Re: Giant African Snail?

Postby pugboy » January 23rd, 2023, 7:15 pm

caviar ftw

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 26th, 2023, 9:14 am

Rovin wrote:i now coming to say since d year start no setta rain but about 5 quick very light showers yesterday & i see 1 crawling in my yard - couldnt find my lil bottle of lacquer thinners to done hmc so he get away ...

Any strong chemical does kill them btw bai , think along the lines of "If I wudnt drink it, It will kill a snail"

Any salt as well, like fertilizers would do. Basically sucking out the moisture from them.
But dais a waste of fertilizer.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 26th, 2023, 9:28 am

yea a strong saltwater solution is enough to kill em.
cheap and effective for the ones you see.
The bait works for the ones you don't

Postby Rovin » January 26th, 2023, 10:38 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:
Rovin wrote:i now coming to say since d year start no setta rain but about 5 quick very light showers yesterday & i see 1 crawling in my yard - couldnt find my lil bottle of lacquer thinners to done hmc so he get away ...

Any strong chemical does kill them btw bai , think along the lines of "If I wudnt drink it, It will kill a snail"

Any salt as well, like fertilizers would do. Basically sucking out the moisture from them.
But dais a waste of fertilizer.

not always true, household stuff like bleach, oil paint thinners, disinfect etc doesnt work, it will stun them for a 5 mins & then u see they continue moving along like nothing happen

i like d instant gratification results from lacquer thinners, like it does cook them up 1time ... i will make a strong saline solution to keep in a swee jink bottle & try it

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 26th, 2023, 10:44 am

oh srs?

well shiet,,,, just stock up on salt yes, isse keep that on hand for harmful toads anyhow

salt does make them squeal up too. Plus no risk of fire. just some salty ground until it rains again.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 26th, 2023, 10:47 am

I now shoot up a big one with some strong ammonia

Postby Rovin » January 26th, 2023, 10:56 am

d lil 1s especially d bleach doh do dem nutten

never tried d ammonia cause dat so strongly vaporous u cud knock out\harm ur own self if u not careful

never tried muriatic acid neither, dont wanna fug up myself while trying to kill dem ... so is lacquer thinners when u spot 1 or 2 & want to done dem asap or i usually sprinkle snail bait & that works very well like it draws dem to their death

Postby timelapse » January 26th, 2023, 10:57 am

*KRONIK* wrote:I now shoot up a big one with some strong ammonia
Was wondering about this.I wonder what would happen if you pee on it

Postby *KRONIK* » January 26th, 2023, 2:07 pm

timelapse wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:I now shoot up a big one with some strong ammonia
Was wondering about this.I wonder what would happen if you pee on it
Well i have ammonia in a spray bottle for lizards, frogs etc.
I started spraying the snails with them

They may enjoy a golden shower tho

Postby pugboy » January 26th, 2023, 3:05 pm

what ever you spray has to be able to withstand the slime,
they will exude more slime as a self washing mechanism to the irritant and it seems they can let out a lot of slime

Postby matr1x » January 26th, 2023, 3:56 pm

Orange valley roads full of them by 7 am

Postby timelapse » January 26th, 2023, 7:37 pm

pugboy wrote:what ever you spray has to be able to withstand the slime,
they will exude more slime as a self washing mechanism to the irritant and it seems they can let out a lot of slime
I know something that can withstand slime...

Postby pugboy » January 26th, 2023, 7:44 pm

opportunity to make dollars

matr1x wrote:Orange valley roads full of them by 7 am

Postby matr1x » January 26th, 2023, 10:46 pm

pugboy wrote:opportunity to make dollars

matr1x wrote:Orange valley roads full of them by 7 am

Odds are, those checks will bounce

Postby Rovin » February 7th, 2023, 2:25 pm

Postby Chimera » February 7th, 2023, 2:28 pm

Hear na...trinis not joke stupid u know

Screenshot_20230207-142754_Facebook.jpg

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 7th, 2023, 3:53 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Hear na...trinis not joke stupid u know

Screenshot_20230207-142754_Facebook.jpg

Middle aged trinis who know how to use whatsapp/facebook is some biiiiiiig conspiracy theorists but for the wrong things inno

Postby *KRONIK* » February 7th, 2023, 4:01 pm

Yuh know

I plant some celery recently
Ting now start to ketch nice
Then i see a few wilting

Yuh know them MC dig into the soil and eat out the roots and leave the plant to dead

Postby pugboy » February 7th, 2023, 4:04 pm

must be little ones that hiding in the soil

*KRONIK* wrote:Yuh know

Then i see a few wilting

Yuh know them MC dig into the soil and eat out the roots and leave the plant to dead

Postby *KRONIK* » February 7th, 2023, 4:04 pm

pugboy wrote:must be little ones that hiding in the soil

*KRONIK* wrote:Yuh know

Then i see a few wilting

Yup
Was some small fellaz

Under ¾"

Postby Rovin » February 7th, 2023, 4:53 pm

was happening to a lily flowers we have, plant looking like if dry weather taking it but it never looked like that from ever since, i throw some water on it & suspected snails so i also sprinkled bait around it, worked good , bunch of dead 1s dead in a day or 2 u didnt know was around & d plant ketching back itself ...

Postby Chimera » February 7th, 2023, 5:24 pm

Idk if that's a new thing they doing..eating the plant while under the soil so they don't come up to get poisoned or sprayed

Postby pugboy » February 7th, 2023, 5:33 pm

they probably staying down with the dry weather
doh mind it cooler

Postby *KRONIK* » February 7th, 2023, 5:50 pm

pugboy wrote:they probably staying down with the dry weather
doh mind it cooler
Yea
It seems when they cant find a cool/dark spot and the morning sun start to sting
They does burrow in the soil to hide

They probably say "it have food here, bess we eat 1 time"

Postby streetbeastINC. » February 7th, 2023, 6:43 pm

I have observed opossum eating them, which. Is good and bad,
If they eat the snails that have died from poisonous baits....

Postby pugboy » February 7th, 2023, 6:48 pm

most animals don’t eat dead rotting stuff

Postby Chimera » February 7th, 2023, 8:01 pm

opossums do eat dead animals though

Postby pugboy » February 7th, 2023, 8:10 pm

thats not good
but i guess it depending n how much ppl using poison

Phone Surgeon wrote:opossums do eat dead animals though

Postby j.o.e » February 7th, 2023, 8:11 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:I have observed opossum eating them, which. Is good and bad,
If they eat the snails that have died from poisonous baits....

Those snails die from such a small amount of bait I wonder if the animals that eat them even affected by the trace amounts. Talking about the pellets and not the deadlier stuff like thiovin

Postby pugboy » February 7th, 2023, 8:26 pm

manicou can withstand some snake poisons
issue is if they build up toxins in them and a human makes a curry stew manicou pot