COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 66975 (+682) cases, 1998 (+21) deaths, 8947 active, 56030 recovered in T&T

Postby timelapse » November 25th, 2021, 10:47 am

Mmoney607 wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:i type a real long post just now and end up deleting it because it didnt really concern this thread

but people are really suffering here
i use to be able to donate a $2000 or $3000 every month or two for hampers/ tablets for kids who need it for school/ pay people ttec bill

but things real change
Tenants not paying rent but using double the utilities
I gone from being able to spend 90k USD a month with credit cards to 23k USD a month in 2 years because of forex restrictions
my shipping bill gone from 2-3k a month to 20-30k a month because i now have to use fedex
Customs freaking up business on the whole
EVERYTHING gone up in the grocery, oil that was $80 in psmart is now $130-$140
crime at a all time high, soo much desperate persons means much more risk
I completely stop doing deliveries because it just too risky and that was a big part of sales during lockdown

banks/wasa/ttec eh care about that.
Seeing myself how income cut and things change as a business owner i have no idea how the daily paid/weekly paid breadwinner and his family is surviving.

does still try to help as much as I can but have to real pick and choose now

And this is why elections and the measures to hold government officials accountable is not a game.
Tell that to all the political science experts out here

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 66975 (+682) cases, 1998 (+21) deaths, 8947 active, 56030 recovered in T&T

Postby hover11 » November 25th, 2021, 10:51 am

aaron17 wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
hover11 wrote:Isn't that kind of selfish in a sense ,.

it have selfish idiots who happy that things locked down because it have less traffic on the highway and the place cleaner and they could get up late to go to work , same selfish idiots who refuse to take vaccine because " d guvament chyna kill we"

i wouldnt call the daily paid worker who struggling for the past 2 years and trying to get income to feed their kids selfish na
it is what it is
people are STARVING in their homes

Thanks for advocating to encourage men here yes . You bring some reasonable arguments while not in any sort of offensive attention seeking way
There will never be equality..always gonna have a balancing problem.
Same with politics, you can't please everybody

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 25th, 2021, 11:09 am

daring dragoon wrote:
wtf wrote:Know someone who died from COVID-19 in his home.

Neighbors found him 12 days later. Wasn't a good site.

Country in a mess right now.

Neighbour took second jab on monday was found dead this morning by his wife. Probably a heart attack. If vaccine caused it idk.
What vaccine he took?
Age?
Did he have COVID-19 prior to taking the vaccine?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 25th, 2021, 11:14 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
hover11 wrote:Isn't that kind of selfish in a sense ,.

it have selfish idiots who happy that things locked down because it have less traffic on the highway and the place cleaner and they could get up late to go to work , same selfish idiots who refuse to take vaccine because " d guvament chyna kill we"

i wouldnt call the daily paid worker who struggling for the past 2 years and trying to get income to feed their kids selfish na
it is what it is
people are STARVING in their homes
Yea bro you is the only man making sense right now in this thread.
Men just saying lockdown here cut 50% their because it not AFFECTING them personally.

When restrictions happen its the poorest thay go hungry and government assistance isnt reaching them in any way.

We past that point. Time to move on.

Postby Chimera » November 25th, 2021, 11:25 am

All those people who use to transport school children. Person who had cafeteria in schools. Persons who open businesses next to schools. People with daycares. Their income completely gone and have no sign of returning.

Postby Gladiator » November 25th, 2021, 11:34 am

Reading the last page on this thread and completely depressed... I have had 4 workers bring in quarantine forms from yesterday to today, one confirmed +ve... we were already heading down a pathway to hell and now somebody just pressed the accelerator.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 25th, 2021, 11:34 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:All those people who use to transport school children. Person who had cafeteria in schools. Persons who open businesses next to schools. People with daycares. Their income completely gone and have no sign of returning.

People making and selling school uniforms, stationery, book bags too
One company looks like they invested quite a bit and set up their website backpackstt.com just before the pandemic hit - majority of their products seem to be school bags.
Seamstress and tailors got money from adjusting school uniforms and suits for weddings etc

Postby hover11 » November 25th, 2021, 11:46 am

*INTERNATIONAL*
Pfizer sues departing employee it says stole COVID-19 vaccine secrets

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/pfizer-sues-depa ... e-secrets/

Postby Chimera » November 25th, 2021, 12:04 pm

everyone suffering and have less income (except the medical related companies, them making milllionsssss)

but this is what going on with banks

RFHL Records $1.308 Billion In End Of Year Profits - Republic ...8 Nov 2021
RFHL Records $1.036 Billion In Third Quarter Profits https://republictt.com › news › rfhl-records-1036-billio...
3 Aug 2021
RFHL Records $904.1 Million In End Of Year Profits https://republictt.com › news › rfhl-records-9041-millio...
9 Nov 2020 —

$462 million
Scotiabank Trinidad and Tobago yesterday reported after-tax profits of $462 million for the nine months ended July 31, 2021, an increase of $96 million or 26 percent over the comparative prior-year nine-month period.

Scotia's income jumps by 16% | Local Business - Trinidad ...https://trinidadexpress.com › Business › Local Business
17 Jun 2021 — SCOTIABANK Trinidad and Tobago yesterday reported that the commercial bank recorded income after tax of $304.5 million for the six months ...

Scotia reports $119M profit for second quarter 2020 - LoopTThttps://tt.loopnews.com › content › scotia-reports-119m...
10 Jun 2020 — Scotiabank Trinidad and Tobago Limited has recorded a profit after tax of $119 million for the second quarter ended April 30, 2020.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 25th, 2021, 12:14 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:All those people who use to transport school children. Person who had cafeteria in schools. Persons who open businesses next to schools. People with daycares. Their income completely gone and have no sign of returning.

One company looks like they invested quite a bit and set up their website backpackstt.com just before the pandemic hit - majority of their products seem to be school bags.
Seamstress and tailors got money from adjusting school uniforms and suits for weddings etc

So much industries were hit and they have a chain reaction of effects. Sales of everything (except maybe high end goods and services since rich people still rich) have dropped.

My friend at Digicel said their mobile revenues dropped by almost 40% mid 2020.

My friend at Sagico said they lost so many clients since covid. I've got a business partner who leases office spaces, his property basically been vacant since May 2020. One of my own businesses has effectively been shut down since April.

All of this means we have less money circulating in the economy, less money means fewer jobs in the private sector.

All of this ^ plus a massive increase in inflation has made things so much worse for many.

Fortunately, most people seem to be surviving still, honestly not sure how many are doing this, but given that we're a small country, lots of people have support networks so they making out.

Either way, the way forward to covid is vaccination. It's the only way we can keep things open without f*cking over the health sector.

Postby aaron17 » November 25th, 2021, 12:14 pm

Confirmed reports by my family that so called 'zesser neighbors' are partying after SOE done...and still doing it all now like no tomorrow.

Postby aaron17 » November 25th, 2021, 12:18 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

So much industries were hit and they have a chain reaction of effects. Sales of everything (except maybe high end goods and services since rich people still rich) have dropped.

My friend at Sagico said they lost so many clients since covid. I've got a business partner who leases office spaces, his property basically been vacant since May 2020. One of my own businesses has effectively been shut down since April.

All of this means we have less money circulating in the economy, less money means fewer jobs in the private sector.

All of this ^ plus a massive increase in inflation has made things so much worse for many.

Fortunately, most people seem to be surviving still, honestly not sure how many are doing this, but given that we're a small country, lots of people have support networks so they making out.

Either way, the way forward to covid is vaccination. It's the only way we can keep things open without f*cking over the health sector.

I understand .. but I know a family member who received a vaxx. and got blood related complications. They did all tests ..they can't find a reason.But they believe its th vaxx caused it. Should I still encourage them to take second shot and third?

Postby timelapse » November 25th, 2021, 12:20 pm

Two dead up on my side yesterday.Rumour has it that they were in Richgold last weekend

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 25th, 2021, 12:39 pm

aaron17 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

I understand .. but I know a family member who received a vaxx. and got blood related complications. They did all tests ..they can't find a reason.But they believe its th vaxx caused it. Should I still encourage them to take second shot and third?

What exactly was the blood related complication? Which vaccine did the person take?

Postby aaron17 » November 25th, 2021, 12:39 pm

"‘False sense of security’ around COVID vaccines: WHO"

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/false-sense-of-s ... cines-who/

Postby Chimera » November 25th, 2021, 12:40 pm

let doctors advise that family member and let them make their own decision
they could justify not taking the vaccine because of complications, the majority cannot

Postby aaron17 » November 25th, 2021, 12:42 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

What exactly was the blood related complication? Which vaccine did the person take?

healing problems , fatigue, blood count etc...
I not sure which vaccine tho...

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 25th, 2021, 12:50 pm

timelapse wrote:Two dead up on my side yesterday.Rumour has it that they were in Richgold last weekend
Doing what..

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 66975 (+682) cases, 1998 (+21) deaths, 8947 active, 56030 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » November 25th, 2021, 1:04 pm

aaron17 wrote:Confirmed reports by my family that so called 'zesser neighbors' are partying after SOE done...and still doing it all now like no tomorrow.

Aaron,

Happening countrywide bro.

There was congregating before, during and after the SOE.

I really don’t know what people expected. It’s quite obvious the Trini culture.

Irresponsibility continues to reek and we are seeing the effects and consequences.

Let the people bray, T&T needs a cleanup.

Postby aaron17 » November 25th, 2021, 1:07 pm

aaron17 wrote:Confirmed reports by my family that so called 'zesser neighbors' are partying after SOE done...and still doing it all now like no tomorrow.

Aaron,

Happening countrywide bro.

There was congregating before, during and after the SOE.

I really don’t know what people expected. It’s quite obvious the Trini culture.

Irresponsibility continues to reek and we are seeing the effects and consequences.

Let the people bray, T&T needs a cleanup.

I guess the cleansing means ...who dead dead?

Postby Chimera » November 25th, 2021, 1:08 pm

whats the difference between a zesser party and a family lime or wedding?

the music? the spanish?

ent if you vaccinated it safe to lime?

Postby j.o.e » November 25th, 2021, 1:11 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:whats the difference between a zesser party and a family lime or wedding?

the music? the spanish?

Yea people need to take personal responsibility and stop being the fun police. I much prefer a group of friends getting together (hopefully vaccinated) than strangers in crowded workplaces and stores unvaccinated and not properly masked.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 25th, 2021, 2:10 pm

A new variant on the scene.
Vaccines effective against it?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 25th, 2021, 2:30 pm

j.o.e wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:whats the difference between a zesser party and a family lime or wedding?

the music? the spanish?

Yea people need to take personal responsibility and stop being the fun police. I much prefer a group of friends getting together (hopefully vaccinated) than strangers in crowded workplaces and stores unvaccinated and not properly masked.

dogg

Since Sept or so, how many people do personally know who've caught Covid?

Postby dogg » November 25th, 2021, 2:41 pm

How bad was/is it?
Were they vaccinated?

My cousin in his 40s has a mild case, he's vaccinated.

The pharmacist I visit on occasion says her extended family has lost 4 members in the last 2 weeks. Vaccination status uknown.

My neighbours a few houses down, a family of four, I'm certain has it.
They complain of difficulty breathing. Vaccination status uncertain. THey refuse to get tested.

widdyphuck

Re: Since Sept or so, how many people do personally know who've caught Covid?

Postby widdyphuck » November 25th, 2021, 2:57 pm

Not another COVID-19 ched....

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » November 25th, 2021, 3:04 pm

None!

Postby redmanjp » November 25th, 2021, 3:19 pm

Since September I know of one person Lingo the blind calypsonion who lives in our neighborhood who was hospitalized with it and he had posted in our neighborhood chat group. He was still recovering at home the last time he posted and having short breath.

Before September

A coworker sitting close to my desk had it months ago and recovered. Not sure of vax status but would guess unvaxxed as he was talking against the vaccine some weeks before.

My cousin in law father got it and died before they received the positive test.

My mom knows of 2 ppl who died from it. One was elderly
and retired. The other was a woman in her 30s where she used to work who was overweight. Don't know vax status but all were during the previous wave from April so unlikely they were vaxxed.
Last edited by redmanjp on November 25th, 2021, 5:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby j.o.e » November 25th, 2021, 3:23 pm

Why is this thread necessary ?

Postby MaxPower » November 25th, 2021, 3:23 pm

the music? the spanish?

It’s not safe to lime, vaccinated or not.

A safe lime can only happen when everyone follow the protocols effectively.

Trinis aren’t doing that.

Let the irresponsible feel it.

I feel so sorry for those family members in the same household especially the elderly that stay home and their careless family continue to lime and show no regard for the protocols thus bring their nasty germs in contact with them.