COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby RedVEVO » August 7th, 2022, 3:24 am

redmanjp wrote:Hmm. My cousin said after getting covid she has an enlarged heart and 2 weeks after testing negative she still getting pain in her chest. She is usually very active with running including 5Ks, hiking 'etc. But she also has asthma. I guess she won't be active for a long while.

Covid definitely not over.

Hope she recovers :wink:

Who said COVID is over ?

It's getting worse - read the statistics .

Protect your self and family !

Postby hover11 » August 7th, 2022, 9:44 am

Covid wasn't over just 30 ppl dying a day locally subsided but ppl are still very much dying almost daily from it

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » August 7th, 2022, 9:46 am

redmanjp wrote:Hmm. My cousin said after getting covid she has an enlarged heart and 2 weeks after testing negative she still getting pain in her chest. She is usually very active with running including 5Ks, hiking 'etc. But she also has asthma. I guess she won't be active for a long while.

Is it myocarditis?

Postby redmanjp » August 7th, 2022, 10:32 am

SuperiorMan wrote:

Is it myocarditis?

She didn't say but certainly sounds like that.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 7th, 2022, 11:00 am

RedVEVO wrote:

Hope she recovers :wink:

Who said COVID is over ?

It's getting worse - read the statistics .

Protect your self and family !

rowlee and teary and not to mention mamoo ian say covid done to open back the country how people who didnt pay attention in school need to wuk to make a dollar. the retards who didnt pay attention in school making all of us still live with covid.

Postby sMASH » August 7th, 2022, 6:17 pm

sMASH wrote:
sMASH wrote:forget keet, i want to kno what sharon using. that sheit wukin!!!

Keith-B-Gone

ehhem,,, eheeemmmm

Watch and see which FAB LFD RFD PNM going and test positive too.

i hear bout dat an all too. the last time was young bronto.

Nah, was de odder one.
Jackarse JUHN Scarfy really say Tobago iz de place to be! :roll:
Sooo, the fragrance keet-b-gone she was using was a 'special branch'

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 7th, 2022, 10:49 pm

Right now it have a cold going around that worse than covid

Postby st7 » August 7th, 2022, 10:59 pm

covid-20 confirmed

Postby MaxPower » August 8th, 2022, 12:32 am

st7 wrote:covid-20 confirmed

Well post the link na tolie banton

Postby adnj » August 8th, 2022, 7:07 am

sMASH wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
alfa wrote:Remember just a few years ago whenever you went to the doctor's office on any given day there was always a long line of people waiting to see him who was coughing, sneezing and complaining of ' the virus'.

why do people want to go back to that

just wear the mask. wear your masks everyone
Neh.

U wear urs as ur token of 'i stand with covid'

Masks not doing one f*. Watch the trends in the next week....

There's money to be made betting against anything that you believe. LOLOL.

Postby hover11 » August 8th, 2022, 7:11 am

adnj wrote:
sMASH wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
alfa wrote:Remember just a few years ago whenever you went to the doctor's office on any given day there was always a long line of people waiting to see him who was coughing, sneezing and complaining of ' the virus'.

Neh.

We still following cases when home tests are a thing now? The daily case loads are not a factor anymore , how is the health care system is it still standing well that means we good

Postby sMASH » August 8th, 2022, 7:25 am

adnj wrote:
sMASH wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

Neh.

looking like janurary was a srs NO MASK period... reallll covee spread...

Postby pugboy » August 8th, 2022, 7:26 am

xmas season

Postby pugboy » August 8th, 2022, 7:27 am

seems the current variant is bringing about symptoms very fast, within 2-3 days from ppl I know
not 4-7 days like before

Postby redmanjp » August 8th, 2022, 4:13 pm

pugboy wrote:seems the current variant is bringing about symptoms very fast, within 2-3 days from ppl I know
not 4-7 days like before

perhaps. are they vaxxed or had a prior infection? pre existing antibodies will tend to also bring on an immune response quicker than someone unvaxxed with no prior infection.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 8th, 2022, 4:40 pm

pugboy wrote:seems the current variant is bringing about symptoms very fast, within 2-3 days from ppl I know
not 4-7 days like before

all i know who got covid recently got better in about 4 to 7 days. is this what you are talking about? what is the current variant ? Ninja?

Postby redmanjp » August 9th, 2022, 12:18 am

daring dragoon wrote:
not 4-7 days like before

all i know who got covid recently got better in about 4 to 7 days. is this what you are talking about? what is the current variant ? Ninja?

I think he means 2 to 3 days incubation from exposure to symptoms.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 9th, 2022, 12:49 pm

Did she have any of the mRNA gene therapies i.e pfizer or moderna shots?
Did she have hypertension before?
Did you also know that it is normal for active runners to have enlarged hearts?
Does she have cardiac asthma? Because these patients also tend to have enlarged hearts.

So before we blame everything on covid/long covid and nothing on the vaccines or pre-existing conditions can we get to some truths?

Postby adnj » August 9th, 2022, 1:44 pm

drchaos wrote:

Did she have any of the mRNA gene therapies i.e pfizer or moderna shots?
Did she have hypertension before?
Did you also know that it is normal for active runners to have enlarged hearts?
Does she have cardiac asthma? Because these patients also tend to have enlarged hearts.

So before we blame everything on covid/long covid and nothing on the vaccines or pre-existing conditions can we get to some truths?

Did she have chest pains prior to COVID? Did she have chest pains within the first 7 to 14 days after a vaccination dose? Because if she is exhibiting the classic COVID symptom of chest pain two weeks after a negative test indicating the end of infection, she is indeed showing signs of long COVID.

With less than 1 in 5000 doses of COVID vaccines showing any adverse effect and 1 in 13 COVID positive people showing demonstrable signs of long COVID, the most likely diagnosis is not going to be vaccine-related. It is most likely long-COVID. Just like redmanjp said.

Postby Chimera » August 9th, 2022, 1:48 pm

In places like groceries and banks and most regular businesses people are wearing masks

In bars and restaurants and clubs they arent and they haven't been wearing masks since safe zones were scrapped

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 9th, 2022, 2:25 pm

No need to wear masks unless you really fraud covid or live with a vulnerable person, Omicron is probably as deadly as the flu.

Postby sMASH » August 9th, 2022, 2:38 pm

Places I go, is half and half... And plenty workers rocking chin strap

Postby adnj » August 9th, 2022, 3:07 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:No need to wear masks unless you really fraud covid or live with a vulnerable person, Omicron is probably as deadly as the flu.
BA.4 and BA.5 have an R0 estimated at 18.5. Influenza has an R0 estimated between 1 and two.

If mortality is similar, omicron is likely to kill 10 times as many people in the near term.

Postby pugboy » August 9th, 2022, 3:20 pm

that’s the kicker more ppl infected means more potential casualties

Postby RedVEVO » August 10th, 2022, 6:47 am

Who taking booster shots ( you have taken 2 vaccines ) now in T&T ?

Which one did you take ?

Rumour is that T&T only have Sino and J&J boosters and these maybe not be wise if you took Pfizer or Mod :wink:

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 10th, 2022, 7:09 am

adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:No need to wear masks unless you really fraud covid or live with a vulnerable person, Omicron is probably as deadly as the flu.
BA.4 and BA.5 have an R0 estimated at 18.5. Influenza has an R0 estimated between 1 and two.

If mortality is similar, omicron is likely to kill 10 times as many people in the near term.

Yes that's correct, but in terms of mortality it's probably not significantly worse than the flu. The main concern is if the health care system is strained. Secondary concerns are disruptions to work productivity and school outbreaks.

That said, know your risk and the risks of those closest to you, that should guide your mask wearing habits.

I'd say most people, especially if vaccinated and not living with a very sickly person, do not need to wear masks.

Postby pugboy » August 10th, 2022, 8:15 am

so what is the realistic expectation going forward for the average human being,
getting infected 2-3 times a year ?

persons who engage in endurance fitness activity, running etc
will have to live with the fact of having to spend extra time to recover fitness every time.

Postby j.o.e » August 10th, 2022, 8:51 am

Anecdotally a lot of people have covid just based on reports from work and family friends etc

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 10th, 2022, 10:54 am

pugboy wrote:so what is the realistic expectation going forward for the average human being,
getting infected 2-3 times a year ?

persons who engage in endurance fitness activity, running etc
will have to live with the fact of having to spend extra time to recover fitness every time.

Probably once a year, most people I know have had covid at least twice by now in 2.5 years. So averaging once maybe twice per year for some unlucky persons

I've had covid twice in the last 2 years, right now even with having covid just a month ago, I'm fitter than ever. I am vaccinated and boosted though.

hover11 wrote:The virus will thrive and mutate until it emerges as a threat once again. This is not a case similar to polio which was declared eradicated, covid is very much still here simply subdued.

Yes that's possible, luckily we have a vaccine that attenuates many of the symptoms and improved vaccines are on the way.

Postby hover11 » August 10th, 2022, 11:31 am

A REACTIVATION OF STEP-DOWN FACILITIES IN THE COMING DAYS, IN LIGHT OF RISING HOSPITAL AND ICU COVID CASES :

Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh announced on Wednesday, the reactivation in the coming days, of step-down facilities, in light of rising hospital and ICU covid19 cases.