COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

widdyphuck

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 68288 (+624) cases, 2040 (+31) deaths, 9606 active, 56642 recovered in T&T

Postby widdyphuck » November 26th, 2021, 6:55 pm

How much deaths we gonna end of November with?

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 68288 (+624) cases, 2040 (+31) deaths, 9606 active, 56642 recovered in T&T

Postby st7 » November 26th, 2021, 7:03 pm

wtf wrote:How much deaths we gonna end of November with?

a lot more than should have been because of them unvaxxers

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 26th, 2021, 7:30 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
T&T Takes Top Spot Globally For COVID-19 Deaths Per Million People

we in the game. top the world in covid.
On Thursday, Trinidad and Tobago took the grim title of recording the highest daily confirmed COVID-19 deaths per million people. According to data analysis by Our World In Data, this calculation used data from John Hopkins University CSSE COVID-19 data.

Trinidad and Tobago recorded 31 deaths on Thursday, marking the deadliest day for the pandemic to date. Looking at this data standardized, Trinidad and Tobago recorded 22.09 deaths per million people, surpassing many European countries amid their worst wave of the pandemic.

To be fair we were actually 2nd but still bad

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 26th, 2021, 7:33 pm

Delta variant is 60 % more infectious than the alpha variant.

Omicron variant is 500% more infectious than Delta.

Lockdowns will be useless against it.

We're ph ucked.

Postby aaron17 » November 26th, 2021, 7:51 pm

my gosh
FFGYrxmXMBUAQWb.jpg

Postby MaxPower » November 26th, 2021, 8:09 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:
T&T Takes Top Spot Globally For COVID-19 Deaths Per Million People

we in the game. top the world in covid.
On Thursday, Trinidad and Tobago took the grim title of recording the highest daily confirmed COVID-19 deaths per million people. According to data analysis by Our World In Data, this calculation used data from John Hopkins University CSSE COVID-19 data.

Trinidad and Tobago recorded 31 deaths on Thursday, marking the deadliest day for the pandemic to date. Looking at this data standardized, Trinidad and Tobago recorded 22.09 deaths per million people, surpassing many European countries amid their worst wave of the pandemic.

To be fair we were actually 2nd but still bad

We deserve to be first

Postby redmanjp » November 26th, 2021, 8:46 pm

our only hope in the short term is the new covid pills that merck and pfizer making. a new vaccine to target Omicron would have to not just be developed but trials done, manufacture, get EUA approvals from FDA fist, then WHO then we go have to wait to get a shipment of it- all of which could be several months.

Postby paid_influencer » November 26th, 2021, 8:56 pm

bluefete was on the money. South Africa bearing the brunt of travel restrictions. And there is no point to it.

All these variants get "found" in a select few places in the world that have the technical expertise to monitor, sequence and interpret variants. The UK is one and South Africa is the other. Neither place is pumping out variants, but they are the ones that tell the world, "hey, look at this highly important sequence that is circulating."

Putting travel bans on the places that discover the variants is harmful and punishes the exact scientists that the world need to support.

Right now planes being held on tarmac while passengers go through hell, but this variant likely was circulating everywhere else on the planet well before the South African scientists' discovery of it.

Postby paid_influencer » November 26th, 2021, 9:01 pm

redmanjp wrote:our only hope in the short term is the new covid pills that merck and pfizer making. a new vaccine to target Omicron would have to not just be developed but trials done, manufacture, get EUA approvals from FDA fist, then WHO then we go have to wait to get a shipment of it- all of which could be several months.

I've learnt to give up hope. That way when I get some hope, I can take my time and appreciate it while I understand nope, probably not gonna happen. Not gonna lose that way.
Last edited by paid_influencer on November 26th, 2021, 9:14 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby pugboy » November 26th, 2021, 9:01 pm

so can the companies redesign their jabs to target this highly mutated variant ?
or is it simply a case of sell the old stock first

Postby paid_influencer » November 26th, 2021, 9:04 pm

pugboy wrote:so can the companies redesign their jabs to target this highly mutated variant ?

mRNA vaccines can be developed tomorrow. The problem is they have to go through clinical trials to ensure they are safe and that takes time. Right now the Moderna Beta/Delta variant vaccine is going through Phase III trials and volunteers in the US are already walking around with it in their arms.

Gov't needs to get off their tails and start giving out Pfizer vaccines. Boosters locked away in fridges don't help. and the US deal was for some 900,000 jabs total - so it still have some waiting for hover11 when he decides to come around.
Last edited by paid_influencer on November 26th, 2021, 9:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » November 26th, 2021, 9:05 pm

pugboy wrote:so can the companies redesign their jabs to target this highly mutated variant ?

read my post above. it will take time b4 we get any pfizer 2.0 vaccine. u see how fast the new strain became dominant in part of south africa? 2 freaking weeks :shock:

https://www.businessinsider.com/covid-19-variant-overtook-south-african-province-2-weeks-chart-2021-11

Postby paid_influencer » November 26th, 2021, 9:08 pm

wait we number 1 in the world for deaths per million?

Postby paid_influencer » November 26th, 2021, 9:11 pm

st7 wrote:i was in a few places today running errands: courts and ashley's being one of them... there were ppl but not "crowds", and everyone were wearing their masks and keeping some distance.

was pleased to see such a thing.

yea I noticed this too. Not a single chin masker today and plenty people wearing KN95's. :idea:

Postby redmanjp » November 26th, 2021, 9:20 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
st7 wrote:i was in a few places today running errands: courts and ashley's being one of them... there were ppl but not "crowds", and everyone were wearing their masks and keeping some distance.

was pleased to see such a thing.

yea I noticed this too. Not a single chin masker today and plenty people wearing KN95's. :idea:

went in some offices today but noticed the opposite- not a mask in sight. :roll: my own office about 3/4 of staff wearing it.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 26th, 2021, 9:22 pm

Seeing more people covering their nose
That's a good thing

Postby paid_influencer » November 26th, 2021, 9:27 pm

Duane, serious talk, how many posts can a thread have before it crashes the forum?

Postby paid_influencer » November 26th, 2021, 9:32 pm

I'm a little high right now. Co-worker left work early this morning, said she was not feeling well and having "difficulty breathing." Thermal gun aimed at her forehead read 37.4, which is close to a fever without setting off the alarm. Work is 100% vaccinated (all Sinopharm, me the one AZ guy).

so I am a little concerned right now. Should I go to a safe zone, to be safe? I don't even know where to get tested if I get symptoms.

Postby MaxPower » November 26th, 2021, 9:34 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Seeing more people covering their nose
That's a good thing

Covering their nose is one thing….

Ineffective and unsanitary masks is another thing.

How effective are our sanitizers?

Postby gastly369 » November 26th, 2021, 9:51 pm

Wearing n95 costing me some money for boxes.... And ah sanitizin till my skin peeling... Wahhh to do again

Postby MaxPower » November 26th, 2021, 9:58 pm

gastly369 wrote:Wearing n95 costing me some money for boxes.... And ah sanitizin till my skin peeling... Wahhh to do again

Padna dis rongs if you do not invest in protecting yourself you dead.

Find da money pa

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » November 26th, 2021, 10:39 pm

This racist travel ban courtesy "De black man party" will do nothing to stop the deaths of citizens. Another monkey see monkey do move. It worked great for the Brazil variant, UK variant and delta right? Bunch of jackasses!

Postby MaxPower » November 26th, 2021, 10:43 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:This racist travel ban courtesy "De black man party" will do nothing to stop the deaths of citizens. Another monkey see monkey do move. It worked great for the Brazil variant, UK variant and delta right? Bunch of jackasses!

To stop deaths, we must stop the spread.

Where does the spread come from?

It is imperative that we cover our noses and mouths.

Postby redmanjp » November 26th, 2021, 11:38 pm

gastly369 wrote:Wearing n95 costing me some money for boxes.... And ah sanitizin till my skin peeling... Wahhh to do again

I reuse my kn95 masks for a couple weeks but I always rotate them. Any viral particles lose infectiousness after 12 to 24 hrs. Though I should perhaps do it in sets of 3 or 4 now that I am back at work daily.

Another thing we can do to protect ourselves at work is to buy an air purifier with a HEPA filter which filters out airborne viral particles.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 27th, 2021, 12:31 am

redmanjp wrote:

I reuse my kn95 masks for a couple weeks but I always rotate them. Any viral particles lose infectiousness after 12 to 24 hrs. Though I should perhaps do it in sets of 3 or 4 now that I am back at work daily.

Another thing we can do to protect ourselves at work is to buy an air purifier with a HEPA filter which filters out airborne viral particles.

Why you running scared for?
If you vaccinated let natural infection be your booster!

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 27th, 2021, 12:34 am

Mmoney607 wrote:This racist travel ban courtesy "De black man party" will do nothing to stop the deaths of citizens. Another monkey see monkey do move. It worked great for the Brazil variant, UK variant and delta right? Bunch of jackasses!

It needs to spread ... The faster it does the faster we get out of the pandemic and into endemic status. Time to get back to normal.
Those who vaccinated the natural infection will be your booster, those who unvaccinated will get natural immunity. Problem solved.

If you slow down the spread you are in a high speed car crash in slow mo.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » November 27th, 2021, 1:14 am

redmanjp wrote:

Lysol the mask when it not in use.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 27th, 2021, 1:50 am

paid_influencer wrote:Duane, serious talk, how many posts can a thread have before it crashes the forum?

Only one way to find out!

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » November 27th, 2021, 2:16 am

drchaos wrote:

It needs to spread ... The faster it does the faster we get out of the pandemic and into endemic status. Time to get back to normal.
Those who vaccinated the natural infection will be your booster, those who unvaccinated will get natural immunity. Problem solved.

If you slow down the spread you are in a high speed car crash in slow mo.

for real, maybe the faster it spreads the faster it mutates and mutates itself out of existence and who survives all that shall inherit the earth.
the only way you can get a mutation in Africa is that the virus is raging unchecked in that country and it was allowed to mutate. just after christmas in trinidad we will get a rum variant to the virus probably named RHOMIUM VARIANT.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » November 27th, 2021, 4:33 am

T&T imposes travel restrictions on 8 countries, as Omicron variant emerges
https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/t ... c2dc8.html

The Ministry of Health, Trinidad and Tobago, advises the public that, given the emergence of the new COVID-19 Variant of Concern - Omicron (B.1.1.529) COVID-19, the Government of Trinidad and Tobago has imposed travel restrictions on travellers from the following countries, with effect from midnight on the 26th November, 2021,:

• Botswana

• Eswatini (formerly Swaziland)

• Lesotho

• Malawi

• Mozambique

• Namibia

• South Africa

• Zimbabwe

Non-Nationals (Persons who are not Citizens or Permanent Residents of Trinidad and Tobago)

All persons who:

• are not citizens or permanent residents of Trinidad and Tobago and

• have visited the countries listed above within a fourteen (14) day time period of their arrival in Trinidad and Tobago will NOT be allowed entry into Trinidad and Tobago at this time.

Nationals (Citizens and Permanent Residents of Trinidad and Tobago)

While all Trinidad and Tobago citizens and permanent residents who have visited the countries listed above, within a fourteen (14) day time period of their arrival in Trinidad and Tobago, will be allowed entry into Trinidad and Tobago, they will require a mandatory state-supervised quarantine of no less than 14 days.

The public is advised that the traveller will be required to bear all associated costs and therefore should make the necessary arrangements prior to travel.

This applies to both vaccinated and non-vaccinated nationals travelling from the countries listed previously.

All other existing entry requirements, as indicated in the TTravel Pass website http://www.ttravelpass.gov.tt, must be adhered to, inclusive of a negative nasopharyngeal (nasal swab) RT-PCR test result taken no earlier than 72 hours prior to arrival in Trinidad and Tobago.

The Ministry of Health strongly advises against all non-essential travel to the aforementioned affected areas.

The Ministry will continue to assess the situation and advise the population of any adjustments to this Health Travel Advisory, as required.