COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby K74T » August 11th, 2022, 10:16 am

Screenshot_20220811-101014_Facebook.jpg

Postby sMASH » August 11th, 2022, 10:43 am

K74T wrote:Screenshot_20220811-101014_Facebook.jpg

not even virtually... like he did the upteen times he had covee before...

Postby aaron17 » August 11th, 2022, 10:56 am

Postby hover11 » August 11th, 2022, 11:00 am

K74T wrote:
Screenshot_20220811-101014_Facebook.jpg
Check the scene eh..it's either covid or jetting out and the left foot right foot crew will say he "working hard" and he deserves a vacation :S

Postby pugboy » August 11th, 2022, 9:21 pm

wasn’t all that eh
tell that to ppl who lost ones and spent weeks in hospital
must be their imagination

Postby st7 » August 12th, 2022, 2:31 pm

just realised this ched on 1300 freaking pages

THIRTEEN HUNDRED PAGES

@duane... is that a record?

Postby paid_influencer » August 12th, 2022, 5:33 pm

seeing CDC saying goodbye to social distancing guidelines...

i like social distancing tho... can we keep doing that plz... 6 feet away plz...

Postby Gem_in_i » August 12th, 2022, 6:34 pm

At the Health Centre’s that are doing Covid testing they are doing the antigen test now, so you get results in a few mins. But they are testing only if you have symptoms or was in contact with a covid positive person.

So if your result is positive you will get 13days quarantine. If it is negative you get 7 days quarantine.

Postby redmanjp » August 12th, 2022, 7:19 pm

13? CMO said 10 days plus 2 with no symptoms.

Are they retesting those negative if they tested early? Because the latest is that tests with antigen tests can be negative even for symptomatic ppl for up to 3 or 4 days then turn positive.

Postby Gem_in_i » August 13th, 2022, 3:24 pm

redmanjp wrote:13? CMO said 10 days plus 2 with no symptoms.

Are they retesting those negative if they tested early? Because the latest is that tests with antigen tests can be negative even for symptomatic ppl for up to 3 or 4 days then turn positive.

They didn't mention retesting but I guess if symptoms persist you can go back.

They give you a paper with the positive or negative test results, together with the quarantine paper and say you can go to your District CMO Office to get fit for work and release papers if required.

People who said they had symptoms like 1 or 2 days prior are given a paper and told to come back in 5 days for testing.

Postby redmanjp » August 13th, 2022, 6:44 pm

4 deaths today. hospitalizations continue to go up. BA5 not nice.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 13th, 2022, 11:00 pm

redmanjp wrote:4 deaths today. hospitalizations continue to go up. BA5 not nice.

Vaccinated deaths will soon be approaching and passing the number of people who died before a vaccine was available.

Postby redmanjp » August 13th, 2022, 11:30 pm

vaxxed deaths are creeping up slowly- that would be in a few months time. meanwhile unvaxxed deaths for this year alone already passed it.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 13th, 2022, 11:59 pm

redmanjp wrote:vaxxed deaths are creeping up slowly- that would be in a few months time. meanwhile unvaxxed deaths for this year alone already passed it.

So in summary vaxxed deaths are increasing at an accelerated rate and Unvaxxed deaths are increasing but at a decelerating rate.

Postby adnj » August 14th, 2022, 12:39 am

drchaos wrote:
redmanjp wrote:vaxxed deaths are creeping up slowly- that would be in a few months time. meanwhile unvaxxed deaths for this year alone already passed it.

So in summary vaxxed deaths are increasing and accelerating and Unvaxxed deaths are increasing but decelerating
This is a trolling session repeat but I'll indulge.

The share of unvaccinated COVID deaths for 2022 is 87%; for the last 30 days, 86%.

Unless a shittload of Trinis get vaccinated in a hurry, the most likely outcome is nothing changing.

Unvaccinated people will continue to die about 7 times as often.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 14th, 2022, 7:29 am

adnj wrote:
drchaos wrote:

So in summary vaxxed deaths are increasing and accelerating and Unvaxxed deaths are increasing but decelerating
This is a trolling session repeat but I'll indulge.

The share of unvaccinated COVID deaths for 2022 is 87%; for the last 30 days, 86%.

Unless a shittload of Trinis get vaccinated in a hurry, the most likely outcome is nothing changing.

Unvaccinated people will continue to die about 7 times as often.

Too add to that, roughly 20-25% of vaccinated persons have received the booster, a large number of those people would have gotten the Sinopharm vaccine which was known to be the weakest of all vaccines.

Lots of vaxxed have basically the same or just slightly improved protection and the unvaxed. And yet the unvaxed will dominate the deaths lol

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 14th, 2022, 8:16 am

Yall remember back in the day when Vaxxed deaths were under 10%?

The good old days, Now we have double that number! :shock:

Postby paid_influencer » August 14th, 2022, 8:44 am

" things are gonna get better, because of course they're gonna get better, so let's not worry about it. "

-general feeling on covid

the above is also why ppl get so emotional about vaccines

Postby adnj » August 14th, 2022, 10:02 am

drchaos wrote:Yall remember back in the day when Vaxxed deaths were under 10%?

The good old days, Now we have double that number! :shock:
The actual number is 13% (and continues to be) for as long as the data has been available to the public.

The irony is that there are less lethal COVID strains, waning immunity, fewer restrictions, and half of the population vaccinated resulting in a consistently higher chance of dying from/with/by/next to/because/at-home-because-of COVID if a person chooses not to be vaccinated.

And without increases in the vaccinated population, the proportion of vaccinated to unvaccinated deaths has not changed since to discovery of delta on the island.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 15th, 2022, 6:07 am

62f982341cd37.image.jpg

AS the Covid-19 hospitalisation is increasing weekly, Chaguanas Chamber of Industry and Commerce (CCIC) president Richie Sookhai urged citizens to be cautious and follow the Ministry of Health’s protocol guidelines.

Sookhai made the comment while speaking at the chamber’s first annual free health fair, over the weekend at the Xtra Plaza car park, Endeavour.

He said if the numbers get out of hand this country could face another lockdown.

“Our economy as it is cannot handle another lockdown. We know that the Covid numbers are going up and necessary precautions must be taken, especially when attending large events. We must remember the entertainment industry, in particular, suffered a tremendous blow and might not survive another lockdown, so everyone must be responsible outdoors,” Sookhai stressed.

Also speaking at the event was the Ministry of Health’s Principal Medical Officer (PMO) Dr Maryam Abdool-Richards, who also reiterated her call for the public to exercise personal, social and civic responsibility.

“I would have indicated one week earlier that this increase started from July 29 and it’s consistent, with this morning with us having 198 patients at step-down facilities and hospitals and a rolling average of just under 200. Now we have reached the phase where the Government has reopened the economy and restrictions have been lifted,” Abdool-Richards said.

Commenting on the chamber’s initiative on hosting its first health she said it was commendable that it took this step ahead of several other chambers in the country and launched the first on-site health fair since the reopening of the economy.

Abdool-Richards also said the lessons coming out of the pandemic were that physical, mental, emotional and spiritual health “are tied, inextricably and directly to financial health”.

“Secondly, the value and gift of partnerships across all sectors of society (government, private, civil service and non-profit sectors) and finally finding opportunity in adversity,” she added.

Sookhai indicated that the idea of the health fair was created and executed to help citizens get expert advice on how to combat non-communicable diseases (NCDs) and live a healthy lifestyle.

“In the heights of the pandemic, we heard that many fatalities were caused by comorbidities. This first, annual health fair is our way of giving back to the community of Chaguanas and, by extension, Trinidad and Tobago,” the chamber head remarked.

that woman hot too bad. how i would love to pull that ponytail from the back.

on a next note: richie boy you saying we cant afford a next lockdown yet you not wearing your mask. like that diesel smoke getting you dotish.

Postby sMASH » August 15th, 2022, 10:01 am

BECAUSE PEOPLE NOT BOOSTING!!!!
once u buy into the system, u have to KEEP UP with the system.

every 4 months, take a booster.... it WILL work!!!!

the peole whith no shots who alive, can cope with covee. the ones who couldnt, died off. so we gud.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 15th, 2022, 1:01 pm

sMASH wrote:

BECAUSE PEOPLE NOT BOOSTING!!!!
once u buy into the system, u have to KEEP UP with the system.

every 4 months, take a booster.... it WILL work!!!!

the peole whith no shots who alive, can cope with covee. the ones who couldnt, died off. so we gud.

Yup. Also, wait till school opens back and the children start spreading it around to their parents, teachers... it's almost as if nothing was learnt.

Postby redmanjp » August 15th, 2022, 4:31 pm

Just so hospitalizations increase overnight from 198 to 216? 18 ppl overnight?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 15th, 2022, 4:34 pm

redmanjp wrote:Just so hospitalizations increase overnight from 198 to 216? 18 ppl overnight?

Postby redmanjp » August 15th, 2022, 4:44 pm

More? I'm saying such an increase overnight is very unusual. It has been slowly inching up by 1 or 2 per day but 18 in 1 day!
Last edited by redmanjp on August 15th, 2022, 5:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 15th, 2022, 4:50 pm

redmanjp wrote:More? I'm saying such an increase overnight is very unusual. It has been slowly inching up bu 1 or 2 per day but 18 in 1 day!

How much you expecting tomorrow?

Postby st7 » August 15th, 2022, 5:02 pm

DMan7 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:Just so hospitalizations increase overnight from 198 to 216? 18 ppl overnight?

lolll good one

Postby st7 » August 15th, 2022, 5:07 pm

redmanjp wrote:More? I'm saying such an increase overnight is very unusual. It has been slowly inching up by 1 or 2 per day but 18 in 1 day!

well 1 person can infect many so... it's not that unusual.

Postby redmanjp » August 15th, 2022, 5:12 pm

st7 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:More? I'm saying such an increase overnight is very unusual. It has been slowly inching up by 1 or 2 per day but 18 in 1 day!

well 1 person can infect many so... it's not that unusual.

So u saying those 18 got infected while already in hospital? Hardly likely 18 cases would all be that severe.

Postby pugboy » August 15th, 2022, 5:24 pm

autumn is booster season