Giant African Snail?

Re: Giant African Snail?

Postby *KRONIK* » January 14th, 2023, 12:25 pm

maj. tom wrote:btw I last sprayed round the beginning of December. No snails have been around really maybe 2 at most I've seen. The rainfall is what makes spraying the Thiodicarb ineffective. With the place getting dry, it's working just as expected.
Yes
Even with the bait/pellets, i noticed they were kinda reviving with rainfall, so i start choosing sheltered areas to put the bait.

But they fraid sun bad, i notice this

Postby Chimera » January 14th, 2023, 12:56 pm

Yea they does hide from the sun.

I was running some drip irrigation this morning preparing for dry season....started about 530 am....plenty snails by me....I had stop spraying thiovin since I get firetruck up by it but I feel ill have to hire someone to spray it again

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 14th, 2023, 1:01 pm

Anyone else thinking the government running a scam by collecting these snails and buying them cheaply to then export them for a high cost for product which are manufactured using these snails?

Postby pugboy » January 14th, 2023, 1:14 pm

thiovin poisoning?

Phone Surgeon wrote:Yea they does hide from the sun.

I was running some drip irrigation this morning preparing for dry season....started about 530 am....plenty snails by me....I had stop spraying thiovin since I get firetruck up by it but I feel ill have to hire someone to spray it again

Postby Chimera » January 14th, 2023, 1:36 pm

yeah bai

i spraying early a morning and it blow back on me.....
whole day half my face numb and feeling sick

i stop spraying it since, does only mix it with food scraps and put it out for them

Postby maj. tom » January 14th, 2023, 1:40 pm

Earlier in the thread didn't I warn you all about how to handle this chemical?
Go by the doctor if you feeling sick. May have some kind of tablet that binds to the poison so it can pass through your liver.

In addition to all the safety gear, wear a cap too to protect your head from spray. Wash clothes in machine as soon as you're done and bathe.

Postby Chimera » January 14th, 2023, 2:00 pm

lol i accustom to spraying paraquat/gramaxone/roundup in rubber slippers/short pants/ old jersey

but that thiovin is sum else

Postby Rovin » January 14th, 2023, 2:37 pm

has anybody in d govt really thought about d economics of this $5\kg, is it feasible & then spend more $ for d "proper" disposal of it ... i feel its usual well throw $ at d problem plaster on a sore approach to pretend they care to keep d natives quiet as though they really doing something about it, maybe they shud of given out snail bait & thiovin

Postby Chimera » January 14th, 2023, 2:39 pm

Proper disposal is just throw in a pile ans dose them with gas and light up they mc tho

Postby Rovin » January 14th, 2023, 2:40 pm

throw gas on d gas ...

Postby *KRONIK* » January 15th, 2023, 7:12 pm

IMG-20230115-WA0063.jpg

Well i want to dedddd here

ROFL

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » January 15th, 2023, 9:38 pm

Hahahahahaha i feel they could’ve up the price a bit tho. Would give some pipers a lil side hustle

Postby pugboy » January 17th, 2023, 7:47 am

Postby Rovin » January 17th, 2023, 12:16 pm

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... Op1OTEhKCo

THE race to capture the giant African snail (GAS) is on.

Since the Ministry of Agriculture announced its initiative to eradicate the snails through its bounty system, which offers a reward for the capture and submission of the pests, there has been keen interest in people taking up the opportunity to bag $5 per kilogramme (2.2 pounds).

The ministry’s bounty system, which pays people to collect and deliver the snails - dead, alive or in shell form - has been a hot topic on various social media platforms.

read d rest in d link

only 2wks to "catch them all" .... 3mil

in d beginning of dry season too

dem scrap ironmen who eh have no wuk coulda make a 2wks hustle ...

Postby pugboy » January 17th, 2023, 3:39 pm

So they budget 2 weeks to give out $3m
And we know ministries doh ever like to give back budgeted amounts…..

Postby matr1x » January 17th, 2023, 4:39 pm

People will not be paid.

Postby goalpost » January 17th, 2023, 8:29 pm

About five people in d ministry hadda sign that payment voucher for $5 and den dey go cut a cheque, lol

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 17th, 2023, 8:30 pm

matr1x wrote:People will not be paid.
Hummuch snail in ah kg? Average..... 900-1000 per $100.00? Alyuh really feel credible payments will be made?

This whole place is 'eat-ah-food'.

Postby maj. tom » January 18th, 2023, 9:01 am

Man almost loses hand after contact with African Snail
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/man-almost-loses-hand-after-contact-with-african-snail-6.2.1611648.30763b4952

Days after a $5 bounty was announced for the Giant African Snail, a woman is warning people to be careful after her husband had to undergo surgery to save his hand after coming into contact with a snail while cleaning the yard at his home late last year.

Guardian Media was told that on December 29, Youksee was cleaning his yard at Achong Trace, Tunapuna, when his hand accidentally touched one of the snails.

His wife, Gwendy, said his hand began itching shortly after and then swelling.

“It start to swell, it lancing him. I put it in warm salt water and let him dip it. I squeezing up his hand and then after that, the thing just start to keep swelling. He couldn’t move his fingers, it just keep swelling and swelling.”

Gwendy said her husband went through a lot of pain over the past few days and was glad to have him back home with their children and their grandchildren yesterday. “The doctors had to gash it so that it wouldn’t reach his tissues to cause more damage. He is home now but we got a paper to take him to the health centre for dressing every day and we are very concerned and want the doctors to keep him in close check because we don’t want him to contract meningitis.”

Gwendy also had a stern warning for members of the public who saw her husband’s story on a social media thread, saying he did not want the five dollars.

“This happened way before the bounty was announced and people should stop joking on people’s lives. This is no joke. This is serious thing. My husband could have lost his hand,” she said.

“My husband knew how to pick up the snails because he did it many times before. Our area is festered and it is just my husband accidentally touched the snail and its slime caused the infection,” she added.

If there is any tiny wound or laceration on your hands where the slime makes contact, that's how the parasite gets into your blood. There can be many of these microscopic parasites in a centimeter of the snail's slime.

"Another one of the pathways you get this disease - inadvertently eating a slug in lettuce or something like that. You can have a tiny slug that's just a couple of millimetres long and that could be infested with thousands of worms. And if you don't carefully wash your lettuce, you would swallow those worms."

This species often harbors the parasitic nematode Angiostrongylus cantonensis, which can cause a very serious meningitis in humans. Human cases of this meningitis usually result from a person having eaten the raw or undercooked snail, but even handling live wild snails of this species can infect a person with the nematode, thus causing a life-threatening infection. Symptoms range from headaches to tingling, numbness and involuntary flexing of muscles. In severe cases, sufferers may go into coma and die.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lissachatina_fulica

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 18th, 2023, 9:19 am

W T A F.

Postby hover11 » January 18th, 2023, 9:22 am

If ppl stupid enough to get meningitis over small money let them, Government happy , I hope ppl know Government not compensating for injuries sustained

Postby adnj » January 18th, 2023, 9:49 am

Snail's rat lungworm? Doubtful - unless he licked his fingers right after.

Sharp pain quickly followed by excessive localized swelling? That sounds exactly like an allergic reaction from a fire ant bite, ground wasp sting, etc. Both are known to scavenge dead animals.

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2023, 10:57 am

how come nobody ask if he had covee vaccine and which one?
maybe mrna conflict with meningitis

Postby adnj » January 18th, 2023, 11:12 am

Maybe if he had continued to take ivermectin, he never would have gotten sick.

Postby Chimera » January 18th, 2023, 11:31 am

Lol the slime does really cause a dred reaction to your skin.

I have some thick rubber gloves I use to pick them up. Use to use disposable gloves but the gloves use to melt and fall apart while touching the snails.

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2023, 12:02 pm

i see ppl have them as pets and handling them barehanded

Postby adnj » January 18th, 2023, 12:08 pm

I believe that I saw some post here mention snails as a skin treatment. I never heard of anything highly caustic in snail mucus.

Postby meccalli » January 18th, 2023, 1:43 pm

pugboy wrote:i see ppl have them as pets and handling them barehanded

Exactly, but they're not crawling around in some nasty drain filled with who knows what, they guy got an infection, you can have the same outcome from getting pricked with something that has infectious bacteria on it.
And yes, snail mucin is purposefully extracted now to use for skin enhancement products.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 18th, 2023, 3:54 pm

So, yesterday i went to check on a snail thats been in the drain for a few days
I notice it aint change spots
It was moving around the area for a few days but couldnt seem to come out the drain.

I see some drain crab blazing it yesterday
Like they eat it out when it died/drowned

20230114_113950.jpg

This the crab here

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2023, 4:39 pm

that good, maybe crabs will evolve a taste for them
the limpkin bird, local name crao or something like that eating them plenty