COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 15899 cases, 276 deaths, 5558 active, 10065 recovered in T&T

Postby pugboy » May 16th, 2021, 7:25 pm

in other countries you can’t move more than a certain distance from your house
and in some cases you need to apply to go to grocery

also some had gps tracking app you needed to apply to use to get permission to move
so we are still lucky somewhat

aaron17 wrote:
Kenjo wrote:You guys pretty optimistic , the stories of other countries indicate we not seeing a drop in numbers anytime soon , how is India doing , just because they lost the spotlight on main news means that things going dandy
Yea i wanted to know what happens on a lockdown in other countries and if it brings down numbers. Will it be averaging about 100 everyday after the lockdown?

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 15899 cases, 276 deaths, 5558 active, 10065 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » May 16th, 2021, 7:27 pm

aaron17 wrote:
Kenjo wrote:You guys pretty optimistic , the stories of other countries indicate we not seeing a drop in numbers anytime soon , how is India doing , just because they lost the spotlight on main news means that things going dandy
Yea i wanted to know what happens on a lockdown in other countries and if it brings down numbers. Will it be averaging about 100 everyday after the lockdown?

all depends on the variants. P1 is 100% more or twice as contagious as the wuhan strain, so if we half the R0 it will still spread as fast as the wuhan strain- the lockdown/restrictions would have to be more than in July-September and ppl will have to double-mask for weeks- normal cloth masks or jersey eh go do much against P1.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 16th, 2021, 8:29 pm

redmanjp wrote:
aaron17 wrote:

all depends on the variants. P1 is 100% more or twice as contagious as the wuhan strain, so if we half the R0 it will still spread as fast as the wuhan strain- the lockdown/restrictions would have to be more than in July-September and ppl will have to double-mask for weeks- normal cloth masks or jersey eh go do much against P1.

And given the current Sinopharm data, people can still spread it quite easily even if vaccinated.

That would mean restrictions might have to be in place for the rest of 2021.

Goodluck with your mental health lads.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 16th, 2021, 8:33 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
aaron17 wrote:

And given the current Sinopharm data, people can still spread it quite easily even if vaccinated.

Economy will fail long before our mental health does.

Postby redmanjp » May 16th, 2021, 8:35 pm

i feel everyone getting the sinopharm jab would need a booster from another vaccine even later this year once the data is confirmed

u could imagine if we are blanked from vaccine passports to travel or do other things due to this?

Postby hover11 » May 16th, 2021, 8:36 pm

Our economy was on life support before this lockdown don't worry you will see the effects when the place reopens
wtf wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
aaron17 wrote:

Economy will fail long before our mental health does.
Last edited by hover11 on May 16th, 2021, 8:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hover11 » May 16th, 2021, 8:37 pm

Where the country getting the money for the next set of vaccines though
redmanjp wrote:i feel everyone getting the sinopharm jab would need a booster from another vaccine even later this year once the data is confirmed

u could imagine if we are blanked from vaccine passports to travel or do other things due to this?

Postby sMASH » May 16th, 2021, 8:40 pm

tell reddress to close his eyes, putting up some stats.

india has a case per million (CPM) of 18000 while tnt is 11600 or so. but trinidad has a higher death per million (DPM) of 200
while india still is 190.. not seeig the charts, im guessing the numbers as i can remember and type.

both trinidad and india are below the world average for dpm and cpm. a lot more worse of countries.
what the other countries are doing is allocating resources to deal with twhat they get, and not bitching about it. that is beds, ventilators, paracetamol, nurses, etc.
cuba has nurses, we can rent them. most of america isnt using their ventilators, we can rent them. furniture plus has mattresses, we can appeal for more pain killers.

but u put an SOE to grand stand that the situation is dire, so every body hadda frighten. that the equivalent of the breadwinner getting pressure on work and come home and beat every body taking it out on them.

this soe, as they set it up, people still moving around the same as before, just no big superspreader events like tobago or wedding.
how 104 get covid, showing that it done all over the place. like a nuclear fission reaction: it has so many chain reactions, its self sustaining now.

we was doing good, but had go show off the shiney boat.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 16th, 2021, 8:46 pm

hover11 wrote:Where the country getting the money for the next set of vaccines though
redmanjp wrote:i feel everyone getting the sinopharm jab would need a booster from another vaccine even later this year once the data is confirmed

Loan financing. Where else.

Postby hover11 » May 16th, 2021, 8:50 pm

So basically we will never see our way just borrow on top of borrowing...
wtf wrote:
hover11 wrote:Where the country getting the money for the next set of vaccines though

Postby redmanjp » May 16th, 2021, 8:53 pm

without vaccines the economy can't open back up properly, certainly not with this P1 variant.

and rich countries like the US continue to hoard vaccine to give their citizens 10 times the doses they need- like trump's America First policy still in effect :roll:
Last edited by redmanjp on May 16th, 2021, 8:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hover11 » May 16th, 2021, 8:54 pm

I understand what you saying there but im worried about the economic impact here of covid isn't this just delaying us from the inevitable.....the IMF?
redmanjp wrote:without vaccines the economy can't open back up properly, certainly not with this P1 variant.
Last edited by hover11 on May 16th, 2021, 8:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 16th, 2021, 8:55 pm

hover11 wrote:So basically we will never see our way just borrow on top of borrowing...
wtf wrote:

Imbert already said that he plans to borrow as much as possible to keep things stable.
Someone generation will have have to pay for it and it will most likely be our children and grandchildren.
Things not looking to good for them.

Postby redmanjp » May 16th, 2021, 9:00 pm

hover11 wrote:I understand what you saying their but this the economic impact here of covid isn't this just delaying us from the inevitable.....the IMF?
redmanjp wrote:without vaccines the economy can't open back up properly, certainly not with this P1 variant.

i eh know, maybe we may be on the brink of a financial crisis that would drive us there. hopefully not as the IMF would call the shots in exchange for loans

Postby pugboy » May 16th, 2021, 9:00 pm

steups

and they was vex when china once said they gonna clamp down on exports of lithium metal which is used for batteries

and rich countries like the US continue to hoard vaccine to give their citizens 10 times the doses they need- like trump's America First policy still in effect :roll:

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 16th, 2021, 9:05 pm

Anybody double masking?

Zim

Postby Zim » May 16th, 2021, 9:05 pm

Just lost a relative to this virus, her mom died abt a week prior

Postby redmanjp » May 16th, 2021, 9:06 pm

pugboy wrote:steups

and they was vex when china once said they gonna clamp down on exports of lithium metal which is used for batteries

i mean, is one thing when they were the epicenter of the pandemic and only a small fraction of their high risk ppl vaccinated but now like 85% of >60 are protected and their hospitalizations are way down. even 2 out of my 3 young siblings got their 2 shots

Postby MaxPower » May 16th, 2021, 9:06 pm

Zim wrote:Just lost a relative to this virus, her mom died abt a week prior

Hello Zim,

Please accept my condolences.

Please be safe out there.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 16th, 2021, 9:07 pm

Zim wrote:Just lost a relative to this virus, her mom died abt a week prior
Condolences bro. Here for you anytime.

Postby MaxPower » May 16th, 2021, 9:15 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:Anybody double masking?

If you have the genuine N95, then one is fine bro.

Anything outside that i would double up to be safe.

There should be more strict laws with the type of masks that public wears though.

The amount of ineffective and contagious masks out there is ridiculous especially the ones that actually smell unhygienic.

Any Trini i see coughing or sneezing with a mask on, i treat it just as they have NO mask…..stand clear and move away.

Postby pugboy » May 16th, 2021, 9:19 pm

yeah unless you can show u walking to grocery or parlor

novastar1 wrote:So walking around outside alone is essentially illegal now?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 16th, 2021, 9:23 pm

FB_IMG_1621211119776.jpeg

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » May 16th, 2021, 9:31 pm

pugboy wrote:yeah unless you can show u walking to grocery or parlor

Walking alone and not going anywhere would be safer than going to that grocery and parlor

So I should expect no cyclists on the road tomorrow either?

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 16th, 2021, 9:31 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:Anybody double masking?

If you have the genuine N95, then one is fine bro.

Anything outside that i would double up to be safe.

There should be more strict laws with the type of masks that public wears though.

The amount of ineffective and contagious masks out there is ridiculous especially the ones that actually smell unhygienic.

Any Trini i see coughing or sneezing with a mask on, i treat it just as they have NO mask…..stand clear and move away.

Thanks MaxPower...makes sense.

Postby MaxPower » May 16th, 2021, 9:33 pm

^ be careful out there bro.

Postby redmanjp » May 16th, 2021, 9:46 pm

u forget dem have to close up by 8pm? so that is not an excuse unless u working in the grocery and have a pass

BUG

Postby BUG » May 16th, 2021, 9:53 pm

novastar1 wrote:

Walking alone and not going anywhere would be safer than going to that grocery and parlor

Why would there be no cyclists or people walking alone tomorrow from 5:00am to 9:00pm?

BUG

Postby BUG » May 16th, 2021, 10:07 pm

BUG wrote:
novastar1 wrote:

Why would there be no cyclists or people walking alone tomorrow from 5:00am to 9:00pm?

For anyone else unaware, all outdoor exercise has been banned 24/7.

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/05/16/outdoo ... nned-24-7/

So I can have 4 random people liming in my house, drinking alcohol with no masks on, legally, but I can't ride my bike on the road by myself. Absolutely ridiculous. I'm speechless.
Last edited by BUG on May 16th, 2021, 10:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.