COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

daring dragoon

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 13802 cases, 224 deaths, 4078 active, 9500 recovered in T&T

Postby daring dragoon » May 12th, 2021, 5:43 pm

shut the front door. 615 !!!! tomorrow go be 800? i not stepping out my door for 3 weeks yes.

widdyphuck

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 13802 cases, 224 deaths, 4078 active, 9500 recovered in T&T

Postby widdyphuck » May 12th, 2021, 5:46 pm

daring dragoon wrote:shut the front door. 615 !!!! tomorrow go be 800? i not stepping out my door for 3 weeks yes.
Not possible bro. You will go mental.

Postby aaron17 » May 12th, 2021, 5:47 pm

wtf wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:shut the front door. 615 !!!! tomorrow go be 800? i not stepping out my door for 3 weeks yes.
Remember the venez are here so our population went up...so cases would go up to.

Postby aaron17 » May 12th, 2021, 5:48 pm

wtf wrote:
Bro even introverts need a lil socializing to yah know.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » May 12th, 2021, 5:51 pm

I really hope tuners protecting themselves and family.
I see plenty shopkeepers not wearing mask behind counter.
Grocery chin masks
Tyre shop no mask
Mechanic no mask .

From my movements and observations mask wearing is low . I limit big grocery and going smaller open air and roadside vendors instead.

You cant go doctor you cant go hospital. You have to ensure your family don't injure themselves. It is really grim right now and people still liming and partying and going by neighbour. Here getting like Italy. I see on FB a doctor like he commit suicide from orchard gardens quite down mayaro beach he park up.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 12th, 2021, 6:10 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:I really hope tuners protecting themselves and family.
Grocery chin masks
Tyre shop no mask
Mechanic no mask .

From my movements and observations mask wearing is low . I limit big grocery and going smaller open air and roadside vendors instead.

You cant go doctor you cant go hospital. You have to ensure your family don't injure themselves. It is really grim right now and people still liming and partying and going by neighbour. Here getting like Italy. I see on FB a doctor like he commit suicide from orchard gardens quite down mayaro beach he park up.

Dude, just double or triple mask up when indoors especially groceries.

Lou Screuz

Postby Lou Screuz » May 12th, 2021, 6:18 pm

Grocery chin masks
Tyre shop no mask
Mechanic no mask .

they need to completely suspend

play whe and lotto/NLCB games

right fhocking now

i see this today

that line up to play a mark

is a major source of the spread

Postby MaxPower » May 12th, 2021, 6:23 pm

Lou Screuz wrote:
Grocery chin masks
Tyre shop no mask
Mechanic no mask .

right fhocking now

i see this today

Boi tell me about it...

One jackass take a video of a set of pigeons on the promenade, the next set of jackasses flock to play 17....

Lock it down, that is non essential.

Master Keith needs to lay down more restrictions.

Postby Gem_in_i » May 12th, 2021, 6:26 pm

Are Offices a major site of spread?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 12th, 2021, 6:27 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:Are Offices a major site of spread?

I am very sure it's one of the biggest areas of spread, so given that essential workers out only I do expect cases to start dropping late next week

Postby aaron17 » May 12th, 2021, 6:28 pm

Lou Screuz wrote:
Grocery chin masks
Tyre shop no mask
Mechanic no mask .

right fhocking now

i see this today

Boi tell me about it...

One jackass take a video of a set of pigeons on the promenade, the next set of jackasses flock to play 17....

Lock it down, that is non essential.

Master Keith needs to lay down more restrictions.
Sounds like they shoulda play 36 instead

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 12th, 2021, 6:32 pm

Delete

Postby MaxPower » May 12th, 2021, 7:01 pm

aaron17 wrote:Sounds like they shoulda play 36 instead

Exactly that..

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » May 12th, 2021, 7:08 pm

You seem to be moving about a lot though...
Grocery chin masks
Tyre shop no mask
Mechanic no mask .

Postby aaron17 » May 12th, 2021, 7:10 pm

So today was really 400+ cases or 100+?

Postby aaron17 » May 12th, 2021, 7:23 pm

Why am I still seeing no social distancing in covid testing sites?

Postby Gem_in_i » May 12th, 2021, 7:23 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Gem_in_i wrote:Are Offices a major site of spread?

I am very sure it's one of the biggest areas of spread, so given that essential workers out only I do expect cases to start dropping late next week

Compared to last year, this year they have more people out working in the Public Service who are deemed “essential”.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 12th, 2021, 7:29 pm

aaron17 wrote:So today was really 400+ cases or 100+?

No, you won't know 'today's' actual infections until a week from now, and even then it will be accrued with other days. Basically like an average.

Delays have been occurring for the last month or more. The reports never actually reflect positives in the last 24 hours.

Think of the incoming results like this:

Lab 1: 25% of the results in 24 hours, 50% in 48 hours, 25% in 72 hours
Lab 2: 50% of the results in 24 hours, 25% in 48 hours, 25% in 72 hours
Lab N: 0% of the results in 24 hours, 50% in 48 hours, 50% in 72 hours

Then factor in that this is changing constantly as the more tests done the greater the backlog.

The number of tests reported is a good figure to work with though as it's more recent, and we know the positivity rate (40%) according to Dr. Hinds.

However, not all tests are included in the positivity rate formula. They don't count tests done for repatriated flights, not those who need a positive covid test for flying out. But since those figures are fairly consistent.....number of tests will consistently correlate with number of positives.

Eitherway, testing is getting higher and higher....which means daily reported cases will be higher in the coming days.

This week Sunday to Wednesday (4 days) had - 8,052 tests done,
Last week Sunday to Saturday (7 days) had - 8,791 tests done

Screenshot 2021-05-12 at 5.20.06 pm.png
Last edited by Dohplaydat on May 12th, 2021, 7:38 pm, edited 2 times in total.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » May 12th, 2021, 7:31 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:You seem to be moving about a lot though...
Grocery chin masks
Tyre shop no mask
Mechanic no mask .

Boi I trying ease up. Its over a matter of days I notice this since I out driving. I have elderly parents to get medicine supplies groceries and try to stop them from having to leave house. And I done tell them ease up and let things last because I dont want to be in unnecessary exposure. Thank God I get on emergency call out so I dont have to go out on call right now.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 12th, 2021, 7:49 pm

Long story short when will things get better.

Postby pugboy » May 12th, 2021, 8:12 pm

testing sites are certainly a very dangerous place to be near or even downwind of

they should remove testing from health centers and use a stadium parking lot

lots of potentially non negative persons are jammed up under a tent with positive persons

aaron17 wrote:Why am I still seeing no social distancing in covid testing sites?

Postby hover11 » May 12th, 2021, 8:27 pm

Long and short things will get better and trinis will jacka$$ the scn to a next lookdown in the not too distant future
wtf wrote:Long story short when will things get better.

Postby MaxPower » May 12th, 2021, 8:28 pm

When Trinis start taking things seriously.

Full Stop.

Penguin

Postby Penguin » May 12th, 2021, 8:42 pm

Full Stop.

Does anyone know if the majority of persons getting ill are those who breached the covid regulations?

I just wonder is it that persons were careless and went for a small lime, who didn't wear their mask properly? Or is it a case where these people were obeying rules and still picked it up.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 12th, 2021, 8:44 pm

Penguin wrote:

Full Stop.

Does anyone know if the majority of persons getting ill are those who breached the covid regulations?

I just wonder is it that persons were careless and went for a small lime, who didn't wear their mask properly? Or is it a case where these people were obeying rules and still picked it up.
Nope. It's persons in the workplace spreading it to their coworkers.

Postby aaron17 » May 12th, 2021, 8:48 pm

wtf wrote:
Penguin wrote:

Full Stop.

But the original source are persons who may have broken it.

Penguin

Postby Penguin » May 12th, 2021, 8:50 pm

wtf wrote:
Penguin wrote:

Full Stop.

How do we know this is true?

Is spread in offices common? Where I work, we're currently on rotation, and there's no policy stating we have to wear masks unless we're interacting with a customer. The rotation is so that we can all sit more than 6ft apart, so no need for mask-wearing.

Penguin

Postby Penguin » May 12th, 2021, 8:52 pm

aaron17 wrote:
wtf wrote:
Penguin wrote:

Full Stop.

But the original source are persons who may have broken it.

I'm trying to figure this out now.

We have had almost 3000 persons contract it over the last 2 weeks. Where everybody get that virus from? No bars, restaurants, gyms, beaches were open.

Is it a case that one man got it from a lime or Vene, brought into work and infect everybody? Peter paying paul here?

Postby aaron17 » May 12th, 2021, 8:54 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
aaron17 wrote:So today was really 400+ cases or 100+?

No, you won't know 'today's' actual infections until a week from now, and even then it will be accrued with other days. Basically like an average.

Delays have been occurring for the last month or more. The reports never actually reflect positives in the last 24 hours.

Think of the incoming results like this:

Lab 1: 25% of the results in 24 hours, 50% in 48 hours, 25% in 72 hours
Lab 2: 50% of the results in 24 hours, 25% in 48 hours, 25% in 72 hours
Lab N: 0% of the results in 24 hours, 50% in 48 hours, 50% in 72 hours

Then factor in that this is changing constantly as the more tests done the greater the backlog.

The number of tests reported is a good figure to work with though as it's more recent, and we know the positivity rate (40%) according to Dr. Hinds.

However, not all tests are included in the positivity rate formula. They don't count tests done for repatriated flights, not those who need a positive covid test for flying out. But since those figures are fairly consistent.....number of tests will consistently correlate with number of positives.

Eitherway, testing is getting higher and higher....which means daily reported cases will be higher in the coming days.

This week Sunday to Wednesday (4 days) had - 8,052 tests done,
Last week Sunday to Saturday (7 days) had - 8,791 tests done

Screenshot 2021-05-12 at 5.20.06 pm.png

ok

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 12th, 2021, 8:57 pm

Let's put it this way COVID is a short story that is going long.