COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

KM_2NR

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1099 cases, 15 deaths, 919 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby KM_2NR » August 25th, 2020, 7:26 am

How much cases by the end of the year? 10k? How does this even end.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1099 cases, 15 deaths, 919 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby Gladiator » August 25th, 2020, 7:32 am

As the ministar say...learn to live with it!!!
KM_2NR wrote:How much cases by the end of the year? 10k? How does this even end.

Postby maj. tom » August 25th, 2020, 7:38 am

It doesn't end. Covid is here to stay as part of human existence, just like so many viruses in human history. HIV, herpes, chicken pox, the common cold, the flu, etc. This virus is new, extremely contagious and deadly. Just like Black Death (bacteria) and many other viruses when it first appeared.

Once we get a vaccine, the global population would be able to manage it fairly well within a decade as it's spread among humans and we all develop immunity. But think of it as the Flu in our global lives. It's always there, it's always deadly, and we will always need seasonal vaccination. Till then, fittest survive. We should come to terms with this sort of thinking. We are all going to get it sooner or later, maybe as "a common cold" or maybe as something deadlier.

Socialization at the level as we knew it is over for a while, and social distancing and the forced internet communication will end up pushing human communications technology another step further at a faster pace. Think about schooling models: we're witnessing a complete change in a social structure that existed for a century.

Postby bluefete » August 25th, 2020, 8:56 am

Postby Dizzy28 » August 25th, 2020, 8:57 am

WRT the pics of the food a few posts back my brother in law has a company with contracts to supply food items to NCRHA, who are in charge of both Caura and Couva. Since Covid the frequency of orders and deliveries has increased tremendously. It is quite good stuff as well that is ordered.

If the pics are real somebody somewhere else in the system real benefiting from food items.

Postby Chimera » August 25th, 2020, 9:40 am

Saw a fb post where a senior doctor im sfgh calling for 6 to 6 curfew. No children outside. Fines If you not wearing mask. Fines if more than one person from a household go shopping . Fines if you found at a residence that isnt your legal residence

Postby maj. tom » August 25th, 2020, 9:41 am

Well if that's the case, better they use a SOE for the rest of the year. And then what after?

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » August 25th, 2020, 9:43 am

Bar owners, and maybe some MPs, would protest a move like that

Postby pugboy » August 25th, 2020, 9:48 am

All we need is basic enforcement to get folks in line
Gg only studying football issues these days
A real woft

rebound

Postby rebound » August 25th, 2020, 9:52 am

I dont think all of that is necessary (the economy must go on). We all just need to have some discipline and stop waiting on the MOH to say what to do and when...Why is that so hard for some to do?

Postby pugboy » August 25th, 2020, 10:02 am

Enforcement is required,
the vast majority of persons are ignorant of the seriousness until someone they know dies
And by that time it is way out of hand.

rebound wrote:I dont think all of that is necessary (the economy must go on). We all just need to have some discipline and stop waiting on the MOH to say what to do and when...Why is that so hard for some to do?

Postby K74T » August 25th, 2020, 10:06 am

85+

FB_IMG_1598364381273.jpeg
FB_IMG_1598364387335.jpeg

Postby redmanjp » August 25th, 2020, 10:13 am

backlog go take another 2-3 weeks to clear

by this evening we would be well over 1000 active cases
Last edited by redmanjp on August 25th, 2020, 10:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MaxPower » August 25th, 2020, 10:14 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Saw a fb post where a senior doctor im sfgh calling for 6 to 6 curfew. No children outside. Fines If you not wearing mask. Fines if more than one person from a household go shopping . Fines if you found at a residence that isnt your legal residence

Hello Phone Surgeon,

I think a 6 to 6 curfew will encourage more congestion, especially from 4pm to 6pm.

Even though fines are implemented, we dont have the manpower to monitor properly.

Postby Gladiator » August 25th, 2020, 10:14 am

K74T wrote:85+

FB_IMG_1598364387335.jpegFB_IMG_1598364381273.jpeg

WTF was happening before elections.... what kinda testing they was doing??? Where these numbers coming from... they really want us to believe that these numbers spawned after/during election. Who is accountable for this?

jsali

Postby jsali » August 25th, 2020, 10:14 am

oh gaad looking like we'll cross the 100 by the end of today.. 85 in the am :(

Postby pugboy » August 25th, 2020, 10:15 am

We need action ASAP
Curfews will just encourage longer lines and panic buying

Postby teems1 » August 25th, 2020, 10:19 am

pugboy wrote:We need action ASAP

Care to elaborate on what action(s) should be implemented?

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 25th, 2020, 10:20 am

The time for action has passed. We had too much super spreader events in a short space of time.

Postby redmanjp » August 25th, 2020, 10:20 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Saw a fb post where a senior doctor im sfgh calling for 6 to 6 curfew. No children outside. Fines If you not wearing mask. Fines if more than one person from a household go shopping . Fines if you found at a residence that isnt your legal residence

Hello Phone Surgeon,

I think a 6 to 6 curfew will encourage more congestion, especially from 4pm to 6pm.

Even though fines are implemented, we dont have the manpower to monitor properly.

then we would need ttps, health officers AND army to do enforcement. some army officers should be posted all over our borders as well to stop further importation of the virus (TTCG is a damn waste of time) while we lockdown all nonessentials for 2 weeks or so

parliament starting back tomorrow, hope the first thing they deal with is the masks law. once inside a public place, outside within 6 feet of others or in crowded areas it should apply. not in your private vehicle unless u have a group of friends or running PH. maybe exemption for ppl with asthma etc.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 25th, 2020, 10:24 am

Hmm
IMG-20200825-WA0020.jpeg

Postby pugboy » August 25th, 2020, 10:25 am

masks and avoiding the needless loitering we are seeing everywhere to start

just like how there was a police presence in the first lockdown preventing persons from liming around why can’t they do that now
ppl need to be forced in line

teems1 wrote:
pugboy wrote:We need action ASAP

Care to elaborate on what action(s) should be implemented?

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » August 25th, 2020, 10:46 am

paid_influencer wrote:anyone else thinking of going AWOL from work? I have enough in my bank account to last me a couple months.

I not brave/dotish enough to believe a mask and some sanitizer makes me immune.

The mask not suppose to make you immune. If it trap 1% of particles it still doing something.

I rock back and breezing all now, like that fella from the Rose investment thread.
Actually I rock a while now because like I said, I don't need to have 7 pairs of Jordans, one for each day of the week, and 20 pound of chain around my neck.
So I breeze through the first lockdown and will do the same now.
The first lockdown make me see what things need to be put in place, when (not if) 2nd lockdown come.

Even the Venez that renting by me can afford to do the same, yet people will be quick to bawl how they get all dat money from prostitution and how they spreading CORVID.

A huge problem going to take place when one of them fellas carry CORVID in the 'massage parlor.'
All the oman will get it and pass it on to them fellas who will take it home to their family.
Drive passed a well known one about 2 days ago and saw many parks taken.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 25th, 2020, 11:00 am

ST Auto wrote:HmmIMG-20200825-WA0020.jpeg

https://www.wired-gov.net/wg/news.nsf/a ... 2020112200

Postby redmanjp » August 25th, 2020, 11:14 am

Blaze d Chalice wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:anyone else thinking of going AWOL from work? I have enough in my bank account to last me a couple months.

I not brave/dotish enough to believe a mask and some sanitizer makes me immune.

The mask not suppose to make you immune. If it trap 1% of particles it still doing something.

I rock back and breezing all now, like that fella from the Rose investment thread.
Actually I rock a while now because like I said, I don't need to have 7 pairs of Jordans, one for each day of the week, and 20 pound of chain around my neck.
So I breeze through the first lockdown and will do the same now.
The first lockdown make me see what things need to be put in place, when (not if) 2nd lockdown come.

Even the Venez that renting by me can afford to do the same, yet people will be quick to bawl how they get all dat money from prostitution and how they spreading CORVID.

A huge problem going to take place when one of them fellas carry CORVID in the 'massage parlor.'
All the oman will get it and pass it on to them fellas who will take it home to their family.
Drive passed a well known one about 2 days ago and saw many parks taken.

imagine when MOH ask dem who dey had contact with- all dem cases go be 'pending investigation'

Postby sMASH » August 25th, 2020, 11:35 am

Since they buss out 'community spread', they have a means to getbout if any deep accurste dive into movements.

Do whstbur doing now, maintsinnue social distancing , washwith soap and water regularly.

Mask will trap the droplets, but they are small , and will eventually dry out. Thr residual cells in the mask fibers will eventually be pushed through the msterial, snd then ejected to the environment.
Remember, normal cloth doesnt have the 5 micron size pore space as the n95 material.

As a pharmacist once said, u hadda live with this thing. Shutting down not gonna fix anything with so much spread already

Postby redmanjp » August 25th, 2020, 11:51 am

^ a brief 1-2 week shutdown like New Zealand ( no need for a 2-3 months one) will bring down the spread to controllable levels- the CMO said they trying to bring it down to at least cluster phase. but granted that there are about 5000 bars (from what i heard someone in the Barowners associations said) this measure itself should have a significant effect. we'll see in a couple weeks

Postby bluefete » August 25th, 2020, 12:03 pm

Meanwhile in the real world:

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/lead ... -NRydxvguE

No Special Treatment For Bolt - Tufton Says Rules Apply To Everyone As Star Tests Positive For COVID-19

Published:Tuesday | August 25, 2020 | 12:17 AM

As the fallout continues from Usain Bolt’s now-controversial birthday party, Prime Minister Andrew Holness confirmed that the matter is now being investigated by the police.

Holness warned that the sprinter, who was confirmed to have contracted COVID-19, will not benefit from any special treatment in the process.

“No one is going to be treated with any exemption, so all Jamaicans have a duty, and those who have public ear and influence in the public sphere have an even greater (responsibility),” Holness said during a virtual press conference on Monday.

Bolt, who was celebrating his 34th birthday last Friday at the Football Factory in Kingston, was tested at home a day later in anticipation of a business trip overseas this week.

The 100m and 200m world record holder confirmed on social media about 11 a.m. Monday that he had not, up to that point, been officially notified of his result.

Health Minister Christopher Tufton provided the confirmation of Bolt’s result Monday night and advised that the process had commenced for contact tracing.

The party, which was attended by a host of local and international celebrities, including Manchester City winger Raheem Sterling, Bayer Leverkusen star Leon Bailey and former Reggae Boyz captain Ricardo Gardner, as well as entertainers, has been the bane of criticism after videos surfaced online showing COVID-19 breaches.

While there was temperature screening, mandatory sanitisation, and mask wearing upon entry, social-distancing and mask protocols were later ignored. Occasional sanitisation was conducted during the party.

Quarantine Not Observed
The presence of Sterling, who last played for his England-based club on August 15 in the Champions League, and Bailey, who featured for German club Leverkusen in their Europa League loss on August 10, indicates that the mandatory 14-day quarantine requirement for overseas visitors was not observed.

“I am not aware, I don’t have specifics of any individual coming in and breaching the orders for quarantine, but what I will say is that we do not discriminate depending on the person,” Tufton declared.

“The rules apply to everyone.”

Meanwhile, Bailey’s manager and adopted father Craig Butler accused the nation’s leaders of hypocrisy and double standards.

“Was it a mistake to have the party? Maybe. Was it a mistake to attend the party? How could Leon not attend and support his friend?” asked Butler.

“Who are we to judge them when our own politicians are out encouraging electoral parties and revelry? ... If you want my opinion on public figures setting examples, let’s start with those that are leading us into an election right now,” Butler said.

Jamaica recorded 83 new COVID-19 cases on Monday, bringing the overall tally to 1,612.

editorial@gleanerjm.com

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 25th, 2020, 12:07 pm

Yet gg silent on the 1 per cent ddi party.

Postby Les Bain » August 25th, 2020, 12:10 pm

GG will stay silent until someone accuse him of being in the party....in another ugly designer shirt.