COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

nismotrinidappa

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 14417 cases, 235 deaths, 4588 active, 9594 recovered in T&T

Postby nismotrinidappa » May 13th, 2021, 6:53 pm

Anybody heard central bank instruct banks to defer loan payments for 2 months?

BUG

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 14417 cases, 235 deaths, 4588 active, 9594 recovered in T&T

Postby BUG » May 13th, 2021, 6:56 pm

DMan7 wrote:
BUG wrote:
DMan7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
DMan7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
DMan7 wrote:No. 10 in the world today for the Number of new cases per 1M population. Yesterday we were No. 9.

new cases.jpg

No. 112 in the world today for the Number of deaths per 1M population.

deahts.jpg

That's not deaths per million bro, in deaths per million we're definitely top 10.

It is bruh, check the worldmeters site. Find me another metric or statistical site data for that and post it.

Yea you're right I thought you meant new deaths per million, sorry.

That figure we could very well be number one today

Ask and you shall receive buddy. The Number of new deaths per 1M population today. Look where we ranked!

New Deaths Per 1M Population.jpg

Dman you got a link that site?

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/

Thanks. Was searching for the new deaths per million column and didn't realise I had to add a custom column.

Sobering statistic that...

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 13th, 2021, 7:10 pm

U know what's sobering, 1000 more deaths in the next 3 to 4 months.

Imagine spending your whole Form 6 or year 1/2 UWI cage up indoors. Really feel for those youths who'll miss out that experience in life.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 13th, 2021, 7:18 pm

Much preferable that dying at 18 and not having an adulthood
Dohplaydat wrote:U know what's sobering, 1000 more deaths in the next 3 to 4 months.

Imagine spending your whole Form 6 or year 1/2 UWI cage up indoors. Really feel for those youths who'll miss out that experience in life.

BUG

Postby BUG » May 13th, 2021, 7:29 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Much preferable that dying at 18 and not having an adulthood
Dohplaydat wrote:U know what's sobering, 1000 more deaths in the next 3 to 4 months.

What he's saying is that this was completely avoidable. Covid fatigue leading up to Easter and a laissez faire attitude by a large portion of the population and political leaders on both sides has robbed these kids (and many others) of one of the great periods of their lives and we only have ourselves to blame.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 13th, 2021, 7:33 pm

It have no work for them either when they finished UWI because this economy in sheit street..
Best thing is to keep your money and not go UWI.

Postby aaron17 » May 13th, 2021, 7:52 pm

So deaths/1M pop is less regarded to New Deaths/1M pop?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 13th, 2021, 7:56 pm

aaron17 wrote:So deaths/1M pop is less regarded to New Deaths/1M pop?

Two different things, deaths per million measures deaths since the beginning.

New deaths per million would be a measure of today's performance compared to all countries.

Postby aaron17 » May 13th, 2021, 8:06 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
aaron17 wrote:So deaths/1M pop is less regarded to New Deaths/1M pop?

Two different things, deaths per million measures deaths since the beginning.

New deaths per million would be a measure of today's performance compared to all countries.
Oh i see.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 13th, 2021, 8:08 pm

How is it that only the young and innocent are dying but not the evil and corrupted ones?This pandemic should not go to waste.

Postby MaxPower » May 13th, 2021, 8:21 pm

wtf wrote:How is it that only the young and innocent are dying but not the evil and corrupted ones?This pandemic should not go to waste.

Hello wtf,

The evil and corrupted do not find themselves “jackassing the scene” if that makes any sense.

Postby aaron17 » May 13th, 2021, 8:25 pm

So tomorrow expect to be over 21 deaths and no sure of stopping? I know the lockdown is to prevent further spread. But what is happening now... is that this wave has to run its course through those who are affected already?

BUG

Postby BUG » May 13th, 2021, 8:26 pm

Again, we are not in a lockdown. The population have merely had some restrictions placed on them. It's an important distinction.
Last edited by BUG on May 13th, 2021, 8:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 13th, 2021, 8:27 pm

aaron17 wrote:So tomorrow expect to be over 21 deaths and no sure of stopping? I know the lockdown is to prevent further spread. But what is happening now... is that this wave has to run its course through those who are affected already?

Can't say, but expect it to average at over 10 for the next month

Postby redmanjp » May 13th, 2021, 8:29 pm

i hoping the 21 is an outlier and the rolling average is lower, but it probably would remain in double digits for a week.

Postby redmanjp » May 13th, 2021, 8:32 pm

BUG wrote:Again, we are not in a lockdown. The population have merely had some restrictions placed on them. It's an important distinction.

well we 3/4 way there. the only difference from last year is the manufacturing sector open.

unless u talking a full on SOE and curfew as well, which may be warranted given the past weeks grim figures.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 13th, 2021, 8:41 pm

redmanjp wrote:
BUG wrote:Again, we are not in a lockdown. The population have merely had some restrictions placed on them. It's an important distinction.

well we 3/4 way there. the only difference from last year is the manufacturing sector open.

unless u talking a full on SOE and curfew as well, which may be warranted given the past weeks grim figures.

Hoss that is not true, endless people still working, the essential service list has vastly increased compared to last year.

Anyway, one wonders how many lives would have been saved if Rowley had begged India for vaccines earlier like the other 100 countries.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » May 13th, 2021, 8:45 pm

This "lockdown" is not a lockdown. More ppl are working than the last lockdown. Everyone's employer basically deemed them essential.

Postby timelapse » May 13th, 2021, 8:51 pm

Mammoos buying their gazul by the grocery and liming in a shed up on my side.It on private property and not really a party, so the police not too bothered.But them fellas is labourers and does be roaming all over.

Postby sMASH » May 13th, 2021, 9:07 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Hoss that is not true, endless people still working, the essential service list has vastly increased compared to last year.

Anyway, one wonders how many lives would have been saved if Rowley had begged India for vaccines earlier like the other 100 countries.

they didnt beg india. they just signed deals on time. rowley them was dilly dallying with india to have proof that they was in talk, but really tryin to stall to get the WHO approval for the chinese one.
u forget xi jing ping called rowlers while the bachanal with the indian high commissioner was going on.
call him to tell him to keep stalling or take a small batch, cause he getting approval soon.

Postby hover11 » May 13th, 2021, 9:21 pm

While we here with our restrictions , the US has removed the need for their citizens to wear masks...any thoughts , comments or concerns I honestly think it's too soon

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 13th, 2021, 9:27 pm

hover11 wrote:While we here with our restrictions , the US has removed the need for their citizens to wear masks...any thoughts , comments or concerns I honestly think it's too soon

They removed it from being a legal requirement but any sane person will continue wearing a mask in public even if they are vaccinated

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 14814 cases, 256 deaths, 4814 active, 9744 recovered in T&T

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 13th, 2021, 9:30 pm

Ontario extends provincewide stay-at-home order until June 2

Premier Doug Ford said his government is extending the provincewide stay-at-home order until June 2 in an effort to "protect this summer for all Ontarians."

Ford confirmed the two-week extension at a news conference at Queen’s Park on Thursday afternoon.

"The situation is slowly trending in a better direction. Make no mistake. We’re not out of the woods yet. Our hospitals are still under immense pressure, the spread of variants remains a major concern. So we must stay vigilant," Ford said."

"We must keep doing what we’re doing and what’s working. We need to do everything in our power to protect this summer for all Ontarians. Obviously that won’t mean large sporting events or concerts. But if we manage the next few weeks properly, I believe that we can have things in a very good place this summer. To do so, we need to keep driving cases down and easing the pressure on our hospitals."

The stay-at-home order was first implemented on April 8 and has now been extended twice due to high levels of COVID-19 transmission in the province.

https://www.cp24.com/news/ford-governme ... -1.5425963

Postby Gem_in_i » May 13th, 2021, 9:46 pm

bluefete wrote:Image

:o

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 14814 cases, 256 deaths, 4814 active, 9744 recovered in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » May 13th, 2021, 9:50 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:186489828_10224581416937888_3117953994212872907_n.jpg

According to data from healthdata.org (very good weekly summary reports), this is our current estimate average weekly death count.

Screenshot 2021-05-13 at 9.43.33 pm.png

Weekly deaths here sum to be = 138 (without covid_ but....let's say 150 with all the other causes.

That's an average of 21 per day, without covid.

So covid deaths today basically doubled our average death rate.

http://www.healthdata.org/sites/default ... Tobago.pdf

Postby redmanjp » May 13th, 2021, 10:07 pm

hover11 wrote:While we here with our restrictions , the US has removed the need for their citizens to wear masks...any thoughts , comments or concerns I honestly think it's too soon

they vaccinated about half their population with at least 1 dose so its getting harder for the virus to spread, also it's for fully vaccinated ppl. based on the latest data fully vaccinated ppl rarely get infected and even so the viral load is low and the risk of transmission is lower. still they have to wear it on public transport or where businesses require it., or if they have flu symptoms.

https://www.cnbc.com/2021/05/13/cdc-says-fully-vaccinated-people-dont-need-to-wear-face-masks-indoors-or-outdoors-in-most-settings.html

but this has implications for bringing fully vaccinated nationals home! perhaps they don't need to quarantine (CDC already said it's not necessary), if we want to be cautious due to variants which are in the US we can still home quarantine them. what you all say?

this is also another incentive for ppl , young ppl especially who are not as high risk to get vaxxed. if our CMO says we doh have to wear masks anymore once we take d 2 shots more ppl will get vaccinated (once we have the vaccine and herd immunity can come sooner. the downside though, is this Sinopharm vaccine and what is happening in Seychelles. so we might need to wait longer til say 80% are vaccinated before dropping mask mandates.
Last edited by redmanjp on May 13th, 2021, 10:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » May 13th, 2021, 10:11 pm

holy firetruck, 21 deaths

be safe people

so much people simply cannot afford to stay home and do nothing

they need some kind of money coming in to simply survive

this corona looking like its the end of the world

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 13th, 2021, 10:13 pm

Screenshot 2021-05-13 at 10.11.44 pm.png

The forecast for the next few days continues to be high, we might get another 500+ day tomorrow and Saturday.

Postby sMASH » May 13th, 2021, 10:39 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:holy firetruck, 21 deaths

be safe people

so much people simply cannot afford to stay home and do nothing

they need some kind of money coming in to simply survive

this corona looking like its the end of the world

get a couple weeks of sun, that will settle down. rainy season resume, u will get back a climb.