Re: Disney+ Thread

Postby st7 » June 30th, 2022, 3:35 am

how you find ms marvel going? i couldnt continue after the first ep

Postby rollingstock » June 30th, 2022, 7:17 am

I watched the second episode by force to see if it improves. Can't make any more.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 30th, 2022, 9:26 am

st7 wrote:how you find ms marvel going? i couldnt continue after the first ep

In principle I don't hate it. But I only watched Ep 3 on Tuesday and have yet to look at Ep 4 and probably wouldn't till next week given ST S4 pt 2 coming out tomorrow and I also have a backlog of movies to catch up on as well. So it doesn't have the "Must watch upon release" factor for me.
This goes in line with US watching patterns where I believe it has the lowest 1st week viewership #s of any of the Marvel series.

I see Pakistani's toting on it now particularly yesterday's episode. They hate the Indianification of Pakistani characters and apparently the changed narrative of Partition.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 22nd, 2022, 4:17 pm

Groot - 5 part mini series

Postby st7 » July 23rd, 2022, 2:33 am

deadpool, deadpool 2, and logan pon the plus

Postby Dizzy28 » July 23rd, 2022, 10:46 am

Are you watching using a VPN? None of those showing up.
st7 wrote:deadpool, deadpool 2, and logan pon the plus

Postby st7 » July 23rd, 2022, 1:56 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Are you watching using a VPN? None of those showing up.
st7 wrote:deadpool, deadpool 2, and logan pon the plus

oh, yeah apparently you need a vpn.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 26th, 2022, 1:55 pm

Lightyear hitting Disney+ on Aug 3rd

Also saw HBOMax has Spiderman NWH. I keep forgetting Spiderman is not owned by Marvel/Disney thus it wouldn't be on D+.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 1st, 2022, 2:33 pm

Star Wars Andor full trailer

New CARS movie - Lightning McQueen and Tow Mater

Postby maj. tom » August 6th, 2022, 8:34 am

An opinion I was reading last night on Disney+ and the MCU and the future. However I don't think each of the future films will fail financially, they will still pull in close to a $billion. But I think the Golden Age of MCU passed with Endgame and now money has taken over the 2010s creative success and vision of the Studios with Disney management and everything is getting too convoluted and disjointed for the average fan. We're seeing what Disney doing to Star Wars, it's now just a cash cow to them.

I've said this in r/boxoffice last month:

The MCU is making the same mistakes as Marvel Comics in the 90s: There's too much, everything is too interconnected, it's all billed as this big event, and none of it is really paying off because they need to lay the groundwork for the next event. Marvel went bankrupt in the 90s pumping its core properties like this. I won't be surprised if the MCU goes bust this decade for the same reason.

Totally anecdotal, but the friend I watched "No Way Home" with left asking WTF was up with the Statue of Liberty and that's all she talked about. Others had no idea why Wanda was suddenly bad in Dr. Strange. Making Disney+ required viewing is bad because people are leaving the theater feeling left out and dumb. It's going to turn them off from seeing other movies.

As a major comic fan kid who was among the many, many, many kids Marvel Comics lost in the mid to late 90s pursuing this "everything is a crossover and you have to read it all" strategy, it's wild that movie execs are making all the exact same mistakes 30 years later with hundreds of times the amount of money on the line.

https://reddit.com/r/entertainment/comments/wgbw81/interest_in_superhero_movies_drops_poll/iiz5ty2/

Disney always does something like this. there is a main story that people love, then they just milk the concept for all it's worth. At least since some time in the 80's they would have a blockbuster followed by a billion sequels that eventually turn into a straight to VHS/DVD thing as well as a show before they let it die off. I think they have such a huge franchise to play off of, they are in that milking phase, but are also using all the other products to advertise each other and extend out the lifetime of the product in general.

Postby paid_influencer » August 6th, 2022, 9:10 pm

just finished Ms Marvel and damn, I really like this new MCU Phase. It feels fresh, new, exciting. Ms Marvel specifically, has the most beautiful art style I've ever seen on a series. Just fun and pretty to watch from start to finish. The american desi/bollywood setting, music, ambience, feels authentic and very well done. Possibly the most enjoyable Marvel thing I've watched so far.

Dr Strange and the Multiverse kinda sucked tho. And I say that as a huge Wandavision fan.

Postby Rovin » August 10th, 2022, 6:38 pm

paid_influencer wrote:Moon Knight was good. Recommend 5/5.

only this wk end i saw it

wtf did i watch , maybe i slow but i eh really get it nah .... :?

Postby st7 » August 10th, 2022, 6:47 pm

it was popcorn TV show.

ep 5 was one the best mcu TV episodes but the story on the whole had plenty plot holes. won't take recommend it to anyone

Disney+ Thread

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 31st, 2022, 9:48 am

Disney* is now available for free with some Digicel Fibre only (no cabletv) plans.
Just got an email from them

Postby Dizzy28 » September 22nd, 2022, 9:14 am

Andor's first three episodes dropped yesterday.
Will try and take in at least the first one tonight.

Postby aaron17 » September 22nd, 2022, 9:19 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Disney* is now available for free with some Digicel Fibre only (no cabletv) plans.
Just got an email from them

u still have to pay?

Postby Dizzy28 » September 28th, 2022, 2:13 pm

Wife now come asking me if I deleted Blackish from the Disney+. I was like nah why would I do something like that for.

But searching now and both Blackish and Grownish which were only added recently aren't there on the platform anymore.
Anyone knows why?

Searching online but not seeing anything. I can only guess rights issues but the timing is weird

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 28th, 2022, 3:07 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Wife now come asking me if I deleted Blackish from the Disney+. I was like nah why would I do something like that for.

But searching now and both Blackish and Grownish which were only added recently aren't there on the platform anymore.
Anyone knows why?

Searching online but not seeing anything. I can only guess rights issues but the timing is weird

A lot of these streaming services like HBOMAX add and remove content all the time - it's only their original content that will tend to remain there all the time - and yes it's probably licensing/rights

Postby Dizzy28 » September 28th, 2022, 3:14 pm

^ Being on the platform for around only two months and being dropped on a random day of the month is kinna weird though.
Prime Video dropped Parks and Rec on Dec 31st 2021 and BBT on Feb 28th 2022 (last day of the months) and that's after having them for a while.

That's the weird thing about this

Postby paid_influencer » September 28th, 2022, 6:05 pm

blackish is 18+ content iirc. if ur user profile not set to 18+ u will not see it

edit: still not seeing it on my feed either tho

Postby Dizzy28 » December 1st, 2022, 12:24 am

Started Willow the series today.
Struggled through Episode 1 and still haven't finished it.

Not as engaging as I hoped and well the mouse has injected it's woke in it from quite early on.

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » December 12th, 2022, 2:50 pm

Anyone else getting a 'Please update your profile' message? Logged in and there's nothing to change really, plus sometimes password doesn't work.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 12th, 2022, 11:23 pm

trinigamer wrote:Anyone else getting a 'Please update your profile' message? Logged in and there's nothing to change really, plus sometimes password doesn't work.

Watched Disney+ earlier tonight and didn’t see any messages like that

Postby MG Man » December 13th, 2022, 10:41 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Wife now come asking me if I deleted Blackish from the Disney+. I was like nah why would I do something like that for.

Anyone knows why?

dang :(
You looked at the Wonder Years reboot? Man I really enjoyed that. Now the longggg wait for Season 2

Postby Dizzy28 » December 13th, 2022, 12:01 pm

Anyone knows why?

You looked at the Wonder Years reboot? Man I really enjoyed that. Now the longggg wait for Season 2

Nah haven't looked at that.
Think the wife watched it but I didn't

Postby maj. tom » December 13th, 2022, 12:14 pm

More streaming services will fix everything. Keep paying guys. :lol: :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 13th, 2022, 12:16 pm

Anyone knows why?

Looks good! Will check this out

Postby MG Man » December 13th, 2022, 12:17 pm

lol @ maj.tom
lately (last two years or so) I find I've lost interest in mainstream media content, and spend a lot more time on youtube
I mean, where else can I find a 30 min 'film' on a guy who owns a bunch of Group B rally cars
So pretty much given up watching movies and tv series, and I find I don't really miss it
All I need to know about Game of Thrones etc I pick up from memes

Postby MG Man » December 13th, 2022, 12:22 pm

Anyone knows why?

Looks good! Will check this out

howwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww do you not know about this O_O

Postby maj. tom » December 13th, 2022, 12:26 pm

Just remember that a 2TB external hard drive is only $800 in PriceSmart.

Magnet link with trackers.
magnet:?xt=urn:btih:5C7825008856CF467C97AE7DFBECC7F67D46A866&dn=The.Wonder.Years.2021.S01.1080p.WEBRip.x265-HiQVE&tr=udp%3A%2F%2Ftracker.openbittorrent.com%3A6969&tr=udp%3A%2F%2Fopen.tracker.cl%3A1337%2Fannounce&tr=udp%3A%2F%2F9.rarbg.com%3A2810%2Fannounce&tr=udp%3A%2F%2Ftracker.openbittorrent.com%3A6969%2Fannounce&tr=udp%3A%2F%2Fexodus.desync.com%3A6969%2Fannounce&tr=udp%3A%2F%2Fwww.torrent.eu.org%3A451%2Fannounce&tr=udp%3A%2F%2Ftracker.pomf.se%3A80%2Fannounce&tr=udp%3A%2F%2Ftracker-udp.gbitt.info%3A80%2Fannounce&tr=udp%3A%2F%2Fretracker.netbynet.ru%3A2710%2Fannounce&tr=udp%3A%2F%2Fbt2.archive.org%3A6969%2Fannounce&tr=https%3A%2F%2Ftracker.nanoha.org%3A443%2Fannounce&tr=https%3A%2F%2Ftracker.lilithraws.cf%3A443%2Fannounce&tr=https%3A%2F%2Ftracker.iriseden.fr%3A443%2Fannounce&tr=https%3A%2F%2Ft1.tokhmi.xyz%3A443%2Fannounce&tr=udp%3A%2F%2Ftracker.opentrackr.org%3A1337%2Fannounce&tr=http%3A%2F%2Ftracker.openbittorrent.com%3A80%2Fannounce&tr=udp%3A%2F%2Fopentracker.i2p.rocks%3A6969%2Fannounce&tr=udp%3A%2F%2Ftracker.internetwarriors.net%3A1337%2Fannounce&tr=udp%3A%2F%2Ftracker.leechers-paradise.org%3A6969%2Fannounce&tr=udp%3A%2F%2Fcoppersurfer.tk%3A6969%2Fannounce&tr=udp%3A%2F%2Ftracker.zer0day.to%3A1337%2Fannounce

If you know what is a magnet link you know what to do already.