COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 63865 (+781) cases, 1891 (+6) deaths, 7689 active, 54285 recovered in T&T

Postby bluefete » November 20th, 2021, 7:04 pm

bluefete wrote:Maryam in a lodge / is a female freemason?

What are the covid figures today?

Now you understand why I asked about the covid figures early.

That is something I have never done before.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 63865 (+781) cases, 1891 (+6) deaths, 7689 active, 54285 recovered in T&T

Postby hover11 » November 20th, 2021, 7:04 pm

Well xmas shopping ain start yet for most , malls and cities will be packed soon , let the family gatherings begin

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 20th, 2021, 7:14 pm

hover11 wrote:Well xmas shopping ain start yet for most , malls and cities will be packed soon , let the family gatherings begin

Month end is this week. Look out for another spike in 2-3 weeks time. We averaging around 500 a day now. By then we should be averaging 700+ a day.

That will probably peak at around an average of 800-900 a day maybe even more before it starts to decrease, which might be early Jan.

I do feel unless a harsh lockdown is implemented before Xmas, this spike won't have a single short peak but a prolonged peak for almost all of December.

Postby pugboy » November 20th, 2021, 7:26 pm

a week of 700 days gonna be real chaos in the hospitals

Postby Chimera » November 20th, 2021, 7:35 pm

I don't think you can avoid getting covid for the rest of your life.

Vaccinate and boost your immune system and ride it out yes.

Be safe everyone

Postby Chimera » November 20th, 2021, 7:36 pm

I can't imagine the mental health of those who working in ICU. Everyday people dying dying dying. People who could have had a better chance if they vaccinated.
And it's not like the numbers making more people want to vaccinate

Postby st7 » November 20th, 2021, 7:39 pm

Redress10 wrote:
st7 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
st7 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
st7 wrote:how? it's a person's choice to do wtf they want.

i doh understand the beat up that someone want to make MORE money doing something else. not everybody hadda listen to their parents to become a lawyer engineer doctor

When that choice involve taxpayers funds etc then it becomes a problem. Do we spend millions of taxpayers funds to train medical doctors etc who then turn around and neglect the practice of public medicine for personal political ambitions. What value is a highly trained medical doctor in TT if his/her time is also spent doing ministerial duties or parliamentary duties.

In the case of Richards, did she get those roles bases on merit or nepotism. What is the need for her to be on the board of Angostura, a commercial alcohol entity as a trained medical practitioner and muslim woman? Is it that state entities serve no real commercial function other than to provide jobs and opportunity for friends, families and financiers?

i'm a little ignorant on this part, but how do we spend millions of taxpayers funds to train medical doctors? i'm confused about that

GATE, UWI, scholarships

:? ok.... and what that have to do with anything? ent she wokkin here more than 10 yrs? u saying cuz everybody do GATE they cant go do another wok that wasnt in their field of study or live elsewhere?

u not making sense. redress that

I am saying if taxpayers funds are used to train a person in a very specific area then that person should specialize and aim to improve that area. A doctor serves a very specific function in society. One that cannot be easily replaced or reproduced. Why spend millions on medical training only for them to turn around and do everything but medicine.

It is this sort of mentality that now sees us with A Browne as the minister of foreign affairs. Are you telling me that out of 1.4 million people in this country we don't have a single person with the requisite international affiars experience and qualifications to be an effective MOFA. What does a medical doctor know about foreign affairs and diplomacy?

my biggest gripe is that millions of taxpayers money being spent behind on politicians in govt and opposition who ARENT qualified for their posts, but could operate how they want. but you studying a qualified doctor with 34 posts. i not on she side, i just find it's some bs that no one can diverse themselves because they get paid for 'doctor training'. do you know how much work them does work and get bull for? most of them on contract and sheit but u studying how ppl risking their lives the last 2 yrs want to diversify.

politicians are on the top of anything. hold them accountable cause they self have no qualifications for their post but making money on your head rel normal.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 20th, 2021, 7:42 pm

hover11 wrote:
wtf wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
wtf wrote:28 persons died.
13 elderly males.
8 elderly females.
5 middle aged males
1 middle aged female
1 MALE CHILD.

A child died due to COVID-19. Is this a first?

Locally? I think so, probably definitely he/she had some comorbidities (not trying to downplay this but if yuh child normal you don't have anything to worry about).

Middle age is typically 35-59 right? Lots of here fall into the bracket.
What can we expect going forward?
More deaths, more cases ....continue the same thing and expecting different results. We didn't have personal responsibility a year ago or two lockdowns ago we will have it now lol ok then

Yet you are against vaccines
Duane what I am against is taking something that I have to continue taking every 6 months or else I'm an open target.....make a vaccine that last for 5 or 10 years then we have no problem

Clearly you don't understand science. That is why to some you sound irrational. Covid virus continues to mutate so you can't create a vaccine that covers mutations 5-10 years into the future. That is why the flu vaccine is also a yearly thing and not a 5-10 year thing. The more prevalent a virus, the more "present" a vaccine will be. Other viruses that don't have a high infection rate such as polio etc spread so infrequently that there is little chance of those viruses requiring new vaccines etc.

Think about it like this. Every 6-12 months covid mutates just enough to evade the antibodies gained from your last vaccination. Not saying your vaccine wouldn't recognise covid is just that it may not pick up all of the infections resulting in delayed detection and successful infection.

You do know that the vaccine doesn't stay in your body past a certain number of days right? Your body flushes it out afyer a certain time.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 20th, 2021, 7:49 pm

Anyone who is a shareholder in a funeral home about to get filthy rich.
FILTHY RICH.

Postby st7 » November 20th, 2021, 7:50 pm

get covid and dead man.

Postby Dave » November 20th, 2021, 7:51 pm

Chaos is a huge understatement bro.
pugboy wrote:a week of 700 days gonna be real chaos in the hospitals

Postby redmanjp » November 20th, 2021, 7:54 pm

A better vaccine could be developed in a couple year's time but many ppl not going to live that long as they will get infected. Ah mean is 28 dead today including a child!
Last edited by redmanjp on November 20th, 2021, 8:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 20th, 2021, 7:57 pm

st7 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
st7 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
st7 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

i doh understand the beat up that someone want to make MORE money doing something else. not everybody hadda listen to their parents to become a lawyer engineer doctor

When that choice involve taxpayers funds etc then it becomes a problem. Do we spend millions of taxpayers funds to train medical doctors etc who then turn around and neglect the practice of public medicine for personal political ambitions. What value is a highly trained medical doctor in TT if his/her time is also spent doing ministerial duties or parliamentary duties.

In the case of Richards, did she get those roles bases on merit or nepotism. What is the need for her to be on the board of Angostura, a commercial alcohol entity as a trained medical practitioner and muslim woman? Is it that state entities serve no real commercial function other than to provide jobs and opportunity for friends, families and financiers?

i'm a little ignorant on this part, but how do we spend millions of taxpayers funds to train medical doctors? i'm confused about that

GATE, UWI, scholarships

:? ok.... and what that have to do with anything? ent she wokkin here more than 10 yrs? u saying cuz everybody do GATE they cant go do another wok that wasnt in their field of study or live elsewhere?

I am saying if taxpayers funds are used to train a person in a very specific area then that person should specialize and aim to improve that area. A doctor serves a very specific function in society. One that cannot be easily replaced or reproduced. Why spend millions on medical training only for them to turn around and do everything but medicine.

It is this sort of mentality that now sees us with A Browne as the minister of foreign affairs. Are you telling me that out of 1.4 million people in this country we don't have a single person with the requisite international affiars experience and qualifications to be an effective MOFA. What does a medical doctor know about foreign affairs and diplomacy?

my biggest gripe is that millions of taxpayers money being spent behind on politicians in govt and opposition who ARENT qualified for their posts, but could operate how they want. but you studying a qualified doctor with 34 posts. i not on she side, i just find it's some bs that no one can diverse themselves because they get paid for 'doctor training'. do you know how much work them does work and get bull for? most of them on contract and sheit but u studying how ppl risking their lives the last 2 yrs want to diversify.

politicians are on the top of anything. hold them accountable cause they self have no qualifications for their post but making money on your head rel normal.

Hoss you mental or you slow? She aint no facking doctor at this point. She is a POLITICIAN. What shat you really talking about. Go search the world, far and long and see how many doctors ever pay to study medicine and then up later in life and just decide to become a "politician". I give you a perfect example with Amery at ministry of foreign affairs and you still here trying to defend this BS.

Medicine is an extremely demanding profession. Where in the world do serious doctors get the chance to become politicians? You feel after they spend all that time and money training and educating themselves they have time to "run for politics"? Most doctors in the developed world aint have that time pal. They spend their entire lives either specialising or making a name for themselves. Or they end back up in university as professors.

Check how many doctors pass through our political system over the last 30 years alone. If medicine was a demanding profession in TT you feel they would have the time?

Some of alluh really clueless.

Postby st7 » November 20th, 2021, 8:04 pm

Redress10 wrote:
st7 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
st7 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
st7 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

GATE, UWI, scholarships

Hoss you mental or you slow? She aint no facking doctor at this point. She is a POLITICIAN. What shat you really talking about. Go search the world, far and long and see how many doctors ever pay to study medicine and then up later in life and just decide to become a "politician". I give you a perfect example with Amery at ministry of foreign affairs and you still here trying to defend this BS.

Medicine is an extremely demanding profession. Where in the world do serious doctors get the chance to become politicians? You feel after they spend all that time and money training and educating themselves they have time to "run for politics"? Most doctors in the developed world aint have that time pal. They spend their entire lives either specialising or making a name for themselves. Or they end back up in university as professors.

Check how many doctors pass through our political system over the last 30 years alone. If medicine was a demanding profession in TT you feel they would have the time?

who cares if she goes into politics? that's her business. why it getting ur panties in a bunch so? :?

Postby pugboy » November 20th, 2021, 8:05 pm

the mascara boi, the mascara

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 20th, 2021, 8:07 pm

^^ Dr. Lackram Bodoe has been a doctor for over 3 decades with his private practice at Gulf View Medical and at San Fernando General.
If you ever saw his private practice you will know that it takes weeks or months to get an appointment unless it's an absolute emergency and every day there are people waiting hours to see him. He also operates at SFGH. He became a politician and parliamentarian and has been the MP for Fyzabad since 2015. His practice is still always busy.

Postby MaxPower » November 20th, 2021, 8:09 pm

hover11 wrote:LOCK DOWN THIS COUNTRY RIGHT NOW
Screenshot_20211120-163941_WhatsApp.jpg

Jason,

If 28 are dead, then what does it say to you when bars are in full swing tonight?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 20th, 2021, 8:13 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^^ Dr. Lackram Bodoe has been a doctor for over 3 decades with his private practice at Gulf View Medical and at San Fernando General.
If you ever saw his private practice you will know that it takes weeks or months to get an appointment unless it's an absolute emergency and every day there are people waiting hours to see him. He also operates at SFGH. He became a politician and parliamentarian and has been the MP for Fyzabad since 2015. His practice is still always busy.

Exactly...medicine is not something that could be done part time and if you add another demanding role in your life such as MP then one of those roles must suffer. So does the doc allow his patients to suffer or his constituents.

Postby Kenjo » November 20th, 2021, 8:15 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^^ Dr. Lackram Bodoe has been a doctor for over 3 decades with his private practice at Gulf View Medical and at San Fernando General.

Nah he stopped in sando general quite a few years ago after he got into office but is in gulf view . But clearly these couple guys have no relatives who do medicine or have no friends in the field . They clearly don’t know about different specialities. Gate et al the government requests working back for around 5 years and most People easily make that time

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 20th, 2021, 8:18 pm

st7 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
st7 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
st7 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
st7 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

GATE, UWI, scholarships

who cares if she goes into politics? that's her business. why it getting ur panties in a bunch so? :?

Because the majority of them are educated at the expense of the state to fulfill an critical role in society. If they wanted to be politicians they could have studied political science or government just like politicians all over the world. No wonder we have so many square pegs in wrong holes and nothing works.

What she doing on the board of a commercial alcohol company? Especially as a person known to the islamic faith? Is it that she has no scupples or morals when it comes to posts and positions? She couldn't have said no?

You really making an excuse for someone specifically being trained in medicine being on other state boards not pertaining to her profession whilst the sector she works in continues to be in chaos?

Remember it was your tax dollars spent to educate, train and employ these people yeah.

Postby st7 » November 20th, 2021, 8:20 pm

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 20th, 2021, 8:23 pm

Kenjo wrote:

Nah he stopped in sando general quite a few years ago after he got into office but is in gulf view . But clearly these couple guys have no relatives who do medicine or have no friends in the field . They clearly don’t know about different specialities. Gate et al the government requests working back for around 5 years and most People easily make that time

But if you are already in a demanding profession such as medicine so much so that patients are waiting months for an appoitment then maybe it would benefit the country is someone else to be a MP or politician who can give that job 100% of their focus to governing and improving the country.

Postby pugboy » November 20th, 2021, 8:24 pm

fuad khan also
gopeesingh also

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 20th, 2021, 8:27 pm

Redress10 wrote:

Exactly...medicine is not something that could be done part time and if you add another demanding role in your life such as MP then one of those roles must suffer. So does the doc allow his patients to suffer or his constituents.

My wife has been going by him 20 years now - it was ALWAYS a long wait with a lot of patients - he's always in high demand.
it didn't change when he became MP

Postby Chimera » November 20th, 2021, 8:28 pm

If you want something done right and efficiently give it to a busy person.

Postby Kenjo » November 20th, 2021, 8:32 pm

pugboy wrote:fuad khan also
gopeesingh also

And two of the doctors who have been there for the longest time probably

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 20th, 2021, 8:32 pm

Redress10 wrote:

My wife has been going by him 20 years now - it was ALWAYS a long wait with a lot of patients - he's always in high demand.
it didn't change when he became MP

Nobody questioning his medical skills. What about his parliamentary duties or his lawmaking skills etc

Postby st7 » November 20th, 2021, 8:36 pm

i think we getting off track in the ched.

back to you, covid.

Postby De Dragon » November 20th, 2021, 8:46 pm

hover11 wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:So last week Sunday my cousin and his wife started having symptoms

They went and do private antigen tests at around 11 am and got results 30 mins later. Husband positive wife negative
As they needed proper quarantine letters for work they went straight to st Joseph health center and did pcr tests and got their 14 days quarantine papers
Today st Joseph send them their results. Both positive. Extra 6 days quarantine.

So the antigen would have given the wife a false negative?
It hard to imagine that a husband tests positive and the wife tests negative, if they sleep in the same bed and share the same space. That's why I have been saying ppl who are positive and live with others in small spaces should be tested and quarantined as well but antigen are less reliable they are the cheaper and inefficient method PCR are more accurate and more expensive, that's why private institutions are marketing them to get the ppl who don't want to jump out the dust for a PCR

But it happen to the Honorable Dr. JUHN Scarfy :?

Postby aaron17 » November 20th, 2021, 8:54 pm

I had to brief my parents to wear KN95 out there.... and to tell yuh one of them was still wearing the mask with the valve on it ..smh