COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

carluva

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 94213 (+579) cases, 2973 (+22) deaths, 15436 active, 75804 recovered in T&T

Postby carluva » January 25th, 2022, 9:46 pm

Yes. Get boosted. Our booster was due in first week of February... Was quite eager for it... Now this.

PariaMan

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 94213 (+579) cases, 2973 (+22) deaths, 15436 active, 75804 recovered in T&T

Postby PariaMan » January 25th, 2022, 9:52 pm

carluva wrote:Yes. Get boosted. Our booster was due in first week of February... Was quite eager for it... Now this.
Brother went early after 5 months and they gave him

Pfizer expiring if you wait to late you may not have a choice

Postby pete » January 25th, 2022, 10:06 pm

I got my booster last week Monday. Had slight headaches for a few days after and felt generally bleh but back to normal from the weekend. Sino first 2 shots and boosted with Pfizer.

Postby adnj » January 25th, 2022, 10:14 pm

Omicron infection prompted a shift in the booster interval to three months in France, Germany and Australia.

Postby adnj » January 26th, 2022, 4:16 am

University of Minnesota ivermectin trial nearing completion

Proof of effectiveness would give doctors outpatient COVID-19 therapies amid limited antiviral and antibody supplies. 

January 25, 2022 

University of Minnesota researchers expect to finish enrollment this week in the nation's first clinical trial of ivermectin to treat COVID-19, and the study's highly anticipated results could be only a month away.

The COVID-OUT study is reviewing three common drugs, including the antidepressant fluvoxamine and the diabetes treatment metformin, but gained attention for its inclusion of ivermectin. The controversial drug has been championed by opponents of COVID-19 vaccines, despite a warning from the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) that ivermectin is cleared only to treat parasitic infections, head lice and certain skin conditions.

Anti-inflammatory benefits of all three medications prompted the U study, which was delayed by slow enrollment over the summer until the delta and omicron waves of the pandemic subsided. Lead researcher Dr. Carolyn Bramante said the results will provide clinical guidance to doctors who are facing record pandemic cases and to the FDA about whether to authorize the drugs for treatment of COVID-19.

"Sooner would have been better, but I'm really proud of my team," she said. "We will be done very quickly."

https://www.startribune.com/university- ... 600139471/

Postby Redman » January 26th, 2022, 5:00 am

PariaMan wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:I think next month I should be able to get a booster. Going for Pfizer.
Had covid in October
Yes try to get it as soon as possible

Read today that with a case of covid and a booster your immunity is very high

Actually higher than if you were boosted alone

PS you should check a YT vid from DR John Campbell released yesterday reviewing the results of 2 studies indicating that a vaxxed person who had c19 is as good as it gets regarding immunity.

Check it out.

Postby redmanjp » January 26th, 2022, 10:39 am

time to upgrade your masks people. we can at least limit how big an explosion in cases happens with omicron if we all use better masks.

https://www.usatoday.com/story/life/reviewed/2022/01/25/amazon-n-95-kn-95-face-masks/9208955002/

Postby MaxPower » January 26th, 2022, 10:47 am

redmanjp wrote:time to upgrade your masks people. we can at least limit how big an explosion in cases happens with omicron if we all use better masks.

https://www.usatoday.com/story/life/reviewed/2022/01/25/amazon-n-95-kn-95-face-masks/9208955002/

Thanks bro,

This is exactly what we need to be promoting and focusing on.

I have been preaching from the very start of this pandemic the importance of mask wearing and sanitizing. Once we protect and cleanse ourselves, we can socialize with eachother alot closer.

Remember, this is a virus and its transmitted from the nose and mouth.

Common sense will tell us what is required.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 26th, 2022, 10:55 am

redmanjp wrote:time to upgrade your masks people. we can at least limit how big an explosion in cases happens with omicron if we all use better masks.

Thanks bro,

This is exactly what we need to be promoting and focusing on.

I have been preaching from the very start of this pandemic the importance of mask wearing and sanitizing. Once we protect and cleanse ourselves, we can socialize with eachother alot closer.

Remember, this is a virus and its transmitted from the nose and mouth.

Common sense will tell us what is required.

Following your “common sense” is exactly how dohplaydat get covid lol.

Time to take off the mask and speed up transmission.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 26th, 2022, 10:56 am

Why limit omicron …
Let it run free, time to get the unvaccinated some immunity.

Postby alfa » January 26th, 2022, 11:06 am

drchaos wrote:

Why limit omicron …

Speaking of letting it run free. I know a few individuals who are fully vaxxed with sino and got COVID months after and were very ill. One is still recovering but based on the severity of the illness all had experienced I could see older and sickly individuals dying from it although being fully vaxxed. I want to believe that there are far more vaxxed people dying than they are letting on and secondly the vaccine is a woft

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 26th, 2022, 11:07 am

America's death rate yesterday was the same as the death rate at the peak of delta

Omicron while less deadly because of more cases sees same death toll as delta

That is why we cannot just let it run

Come nah doc
Last edited by PariaMan on January 26th, 2022, 11:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 26th, 2022, 11:11 am

alfa wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Why limit omicron …

Speaking of letting it run free. I know a few individuals who are fully vaxxed with sino and got COVID months after and were very ill. One is still recovering but based on the severity of the illness all had experienced I could see older and sickly individuals dying from it although being fully vaxxed. I want to believe that there are far more vaxxed people dying than they are letting on and secondly the vaccine is a woft
That is why all over the world they are recommending the booster

After 2 doses and 6 months there is not much protection from getting it though there is still protection from hospitalization and dying

That is why you take the booster

But if you feel the vacinne is woft then doh take it . There is room for you in ICU now
Last edited by PariaMan on January 26th, 2022, 11:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » January 26th, 2022, 11:11 am

The simple fact that the unvaxxed are dying more than 10 times more than the vaxxed is proof enough to get the vaccination.

Even if you feel you don't need the vax and you won't die from it. Do you really want to end up in the hospital?

I give up trying to convince people more or less....because I living life normal now and I eh business anymore.

But look in your circle of friends and family and see if you find someone who working ICU locally to give you a first hand account of how people are suffering when they reach that point.

After that make your decision.

I have a padna from secondary school who in a group chat with about 100 of us and he's a doc in ICU. Some dred first hand accounts when he giving us the breakdown about people choking and gasping for breath......

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 26th, 2022, 11:19 am

Same here I vaccinated and boosted and seeing real cases where I work

Who want to take a chance with the best health care in the world right here in Trinidad go right ahead

Those doctors will say aha another unvaccinated go to the head of the class

Postby MaxPower » January 26th, 2022, 11:29 am

drchaos wrote:Following your “common sense” is exactly how dohplaydat get covid lol.

Dr,

How things bro.

DPD breached the protocols and was liming heavily. His chances of getting infected increased.

Wearing a mask is not 100% guaranteed but it is the best defense you have.

Take off my mask? I am NOT going to allow any one stink germs into my body.

We have enough irresponsible, careless and inconsiderate people out there to speed up the transmission. Let them accomplish what you’re promoting.

Postby Chimera » January 26th, 2022, 11:34 am

Realistically once you coming out your house to do anything you can't hide from covid no matter how safe you are.

It is just spreading and mutating.

Animals are getting it as well.

Possibly mutating it further and then passing it back to humans.

Postby j.o.e » January 26th, 2022, 12:17 pm

Looks like a well paid promotion. Lol

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 26th, 2022, 1:44 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Realistically once you coming out your house to do anything you can't hide from covid no matter how safe you are.

It is just spreading and mutating.

Animals are getting it as well.

Possibly mutating it further and then passing it back to humans.

You probably could have avoided the original Wuhan strain, but not omicron and its
drchaos wrote:Following your “common sense” is exactly how dohplaydat get covid lol.

Dr,

How things bro.

DPD breached the protocols and was liming heavily. His chances of getting infected increased.

Wearing a mask is not 100% guaranteed but it is the best defense you have.

Take off my mask? I am NOT going to allow any one stink germs into my body.

We have enough irresponsible, careless and inconsiderate people out there to speed up the transmission. Let them accomplish what you’re promoting.
variants.

I was liming heavily, being boosted meant there was essentially no real risk to me. I got it, it was super mild (like a regular cold is worse).

Max, I applaud your efforts to avoid the virus but when are you going to stop wearing masks? What is the trigger (for you personally) to say 'covid is no longer a threat i not wearing a mask'.

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » January 26th, 2022, 1:49 pm

Y'all getting the booster? Scheduled to get it this weekend.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » January 26th, 2022, 2:01 pm

KM_2NR wrote:Y'all getting the booster? Scheduled to get it this weekend.
What was your Vaccine shot and when did you become fully vaccinated?

I have to wait 6 months to get the Booster.

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » January 26th, 2022, 2:07 pm

wtf wrote:

Got the AZ sometime in July last year. So I'm due towads the end of January early feb.
Is fully vaccinated status inclusive of boosters now?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » January 26th, 2022, 2:08 pm

KM_2NR wrote:
wtf wrote:

Got the AZ sometime in July last year. So I'm due towads the end of January early feb.
Nope. Booster is not part of the fully vaccinated status.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 26th, 2022, 2:09 pm

KM_2NR wrote:
wtf wrote:

This was Nov 2021. Haven't seen an update to it since.

"At this time, the Additional Primary Dose does not affect a person’s vaccination status (e.g. for entry into TT Safe Zone areas or for entry into Trinidad and Tobago). Thus, in Trinidad and Tobago, those who previously fit into the category of fully vaccinated before the introduction of the Additional Primary Dose will continue to be considered fully vaccinated at this time. The public will be advised if there are any changes to this policy."
http://www.news.gov.tt/content/clarific ... fGOTPgpA2w

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » January 26th, 2022, 2:13 pm

What level should your oximeter display?

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » January 26th, 2022, 2:20 pm

wtf wrote:What level should your oximeter display?

lol dunce, you know how to google? Not including that you should know this by now.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 26th, 2022, 2:26 pm

120/80

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 26th, 2022, 3:29 pm

94 and up is good

Under 90 is hospital and ambulance

In between be wary

Postby gastly369 » January 26th, 2022, 3:42 pm

PariaMan wrote:
94 and up is good

Under 90 is hospital and ambulance

In between be wary
This... If u see 90 few times in hr and not going up.... Don't waste time call ambulance even if u feeling fine.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 26th, 2022, 4:00 pm

If I constantly hitting 98 on the oxymeter ah dead or wat?