Giant African Snail?

Re: Giant African Snail?

Postby Redman » August 25th, 2021, 11:54 am

How bad is the DEADLINE for dogs?-we have dogs-and Im starting to see snails around

Postby Rovin » August 25th, 2021, 11:54 am

u know i now paying attention to whats on d package , METALDEHYDE is indeed d active ingredient only 4% of d total content so imagine how deadly that chemical is to dem snails

i do recall that exact chemical being mentioned online when i googled it few days ago

its a fair amt of grass & plants in d yard so i gonna buy another bag & sprinkled in areas i didnt b4 , i want dem fuggers gone asap b4 i end up with plenty like some ppl ...

Postby Rovin » August 25th, 2021, 12:00 pm

Redman wrote:How bad is the DEADLINE for dogs?-we have dogs-and Im starting to see snails around

there is a ph no for d distributor on pic of d bag i posted .... or google shud have d answer too :|

Postby timelapse » August 25th, 2021, 1:00 pm

What are the signs of metaldehyde poisoning?
The signs of metaldehyde poisoning are dubbed “shake and bake” because animals may have severe tremors or seizures and an alarmingly elevated body temperature. Signs of poisoning are generally seen within a few minutes to up to three hours after ingestion. Early signs may include drooling, vomiting, panting, and anxiety which can progress to include depression, a wobbly gait, or the characteristic muscle tremors, seizures, and hyperthermia. The high body temperature may cause damage to internal organs. Severe cases can result in the animal becoming comatose. Rapid, flicking eye movements (nystagmus) may also occur, especially in cats.

If left untreated, or if the pet has a poor response to treatment, respiratory failure and death can occur. Sadly, some pets that survive these initial signs develop liver failure two to three days after ingestion.

Postby sMASH » August 25th, 2021, 1:48 pm

i havent seen our dogs eat snails. the few posts i saw with teh bait, they had animals around and it wasnt a problem with them being interested in the snails or bait.
so, coud put out some, and observe the animals to ensure they not interested in teh snail or the bait. once they not bothered by it, u good to go. if they do seem to be interested, then u either stop them or dont use the bait.
the people went the next day to collect the dead snails.

Postby Redman » August 26th, 2021, 9:28 am

Ok guys Thank you for the info- We havent seen many snails by us- one a month if so much- I usually pelt it on the road-invariable a car crushes it.

Postby MG Man » August 26th, 2021, 10:47 am

Redman wrote:Ok guys Thank you for the info- We havent seen many snails by us- one a month if so much- I usually pelt it on the road-invariable a car crushes it.

dude don't do that
that snail mush has eggs and now you have cars carrying eggs all over the place and spreading the problem

Postby Redman » August 26th, 2021, 11:26 am

Redman wrote:Ok guys Thank you for the info- We havent seen many snails by us- one a month if so much- I usually pelt it on the road-invariable a car crushes it.

dude don't do that
that snail mush has eggs and now you have cars carrying eggs all over the place and spreading the problem

Yep that will stop.

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » August 27th, 2021, 12:49 pm

Just saw this on the book of faces
Screenshot_20210827-124555_Facebook.jpg

Postby Rovin » August 27th, 2021, 2:37 pm

ermagad

dem ting really all over , i hope she eh embarrass d ppl dem where she buy it from cause they cud be innocent retailers not knowing in between d seasoning they there ...

Postby bluefete » August 27th, 2021, 5:54 pm

Postby 88sins » August 28th, 2021, 8:52 am

Well, they are called "GIANT" African snails eh.
So that one living up to his name

Postby *KRONIK* » August 28th, 2021, 9:44 am

So....
How big can they actually get?

And whats the biggest anyone has seen locally?

Postby timelapse » August 28th, 2021, 10:10 am

*KRONIK* wrote:So....
How big can they actually get?

And whats the biggest anyone has seen locally?
Abou 5-6 inches -shell alone

Postby Kenjo » August 28th, 2021, 5:00 pm

bluefete wrote:Not sure if photochop but ...

https://www.facebook.com/Africanhistory ... 050065774/

This pic on the internet years now though

DTAC

Postby DTAC » August 28th, 2021, 7:06 pm

That is first world people thing. Keeping it as a pet. Anything big enough to cook and Trinis don't catch and eat needs to be ERADICATED AT ALL COSTS!!!

Postby timelapse » August 28th, 2021, 10:00 pm

DTAC wrote:That is first world people thing. Keeping it as a pet. Anything big enough to cook and Trinis don't catch and eat needs to be ERADICATED AT ALL COSTS!!!
Some skunt up north thought that one would be great as a pet.Then it escaped

Postby RedVEVO » August 29th, 2021, 12:02 am

DTAC wrote:That is first world people thing. Keeping it as a pet. Anything big enough to cook and Trinis don't catch and eat needs to be ERADICATED AT ALL COSTS!!!

That is first world people thing. Keeping it as a pet. Anything big enough to curry and Trinis don't catch and eat needs to be ERADICATED AT ALL COSTS!!!

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 29th, 2021, 9:11 am

RedVEVO wrote:

That is first world people thing. Keeping it as a pet. Anything big enough to curry and Trinis don't catch and eat needs to be ERADICATED AT ALL COSTS!!!

What about cats, rats, bats, it all falls under your logic there.

Postby *KRONIK* » October 28th, 2021, 6:27 pm

So i found one in my yard today

I hit him a clorox and salt soak

Postby 88sins » October 28th, 2021, 6:38 pm

Gee hee fyaahz bai
Fuh real, bun dat. Bleach and salt may not kill all the eggs

Postby *KRONIK* » October 28th, 2021, 7:17 pm

88sins wrote:Gee hee fyaahz bai
Boi
I say if i find more
I go have to do that
But i monitoring to see if more around
I hoping this was an isolated incident

Postby MG Man » October 29th, 2021, 11:10 am

I feel my asshoal neighbour pelting the ones from his yaad across by me. Zero little ones, and then BAM, randomly 3 big ones will show up, with none along the roadside to indicate they coming from somewhere

Postby pugboy » October 29th, 2021, 12:29 pm

so u didn’t pelt them back?

Postby MG Man » October 29th, 2021, 1:24 pm

nah I poisoned their cat instead....itshits in my yaad and rips up my garbage

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » October 29th, 2021, 1:36 pm

This giant Snail doing the worst damage right now.
PM Keith Rowley_New Image.jpg

Postby *KRONIK* » October 29th, 2021, 2:09 pm

Just found another
Was dead tho
Shell was empty
But same size as the one from yesterday

Postby Dizzy28 » October 29th, 2021, 2:58 pm

MG Man wrote:nah I poisoned their cat instead....itshits in my yaad and rips up my garbage

You getting old............I expected you would have shat in their yard and rip up their rubbish in retaliation

dogg

Postby dogg » October 29th, 2021, 4:26 pm

There's always more.

Killing individual ones does nothing.

You'll need to treat the entire area with a metaldehyde based bait.

*KRONIK* wrote:
88sins wrote:Gee hee fyaahz bai
Boi
I say if i find more
I go have to do that
But i monitoring to see if more around
I hoping this was an isolated incident

Postby j.o.e » October 29th, 2021, 5:42 pm

Are these snails very common in central? I’m from south but bought a property in central and the developer was telling me he’s having a battle. I don’t think I ever really heard any talk in south.