matix

Re: Flash Over - paint car

Postby matix » February 1st, 2023, 7:53 pm

gastly369 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
matix wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I see a man on fb by the name of Brian o Connor hitting you a paint job for 3.5k. A padna took the chance with an xtrail and I must say, for the price....we can't complain

Talk to meh! At that price, some projects could be done.
My clear alone was $2800 and i buy it on sale

I’m gonna find out the details. Will see how it goes

Postby pugboy » February 1st, 2023, 7:56 pm

what brand clear you used?

i looking to use ppg soon

Postby timelapse » February 1st, 2023, 8:08 pm

hindian wrote:
timelapse wrote:
dogg wrote:That vehicle staying just so till is time to replace oui.

I was studying to repaint cuz I saw here how a man couldn't get his inspection sticker due to paint flaking from his vehicle!
I bought car paint in an aerosol can by Classic in Macoya.They match your colour and mix the paint,then put it in an aerosol can.
Attempt it if you think you capable

More info on this paint in a can? Average price? Quantity in tin? Etc…
The place is in downstairs in the Turban Curry building on the EMR .
Paint prices vary on the type and composition of the paint,flakes etc. like a regular car paint shop.They have different sizes of aerosol cans and prices vary depending on how much paint/hardener you want in the can.

Postby Dave » February 1st, 2023, 9:15 pm

Rustic paint is the place. I buy all my paint right there.

Postby pugboy » February 1st, 2023, 10:03 pm

i hear all them painters does go by paint masters or tiny

Postby Dave » February 1st, 2023, 10:05 pm

Tiny doesn't match colors good.
Rustic does a great job with that and variety in matching almost anything to anything you carry for them.

Postby gastly369 » February 1st, 2023, 10:36 pm

pugboy wrote:what brand clear you used?

i looking to use ppg soon
Glasurit 923-255 HS

Postby pugboy » February 2nd, 2023, 5:40 am

you used top stuff
did they cut polish same time ?
a painter tell me he prefer to do that few weeks later

Postby gastly369 » February 2nd, 2023, 6:33 am

pugboy wrote:you used top stuff
did they cut polish same time ?
a painter tell me he prefer to do that few weeks later
Nah did a month after

I spann

Postby I spann » February 2nd, 2023, 6:50 am

PDU Rio . Repainted and clear coated with Penta 435 , $135 a qt for the clear
IMG_1903.JPG
IMG_1904.JPG

I spann

Postby I spann » February 2nd, 2023, 7:28 am

TDT hilux . Repainted and cleared with Penta
IMG_8408.JPG
IMG_2961.JPG

IMG_2962.JPG

Postby pugboy » February 2nd, 2023, 8:02 am

the pros reach

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 2nd, 2023, 8:21 am

matix wrote:
gastly369 wrote:
matix wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I see a man on fb by the name of Brian o Connor hitting you a paint job for 3.5k. A padna took the chance with an xtrail and I must say, for the price....we can't complain

Talk to meh! At that price, some projects could be done.
My clear alone was $2800 and i buy it on sale

I’m gonna find out the details. Will see how it goes

Brethren got what he paid for tbh, took about 3 weeks in the garage. It's going on about 7 months and the job is going strong. Can't really complain for the price. The vehicle was straight(no kinda preps were needed)

Postby timelapse » February 2nd, 2023, 8:46 am

Dave wrote:Rustic paint is the place. I buy all my paint right there.
Yeah Rustic,not Classic.My brain not as good as it used to be

Postby pugboy » February 2nd, 2023, 9:06 am

how does he make money charging 3.5k for 3 weeks work
guess he might be one of those notorious straighteners who does push small jobs in front of yours

I spann

Postby I spann » February 2nd, 2023, 9:16 am

pugboy wrote:how does he make money charging 3.5k for 3 weeks work
guess he might be one of those notorious straighteners who does push small jobs in front of yours

They use the cheapest paint materials available and the least amount of coats in both the paint and clear . We see the results of this on a daily basis

I spann

Postby I spann » February 2nd, 2023, 9:20 am

Although the Penta clear I used on my vehicles was only $ 135 per qt. , the hilux was cleared, sanded down and double cleared. The Rio was clear coated with a gallon then buffed

I spann

Postby I spann » February 2nd, 2023, 9:24 am

ML 400 . Penta 3 stage pearlpaint and clear coat
IMG_8347.JPG
IMG_8348.JPG

Postby Rovin » February 2nd, 2023, 11:12 am

very nice work younger spann

d way d hilux is disassembled b4 painting thats how a proper job is done, not no mask\tape off flash over scene some of dem does want to hit u ... this is why it cost $$$, plenty work\time

I spann

Postby I spann » February 2nd, 2023, 3:07 pm

Rovin wrote:very nice work younger spann

d way d hilux is disassembled b4 painting thats how a proper job is done, not no mask\tape off flash over scene some of dem does want to hit u ... this is why it cost $$$, plenty work\time

How true

Postby pugboy » February 2nd, 2023, 4:09 pm

a gallon of clear was sprayed ?
seems like a lot, in one session ?

I spann wrote:Although the Penta clear I used on my vehicles was only $ 135 per qt. , the hilux was cleared, sanded down and double cleared. The Rio was clear coated with a gallon then buffed

I spann

Postby I spann » February 2nd, 2023, 4:43 pm

Yup , one session. A gallon of 435 clear gives you 4 coats on the entire car

david12

Postby david12 » September 27th, 2023, 2:40 pm

Fellas....

Any updates on this? Thinking about getting a daily beater that might need a flash alone. Saw the man on FB and the prices looking good.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 28th, 2023, 1:26 pm

Sounds interesting

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 29th, 2023, 6:09 am

david12 wrote:
Fellas....

Any updates on this? Thinking about getting a daily beater that might need a flash alone. Saw the man on FB and the prices looking good.

Sent a few people by him and they cant really complain for the price. You would get the basic colors(black white silver etc) for around 3500 or there about. The persons that went just wanted a nice flash over to look presentable, not no car show business.

Now i dont know the painter personally, I can only recommend based on the persons that went before.

Postby Dave » September 29th, 2023, 6:40 am

The key thing here is longevity I would think.

david12

Postby david12 » September 29th, 2023, 11:04 am

david12 wrote:
Fellas....

Sent a few people by him and they cant really complain for the price. You would get the basic colors(black white silver etc) for around 3500 or there about. The persons that went just wanted a nice flash over to look presentable, not no car show business.

Now i dont know the painter personally, I can only recommend based on the persons that went before.
Thanks Shakes. That's more or less what I'm going for, just something that looks decent. I'll check him out if that's the case if I decide on the car.

Ueli

Postby Ueli » February 2nd, 2024, 10:10 pm

A guy told me 9k to paint over the entire car. He says it will take 2 weeks to do. He said good metallic paint is expensive and he takes his time to do everything.

A few other places told me 4k-6k in about 3-4 days. They said flashing over is all it needs.

Who should I trust?
That taking time to do everything properly could be him slacking off?
The cheaper option does sound enticing.

Postby rollingstock » February 2nd, 2024, 10:24 pm

Forget that 3-4 days. Proper prep would help the job last longer. Most they could do in that time is a quick rub down and mask. Rather a person take a few weeks and prep properly so the new paint adheres properly. And clear coat if you don't know what you're doing will fail earlier than usual.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » February 2nd, 2024, 10:29 pm

4-6k in 3-4 days would be a bad quality flash over.
9k for the entire car is extremely cheap for a full paint over, especially as they say is expensive paint.

However long they say, expect it will be double that amount of time, and at least a little more than they say for cost.
A full proper paint over takes about a month as they strip down the entire car including doors, bumpers, front and back glass, hood and trunk. And anywhere actually doing a good job is usually flooded with work making the wait and job time even longer.

If you have rust issues on the car, do not cheap out. If is just a paint over then it not as serious.