Giant African Snail?

Postby redmanjp » July 25th, 2019, 10:06 pm

We found this snail in an old mop bucket in our back yard-is it the Giant African snail?

IMG-20190725-WA0000.jpg
Last edited by redmanjp on July 25th, 2019, 11:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: What snail is this?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 25th, 2019, 10:21 pm

yup GAS......soak it in salt to kill

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » July 25th, 2019, 10:25 pm

it looks like the giant African snail
They cook it in Africa
loads of street vendors sell it side the road like how we sell doubles

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Achatina_fulica

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 25th, 2019, 10:45 pm

OP better get slug and snail bait because where there is 1 there are many more

Postby redmanjp » July 25th, 2019, 10:48 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:yup GAS......soak it in salt to kill

I'll try bleach-- how long should I leave it for though? The Land & Fisheries website says to burn it after otherwise it lays eggs when you try to kill it

Postby redmanjp » July 25th, 2019, 10:54 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:OP better get slug and snail bait because where there is 1 there are many more

mom saw some strange worms close by that look like pupae a week ago but didn't know what it was - only saw the snail today

Postby redmanjp » July 25th, 2019, 10:55 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:it looks like the giant African snail
They cook it in Africa

well i just read it spreads meningitis so i'll pass

Postby redmanjp » July 25th, 2019, 10:57 pm

So it's a notifiable pest so we sent an email to snailreport@gmail.com but it was already after 4pm so I guess we have to wait till morning to see what they say

Postby pugboy » July 25th, 2019, 11:02 pm

Once grilled well at temps over 140f
All pathogens killed

redmanjp wrote:
hong kong phooey wrote:it looks like the giant African snail
They cook it in Africa

well i just read it spreads meningitis so i'll pass

Re: Giant African Snail?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 26th, 2019, 12:21 am

crushing it is also an option before bagging and burning.

Postby SMc » July 26th, 2019, 3:05 am

I haven't seen one of them in a long time- used to have plenty at home before they built up the area

Postby rspann » July 26th, 2019, 7:05 am

I opened this thread expecting news about Marlene and Burkee.

Postby pugboy » July 26th, 2019, 7:26 am

We not seeing she
Lie she crawl under a rock

Postby nervewrecker » July 26th, 2019, 7:29 am

huh, I learned something new today. A lot of these does be around

Nexus

Postby Nexus » July 26th, 2019, 7:42 am

Have some experience fighting these pest.
Fortunately, agriculture test batches ever so often and none have so far tested positive for the bacteria that causes meningitis.
They apparently were introduced by an Italian dude living up deigo; he was keeping them for consumption and because they breed so voraciously he released them in his yard and they have now spread alllll over.
To kill them, salt water sprayed on them, or drop them in a bucket with salt water and some bleach. If its bad, you might want to purchase some snail bait from an agri store - anything with Metaldheyde (but be careful as this is toxic to pets) and sprinkle around your yard, especially anywhere that is cool, like leaf litter and the corners of walls etc. They will die in a few days, collect and burn or call agriculture, see if they will come to collect.
Its best to eliminate them from where they would tend to live, so dark cool places, under leaf litter, debris etc. They are mostly nocturnal and would return to these spots in the day. They also I believe can go underground and remain dormant when it is dry and when rains start back up they will return in mass.
If you need plenty of the bait or at a much cheaper price, try the supplier in charlieville, Provar something.

Postby maj. tom » July 26th, 2019, 8:24 am

what area you from OP? Wondering how far south these buggers reached in the country so far.

assassin

Postby assassin » July 26th, 2019, 8:38 am

Also put on gloves before touching them or the secretions

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » July 26th, 2019, 8:56 am

assassin wrote:Also put on gloves before touching them or the secretions

why? for the meningitis?

Postby pugboy » July 26th, 2019, 9:27 am

But ent ppl eating tattoo which carries leprosy?

Postby hydroep » July 26th, 2019, 9:46 am

Good to know when food becomes too expensive people eh go starve...:|

Postby redmanjp » July 26th, 2019, 11:14 am

wake up this morning and d ting gone oui. looked around the yard but no sign of it

Postby pugboy » July 26th, 2019, 11:50 am

Yuh expected it to stay in the open container?

cornfused

Postby cornfused » July 26th, 2019, 1:58 pm

I have been trying to control these for more than a year. Calls to the MOH have yielded nothing.

Two methods have been effective.

1. Spread the salt. Salt as in raw salt kills them instantly. As the flesh comes into contact with salt it's over.

2. Black Disinfectant. A diluted solution and a spray bottle and its extermination party.

Generally, I have killed 30-40 every 48 hours for the last year and some

HSA

Postby HSA » July 26th, 2019, 2:33 pm

have them plentiful in cunupia. they are very interesting animals. they are asexual. no need to mate to reproduce. they can even seal themselves in the shell for dry periods and turn their body into eggs. been dealing with them for 2 years+. they come out especially at full moon and during wet periods.

Postby redmanjp » July 26th, 2019, 4:40 pm

cornfused wrote:I have been trying to control these for more than a year. Calls to the MOH have yielded nothing.

1. Spread the salt. Salt as in raw salt kills them instantly. As the flesh comes into contact with salt it's over.

2. Black Disinfectant. A diluted solution and a spray bottle and its extermination party.

what do you use for bait? I suspect he just hiding somewhere

Postby *KRONIK* » July 26th, 2019, 4:58 pm

This so interesting....

Postby rspann » July 26th, 2019, 8:33 pm

Recipe please.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 26th, 2019, 8:35 pm

cornfused wrote:I have been trying to control these for more than a year. Calls to the MOH have yielded nothing.

You calling the wrong ministry. Its Agriculture that deals with them and they have spread so much all over the country the baiting program was scaled down.

Postby pugboy » July 26th, 2019, 8:40 pm

Salt may not be good for soil long term

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » July 26th, 2019, 11:54 pm

Any body thinking of the snails rights ?