Re: Giant African Snail?

Postby redmanjp » January 4th, 2023, 2:09 pm

pugboy wrote:too late for that
although everybody in alyce glen know the italian guy

redmanjp wrote:why they didn't fine the person who brought it in in the first place?

too late as in statute of limitations pass?

Postby pugboy » January 4th, 2023, 2:24 pm

how do you prove and make somebody admit?

redmanjp wrote:
pugboy wrote:too late for that
although everybody in alyce glen know the italian guy

redmanjp wrote:why they didn't fine the person who brought it in in the first place?

too late as in statute of limitations pass?

Postby MaxPower » January 4th, 2023, 2:58 pm

Any bounty for littered items?

Postby pugboy » January 4th, 2023, 3:15 pm

there is a plastic bottle collection payback already

MaxPower wrote:Any bounty for littered items?

Postby MaxPower » January 4th, 2023, 3:42 pm

pugboy wrote:there is a plastic bottle collection payback already

Really, well that is certainly helping isn’t it.

What about doubles wrappers and KFC/food boxes?

Postby pugboy » January 4th, 2023, 3:46 pm

those are paper so breakdown naturally

Really, well that is certainly helping isn’t it.

What about doubles wrappers and KFC/food boxes?

Postby MaxPower » January 4th, 2023, 3:52 pm

pugboy wrote:those are paper so breakdown naturally

Then littering paper should not be an offense?

You miss the point by a mile puglal.

Postby pugboy » January 4th, 2023, 4:05 pm

its in our dna my friend

pugboy wrote:those are paper so breakdown naturally

Then littering paper should not be an offense?

You miss the point by a mile puglal.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 4th, 2023, 4:06 pm

Tell me more

Postby pugboy » January 4th, 2023, 4:09 pm

afaik the collection point is charlotte st pos
a few cents per bottle i think

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/turn-yo ... ttlebacktt

*KRONIK* wrote:

Tell me more

Postby *KRONIK* » January 4th, 2023, 4:30 pm

pugboy wrote:afaik the collection point is charlotte st pos

*KRONIK* wrote:

Tell me more
I have 4 massive bags of bottles

I used to drop them for the guy in manzanilla with the plastic recylcling plant
But he machines down for the longest while

I doh mind making a trip to drop off if i getting a lil change for them

Postby pugboy » January 4th, 2023, 4:32 pm

you need a crusher machine so you can compact them
or some way to put them in a canal and drive over them to flatten
you could get rich doing this

*KRONIK* wrote:

Tell me more
I have 4 massive bags of bottles

I used to drop them for the guy in manzanilla with the plastic recylcling plant
But he machines down for the longest while

I doh mind making a trip to drop off if i getting a lil change for them

Postby Rovin » January 4th, 2023, 4:52 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:

Tell me more

i know we going of topic here but

in d story it says 5cents tt yes , dat not encouraging anybody not even a homeless or a piper might be willing to use his energy for a measly 5c , 20 bottles to make a scrunting $1, 120 to buy 1 doubles , u does see 5c & 10c coins on d road & nobody picking it up, iirc beer bottles used to be 25c so it still have ppl going around looking\picking those up ...

Postby pugboy » January 4th, 2023, 5:23 pm

agreed and if yuh crush them how they counting them?

Postby 88sins » January 4th, 2023, 5:24 pm

Rovin wrote:

*KRONIK* wrote:

Tell me more

i know we going of topic here but

in d story it says 5cents tt yes , dat not encouraging anybody not even a homeless or a piper might be willing to use his energy for a measly 5c , 20 bottles to make a scrunting $1, 120 to buy 1 doubles , u does see 5c & 10c coins on d road & nobody picking it up, iirc beer bottles used to be 25c so it still have ppl going around looking\picking those up ...

True, 5 cents isn't much incentive for a person to go around scrounging for plastic bottles, however.

If one were to walk the length of certain rivers, well then, that's a different story.

Postby pugboy » January 4th, 2023, 5:44 pm

every heavy rains the amount that wash around the gulf from caroni to sealots is ridiculous
if they put those capture booms in the water they will get endless

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 5th, 2023, 8:54 am

pugboy wrote:agreed and if yuh crush them how they counting them?

with large qty they prob use weight

Postby nervewrecker » January 6th, 2023, 6:36 am

How does he recycle them?

Shredded plastic can be used in concrete composites as reinforcement as a means of reducing the amount of waste produced. Just a suggestion.

Postby adnj » January 6th, 2023, 8:25 am

At the risk of derailing the thread, I would like to see a recycled plastic lumber manufactured locally; no painting no insects, no rot, use just about any plastic waste, and export any extra.

Postby timelapse » January 6th, 2023, 8:30 am

adnj wrote:At the risk of derailing the thread, I would like to see a recycled plastic lumber manufactured locally; no painting no insects, no rot, use just about any plastic waste, and export any extra.
They started something like that down Manzanilla side.I believe that they are doing bricks for now

Postby *KRONIK* » January 6th, 2023, 8:37 am

nervewrecker wrote:How does he recycle them?

Shredded plastic can be used in concrete composites as reinforcement as a means of reducing the amount of waste produced. Just a suggestion.
adnj wrote:At the risk of derailing the thread, I would like to see a recycled plastic lumber manufactured locally; no painting no insects, no rot, use just about any plastic waste, and export any extra.
timelapse wrote:
They started something like that down Manzanilla side.I believe that they are doing bricks for now
The guy i used to drop my bottles for was is the same guy in manzanilla.
He shreds and extrudes them as a plastic "lumber"
I have seen the finished product 1st hand and i can see where it has potential to replace wood in many applications.

The plant has been down for the longest while and he is (has been) refusing bottles as they need to move them to SWMCOL to process/shred now.

I was a big supporter of this project and have been sorting and collecting plastic for the last few years.
I was very disappointed when the operation came to a halt.

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » January 6th, 2023, 1:18 pm

Every Bottle Back TT collection centers:
- Collection Center 40 Charlotte Street, Port of Spain
- Longdenville Community Center, LP #2 St. Cyr Street, Longdenville, Chaguanas
Saw on their FB page that they looking to setup another in San Fernando this year.

*KRONIK* wrote:

timelapse wrote:
I have seen the finished product 1st hand and i can see where it has potential to replace wood in many applications.

The plant has been down for the longest while and he is (has been) refusing bottles as they need to move them to SWMCOL to process/shred now.

I was a big supporter of this project and have been sorting and collecting plastic for the last few years.

matix

Postby matix » January 7th, 2023, 7:20 am

*KRONIK* wrote:

timelapse wrote:

He gave any details as to why the system is down? Maybe I can go have a look and offer some assistance.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 7th, 2023, 7:35 am

matix wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

timelapse wrote:

He gave any details as to why the system is down? Maybe I can go have a look and offer some assistance.
Iirc, the shredder was down

Postby pugboy » January 7th, 2023, 7:36 am

is it one of the shredders which the turning gear teeth?

Postby *KRONIK* » January 7th, 2023, 8:13 am

pugboy wrote:is it one of the shredders which the turning gear teeth?
I never got to see inside the factory

I only met the owner once, and that was when he told me he not accepting bottles anymore.

I usually leave my bottles with the caretaker.
He allows me to drive in the compound, but i never got a tour of the facility.

I saw the material samples from someone who deals with him personally.

Postby pugboy » January 12th, 2023, 5:17 pm

it’s $5/kg

matix

Postby matix » January 12th, 2023, 5:25 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:

I only met the owner once, and that was when he told me he not accepting bottles anymore.

If possible and you can get contact info for them, please share.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 13th, 2023, 6:55 am

matix wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

Yea
I will take a drive up in the week and see if someone is there and whats taking place

matix

Postby matix » January 13th, 2023, 7:29 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
matix wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

Yea
I will take a drive up in the week and see if someone is there and whats taking place

Much appreciated.