Re: OFFICIAL STOCK MARKET (TTSE) THREAD

Postby widdyphuck » December 17th, 2021, 10:31 am

snatman wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
snatman wrote:
pugboy wrote:20 to 1?

PariaMan wrote:Massy cross listing and splitting

20:1 makes it more accessible to Jamaican traders.

Currently no traders are offering Agostini or Massy shares for sale!!

Been harping here on Agostini for a while. Seemed a sure bet.

No sell orders on TOP means that no one wants to sell? not even through their broker? ? Before TOP, how would you know if there were sell orders?

No sell orders on TOP means that no one wants to sell? not even through their broker? ?
That is correct. At least not at prevailing prices.

Before TOP, how would you know if there were sell orders?
You would have had to ask your broker.
Shares in Trinidad ain't really liquid. Very slow also. You're better of with American shares.

Why waste time buying Local Shares when you get better results with mutual funds and have immediate liquidity?

Postby pugboy » December 17th, 2021, 10:41 am

i’ve owned massy since it was $1.79 in 1996

snatman

Postby snatman » December 17th, 2021, 10:51 am

pugboy wrote:i’ve owned massy since it was $1.79 in 1996

Legend!

I wish I had your patience. The amount of gainz i lost by being impatient. It makes me sick thinking about it. :cry:

Postby Redman » December 17th, 2021, 11:09 am

Mmoney607 wrote:
Redman wrote:Mmoney

Cross listing improves liquidity, by broadening the access that investors have to the stock.

Liquidity would temper some short term volatility as the more investors with varying and opposing views would smooth out price action.

Cross listing isn't good or bad in and of itself.

Yes TnT companies are buying it ttse and selling in the jse.

However be careful as there is significant costs and slippage inherent in the process
Local commissions,transfer fees,jse commissions,then fx conversion cost.
And keep price movement against you in mind as well as well.
Factor in time start to finish...

Costs can be as much as 15%
This is based on a corporate entity being advised to do this by a local broker....without disclosing the real costs.
When I broke it down the juice wasn't worth the squeeze to any one,except the broker and his 7 figure fees.

Sometimes it's the Shepherd that's eating his flock

Thanks regarding the buying tt and selling jse.

But isn't the cross listed stocks still trading at different prizes and different volumes on both exchanges? So how it making the stock more liquid?

Well the different prices are because of the 2 different markets....maybe the selling pressure is higher in JA.

the LIQUIDITY is a function of the number of participants in the market-and their relative size.

That means better price discovery in that the price at any time will be less distorted due to demand/supply imbalances.

Trinidad would have 100,000 market participants
Jamaica 300,000 participants.
A cross listed stock now has the aggregate of participants as prospective traders.
At any gven data point you would have more people in de ting.

Its an esoteric point.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 17th, 2021, 12:15 pm

wtf wrote:
snatman wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
snatman wrote:

No sell orders on TOP means that no one wants to sell? not even through their broker? ? Before TOP, how would you know if there were sell orders?

No sell orders on TOP means that no one wants to sell? not even through their broker? ?

Shares in Trinidad ain't really liquid. Very slow also. You're better of with American shares.

Why waste time buying Local Shares when you get better results with mutual funds and have immediate liquidity?

Is hard most people to get access to us dollars. Local Mutual funds have potential to give better returns than local stocks?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 17th, 2021, 12:16 pm

Redman wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

Cross listing improves liquidity, by broadening the access that investors have to the stock.

Liquidity would temper some short term volatility as the more investors with varying and opposing views would smooth out price action.

However be careful as there is significant costs and slippage inherent in the process

This is based on a corporate entity being advised to do this by a local broker....without disclosing the real costs.
When I broke it down the juice wasn't worth the squeeze to any one,except the broker and his 7 figure fees.

But isn't the cross listed stocks still trading at different prizes and different volumes on both exchanges? So how it making the stock more liquid?

Well the different prices are because of the 2 different markets....maybe the selling pressure is higher in JA.

the LIQUIDITY is a function of the number of participants in the market-and their relative size.

That means better price discovery in that the price at any time will be less distorted due to demand/supply imbalances.

A cross listed stock now has the aggregate of participants as prospective traders.

Its an esoteric point.

Oh I see. That's only relevant if you trading in both markets.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 17th, 2021, 1:13 pm

^Get vaccinated, then you get financial advice. Otherwise Salt

Postby Redman » December 17th, 2021, 3:45 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
Redman wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

Its an esoteric point.

Oh I see. That's only relevant if you trading in both markets.

I would say it is relevant to any one interested in transacting in a cross listed stock.
Whether you trading in one country or 5

With ANY investment it's your obligation to know how things work wrt to your assets.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 17th, 2021, 3:55 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
wtf wrote:
snatman wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
snatman wrote:

Is hard most people to get access to us dollars. Local Mutual funds have potential to give better returns than local stocks?
Yes mutual will give way better returns than buying you own shares because the mutual funds own foreign shares in the portfolio so you get returns from foreign companies and territories.
Also when you buy shares yourself, you pay fees.
Some local mutual funds are totally free to buy units.
Lastly you can Cash out of mutual fund anytime as liquidy is not an issue.
With your own shares you have to wait till someone purchases it at the price you set.

You're way better off putting your money in a mutual fund than buying your own shares.

Investing in Trinidad isn't like investing in America.

dogg

Postby dogg » December 17th, 2021, 4:30 pm

wtf wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
wtf wrote:
snatman wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
snatman wrote:

Yes mutual will give way better returns than buying you own shares because the mutual funds own foreign shares in the portfolio so you get returns from foreign companies and territories.
With your own shares you have to wait till someone purchases it at the price you set.

You're way better off putting your money in a mutual fund than buying your own shares.

There are literally dozens of mutual funds available locally and they all have fees as AFAIK. Which one(s) you referring to?

Postby Redman » December 17th, 2021, 5:08 pm

wtf wrote:

Wrong

All funds have charges ...whether disclosed or not.
Management fees, trading cost, directed execution agreements, which run whether it's performing or not
Funds are a business.

Really? :?

Most of this post is incorrect at best.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 19th, 2021, 12:54 pm

There is money to be made in the local stock market.

Just gotta be smart and patient

It's also much more interesting than just buying mutual funds and waiting

The online platform with reduced fees really takes it to another level.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 19th, 2021, 1:06 pm

dogg wrote:
wtf wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
wtf wrote:
snatman wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
snatman wrote:

There are literally dozens of mutual funds available locally and they all have fees as AFAIK. Which one(s) you referring to?
Nope. The ones I use have NO fees whatsoever.
And yes they are very reputable.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 19th, 2021, 1:09 pm

PariaMan wrote:There is money to be made in the local stock market.

Just gotta be smart and patient

It's also much more interesting than just buying mutual funds and waiting

The online platform with reduced fees really takes it to another level.
Yes you will make money.
But the big money is not on the local markets.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 19th, 2021, 1:10 pm

Redman wrote:
wtf wrote:

Wrong

All funds have charges ...whether disclosed or not.
Management fees, trading cost, directed execution agreements, which run whether it's performing or not
Funds are a business.

Really? :?

Most of this post is incorrect at best.
Ok well good luck picking your winning stocks on the local market.
Lmao.

Postby Redman » December 19th, 2021, 3:47 pm

Well it isn't either or.

Mutual funds vs stocks is akin to Cars vs motor bikes

Pros and cons and all that, both still operate on the same path, in the same environment.

snatman

Postby snatman » December 19th, 2021, 4:04 pm

wtf wrote:
dogg wrote:
wtf wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
wtf wrote:
snatman wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
snatman wrote:

Nope. The ones I use have NO fees whatsoever.
And yes they are very reputable.

There isn't a mutual fund in the world without fees. You think managing funds is charity work??

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 19th, 2021, 8:50 pm

The mutual funds I use do not carry any load charge. This is unlike other mutual funds in the market which carry front end or back end load charges.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 19th, 2021, 9:25 pm

wtf wrote:The mutual funds I use do not carry any load charge. This is unlike other mutual funds in the market which carry front end or back end load charges.

What's the names of the funds?

Rockram

Postby Rockram » December 20th, 2021, 5:19 am

wtf wrote:The mutual funds I use do not carry any load charge. This is unlike other mutual funds in the market which carry front end or back end load charges.

There are always fees my friend, in the investment game risk is linked to reward and parking your cash in a boring mutual fund has little risk so....I've invested in both and have seen far superior returns in the local market.

Postby Redman » December 20th, 2021, 7:53 am

So how is the business run?

wtf they paying their bills with?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 20th, 2021, 8:36 am

Redman wrote:

There will obviously be fees but you don't pay for it personally.

When depositing cash you aren't charged a fee.

When withdrawing you aren't charged either.

Is that considered free?

dogg

Postby dogg » December 20th, 2021, 9:23 am

wtf wrote:
Redman wrote:

Is that considered free?

You're a bit naive in basic finance. Get someone who knows what they're doing to look at your finances. You must be bleeding money you're not aware of.

Those kinds of funds that promise zero fees are usually the ones charging the most. They more than likely charge 2-5% a year on the value of the fund whether the fund does well or not.

You can't go through life being so uninformed on these financial basics.

Postby Redman » December 20th, 2021, 3:43 pm

wtf wrote:
Redman wrote:

Is that considered free?

So you've gone from no fees whatsoever to impersonal fees.

Which are these local funds you're using?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 21st, 2021, 9:32 am

Massy really on the move ! Dividend, split and cross list probably driving it upwards

That 2.30 per share is very attractive

If NGL Dividend goes any thing close to the 1.50 per share in 2019 expect a similar rush.

Allocate your money for the FCB APO as well as the the TTMF IPO that due next year

Was talking to a guy at TTMF and he said the actively working on it

Postby Redman » December 21st, 2021, 9:36 am

The chair of the ttse is probably the best they've had in a while.
Changes are in train...and they will actively encourage new companies to list.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 21st, 2021, 9:49 am

That on line trading platform moved up from the dark ages

It was really very cumbersome to trade before

snatman

Postby snatman » December 21st, 2021, 9:55 am

PariaMan wrote:Massy really on the move ! Dividend, split and cross list probably driving it upwards

That 2.30 per share is very attractive

If NGL Dividend goes any thing close to the 1.50 per share in 2019 expect a similar rush.

Allocate your money for the FCB APO as well as the the TTMF IPO that due next year

Was talking to a guy at TTMF and he said the actively working on it

Massy's been paying reasonable dividends at a low PE for years.
I Never understood why it lagged for so long. Esp when compared to AnsaMcal and its high ratios.
In saying that, It might be a good idea to get out closer to the cross listing date, since even now, it could be overvalued.

What's the deal with FCB? Is there an acquisition baked in to the current price?

I'm keeping a keen eye on UCL now that they're profitable once more. They recently divested their tea business to another subsidiary within Unilever, so there MIGHT be an extra dividend come Q4.

Postby pugboy » December 22nd, 2021, 7:53 am

yeah I think ppl are buying/driving up massy in anticipation, some crazy speculative buying

massy and rbl have been consistent dividends for me, thank god esp in these times.

I just tried to login to my stockex account and as usual I cannot get in, they have some ridiculous hard password policies and I always cannot remember it, this time I wrote it down and it still doesnt work and even worse the ENTIRE website is locked out to
me including the regular front page. cant even click on the lost password link
steups

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 22nd, 2021, 1:56 pm

Never had any problems . Save my password on Google and use secret questions that are straight facts
pugboy wrote:yeah I think ppl are buying/driving up massy in anticipation, some crazy speculative buying

massy and rbl have been consistent dividends for me, thank god esp in these times.

I just tried to login to my stockex account and as usual I cannot get in, they have some ridiculous hard password policies and I always cannot remember it, this time I wrote it down and it still doesnt work and even worse the ENTIRE website is locked out to
me including the regular front page. cant even click on the lost password link
steups