Giant African Snail?

Postby j.o.e » August 5th, 2022, 11:07 am

Bait working for now …. I really don’t want too much intimate interactions with dem stink ting. They pop and squeal with salt too but I don’t want dry spots on the lawn.

Re: Giant African Snail?

Postby Chimera » August 5th, 2022, 11:10 am

Allyuh does pick dem up and discard the shells after using the thinners?

I like that the bait gathers them into one place
And I use pigtail buckets and put the bait in the back of it so it's just to lift up the bucket and empty it into the hole I burn the shells in

Postby Rovin » August 5th, 2022, 11:20 am

when u see a few\plenty without a doubt d snail bait is d best but when u see a random 1 walking all by heself is lacquer thinner ihmc

yes of course u hadda take up d shells & get rid of it cause that will remain there however long cause dat hard shell not gonna breakdown\decay in a hurry ...

Postby *KRONIK* » August 5th, 2022, 11:38 am

I noticed this recent set by me has really soft shells
We have a "yard tongs" to pick them up and all of this recent set had a crunch when u squeeze them
So i feel they have a calcium deficiency

Hoping this makes them more vulnerable

Postby Chimera » August 5th, 2022, 12:20 pm

I want something to grab them from the ground. I have one of those garbage grabbers but that doesn't grip them properly

Just now yuh hadda build concrete wall to stop snails from coming in.

They will still come tru the gate and drains tho.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 5th, 2022, 12:22 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:I want something to grab them from the ground. I have one of those garbage grabbers but that doesn't grip them properly

Just now yuh hadda build concrete wall to stop snails from coming in.

They will still come tru the gate and drains tho.
A kitchen tongs works great
Lol

I designate a old one for that purpose

Postby Chimera » August 5th, 2022, 12:29 pm

is hundreds of snails i wud have to pick up

i want something that i dont have to bend down to pick them up lol

Postby timelapse » August 5th, 2022, 1:13 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:is hundreds of snails i wud have to pick up

i want something that i dont have to bend down to pick them up lol
A pooper scooper

Postby pugboy » August 5th, 2022, 2:05 pm

somebody needs to design an automatic collector with a sweep or screw

Postby *KRONIK* » August 5th, 2022, 2:08 pm

pugboy wrote:somebody needs to design an automatic collector with a sweep or screw
Seems like you gonna have a busy weekend

Lol

Postby pugboy » August 5th, 2022, 2:55 pm

similar to the chicken feeders which use a long spiral

Postby matr1x » August 5th, 2022, 2:59 pm

They in town

Postby pugboy » August 5th, 2022, 3:24 pm

one street in woodbrook has them by the loads, havent reached by me yet though, i am a couple streets away
my street has 2 emtpy overgrown lots, they will make mas there
and spread from there

matr1x wrote:They in town

Postby RedVEVO » August 5th, 2022, 3:40 pm

Reading this thread while having lunch and just had to go vomit and puke :cry:

Somewhere read that you can call the Ministry of Agri and they will send out peeps to fix.

Damn Lie or Truth ? :)

Postby Chimera » August 5th, 2022, 3:48 pm

RedVEVO wrote:^^

Somewhere read that you can call the Ministry of Agri and they will send out peeps to fix.

That was years ago when it now started. They don't do that anymore

Postby RedVEVO » August 5th, 2022, 4:05 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:

Maybe peeps could get a "mist blower" put some serious F .. ing chemicals in that and spray like F .. ?

MG you not have a "mister" ?

Postby timelapse » August 5th, 2022, 7:07 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:

Maybe peeps could get a "mist blower" put some serious F .. ing chemicals in that and spray like F .. ?

MG you not have a "mister" ?
The snail bait doesn't work that way.I use lacquer thinner,but misting that is very hazardous,plus it flammable.Them snails real disgusting dred.And if you felt sick earlier,hear this.....They climb on all manner of surfaces

Postby j.o.e » August 5th, 2022, 10:31 pm

Mowing lawn today. Collected about 8 shells of dead snails and saw two live ones. Reapplied bait

Postby timelapse » August 6th, 2022, 8:47 am

j.o.e wrote:Mowing lawn today. Collected about 8 shells of dead snails and saw two live ones. Reapplied bait
10?Thats a good day
I probably crossed 3 dozen already for the morning

Postby *KRONIK* » August 6th, 2022, 2:13 pm

timelapse wrote:
j.o.e wrote:Mowing lawn today. Collected about 8 shells of dead snails and saw two live ones. Reapplied bait
10?Thats a good day
The duck and them give up or wah?

Postby maj. tom » August 6th, 2022, 2:32 pm

Duck could be getting rat lungworm meningitis. These snails are deadly and not a joke. People who ignoring it and not checking the spread on their own property not realizing that they are contributing to some invasive species eco-disaster in the long run, all of us have to be involved in this.

Postby timelapse » August 6th, 2022, 2:33 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
timelapse wrote:
10?Thats a good day
Ducks moved out

Postby *KRONIK* » August 6th, 2022, 2:48 pm

maj. tom wrote:Duck could be getting rat lungworm meningitis. These snails are deadly and not a joke. People who ignoring it and not checking the spread on their own property not realizing that they are contributing to some invasive species eco-disaster in the long run, all of us have to be involved in this.
Agreed 100%

Postby *KRONIK* » August 6th, 2022, 2:49 pm

timelapse wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
timelapse wrote:
10?Thats a good day
Ducks moved out
To a pot?

Postby pugboy » August 6th, 2022, 3:51 pm

so when them snails passing through land where they growi my stuff that eaten raw like cabbage and lettuce, what are the risks?

Postby maj. tom » August 6th, 2022, 4:13 pm

The snail itself is quite destructive because it multiplies exponentially in such a short time, and it destroys a lot of plants in its way. Snails will climb up the trees and suck the sap and damage and eventually kill the plants, they eat through softer shrub-type plants like nothing, they're also scavengers eating anything rotten.

The 2nd problem is that food stuff that is not usually cooked to a high temperature can contain the parasite A. cantonensis from snail sheit. They could have laid eggs too in produce. When the parasite get inside a host, they rapidly migrate to the Central Nervous System, including the brain. Not to mention curious pets and other animals that looking for an easy food source.

Risk factors for infection with A. cantonensis include the ingestion of raw or undercooked infected snails or slugs; or pieces of snails and slugs accidentally chopped up in vegetables, vegetable juices, or salads; or foods contaminated by the slime of infected snails or slugs. It is possible that ingestion of raw or undercooked transport hosts (freshwater shrimp, land crabs, frogs, etc. ) can result in human infection, though this is less certain. In addition, contamination of the hands during the preparation of uncooked infected snails or slugs could lead to ingestion of the parasite.
https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/angiostrongylus/epi.html

Postby Chimera » August 6th, 2022, 5:17 pm

pugboy wrote:so when them snails passing through land where they growi my stuff that eaten raw like cabbage and lettuce, what are the risks?
I had plenty bandania in a spot in my backyard that I would use...until I see snails living in it....I end up spraying it all down . I plant in buckets and have them on a scaffold now...you know those fawkers does climb scaffold to get to it.
I had to grease the scaffold legs all around

matix

Postby matix » August 6th, 2022, 6:03 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
pugboy wrote:so when them snails passing through land where they growi my stuff that eaten raw like cabbage and lettuce, what are the risks?
I had plenty bandania in a spot in my backyard that I would use...until I see snails living in it....I end up spraying it all down . I plant in buckets and have them on a scaffold now...you know those fawkers does climb scaffold to get to it.

Wtf

Postby Rovin » August 6th, 2022, 6:23 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:

bwda u have rel gunta ignorant determined kinda snails by u boi

last night i see 1 on some dog shitt ... :sick:

Postby matr1x » August 6th, 2022, 7:20 pm

The ministry of agriculture representative who came by was very helpful. We got to chatting and he agreed that stuff coming in supposed to go through a quarantine. The stuff the venes bringing in will be a source.of problems yet to be seen but is definite to happen. Clorox, and salt in a storm bin filled with water. Them snails deading