Giant African Snail?

Re: Giant African Snail?

Postby pugboy » July 1st, 2022, 3:15 pm

i using them pellets right now for slugs licking up my hydroponics and i find it doesn’t kill them fast

dogg

Postby dogg » July 1st, 2022, 3:18 pm

high concentration saltwater kills individual ones quickly.

The pellets worked well for me. I suddenly began seeing 10-20 of them in my backyard daily. The pellets got rid of them in a week or two.

I still throw some around every so often to make sure they don't come back.

Postby j.o.e » July 1st, 2022, 7:15 pm

Saw about 4 yesterday for the first time in a long while. Back to pellets

Postby nervewrecker » July 2nd, 2022, 4:36 am

Didn't aussie find use for the cane toad carcass as fertilizer?

Postby Kenjo » July 2nd, 2022, 6:28 am

With all these pellets and sprays , what you guys doing about your dogs in the yard ?last year my neighbour said they had reached st joseph a few blocks away so I’m anxiously awaiting

Postby pugboy » July 2nd, 2022, 6:43 am

florida had a comprehensive eradication program and got rid of them twice in the past
so it is not impossible

Postby Chimera » July 2nd, 2022, 7:02 am

pugboy wrote:florida had a comprehensive eradication program and got rid of them twice in the past
so it is not impossible
It's impossible now. Too widespread.
Ministry is only giving advice now.

To control this everyone has to spend $$ and time to stop it...continuously.
And then the people who don't have plants or crops don't really care about it so it will multiply in their yards.

With the last couple weeks rain they real multiply

Postby Kenjo » July 2nd, 2022, 7:06 am

The entire urban legend of the ‘ chef’ who this originated from is so annoying . He probably happy as ever and causing so much economic pain . And then some clowns always complain when customs confiscate live plants and animals. People always trying to circumvent proper channels

Postby Chimera » July 2nd, 2022, 7:11 am

They had detector dogs....and look how comprehensive their plan was.....but.....
Screenshot_20220702-070527_Chrome.jpg
Screenshot_20220702-070456_Chrome.jpg

Postby Chimera » July 2nd, 2022, 7:11 am

Look they have it again
Screenshot_20220702-071012_Facebook.jpg
Screenshot_20220702-071006_Facebook.jpg

Postby *KRONIK* » July 2nd, 2022, 7:33 am

So, i thought i had it under control
Residential area
So i started picking up those i can see
I have a old pot with clorox in the yard and a old tongs, so as fast as i see, i pick up and leave in the clorox
I would empty this once per week.

I also stared using the bait, i noticed a lot if mid sized ones would be found dead scattered all over.
After a few weeks of this
I stopped seeing any
So i thought it was gone

Just so, after a heavy rain shower, i see a whole set of babies all in my shadowbeni pot.
I used a tweezer and picked them off and put them in clorox.

Now i start seeing some big ones again.

I think they came in some coconut husks my aunt bought for her orchids.
But i is the jackass who hadda spend all the time and money to protect my small garden.

I told her about it, lo and behold i come home and meet another 2 bags of coconut.
Since then, i start seeing more around
So its back to clorox and bait.

Postby timelapse » July 2nd, 2022, 7:39 am

My ducks or geese don't give them a chance.I just find empty shells

Postby *KRONIK* » July 2nd, 2022, 8:06 am

timelapse wrote:My ducks or geese don't give them a chance.I just find empty shells
Daiz rel zess

If i coulda leggo them ting here...i woulda

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 2nd, 2022, 8:25 am

What are you all doing about the lizard invasion? There are way too man lizards around the house these past few years.

Postby maj. tom » July 2nd, 2022, 8:44 am

There is no lizard invasion. Your house is full of insects which they keep in check. Those house geckos are a blessing or else you would be finding cockroaches and other bugs everywhere.

Postby pugboy » July 2nd, 2022, 8:46 am

its an italian guy, he still living in alyce glen and shoulda make a jail

Kenjo wrote:The entire urban legend of the ‘ chef’ who this originated from is so annoying . He probably happy as ever and causing so much economic pain . And then some clowns always complain when customs confiscate live plants and animals. People always trying to circumvent proper channels

Postby pugboy » July 2nd, 2022, 8:48 am

yeah it requires a monumental effort by everybody, but they do pay ppl to go around doing rat poison distribution for free and mosquito work

no reason why those same ppl can go sprinkle/handout pellets once/twice a month to peg them back
but it will be impossible to remove in large bush areas so will eventually just migrate back to housing areas.

if a 1% had a contract for supply of pellets you would see a lot more effort.

Phone Surgeon wrote:
pugboy wrote:florida had a comprehensive eradication program and got rid of them twice in the past
so it is not impossible
It's impossible now. Too widespread.
Ministry is only giving advice now.

To control this everyone has to spend $$ and time to stop it...continuously.
And then the people who don't have plants or crops don't really care about it so it will multiply in their yards.

With the last couple weeks rain they real multiply

Postby nervewrecker » July 2nd, 2022, 8:58 am

DMan7 wrote:What are you all doing about the lizard invasion? There are way too man lizards around the house these past few years.
Cats....

lizards I don't mind, but I have a bird problem.

These birds does swarm the cats and mess on my door handles. They have mastered the art of messing under the door handle now.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 2nd, 2022, 8:59 am

DMan7 wrote:What are you all doing about the lizard invasion? There are way too man lizards around the house these past few years.
Cats....

These birds does swarm the cats and mess on my door handles. They have mastered the art of messing under the door handle now.

Then what you going to do about the cat problem? :lol:

matix

Postby matix » July 2nd, 2022, 10:27 am

Cats....

under the door handle you say

Postby pugboy » July 2nd, 2022, 10:47 am

behind paintings and clocks hanging on the wall
have poop dripping down

Postby *KRONIK* » July 2nd, 2022, 10:49 am

I noticed this also,
Whole MC evening "keek, keek, keek, keek"

Postby *KRONIK* » July 2nd, 2022, 10:49 am

Soap water does deal with them

Postby Rovin » July 2nd, 2022, 10:52 am

timelapse wrote:Car pain thinner in a spray bottle works the fastest.Just a tiny bit makes them sizzle

i did learn about that lacquer thinner from u , like it cooks them up 1time instant death

normal oil paint thinners dont seem to harm them ...

Postby Rovin » July 2nd, 2022, 10:53 am

if u have 1 or 2 cats around they will lick up dem house lizards & any other small lizards they find ... they doh eat it jes kill it for fun & leave it

Postby Chimera » July 2nd, 2022, 11:47 am

Lizard does eat seedlings and fruit flowers as well?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 2nd, 2022, 12:29 pm

It has some Lizards that does challenge cat and dog.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 2nd, 2022, 2:25 pm

What is the brand of pellet that works on the GAS?

Postby nervewrecker » July 2nd, 2022, 2:51 pm

DMan7 wrote:
Cats....

Then what you going to do about the cat problem?
Pet them, spoil them rotten.

Nothing allowed in here with these cats I have. They very efficient.

But these birds, they different yes.

Postby j.o.e » July 2nd, 2022, 4:10 pm

IMG_5194.JPG

This is the one i use. Insides turn to a pile of dust