Post your FLOOD pics, locations, updates etc etc CHED!!!

Re: Post your FLOOD pics, locations, updates etc etc CHED!!!

Postby sMASH » September 16th, 2022, 9:03 am

Kickstart wrote:Pnm not cleaning the drains and people throwing trash in drains and water ways.

and here we thought it may have been those newly paved areas and the expectation the old waterways would be able to handle all increases in volume.

Why can't it be both? :?

a properly designed and maintained water course would not get bogged down with debris, from human or nature.

rubbish will only be a hazard in an urban area like a city or the CBD of a town.

Postby hover11 » September 17th, 2022, 7:48 am

Man seen in video abusing caiman held by cops

The man seen in a video abusing and eventually killing a caiman in Aranguez, San Juan, has been arrested.

He was yesterday located by members of the El Socorro Centre for Wildlife Conservation (ECWC), who felt the man needed to be held accountable for his actions.

Founder Ricardo Meade said the centre received numerous calls from hurt people about the incident and decided to do something about it.

“Evil thrives when good people do nothing,” Meade said.

It is illegal to capture, harm, or kill game animals outside of the hunting season.

And according to the amended Animals (Disease and Importation) Act, at Chap.67:02 (assented to on July 3, 2020) section 18 A, “Any person who cruelly beats, ill-treats, starves, overdrives, overrides, overloads, abuses, tortures, neglects or otherwise maltreats any animal commits an offence of $200,000 fine and imprisonment for a term of 5 years on summary conviction.”

Meade said they started their search for the man at Boundary Road in El Socorro and Aranguez Main Road. He said he stopped by one of the stores in the background of the video and the man was sitting by a bar. He said he called the police and within 10 minutes they arrived.

Meade said the man said he was attempting to save the caiman from getting bounced.

The officers explained to him that he had committed an offence and took him to the Barataria Police Station.

Meade said he hopes the public can draw some level of assurance that there are laws to protect animals from cruelty and abuse. He said the police’s quick response also showed there are police officers who will step up and not let evil prevail. CL

https://guardian.co.tt/news/man-seen-in ... c7c433156b

Skanky

Postby Skanky » September 17th, 2022, 8:33 am

^ well done wildlife center and TTPS. I generally prefer animals to the average trini….especially since they’re smarter.

Postby maj. tom » September 17th, 2022, 9:50 am

So his defense is like this: "I beat, tortured and killed the animal to protect it from getting bounced down."

Postby Chimera » September 17th, 2022, 10:43 am

maj. tom wrote:So his defense is like this: "I beat, tortured and killed the animal to protect it from getting bounced down."

i tell yuh is some mad mad highmen lol
the 3 of them in the video

Postby timelapse » September 17th, 2022, 11:03 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
maj. tom wrote:So his defense is like this: "I beat, tortured and killed the animal to protect it from getting bounced down."

i tell yuh is some mad mad highmen lol
the 3 of them in the video
There's a certain mad tuner from that area.Watch if they/them post a menu involving caiman this weekend.

Postby Chimera » September 17th, 2022, 11:10 am

vevo from aranguez? wdmc

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 21st, 2022, 6:50 pm

South activating

Postby pugboy » September 21st, 2022, 7:05 pm

the real kicker is if we get some heavy rains on the weekend with the ground saturated from todays rains.

Postby paid_influencer » September 21st, 2022, 7:10 pm

307107934_10160016920915610_5597871482571583705_n.jpeg

reminder not to walk in flood waters. a school girl fell down the manhole shortly after photo was taken

Postby redmanjp » September 21st, 2022, 7:13 pm

^ she ok?

Postby paid_influencer » September 21st, 2022, 7:59 pm

redmanjp wrote:^ she ok?

yea they said on news somebody rescued her. that was yesterday in Barrackpore

MoE today put out a notice to principals about adverse weather. Principal supposed to tell children not to walk in flood water and suppose to notify parents if school affected by floods.

Postby nervewrecker » September 21st, 2022, 8:24 pm

All where under water now?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 21st, 2022, 9:06 pm

Penal rock road and environs taking a beating atm

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » September 22nd, 2022, 10:31 am

South Oropouche river has burst its banks in a few place. Penal getting it hard this morning

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 22nd, 2022, 1:26 pm

River level chart Trinidad

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » September 22nd, 2022, 1:47 pm

Suchit tr and woodland getting washout

Postby sMASH » September 22nd, 2022, 1:53 pm

Musical Doc wrote:Suchit tr and woodland getting washout

that is like the major conduit from the barrakpore/penal/ debe basin, out to the south oropuche river.
there needs to be another major conduit. this one cant handle this capacity.
and, dont just run it to the south oropouche river, they should make another course, to carry it to the sea.
is jess too much water for these courses to handle

Postby MG Man » September 22nd, 2022, 2:09 pm

worst thing for residents there is all the stagnant flood water after long flooding subsides

Postby pugboy » September 22nd, 2022, 3:17 pm

river high by suchit trace but ok otherwise
it’s next few days they have to watch

Postby K74T » September 22nd, 2022, 3:21 pm

Suchit Trace as of 2:55 pm

FB_IMG_1663874445444.jpg

Postby pugboy » September 22nd, 2022, 3:26 pm

tide must be rising
i drove in there around 11 but left thru debe

Postby nervewrecker » September 22nd, 2022, 9:35 pm

sMASH wrote:

that is like the major conduit from the barrakpore/penal/ debe basin, out to the south oropuche river.
and, dont just run it to the south oropouche river, they should make another course, to carry it to the sea.
That's impossible with the minds we have. We don't have the vision, foresight or engineering capabilities to attempt such.

For now all we can do is increase cross sectional area by dredging and building leevees.

Hard part is a lot of these areas are actually under sea level. Only solution, and I might get licks for suggesting it, is dig. Create an area lower for collection of excess storm flow and treat it for water consumption. Implement a grey water system where it can be used for landscaping, flushiing toilets, washing yard, watering plants etc and anything where potability is not required. Will reduce demand on current infrastructure and resources at the same time.

Postby sMASH » September 22nd, 2022, 10:06 pm

sMASH wrote:

That's impossible with the minds we have. We don't have the vision, foresight or engineering capabilities to attempt such.

For now all we can do is increase cross sectional area by dredging and building leevees.

Hard part is a lot of these areas are actually under sea level. Only solution, and I might get licks for suggesting it, is dig. Create an area lower for collection of excess storm flow and treat it for water consumption. Implement a grey water system where it can be used for landscaping, flushiing toilets, washing yard, watering plants etc and anything where potability is not required. Will reduce demand on current infrastructure and resources at the same time.

i was thinking, let every body raise their lots by a 6ft... so at least the properties would be above water.
those places ARE flood plains. how they are flat is cause repetitive flooding over the eons. the problem is, humans that decide they building there the same level as the land.

Postby nervewrecker » September 22nd, 2022, 10:16 pm

Raising a house is not an easy feat. When everyone plays the blame game as to whose responsibility it is to solve the issue nothing will get done.

The masses seem to think that it's the government problem to solve so they can see it as an avenue to solve it and a few problems at once with the suggestion I made.

But you know how it goes. People like me and you don't have a say in decision making.

Postby sMASH » September 23rd, 2022, 6:18 pm

long time houses, used to jess be a 5 foot from the ground, some a 4 foot. i presume, is just to not be close to the wet, and the creatures coming out from the wet.
over time, people buy brick, cast and made that over sized crawl space, living accomodations, and get flood out all de time.

in the amazon, some places water rise to 30ft for the rainy season. the houses there are built on tall stilts and it becomes a boat town.

another idea i had as to carve out big channels and turn it into a water city, like Venice.

Postby nervewrecker » September 23rd, 2022, 6:37 pm

Where you get your weed? Sounds like good stuff.

Trinis have a mentality: out of sight, out of mind.

Everyone will plumb their septic system into it and will never put out garbage by the road again, ever. In no time the water black or dark green and stink. Then back to the government.....them have to fix it.

Take a drive around and take a look. See what I see.

Nobody builds elevated houses anymore. Those designs were from small Islanders that had cisterns underneath to store water. They just built what they know. Over the years people excavate under the house, block up and it become a habitat.

Postby timelapse » September 23rd, 2022, 7:59 pm

sMASH wrote:long time houses, used to jess be a 5 foot from the ground, some a 4 foot. i presume, is just to not be close to the wet, and the creatures coming out from the wet.
over time, people buy brick, cast and made that over sized crawl space, living accomodations, and get flood out all de time.

in the amazon, some places water rise to 30ft for the rainy season. the houses there are built on tall stilts and it becomes a boat town.

another idea i had as to carve out big channels and turn it into a water city, like Venice.
I've been to Venice.It smells like sheit

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 5th, 2022, 10:23 am

Parts of the emr in Grande, a couple schools in Grande as well

Flash flooding in St.Helena etc

Postby hover11 » October 5th, 2022, 10:31 am

St Augustine
FB_IMG_1664980264260.jpg