tracker/

lmao

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » December 3rd, 2021, 3:39 am

Early (stressing on early here) reports on Omicron so far indicate:

1. Much more infectious than Delta, by at least 30%
2. The early reports of it being mild might have been premature. It does seem to be just as bad as the previous strains. The 'mildness' reports were due to (1) 80% of South African's having some level of antibodies (due to previous infection and vaccination) and (2) younger persons being the ones infected first.
3. There are two worrying things now (1) It definitely is beating vaccines, but on the bright side vaccinated people are getting it mostly mild (2) It's definitely beating natural immunity and from all reports, it is affecting them far worse than previous strains (hospitalizations are up 2.4X in that group).

All in all get vaccinated and get your booster!
Last edited by Dohplaydat on December 3rd, 2021, 4:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby aaron17 » December 3rd, 2021, 3:56 am

Dohplaydat wrote:Early reports on Omicron so far indicate:

2. The early reports of it being mild might have been premature. It does seem to be just as bad as the previous strains. The 'mildness' reports were due to (1) 80% of South African's having some level of antibodies (due to previous infection and vaccination) and (2) younger persons being the ones infected first.
3. There are two worrying things now (1) It definitely is beating vaccines, but on the bright side vaccinated people are getting it mostly mild (2) It's definitely beating natural immunity and from all reports, it is affecting them far worse than previous strains (hospitalizations are up 2.4X in that group).

Link?

Postby adnj » December 3rd, 2021, 4:09 am

aaron17 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:Early reports on Omicron so far indicate:

Link?
Do a web search for "omicron variant."

Read the articles for the first twelve results.

You'll finally be up to speed.

Postby adnj » December 3rd, 2021, 4:51 am

People Who Survive Severe COVID at Higher Risk of Death in 1 Year

New findings suggest that severe COVID-19 may significantly damage long-term health.

People with severe COVID-19 had a twofold higher risk of dying in the year after their illness started compared with people without severe COVID-19.

This risk is much higher in people under age 65, and death is often from causes not typically associated with COVID-19.

https://www.healthline.com/health-news/ ... owing-year

Postby matr1x » December 3rd, 2021, 5:05 am

Everyone focusing on death from covid. While that is bad, it's not the most dangerous thing.

Severity is far worse. At least when you dead the pain ends. When a virus is severe and cripples you...you will wish you were dead

Postby adnj » December 3rd, 2021, 5:22 am

matr1x wrote:Everyone focusing on death from covid. While that is bad, it's not the most dangerous thing.

Severity is far worse. At least when you dead the pain ends. When a virus is severe and cripples you...you will wish you were dead

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » December 3rd, 2021, 5:26 am

matr1x wrote:Everyone focusing on death from covid. While that is bad, it's not the most dangerous thing.

I personally have seen 3 instances of covid damage:

The first was my dad's coworker, fit heathy guy aged 62, got covid badly, was in Caura, got discharged and 2 weeks later had a severe stroke and later died. I should add he was a very very fit guy, used to run 5kms a couple times a week.

My friends mother, only 58, a bit overweight but no major prior health problems. She got covid pretty bad, but recovered. A month later, she passed out at home. They took her to Medical Associates, checked her bloods realized she had severe diabetes and her kidneys were failing. They tried their best with her but she died a week later.

My aunt, 63 years of age, a cancer survivor, but otherwise good health. She got covid, it was quite bad, she was on ICU and probably one of the few people to survive and recover after ICU. However, since then (April 2020) she has basically been bedridden, saying how she's too tired to do anything. I saw her divali night and she looks like she aged 10 years since covid. I believe it's lung damage she experienced.

So long story short, while the death rate might be around 2%, permanent damage from covid happens to at least 10-15% of persons.

That alone should be scaring people and ensuring many of you get vaccinated. However, somehow the 1 in 100k side severe effect seems like a worse outcome than 1 in 10 lifelong side effects from covid.

Postby hover11 » December 3rd, 2021, 6:05 am

Dohplaydat wrote:

The first was my dad's coworker, fit heathy guy aged 62, got covid badly, was in Caura, got discharged and 2 weeks later had a severe stroke and later died. I should add he was a very very fit guy, used to run 5kms a couple times a week.

My friends mother, only 58, a bit overweight but no major prior health problems. She got covid pretty bad, but recovered. A month later, she passed out at home. They took her to Medical Associates, checked her bloods realized she had severe diabetes and her kidneys were failing. They tried their best with her but she died a week later.

My aunt, 63 years of age, a cancer survivor, but otherwise good health. She got covid, it was quite bad, she was on ICU and probably one of the few people to survive and recover after ICU. However, since then (April 2020) she has basically been bedridden, saying how she's too tired to do anything. I saw her divali night and she looks like she aged 10 years since covid. I believe it's lung damage she experienced.

So long story short, while the death rate might be around 2%, permanent damage from covid happens to at least 10-15% of persons.

That alone should be scaring people and ensuring many of you get vaccinated. However, somehow the 1 in 100k side severe effect seems like a worse outcome than 1 in 10 lifelong side effects from covid.
The ppl who you called here were in retirement age or close to such...most of the death certificates I see in work from persons who die from covid are elderly, when you reach a certain age in life the body cannot fight off infections as it could have when you were younger, covid is something new for their bodies to fight and that's why most elderly are easy to succumb to such and if not succumb end up with long term side effects. The elderly are the ones who need to take their vaccines and every boosters to live in addition to the hundreds of medications they take for other ailments

Postby pugboy » December 3rd, 2021, 6:29 am

yes the elderly
plus the other 1/3 who young and dying still

Postby hover11 » December 3rd, 2021, 6:32 am

pugboy wrote:yes the elderly
plus the other 1/3 who young and dying still
In that 1/3 are the young with co morbidities and a very miniscule number of healthy young ones

Postby aaron17 » December 3rd, 2021, 6:42 am

Dohplaydat wrote:

So those were not fully vaxxed?