COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 39577 cases, 1117 deaths, 5823 active, 32637 recovered in T&T

Postby goalpost » August 5th, 2021, 8:48 pm

Why are these numbers not falling at all?

SuperiorMan

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 39577 cases, 1117 deaths, 5823 active, 32637 recovered in T&T

Postby SuperiorMan » August 5th, 2021, 8:50 pm

When all you fella think lockdown gonna end?

Anyone think UWI classes gonna be online?

Postby adnj » August 5th, 2021, 10:41 pm

goalpost wrote:Why are these numbers not falling at all?
Not enough masking.
Not enough social distancing.
Too much mobility.
Not enough fully vaccinated people.
SuperiorMan wrote:When all you fella think lockdown gonna end?

Not before December.
Online classes withsome exceptions.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 39345 cases, 1110 deaths, 5781 active, 32454 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » August 5th, 2021, 10:51 pm

adnj wrote:
pugboy wrote:why dont they ever put the deaths figure on this document ?

232 new cases and 7 deaths
It's posted by the ministry on page 2... apparently few bother to post it.

https://health.gov.tt/sites/default/fil ... QKwDHL.jpg

https://health.gov.tt/sites/default/fil ... XrWyWD.jpg

ok but they cud simply put d number like +7 next to the total deaths. dat so hard? for ppl on social media who go on MOH FB page. they squeeze in a whole set of other things except one of the most important stats. so we either have to check for the previous day's 'total' number of deaths or go across to the website. MOH make it simple nah.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 39345 cases, 1110 deaths, 5781 active, 32454 recovered in T&T

Postby adnj » August 5th, 2021, 11:05 pm

redmanjp wrote:
adnj wrote:
pugboy wrote:why dont they ever put the deaths figure on this document ?

232 new cases and 7 deaths
It's posted by the ministry on page 2... apparently few bother to post it.

https://health.gov.tt/sites/default/fil ... QKwDHL.jpg

https://health.gov.tt/sites/default/fil ... XrWyWD.jpg

ok but they cud simply put d number like +7 next to the total deaths. dat so hard? for ppl on social media who go on MOH FB page. they squeeze in a whole set of other things except one of the most important stats. so we either have to check for the previous day's 'total' number of deaths or go across to the website. MOH make it simple nah.

You're gonna need to tear yourself away from FB bruh - or just roll over and take it.

https://health.gov.tt/covid-19/covid-19 ... and-tobago

Postby Gladiator » August 5th, 2021, 11:12 pm

Because people still liming normal normal... every weekend people checking pardna, organizing family lime, going beach house etc. The lockdown needs to be revised. The data 4 months ago was that the virus was being spread in the workplace so they decided to close the public service and implement work from home etc.

It is now being sread in the home by people moving about. That needs to stop... or else we will have 150-200+ cases every day and deaths by the scores every week. When Delta reach it will affect us catastrophically.

Habit... talk to your masters please...

Postby MaxPower » August 5th, 2021, 11:20 pm

Gladiator wrote:

Because people still liming normal normal... every weekend people checking pardna, organizing family lime, going beach house etc. The lockdown needs to be revised. The data 4 months ago was that the virus was being spread in the workplace so they decided to close the public service and implement work from home etc.

It is now being sread in the home by people moving about. That needs to stop... or else we will have 150-200+ cases every day and deaths by the scores every week. When Delta reach it will affect us catastrophically.

Glad the Gladman noticing.

Revise the lockdown, and lock it down proper this time.

T&T ass still happy so they could take another one.

CB Style

Postby CB Style » August 6th, 2021, 12:08 am

Gladiator wrote:

I know it don’t seem so but ent we still under a SOE?

Postby redmanjp » August 6th, 2021, 12:16 am

The 7pm weekend curfew need to come back. Also ban all alcohol sales including in supermarkets. Even TTPS said they seeing a lot of DUIs just before the 9pm curfew so a total ban is needed which will decrease both DUIs as well as discourage limes which spread covid

Postby redmanjp » August 6th, 2021, 12:18 am

Ban ppl from visiting other households as well. Yes you have the right to enjoyment of property but not other ppl property.

Postby S_2NR » August 6th, 2021, 12:40 am

Allyu wanna turn trinidad into north korea or something. As someone who is being cautious, some of these suggestions just sound draconian. We don't need to get the daily infection rate to zero, once the healthcare system is not overwhelmed we're fine.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 6th, 2021, 1:20 am

CB Style wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

lockdown is a failure here and in the rest of the world where they getting 3rd and 4th waves. nobody wants to take the bull by the horns and do what has to be done. they people who are covid positive needs to be taken out of circulation and put somewhere isolated example carrera island needs to be reactivated.once they isolate the positive patient they will stop the spread. mandatory testing for everyone needs to be implemented.

Postby bluefete » August 6th, 2021, 5:41 am

CNN fires three employees for coming to work unvaccinated

https://www.yahoo.com/entertainment/cnn ... 49321.html

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 6th, 2021, 5:54 am

bluefete wrote:CNN fires three employees for coming to work unvaccinated

everyone will be forced to get branded wth the mark of the beast so said the bible.

Postby adnj » August 6th, 2021, 7:28 am

daring dragoon wrote:

everyone will be forced to get branded wth the mark of the beast so said the bible.
.....Image

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 6th, 2021, 7:29 am

adnj wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

.....Image

It makes sense, you sheeple jus too dumb to see it.

Postby adnj » August 6th, 2021, 7:29 am

CB Style wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

Mobility is up. People adapt.Image

Postby aaron17 » August 6th, 2021, 7:48 am

adnj wrote:
Not enough masking.
Too much mobility.

Not before December.
Too much unhealthy ppl?

Postby MaxPower » August 6th, 2021, 8:42 am

CB Style wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

Yeh bro a relaxing and convenient SOE.

Postby timelapse » August 6th, 2021, 8:50 am

aaron17 wrote:
adnj wrote:
Not enough masking.
Too much mobility.

Not before December.
Too much unhealthy ppl?
Too much people more concerned with 'freedom of choice' than their own and other people's health.Long story short, they being rebellious for the attention.Thats all it is.Narcissists being narcissists.

You check your doctor as yet?

Postby aaron17 » August 6th, 2021, 9:54 am

timelapse wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
adnj wrote:
Not enough masking.
Too much mobility.

Not before December.
Too much unhealthy ppl?
Too much people more concerned with 'freedom of choice' than their own and other people's health.Long story short, they being rebellious for the attention.Thats all it is.Narcissists being narcissists.

You check your doctor as yet?
Not yet...might as well get it since it would have a person on standby to inject if anything goes wrong. But what hampering that is family group decision. I want to get it but certain family memb. pressuring me not to get it. They wanna wait til idk when .i tired tell them. I dont want to be that person when it reach too late. And it seems like a big family fallout especially if its ur spouse.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 6th, 2021, 10:26 am

Laughs in Toobinly!!

Postby Habit7 » August 6th, 2021, 10:40 am

Gladiator wrote:

I am anti-lockdown now. We need to learn to live with the virus, ppl need to be persuaded to take the vaccine, religious bodies should be allowed to gather, retail should be opened, schools and child care should be opened and our healthcare should be bolstered.

But further lockdown is not helping and there are other deleterious measures coming out of lockdown that are worst than the covid deaths.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 6th, 2021, 10:44 am

adnj wrote:
CB Style wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

Mobility is up. People adapt.Image

Where is this data from?

Postby zoom rader » August 6th, 2021, 10:45 am

Habit7 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

I am anti-lockdown now. We need to learn to live with the virus, ppl need to be persuaded to take the vaccine, religious bodies should be allowed to gather, retail should be opened, schools and child care should be opened and our healthcare should be bolstered.

But further lockdown is not helping and there are other deleterious measures coming out of lockdown that are worst than the covid deaths.
1% got to you

You a flip flop

Postby K74T » August 6th, 2021, 11:55 am

SECOND DOSE

Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley received his second dose of the Sinopharm vaccine at the Scarborough Health Centre today, Friday 6th August, 2021.
Primary Care Nurse Manager, Kathy Ann Greenidge-Ottley administered the shot. Dr Tiffany Hoyte, Tobago's Acting County Medical Officer was also present.

The Prime Minister received his first dose of the Sinopharm vaccine at the Diego Martin Health Centre on Tuesday 13th July, 2021.

FB_IMG_1628265219369.jpg

Postby j.o.e » August 6th, 2021, 12:04 pm

Once we hit 600k vaccinated with two doses, two weeks later open up and let businesses and employees decide who can come in their business. Who dead let them dead, have vaccines there for them to access.
Continue making vaccines available. Yuh big and yuh have sense. If you don’t want to vaccinate its at your risk or you can continue to take precautions to mitigate.
Continue with SOE and move curfew to midnight

Postby adnj » August 6th, 2021, 12:16 pm

Delta Pushes Herd Immunity Threshold To Above 80%: Experts

"It is becoming clear that this is a very dangerous, way more dangerous virus than the original one," an assistant professor at the University of Alabama at Birmingham said.

The spread of the delta coronavirus variant has pushed the threshold for herd immunity to well over 80% and potentially approaching 90%, according to an Infectious Diseases Society of America briefing on Tuesday.

That represents a "much higher" bar than previous estimates of 60% to 70%, because delta is twice as transmissible, said Richard Franco, an assistant professor at the University of Alabama at Birmingham.

"It is becoming clear that this is a very dangerous, way more dangerous virus than the original one," Franco said.

Herd immunity is based on the idea that when a certain percentage of the population has been vaccinated against the virus or gains immunity by a previous infection, it helps protect the broader population and reduce transmission.

https://www.ndtv.com/world-news/delta-p ... ts-2503107

Postby sMASH » August 6th, 2021, 12:18 pm

u supposed to take the sinopharm as the first doses, and boost with the pfizer. not pfizer then boost with sino... .tsk tsk

Postby MaxPower » August 6th, 2021, 12:26 pm

Master Keith mid section looking a lil choppy.