MEN’S HEALTH

randolphinshan

Re: MEN’S HEALTH

Postby randolphinshan » December 13th, 2020, 10:35 pm

zoom rader wrote:^^^ Well dem injun gal will rush for white sperm now.

Wrong again they want the BBC man one

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » December 18th, 2020, 2:28 am

Mental health should be just as important as physical health. It goes hand in hand and is often overlooked.

I think am too young to be having a mental breakdown like I did this morning. I haven't slept since Wednesday.

Whatever happened in the past you should forgive yourself and dont put blame others even if you know they failed you. Maybe you are regretting many missed opportunities or decisions you made in the past, which is now affecting your present and hitting you in all directions.

There will always be obstacles one after the other, It never ends until the day you die.

I overcame a tabanca a few weeks ago which made me stronger but there was other aspects to life I wasn't prepared to deal with. These lingered around for many years until it found a way out.

Its okay to admit to yourself that you are not fine. Dont be too hard on yourself.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » December 18th, 2020, 5:50 am

does high blood pressure tablets cause a dry cough ?

Postby 88sins » December 18th, 2020, 7:58 am

daring dragoon wrote:does high blood pressure tablets cause a dry cough ?

Depends on the medication and its mechanism of action. ACE inhibitors can have that effect.

Postby zoom rader » December 18th, 2020, 9:18 am

Repost for those that missed it

Limit your carb intake
Cut sugar out
Cut Fast foods
Stop smoking
Limit Alcohol
Work out everyday @ 30min minimum
More vegs and limit sugary fruits

Stay away from stressful peoole to limit mental health

Buss a nanny or jock to help keep your prostate under manners. Change your oil.

That's all you need to know about mens health.

No need to spend money to see doc or meds.

Postby timelapse » December 18th, 2020, 9:22 am

zoom rader wrote:Repost for those that missed it

Limit your carb intake
Cut sugar out
Cut Fast foods
Stop smoking
Limit Alcohol

Buss a nanny or jock to help keep your prostate under manners.

I on keto intermittantly.Works wonders

Postby zoom rader » December 18th, 2020, 9:25 am

timelapse wrote:

Limit your carb intake
Cut sugar out
Cut Fast foods
Stop smoking
Limit Alcohol

Yep it works

You loose a ton of weight , plus you can also do intermitant fasting to speed up the fat loss process

Postby De Dragon » December 19th, 2020, 9:59 pm

Limit your carb intake
Cut sugar out
Cut Fast foods
Stop smoking
Limit Alcohol

Went from 214 to 185 from 22nd August to Nov 2nd doing pretty much everything on that list, except the smoking part, as I'm a non-smoker. Presently at 180 and steady. You have to stay focused and it will come naturally after a while. Encouragement comes a lot from seeing the changes, and feeling better generally.

Postby zoom rader » December 19th, 2020, 10:51 pm

Limit your carb intake
Cut sugar out
Cut Fast foods
Stop smoking
Limit Alcohol

Went from 214 to 185 from 22nd August to Nov 2nd doing pretty much everything on that list, except the smoking part, as I'm a non-smoker. Presently at 180 and steady. You have to stay focused and it will come naturally after a while. Encouragement comes a lot from seeing the changes, and feeling better generally.
First week is the hardest and its mentality rought.

Your body goes into sugar and carb withdrawal.

You get headaches, sweats, dizziness.
After a few days you snap out of it. Your body now starts to use fat as fuel.
You burn pure fat and start to loose real fat.

Postby De Dragon » December 20th, 2020, 3:43 am

Limit your carb intake
Cut sugar out
Cut Fast foods
Stop smoking
Limit Alcohol

Actually, I went the cold turkey route. No gradual nothing, just pulled the trigger that day, and haven't stopped yet. NEVER put yourself into a regimen that is unsustainable in terms of diet,exercise or similar lifestyle change.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » December 20th, 2020, 11:01 am

timelapse wrote:

Limit your carb intake
Cut sugar out
Cut Fast foods
Stop smoking
Limit Alcohol

What kind of results you got and what period?

Postby timelapse » December 21st, 2020, 10:23 am

toyota2nr wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Limit your carb intake
Cut sugar out
Cut Fast foods
Stop smoking
Limit Alcohol

What kind of results you got and what period?

First time I did it, i lost 10 lbs in the first week.From my research, this was water weight.From the end of the second week, it was almost a lb a day in weight loss.I possibly could have gotten to ketosis a lot sooner if I had been eating MORE fat and lost weight faster.The first time I did it for 40 days.Do the math.

Each subsequent time, is about 1/2 lb to 1 lb a day in weight loss , once I reach ketosis.

My take on it, the internet can and will confuse people, too many people with too many ideas and a forum to vent.
My method was tailored to my eating habits without having to be constantly nerding out . Follow the KISS ( keep it simple, stupid) method and you will be fine.If you want more details, shoot a pm and I may be able to help. Again, too many people with opinions, and I fedup with having to be debating with nerds online and in real life. Offer open to anybody that wants help with keto on a Trini diet

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » December 21st, 2020, 2:31 pm

Anyone can lose weight initially the problem is nearly always keeping it off since that revolves around a lifestyle change being 50+lbs into my weight loss journey over the last 2yrs.

What applies to me may not necessarily apply to you since everyone is unique but this is what I have done.

*** MOST IMPORTANTLY *** Go to the doctor and get checked up including Blood work ... In getting checked up I uncovered issues which affected my diet which results in Keto not being appropriate for me i.e. potential to get gout. So I go vegan 4 days a week.

*** ALSO IMPORTANT *** Start with small changes if you change a lot of things initially more likely you are to fall back into old habits.

1. Reduce calories ... weight loss is 90% diet ... You need to be in a calorie deficit to lose weight a lb of fat is 3500 calories anyone losing 1lb in a day is counting water weight especially if they are on ketodiets since these deplete your glycogen stores which are retain alot of water. 1litre of water is 1kg (2.2lbs).

2. Exercise every day - My routine circuit weight train 3x's a week and am on a stationary bike everyday 2x's a day on weekends. Aerobics exercises your most important muscle your heart.

3. Reduce sugar ... I got a tremendous sweet tooth so I use substitutes at first stevia but I am now on Sucralose.

4. Weigh yourself every day 2x's in the morning and afternoon a persons weight fluctuates greatly daily depending on diet, stress and temperature.

Postby timelapse » December 22nd, 2020, 11:10 am

Limit your carb intake
Cut sugar out
Cut Fast foods
Stop smoking
Limit Alcohol

MamooZoom, Here's a cheat to avoid the keto flu Diafoomfoom.
Drink a Monster Zero (the White can) as soon as you start getting the headaches/lightheadedness. That caffiene/carnitine combo kicks you into fat burning faster and REALLY helps with the headaches. The sweats and dizziness can be helped by salt. A salty cucumber chow usually helps me with thats.
Once I starting back keto, I usually buy about 4 White monsters

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » December 22nd, 2020, 4:38 pm

timelapse wrote:

Limit your carb intake
Cut sugar out
Cut Fast foods
Stop smoking
Limit Alcohol

Yep it works

You loose a ton of weight , plus you can also do intermitant fasting to speed up the fat loss process

will loosing weight mean a person can come off HBP meds ?

Postby zoom rader » December 22nd, 2020, 6:00 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Limit your carb intake
Cut sugar out
Cut Fast foods
Stop smoking
Limit Alcohol

Yep it works

YES

BP , heart disease, and diabetes can be kept under control by simple low effort exercise.

30 mins walking everyday will work wonders.

But some doctors won't tell you this, they just want your money

Postby De Dragon » December 22nd, 2020, 9:37 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Limit your carb intake
Cut sugar out
Cut Fast foods
Stop smoking
Limit Alcohol

Yep it works

IMHO ONLY if your BP comes down to acceptable levels and ONLY under medical supervision.

Postby timelapse » December 23rd, 2020, 10:19 am

^ I've seen this happen with an older female coworker.Her HBP tablets were actually making her BP too low after she did keto for a month.Her doctor recommended that she could stay off her tablets,as long as she monitored it regularly.But yeah, it very possible ,but check your doctor, legit doctor, not Trevor Sayers and dem holistic/ayurvedic/herbs men kinda people. From personal experience and the few that I have influenced to try it, it drastically reduces acid reflux ( the rare flare up with me was caused by eating several cherry peppers in my salad).

Postby nervewrecker » December 24th, 2020, 10:56 pm

You know, we take mental health as a joke and the minute someone hear you have something related it means you mad or crazy.

I usually push myself hard and never relaise it will result in conflict when I expect everyone else to keep pace. Couldn't wrap my mind around why other people cant keep up and for once I met something I cant process or figure out. Used up massive mental resources and caused a lot of conflict inside.

Was having a talk about my future and things to come and someone overhead the convo. He pulled me aside afterwards and asked me if was ever diagnosed with anything. He said that he had been diagnosed with x,y or z and one of the results is that the way you react and process information deviates from the norm so its easy to be called crazy etc. It usually makes you creative and extra smart if you can use it. He was picking up on similarities between us.

Was looking at the trailer for the queens gambit and came across something called psychosis. Interesting read on it and how it can effect you. He did mention that whatever is causing the confusion clearly has been something that I have been using to my advantage. It can result from common things like ADD, ADHD, PTSD etc etc. If its origins was one of the aforementioned or something close, its amazing I got this far without self destructing or having any detrimental side effects. Whatever it is and however I managed to cope, it looks like I am able to manage so just focus myself and keep at it. He also reirteriated that I'm not alone in what I'm doing now and I have full support and backing.

That and the mini series "the queens gambit" is something to take in if you have the time. Doc told me keep my ass put for a few days and monitor myself so I making use of the free time. Tomorrow we will make the decision on if surgery is necessary. Nothing serious, should recover in a few hours.

Fun fact: OCD is a mental illness as well. So shout out my fellow mentally ill folks :lol:
Last edited by nervewrecker on December 24th, 2020, 11:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » December 24th, 2020, 10:59 pm

Another thing, prostate cancer is something very real. too much men wanna be manly man and not get checked out. It has no shame in being checked out and dont let your ego get the better of you and your health.

Just thought i'd mention it as my former boss (foreman) and mentor was talking about it sometime ago. He lost a peer to it.

Something else I learned about two days ago. Herpes can be hereditary and some people can be carriers. Close friend of mine mentioned that she may be a carrier. She has opted to not have children because she also has autoimmune and thats something that is known to be hereditary. She doing her part and make sure nobody suffers because of her selfishness in wanting offspring. Was a difficult pill for her husband to swallow but he respects her decision.

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » December 24th, 2020, 11:20 pm

randolphinshan wrote:
zoom rader wrote:^^^ Well dem injun gal will rush for white sperm now.

Wrong again they want the BBC man one

Big thing not so hot up, cant hide it, cant boast because everybody say they have eighters and women will believe it if they don't have a ruler with them, is problem for women who cant handle them, worst of all if your a shower or not flaccid your thing will touch the inside of the toilet bowl.

Postby De Dragon » December 25th, 2020, 9:09 am

daring dragoon wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Limit your carb intake
Cut sugar out
Cut Fast foods
Stop smoking
Limit Alcohol

Yep it works

YES

BP , heart disease, and diabetes can be kept under control by simple low effort exercise.

30 mins walking everyday will work wonders.

But some doctors won't tell you this, they just want your money

The trigger for my weight loss/exercise program was that I found my normally 120/80 ish BP had taken a sharp, unexplained, upward tick. Back down now, and I am keeping a log. This morning was 120/84 actually. No meds, because docs quick to put you on meds, without letting you explore natural methods.

Postby maj. tom » August 17th, 2022, 2:05 pm

I reading how this can randomly happen to your balls. It has a 6-hour window for correction by ER surgery or else your balls are dead. Be Aware. And educate your male children because it is most common just after birth and during puberty.

Testicular torsion

Testicular Torsion is when tissues around the testicle (also known as the "testis") are not attached well. This can cause the testes to twist around the spermatic chord. When this happens, it cuts off the blood flow to the testicle. It can cause pain and swelling, and should be treated as an emergency.

Testicular torsion often occurs several hours after vigorous activity, after a minor injury to the testicles or while sleeping. Cold temperature or rapid growth of the testicle during puberty also might play a role.

Risk factors
-Age. Testicular torsion is most common between ages 12 and 18.
-Previous testicular torsion. If you've had testicular pain that went away without treatment (intermittent torsion and detorsion), it's likely to occur again. The more frequent the bouts of pain, the higher the risk of testicular damage.
-Family history of testicular torsion. The condition can run in families.

Signs & Symptoms
Testicular torsion usually presents with severe testicular pain or pain in the groin and lower abdomen.[2] Pain generally begins suddenly and typically involves only one side.[6] There is often associated nausea and vomiting.[2] The testicle may lie higher in the scrotum due to twisting and subsequent shortening of the spermatic cord[6] or may be positioned in a horizontal orientation. Mild warmth and redness of the overlying area may be present. Elevation of the testicle may worsen the pain. Urinary symptoms, such as pain or increased frequency of urination are also typically absent.[7] Symptom onset often follows physical activity or trauma to the testes or scrotum. Children with testicular torsion may awaken with testicular or abdominal pain in the middle of the night or in the morning.[8] There may be a history of previous, similar episodes of scrotal pain due to prior transient testicular torsion with spontaneous resolution.[6]
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Testicular_torsion#Signs_and_symptoms

Spoiler: Diagrams of scrotum.

Postby 88sins » August 17th, 2022, 3:48 pm

Yes tom, testicular torsion is a serious condition, but on the plus side it is also actually entirely avoidable.

Postby maj. tom » August 13th, 2023, 8:07 pm

Well I just caught about 15 minutes of something on CNC3 called Carribean Medical TV.

It was an episode about Kidney Disease and interviews with advice from kidney specialist doctors across the Caribbean. It was really good and straight info from a clean source, no misinformation and facebook type opinions as far as I can tell. It wasn't advertising or pushing a product. I guess it's a regular Sunday evening presentation, and I hope to be tuning in next week to learn more on what the series has to offer.

Whoever produced and funded the project, kudos. This is exactly what we need to properly inform and educate the public on health issues.

Postby Dave » August 13th, 2023, 9:22 pm

It has been going on for a while now touching on various subjects. It's interesting and informative with feedback from our Caribbean and Guyana counterparts.

Postby MaxPower » August 13th, 2023, 9:40 pm

These days i easing off the flour and sugar…

That fast food out there is a killer.

Postby 88sins » August 14th, 2023, 8:42 pm

With the heat we seeing these days, just a little reminder to drink more water fellas. Your kidneys will thank you in the long run.

Postby pugboy » August 14th, 2023, 9:00 pm

yup, make sure your pee ain’t getting darker as day progresses

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 14th, 2023, 9:33 pm

These advices doesn't seem specific to men at all. Might as well just be a plain old health thread.