WASA supposedly say if yuh lawn green den

Postby Ben_spanna » May 22nd, 2019, 11:37 am

Lets see how this will develop....
its alleged that Waa sah say that if yuh lawn too green then it means you been wastin wata and that you will be liable to a Fine!
Well yes, now ah wonder if they will go after people who car too clean too- first place dem should look is ministers cars- yuh ever see dem gubbment people cars? always clean......

Re: WASA supposedly say if yuh lawn green den

Postby hydroep » May 22nd, 2019, 11:47 am

Wonder if they does go into some of the areas mentioned in the "Where is the best place to live in Trinidad Now?" thread and jumbee the residents? Probably not, it eh have no farmers in there...:|

Postby Ben_spanna » May 22nd, 2019, 11:48 am

well dey announced that they going after those "gated communities" that seem to have green lawns and Clean cars- so watch out for the was saah vans passin round!

Postby hydroep » May 22nd, 2019, 11:56 am

I feel dais ol' talk, probably damage control because of the backlash against how they treating the farmers who actually using the water for something constructive. Some upper middle class family might get charge as a token gesture but no true 1%er getting any ticket.

Meanwhile SAPA fountain full to the brim...:|

boxy

Postby boxy » May 22nd, 2019, 11:59 am

Ben_spanna wrote:Lets see how this will develop....
its alleged that Waa sah say that if yuh lawn too green then it means you been wastin wata and that you will be liable to a Fine!
Well yes, now ah wonder if they will go after people who car too clean too- first place dem should look is ministers cars- yuh ever see dem gubbment people cars? always clean......
U can wash a car with a bucket... Who using a watering can to wet they lawn?
I have zero issue with WASA going after idiots who hosing down they yard in this dry season where is pressure for water elsewhere.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » May 22nd, 2019, 12:22 pm

They could kiss my ass.

How many people still don't have a water supply up till now and even before this water shortage? All the people money pelting out by the hundreds of millions into the billions in facking legal fees alone for absolute nonsense, not to mention who getting what contract to do sheit work to even build water plants....and watch we now.

The inner wajang might come out in me if anyone come telling me about facking water usage. Yuh cah be serious.

Postby Les Bain » May 22nd, 2019, 12:31 pm

They could very much kiss my ass. They barely providing the 3 kissmihass days on my area's schedule.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » May 22nd, 2019, 12:39 pm

Lol them idiots go have to catch me first . and my street i see every car coming down long before they can see me .
i doh water my lawn every day i water it every other day to conserve water .
them people who running wasa should not bathe and wash their clothes. See how much water them could save .
i paying for my water i could do what i want with it . let them hull their A$$

Postby Dizzy28 » May 22nd, 2019, 12:46 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:Lol them idiots go have to catch me first . and my street i see every car coming down long before they can see me .
i doh water my lawn every day i water it every other day to conserve water .
them people who running wasa should not bathe and wash their clothes. See how much water them could save .
i paying for my water i could do what i want with it . let them hull their A$$

This is a fairly selfish stance.

And to be fair if you not metered you really getting heavily subsidized water.

death365

Postby death365 » May 22nd, 2019, 12:49 pm

wha bout all them road side car wash working 7 - 7 and using power washer all day every day.... them good eh ,... but farmers who growing we food is bad...

Postby Rovin » May 22nd, 2019, 12:52 pm

tell le hunte to haul he unt .......

Postby SR » May 22nd, 2019, 12:57 pm

Ah wonder if ah use meh hose that has a controlled nozzle on it to wash my car while it parked on the lawn how much charges ah go get........

I keep askin what uses more water...... filling a bucket or a hose with a controled nozzle to wash a car....

Postby pugboy » May 22nd, 2019, 12:59 pm

Yeah
Most pressure washers are 2gal/min which is a fraction of a 1/2” hose

SR wrote:Ah wonder if ah use meh hose that has a controlled nozzle on it to wash my car while it parked on the lawn how much charges ah go get........

I keep askin what uses more water...... filling a bucket or a hose with a controled nozzle to wash a car....

Postby Rovin » May 22nd, 2019, 1:02 pm

for me washing u car with hose make more sense , spray as u need rather than splash ah bucket or container ....

kstt

Postby kstt » May 22nd, 2019, 1:10 pm

WASA always talking about metering but they afraid of metering because their revenue will drop drastically. Imagine you not getting water but paying a rate.

Bring on the metering!!

wing

Postby wing » May 22nd, 2019, 1:19 pm

I agree with metering. I get water for 16 hours a week now, yet expected to pay full rates and conserve on top of that. In my experience, using buckets is less effecient than judicious use of the hose. I shall continue my normal routine....

Postby pugboy » May 22nd, 2019, 1:20 pm

for sure, because when you throw a bucket, you dont get the coverage like when you use a hose and direct it.

Rovin wrote:for me washing u car with hose make more sense , spray as u need rather than splash ah bucket or container ....

Postby matr1x » May 22nd, 2019, 1:22 pm

Wasa free to come in. I not obliged to tie my dogs

Postby Ben_spanna » May 22nd, 2019, 1:27 pm

passed by a big sign business in woodbrook the other day - company had a man power washing the whole front yard and drive way and sidewalk...….. yet no one getting charged! I guess when yuh connected and family to the gubbment yuh could rock so! :roll:

Postby zoom rader » May 22nd, 2019, 1:45 pm

West morings and Marval have the best kept laws in Trinidad.

So I guess they being in involved in dubious activities are also guilty of well kept lawns

I hope wasa charges them

Postby alfa » May 22nd, 2019, 1:48 pm

What about these WASA water trucks that spill about a gallon of water every time they turn a corner. They can't make a cover for their tanks but telling me about watering lawn. They could rock so for all I care

Postby Ben_spanna » May 22nd, 2019, 1:55 pm

collusion between water truck suppliers and top wa saah employees is still being kept quiet.
Then there are the well known Water thieves that go around the ILLEGALLY take water from hydrants... but why investigate those cases.. lets investigate the common man who cant even get wata to wash clothes pon ah weekend!

Postby maj. tom » May 22nd, 2019, 2:05 pm

So people still under the impression that it's citizens "wasting" water causing some other communities to not have water then?
It has nothing to do with WASA's poor distribution network that literally wastes 50% in leaks? Spoken by the dumbass Minister himself? https://newsday.co.tt/2017/10/17/minister-50-per-centof-water-lost-via-leaks/ Year after year, every election, every season, nothing is done to improve this, except to make a set of blasted canyon pothole all over the nation's roads.

If there was really a dire water shortage several things would happen:
1. Martial law on water usage. You will literally see all car washes shut down overnight. Buckets only to clean windows, mirrors and lights. No showers. Only buckets. Happened in the drought in Australia, and rules are still ongoing in regions. There would be water police doing patrols.
2. Army will be called out to distribute water using trucks.
3. Aid from USA from a desalination ship would be offshore within days.
4. Water will actually be rationed as stated in that WASA bulletin. That was a lie. Only parts of the water network with very poor infrastructure are being cut off. Where I live, I am very fortunate to have only experienced 1 single day without WASA mains water, and that was a day they announced that they would be doing repairs in the area. That doesn't mean I or my neighbours waste the water that does trickle into the tanks. I haven't washed my car in many weeks, save for cleaning the glass with a bucket of soap water.
5. There will be riots in several areas because of the inevitable unfair and corrupt/poor management distribution.

While the majority of citizens are acknowledging this harsh dry season and are doing their part, the authorities are so corrupt and misguided that they will end up using innocent people as scapegoats... oh wait, that is already happening with farmers.

Postby nemisis » May 22nd, 2019, 2:35 pm

Ac condensation to water plants so really unaffected

Postby redmanjp » May 22nd, 2019, 3:11 pm

nemisis wrote:Ac condensation to water plants so really unaffected

our AC outside my workplace has been spouting tonnes of water on d ground for over a year- i always say they should be fulling a tank with that but maybe WASA go say dat is their water too

Postby toyolink » May 22nd, 2019, 3:39 pm

Every severe dry season is the same rhetoric and every severe rainy season is God fault for the flooding.
Thankfully is only 2 seasons we have, imagine if we had snow what would be happening.
One thing our administrators in this country have mastered is how 'to bump their gums', when it comes to results however...….NADA!

Postby hydroep » May 22nd, 2019, 4:43 pm

Wasa drops case against farmers
Carla Bridglal

WASA and farmers accused of stealing water from the state company have “come to an amicable resolution,” Public Utilities Minister Robert Le Hunte has said.

Speaking to Newsday today, Le Hunte said most of the farmers who had been charged have applied for abstraction licences (permits to extract water from waterways and wells), and through a community outreach programme, the authority has encouraged 300 farmers to apply for the licence.

The abstraction licence costs $150.

“Based on agreements I have seen and interventions from community leaders, this matter has been amicably resolved,” Le Hunte said. Wasa was no longer interested in pursuing the matter, but he did not that the matter was heard today in the Port of Spain Magistrates Court earlier. All pumps have been returned to farmers.

He acknowledged the criticism the authority and the ministry had faced since Wasa seized Aranguez farmers’ water pumps earlier this month.

This wasn’t the first time the authority had cracked down on people violating the Wasa Act, he said – the authority was similarly strict in 2013 and 2014. There’s always room for Wasa to improve its communications to the public, he said, but there’s also a responsibility by people to adhere to the law.

Wasa continues to impose hose bans to conserve potable water. “There is a prevailing drought throughout the Caribbean – not just in TT. We are taking action to ensure we have enough water to make it through a dry season that has been predicted to go as far as July,” he said. The end of the dry season is usually at the end of this month. He emphasised that the country’s main reservoirs were below average levels for this time of year. “This continues to be a serious situation and measures to conserve water are paramount,” he said.

Wasa, in a release today, confirmed it had ceased legal action against farmers, and encouraged all farmers who are licensed with the Ministry of Agriculture to apply for the abstraction licence to permit the sanitary use of water.

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/05/22/wasa-drops-case-against-farmers/

abbow

Postby abbow » May 22nd, 2019, 4:55 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:passed by a big sign business in woodbrook the other day - company had a man power washing the whole front yard and drive way and sidewalk...….. yet no one getting charged! I guess when yuh connected and family to the gubbment yuh could rock so! :roll:

what about the contractors that have their own water trucks with contracts to supply construction sites etc?

have many fulling WASA water in their trucks and selling.....but want to use farmers as an example...

kstt

Postby kstt » May 22nd, 2019, 6:21 pm

Every year we having longer dry seasons and less rainfall. We hearing so much about global warming and environmental changes.

When will wasa do something to address our water shortages? When it too late? Wasa want to provide a growing population with less water every year?

Postby zoom rader » May 22nd, 2019, 7:08 pm

kstt wrote:Every year we having longer dry seasons and less rainfall. We hearing so much about global warming and environmental changes.

When will wasa do something to address our water shortages? When it too late? Wasa want to provide a growing population with less water every year?
When goverment sells wasa then you will see service.