COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Dizzy28 » March 15th, 2023, 9:19 am

pugboy wrote:how has the predicted post carnival surge panned out ?
does everybody know persons who got sick flu or covid in last couple weeks ?

I had Covid the week after Carnival. My mother has Covid now.
A good few other ppl I know sick with flu like symptoms but not testing.

None of these ppl including myself participated in any Carnival activities.

Re: COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby The_Honourable » March 15th, 2023, 10:29 am

j.o.e wrote:Covid so mild now I don’t think people even care. I got covid for the first time early this year and it was such a mild thing I only tested because i was going to visit my in-laws. The crew that outside for carnival likely vaccinated and got it before.
Time to move on like the rest of the world

Same here, got covid for the first time and it was mild. Low energy, itchy throat and mild cough.... only lasted a week.

Yes time to move on.

Re: COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Relevant Updates & Discussions Only)

Postby redmanjp » March 17th, 2023, 1:20 pm

ah see they open d thread again - i does post the weekly updates from MOH. but i think there is debate about certain things that should be allowed - whether its the covid origins (natural vs. lab) or benefits vs side effects of the vax, masks, etc.

Postby The_Honourable » March 17th, 2023, 3:11 pm

redmanjp wrote:ah see they open d thread again - i does post the weekly updates from MOH. but i think there is debate about certain things that should be allowed - whether its the covid origins (natural vs. lab) or benefits vs side effects of the vax, masks, etc.

Yeah it got cleaned up A LOT, much more readable and relevant to T&T.

All the arguments, articles, studies, worthless memes and other froth was moved to the antivax ched.

Postby paid_influencer » March 17th, 2023, 5:07 pm

where can i get tests cheap where

does it even make sense to test anymore

Postby redmanjp » March 17th, 2023, 5:10 pm

paid_influencer wrote:where can i get tests cheap where

pennywise had a 2 for 1 special on short expiry ones for carnival - not sure if they still have it but u cud check them.

Postby hover11 » March 17th, 2023, 5:19 pm

What's the point?

Postby redmanjp » March 17th, 2023, 5:29 pm

redmanjp wrote:

pennywise had a 2 for 1 special on short expiry ones for carnival - not sure if they still have it but u cud check them.

also free testing in diego tomorrow

Postby redmanjp » March 21st, 2023, 6:42 pm

Tuesday update- increase again

Re: COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Postby The_Honourable » March 26th, 2023, 3:47 pm

Minister of Health tests positive for Covid-19

COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Postby MaxPower » March 26th, 2023, 4:01 pm

redmanjp wrote:Tuesday update- increase again

“Increase again”?

Padna Carnival come and gone and no setta deaths. All who was predicting major spikes and deaths gone silent now. The increases in positive cases is pretty much irrelevant now.

Postby paid_influencer » March 26th, 2023, 8:53 pm

no offense to the minister, but every time he gets a cold it will make news?

Postby redmanjp » March 26th, 2023, 10:10 pm

paid_influencer wrote:no offense to the minister, but every time he gets a cold it will make news?

if ppl doh see him for 10 days they go be wondering what happen. but he manage to duck it for 3 yrs like me.

Postby paid_influencer » March 26th, 2023, 10:18 pm

isolation is really still 10 days? nobody think that a lil excessive?

Re: Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

Postby Dizzy28 » March 26th, 2023, 11:50 pm

paid_influencer wrote:isolation is really still 10 days? nobody think that a lil excessive?
You can exit at five days with testing

Postby redmanjp » March 27th, 2023, 7:43 am

paid_influencer wrote:isolation is really still 10 days? nobody think that a lil excessive?

I was sick for a total of 9 days including fever on the 8th day (though symptoms went for a couple days and came back) so 10 for some is still realistic but as said before u can test out of isolation from the 5th day if negative. I tested positive on the 6th day although symptom free that day.

Postby pugboy » March 27th, 2023, 7:50 am

what day rowless gonna announce his next postive test ?
I am guessing around the weeks with plenty holidays

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 27th, 2023, 8:30 am

It used to be 20 , that was stress dawg.

I had rel things for entertainment and I was still bored outta my mind at times with the monotony of it all

But that being said, just dont get government testing, because thats mandatory lockdown

do ur own tests and get back out once you negative.

Postby redmanjp » March 27th, 2023, 12:28 pm

the 'Govt testing' is for your boss to verify u are actually positive, or at least symptomatic (which is required for health centre testing), instead of someone pretending to be sick without proof. u get a quarantine order whether or not u test positive.

if they accepted home tests u know how much ppl calling in sick with covid? and they dont mind because they not getting a quarantine order with a home test so no legal concerns about leaving home to go wherever.

Postby MaxPower » March 27th, 2023, 12:47 pm

The amount of Trinis falsifying their Covid positive results to stay home and do UNproductive activities is a shame.

Postby st7 » March 27th, 2023, 12:51 pm

call names

Postby redmanjp » March 27th, 2023, 1:07 pm

MaxPower wrote:The amount of Trinis falsifying their Covid positive results to stay home and do UNproductive activities is a shame.

max, u had employees doing that? venes?

Postby alfa » March 27th, 2023, 1:19 pm

MaxPower wrote:The amount of Trinis falsifying their Covid positive results to stay home and do UNproductive activities is a shame.

Lucky them. Where I work a lot of small contractors and temp workers don't have that luxury so they'll be falsifying their COVID negative results to work and make a dollar

Postby sMASH » March 27th, 2023, 1:37 pm

alfa wrote:

Lucky them. Where I work a lot of small contractors and temp workers don't have that luxury so they'll be falsifying their COVID negative results to work and make a dollar
And if they working normal, was they any harm?

Postby redmanjp » March 27th, 2023, 2:30 pm

sMASH wrote:
alfa wrote:

if they spread it and half the workers get sick, and some sick enough to stay home, then that's a problem.

smash, it's not just a health issue - its also a productivity/staff shortage issue as well if your staff is out sick because of 1 infected worker not staying home.

it's the same with other contagious diseases like measles and chicken pox. better 1 sick worker stay home than several home sick.

Postby sMASH » March 27th, 2023, 2:46 pm

So now it's a productivity problem.

Years ago in my industry time, eveybody used to come to work with the virus and spread it up to eveybody else. For some was slight, some got it heavy and had to stay home.
Bosses used to bend and screw for absenteeism, so they used to come to work.
Then we had to struggle to get men to fill in for those that got sick bad.

Fix the attitude towards sick days first.

Covee is a normal flu season virus now.

But I agree, once ur visibly sick, stay home. No need to spread the strong strains of viruses around.

Postby MaxPower » March 27th, 2023, 2:48 pm

redmanjp wrote:

max, u had employees doing that? venes?

Na, never had anyone doing that.

Venes are more productive though so you will hardly get them pulling that smart shot to duck the work.

Postby alfa » March 27th, 2023, 4:44 pm

sMASH wrote:
alfa wrote:

Where I work is also a safe zone as everyone was forced to take the jab so as far as I know there was never any mass spread or productivity loss issues

Postby paid_influencer » March 27th, 2023, 5:36 pm

pennywise advertising free covid rapid tests when u buy adult diapers

Postby j.o.e » March 28th, 2023, 8:43 am

paid_influencer wrote:pennywise advertising free covid rapid tests when u buy adult diapers

Most likely expired/ almost expired stuff. pennywise normally palms off these items