COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 73759 (+984) cases, 2215 (+17) deaths, 11707 active, 59837 recovered in T&T

Postby hover11 » December 6th, 2021, 3:50 am

The way I see it concerning Omicron, the world basically punishing South Africa for reporting the new variant by still enforcing this travel ban on them while it spreads to other countries yet no other countries have been added to the list. Which could cause new variants identified by other countries in the future to simply be unannounced.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 73759 (+984) cases, 2215 (+17) deaths, 11707 active, 59837 recovered in T&T

Postby adnj » December 6th, 2021, 4:25 am

Questions Raised About Study Linking mRNA Vaccines to Increased ACS Risk

An “expression of concern” has been attached to the abstract, which made the rounds on social media among vaccine skeptics.

Helped along by a media appearance by controversial British cardiologist Aseem Malhotra, MD, an abstract presented as an ePoster at the virtual American Heart Association (AHA) 2021 Scientific Sessions last month has been embraced by some as evidence that the mRNA COVID-19 vaccines increase the risk of developing ACS over the next 5 years.

But those findings, based on what a little-used blood test that one cardiologist characterized as “not evidence-based,” have been swiftly called into question.

Circulation has published an “expression of concern” that cites multiple deficiencies in the abstract. A spokesperson for the meeting also clarified that abstracts are not reviewed for accuracy and the meeting takes no responsibility for their content; the AHA is now reviewing its abstract submission process.

The notice now attached to the abstract lists numerous concerns. “Specifically, there are several typographical errors, there is no data in the abstract regarding myocardial T-cell infiltration, there are no statistical analyses for significance provided, and the author is not clear that only anecdotal data was used,” it reads. “We are publishing this Expression of Concern until a suitable correction is published to indicate that the abstract in its current version may not be reliable.”

https://www.tctmd.com/news/questions-ra ... d-acs-risk

Postby hover11 » December 6th, 2021, 6:16 am

Using the Johnson & Johnson vaccine as a booster for people initially immunized with the Pfizer/BioNTech vaccine produces a strong immune response and may do more to elicit protection against severe disease, researchers reported.

https://www.facebook.com/5550296508/pos ... 517396509/

Making it up as they go along eh?I was always told not to mix and drink....these people think we are fools.. always the same circus but different clowns.

Postby adnj » December 6th, 2021, 7:23 am

hover11 wrote:Using the Johnson & Johnson vaccine as a booster for people initially immunized with the Pfizer/BioNTech vaccine produces a strong immune response and may do more to elicit protection against severe disease, researchers reported.

Making it up as they go along eh?I was always told not to mix and drink....these people think we are fools.. always the same circus but different clowns.

Copying Facebook put-down posts? Very, very sad.

Postby hover11 » December 6th, 2021, 7:24 am

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:Using the Johnson & Johnson vaccine as a booster for people initially immunized with the Pfizer/BioNTech vaccine produces a strong immune response and may do more to elicit protection against severe disease, researchers reported.

Does that take away from the BS if I agree with what the guy said...the facts are the facts, you not supposed to mix medications yet here we are mixing vaccines

Postby Kenjo » December 6th, 2021, 7:40 am

hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:

Does that take away from the BS if I agree with what the guy said...the facts are the facts, you not supposed to mix medications yet here we are mixing vaccines

Not supposed to mix medication you say . Download Epocrates nah

Postby adnj » December 6th, 2021, 7:45 am

hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:

"I wish more people understood how science works." ~ K. Mills

Postby hover11 » December 6th, 2021, 7:49 am

Combining substances can change the way an active ingredient works. This can increase the effect of that ingredient on your body, make it less effective, or have other unexpected results. For example: Prescription medications that treat attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), like Ritalin, are stimulants.

https://archives.drugabuse.gov/blog/pos ... -dangerous

Carry on be the guinea pigs is your body at the end of the day

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 6th, 2021, 7:52 am

This week will be brutal.
Many lives will be lost.
Be careful out their tuners.

Postby adnj » December 6th, 2021, 8:20 am

hover11 wrote:Combining substances can change the way an active ingredient works. This can increase the effect of that ingredient on your body, make it less effective, or have other unexpected results. For example: Prescription medications that treat attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), like Ritalin, are stimulants.

You have been, and continue to be, wrong about nearly everything that you post here.

--------

COVID-19 vaccine boosters mix and match: What the evidence shows

NOV 1, 2021

Ongoing trial supports mix and match

A clinical trial that’s evaluating mixed COVID-19 vaccine regimens in 450 patients found that boosters from all three vaccines increased neutralizing antibody titers, irrespective of the kind of booster or primary vaccines series used.

The study, funded by the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, isn’t powered to compare which booster combinations work best, but the initial findings are interesting, said Dr. Fryhofer.

The two mRNA vaccines seemed to do a better job of boosting than the J&J shot, triggering stronger antibody responses. All boosters worked well in neutralizing Delta and Beta variants. No new safety concerns have emerged so far, and reactogenicity and adverse events have been similar across boosters.

“This is very reassuring,” said Dr. Fryhofer.

https://www.ama-assn.org/delivering-car ... ence-shows

Mix-and-match is nothing new - it started with HIV research

Mixing different vaccine types is known as a heterologous prime-boost vaccination. It started in the 1990s as a strategy tested by HIV researchers, according to Dr Pierre Meulien, executive director of the Innovative Medicines Initiative (IMI), an EU and European pharmaceutical industry partnership. ‘Scientifically, this is not anything new,’ he said. 

HIV researchers knew that a classical vaccine would not induce the extremely complex immunological mechanisms needed for potential protection from HIV infection. ‘People were trying to understand how you could induce both T and B cell immunity,’ said Dr Meulien, referring to the critical cells in the adaptive immune system. ‘And this was the main driver for that work (mixing vaccines).’

HIV was also the driver for scientists to develop new vaccine platforms to deliver their payload. These platforms include DNA, mRNA, and viral vectors such as the adenovirus, the last two both used in approved Covid-19 vaccines. The raft of new platforms created over the last 30 years is what enabled coronavirus vaccines to be developed so quickly, says Dr Frédéric Martinon an immunologist at the French National Institute of Health and Medical Research (INSERM).

https://ec.europa.eu/research-and-innov ... s-vaccines

The Food and Drug Administration recently authorized a mix-and-match booster shot strategy that allows fully-vaccinated Americans to choose a booster shot of one of three Covid-19 vaccines: Johnson & Johnson, Pfizer-BioNTech or Moderna, even if it’s different from the one they initially received. A mix-and-match option not only makes it more convenient for Americans to access boosters—studies show benefits from making the switch to another brand, especially for those who initially received the Johnson and Johnson Covid-19 vaccine.

https://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-ne ... 180978952/

BUG

Postby BUG » December 6th, 2021, 8:55 am

hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:

You are, in all seriousness, an absolute moron. Any kids reading this thread, this is an example of why you need to do well in your studies. Don't end up like hover11. Do well in life.

BUG

Postby BUG » December 6th, 2021, 8:55 am

hover11 wrote:Combining substances can change the way an active ingredient works. This can increase the effect of that ingredient on your body, make it less effective, or have other unexpected results. For example: Prescription medications that treat attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), like Ritalin, are stimulants.

Oh wow, it gets better.

Postby st7 » December 6th, 2021, 9:35 am

what do people with who suffer from hypertension+diabetes+anyotherthing does do? take one magic pill?

hover stop skinning yuh leg for we -- we dont own any electron microscopes

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » December 6th, 2021, 10:13 am

So if I'm vaccinated and have no gotten covid and follow most of the health guidelines. Keep doing what I'm? Y'all suggest doing more than usual because of how significant covid numbers locally are?

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 6th, 2021, 10:21 am

KM_2NR wrote:So if I'm vaccinated and have no gotten covid and follow most of the health guidelines. Keep doing what I'm? Y'all suggest doing more than usual because of how significant covid numbers locally are?

keep it up, don't get complacent.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » December 6th, 2021, 10:55 am

Looks like Omicron is the best thing to happen, almost all cases seem mild so far

Postby j.o.e » December 6th, 2021, 11:00 am

What’s the latest with boosters? Need for myself and mom, received Astra Zeneca originally.
Is it only for seniors now ? Walk in? Wait for call ?

Postby pugboy » December 6th, 2021, 11:01 am

i think 60 and over presently
walk in

j.o.e wrote:What’s the latest with boosters? Need for myself and mom, received Astra Zeneca originally.
Last edited by pugboy on December 6th, 2021, 11:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » December 6th, 2021, 11:01 am

j.o.e wrote:What’s the latest with boosters? Need for myself and mom, received Astra Zeneca originally.

My friend's parents went last week (walk-in) and got through.

Postby Chimera » December 6th, 2021, 11:11 am

some places are insisting on a doctors letter/clearance to give you the 3rd shot

my mom went for hers twice at different locations and got blanked (shes 70)
she had to go get a doctors letter to be able to get it

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » December 6th, 2021, 11:23 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:some places are insisting on a doctors letter/clearance to give you the 3rd shot

I got my AZ in July . Might just show up for pfizer and get a fresh vaccine card. Just tell them you not vaccinated. My friend got three vaccines this way. Sino , JJ and not pfizer.

Postby Chimera » December 6th, 2021, 11:26 am

be safe as much as you can realistically be everyone

unless you and your whole house hold is working from home and getting food/groceries delivered to you and not going out at all and living in a complete bubble,
then more than likely covid is going to touch you

accept it
prepare for it
survive it

Postby Dizzy28 » December 6th, 2021, 11:27 am

My sister in law tried this last week and get blank. They have sinopharm and wanted JJ for travelling purposes.

They went Hasely Crawford and filled out form. Nurse came out two minutes after and say the records show they have SP already and ineligible for JJ.

Clearly there is an online record somewhere .
KM_2NR wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:some places are insisting on a doctors letter/clearance to give you the 3rd shot

I got my AZ in July . Might just show up for pfizer and get a fresh vaccine card. Just tell them you not vaccinated. My friend got three vaccines this way. Sino , JJ and not pfizer.

Postby Chimera » December 6th, 2021, 11:27 am

it not possible to eradicate the virus , even animals getting it and it could just mutate further in them and be passed back to humans in a even worse form

is wearing masks everywhere our new way of life for the rest of our lives?
we never going to use the beach again?
no more socializing with family?

firetruck that yes

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » December 6th, 2021, 11:39 am

Dizzy28 wrote:My sister in law tried this last week and get blank. They have sinopharm and wanted JJ for travelling purposes.

They went Hasely Crawford and filled out form. Nurse came out two minutes after and say the records show they have SP already and ineligible for JJ.

Clearly there is an online record somewhere .
KM_2NR wrote:

banana
Last edited by KM_2NR on December 6th, 2021, 6:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby aaron17 » December 6th, 2021, 11:41 am

I heard someone got pcr results 12 days after...for confirmation.
Anyways ..everybody supposed to behave as if they have covid from the beginning. Not wait so long for confirmation.

Postby aaron17 » December 6th, 2021, 11:49 am

Dohplaydat wrote:Looks like Omicron is the best thing to happen, almost all cases seem mild so far

yea ..but I thinking.....
it can mutate after that so something worse than delta.
So it may seem like we buying some time..

I was thinking if we could make a virus just as mild , infect ppl, give them immunity rather than injection. Since this method of transmission is by far the fastest. I sure they made something like that already.

Postby aaron17 » December 6th, 2021, 11:51 am

How effective is n95 against people within 6 feet and have on no mask? Jus askin.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » December 6th, 2021, 12:05 pm

aaron17 wrote:How effective is n95 against people within 6 feet and have on no mask? Jus askin.

89.3466% effective

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » December 6th, 2021, 12:07 pm

aaron17 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:Looks like Omicron is the best thing to happen, almost all cases seem mild so far

yea ..but I thinking.....
it can mutate after that so something worse than delta.
So it may seem like we buying some time..

I was thinking if we could make a virus just as mild , infect ppl, give them immunity rather than injection. Since this method of transmission is by far the fastest. I sure they made something like that already.

Yea if we only we could make a weakened version of the virus to give people so that it trains their immune system to fight it. If we had that technology I'm sure everyone would take it.