Looking for used power tools

marcop2487

Looking for used power tools

Postby marcop2487 » March 10th, 2019, 2:14 pm

Hey guys. Do you'll have any links on persons selling used power tools in a good condition?

I have some DIY work coming up and want to start stocking up my tool shed for weekend projects.

Any decent references would be appreciated.

Re: Looking for used power tools

Postby RedVEVO » March 11th, 2019, 11:37 pm

Order via Amazon ..

It's cheaper than Trini used .

Postby stev » March 12th, 2019, 12:29 am

there are usually great offers in the misc. classifieds right here on tuner...

Postby pugboy » March 12th, 2019, 5:50 am

what you looking at buying ?

marcop2487 wrote:Hey guys. Do you'll have any links on persons selling used power tools in a good condition?

I have some DIY work coming up and want to start stocking up my tool shed for weekend projects.

Any decent references would be appreciated.

marcop2487

Postby marcop2487 » March 12th, 2019, 7:40 am

Circular saw, jigsaw, router saw and angle grinder

marcop2487

Postby marcop2487 » March 12th, 2019, 7:41 am

RedVEVO wrote:Order via Amazon ..

Won't the customs duties jack up the price?

Postby pugboy » March 12th, 2019, 8:19 am

you can get a decent circular saw locally, any of the good brands dewalt etc
they are heavy to ship

others you could order online and ship via seabox, little or no duty on tools

Postby maj. tom » March 12th, 2019, 8:36 am

Check Pricesmart. Have ok minor stuff; you're not a professional contractor, so no need to pay those prices for high end tools u will hardly use. In time, if u realize u need better, check Tool Store. I bought a Skil circular saw in Pricesmart and it's quite decent.

I advise against buying used power tools because u really have no idea what condition they are in on the inside. No warranty, no guarantee. Lose all your money tmrw if it stops working.

Some basic stuff and still collecting:

Skil Saw.
A good balanced hammer.
Framing square.
Cordless Power screwdriver set.
A good measuring tape. Stanley brand is good.
A few general purpose Clamps.
Hammer drill with some drill bits.
A socket set + wrench set including an adjustable wrench.
Basic 3 pliers set - needle nose, cutting, slip joint.
Allen key set.
A jigsaw is always nice.
1 manual multi-head ratchet screwdriver. And other cheap screwdrivers.
1 trowel + shovel.
Vise-grip.
Crowbar. Get a large one and a small pry-bar for nails.
Eye protection+hearing protection.
And many other miscellaneous items that you will eventually buy for specific jobs.

First thing is build a tool box to store all that.

Postby Rovin » March 12th, 2019, 12:32 pm

i dont like to buy anything used , too much uncertainties

imho do it right d 1st time get some good reputable brands like milwaukee , bosch , makita , dewalt , porter cable , even hitachi etc .... nowadays majority of tools coming cordless

stay away from black & decker , skil , stanley & any off key sounding names , they not well built\durable , under powered & not so accurate

youtube has more info than any of us can type here ....

Postby 88sins » March 12th, 2019, 2:06 pm

Rovin wrote:i dont like to buy anything used , too much uncertainties

imho do it right d 1st time get some good reputable brands like milwaukee , bosch , makita , dewalt , porter cable , even hitachi etc .... nowadays majority of tools coming cordless

stay away from black & decker , skil , stanley & any off key sounding names , they not well built\durable , under powered & not so accurate

I'm a tad curious where you got this idea, because my B&D drill, saws, grinder & other tools would disagree with you.

I have quite a few Milwaukee & Dewalt pieces as well, but I primarily put the B&D tools thru more work over the years than the other brands & they have not failed to perform so far, & the corded B&D drill is primarily used for mixing thinset btw. Never burnt, never repaired, & still going like strong, & is not only home it taking work, when i have tile work it's outside what I take to use. The trick is to know how to use the tool in question, and to know how much abuse it can handle safely & not take it past that point.

op,
as u now starting out & you not planning on building a bridge to London, you don't really need ultra heavy duty name brand tools. as a DIYer, simple mid priced tools will suffice for your projects. It's not like you renting them out so it's not like you trying to ensure that it'll withstand the abuse a random mook that rent it from you would give it. & unless you catering to totally abuse or neglect your tools, intentionally or otherwise, even cheaper tools will last a good long time.
The only reasons I could see for buying the brands Rovin mentioned is if you collecting tools that will see heavy use & a degree of abuse/neglect & you need a work horse of a tool, or as a DIYer if yuh really eh have nuttn better to spend yuh money on so then yuh buy the most expensive whatever.

Notice, I say mid-priced eh. you don't have to buy the most expensive saw/drill/recip saw/grinder/whatever, but for the love of common sense, stay away from the dirt cheap stuff unless you like tools that give up on you within a few uses.
If you see something that's relatively cheap, nothing wrong with going home & researching the brand make & model to see if to you you'd find it's worth the money they asking for it.

Postby pugboy » March 12th, 2019, 2:19 pm

Stay away from the harbor freight power tool brands

Postby Slartibartfast » March 12th, 2019, 2:24 pm

Rovin wrote:i dont like to buy anything used , too much uncertainties

I'm a tad curious where you got this idea, because my B&D drill, saws, grinder & other tools would disagree with you.

I have quite a few Milwaukee & Dewalt pieces as well, but I primarily put the B&D tools thru more work over the years than the other brands & they have not failed to perform so far, & the corded B&D drill is primarily used for mixing thinset btw. Never burnt, never repaired, & still going like strong, & is not only home it taking work, when i have tile work it's outside what I take to use. The trick is to know how to use the tool in question, and to know how much abuse it can handle safely & not take it past that point.

op,
as u now starting out & you not planning on building a bridge to London, you don't really need ultra heavy duty name brand tools. as a DIYer, simple mid priced tools will suffice for your projects. It's not like you renting them out so it's not like you trying to ensure that it'll withstand the abuse a random mook that rent it from you would give it. & unless you catering to totally abuse or neglect your tools, intentionally or otherwise, even cheaper tools will last a good long time.
The only reasons I could see for buying the brands Rovin mentioned is if you collecting tools that will see heavy use & a degree of abuse/neglect & you need a work horse of a tool, or as a DIYer if yuh really eh have nuttn better to spend yuh money on so then yuh buy the most expensive whatever.

Notice, I say mid-priced eh. you don't have to buy the most expensive saw/drill/recip saw/grinder/whatever, but for the love of common sense, stay away from the dirt cheap stuff unless you like tools that give up on you within a few uses.
If you see something that's relatively cheap, nothing wrong with going home & researching the brand make & model to see if to you you'd find it's worth the money they asking for it.

B&D is the way to go, especially if you are starting out. Once you take your time and treat your tools right it should last.

If a tool that you are using breaks under heavy use then spring money for a higher quality version. If it doesn't break then chances are that the cheaper version is ample for your use. That way you will have high quality tools that get heavy use and would last long and save yourself from sinking money into expensive tools that you not going to use that often. Just don't skimp on ratchets. I have some Tekton ratchets that still pumping after 5 years. They are actually pretty solid for the price and everything else in that price range was complete crap.

Postby Rovin » March 12th, 2019, 2:26 pm

it depends on WHERE those black & decker , skil , stanley & others were made & WHEN , also d MODEL ..... i have some of d older models of those i mentioned & yes they better than d crap currently made today

jes like every other beginner when i started i bought d cheapest brands & thought yea man it wukkin good & when i upgraded to d good stuff u realize what quality , accuracy & performance is , day & night difference but hey doh study me if u wanna double spend is ur $$$ :|

if $$$ rel tight by all means go with d econo stuff .... jes like everything else in life : u get what u pay for :|

Postby maj. tom » March 12th, 2019, 2:48 pm

not_a_monkey

Postby not_a_monkey » March 12th, 2019, 2:57 pm

marcop2487 wrote:Circular saw, jigsaw, router saw and angle grinder
Hi, my dad got a Stanley grinder 400.00 at SWS last weekend.

Postby pugboy » March 12th, 2019, 3:09 pm

A few years ago I bought a foreign used dewalt miter saw from the guys who sell on the side of highway, empire tools is company name I think.
It actually was in very good condition, was well used by obviously by an experienced tradesman in usa or where ever they get their stuff
blade was dull but everything else working good.
They also have a lot of the harbor freight tools.

A1 tools also has a lot of foreign used tools but pricey.

marcop2487

Postby marcop2487 » March 12th, 2019, 5:34 pm

maj. tom wrote:Check Pricesmart. Have ok minor stuff; you're not a professional contractor, so no need to pay those prices for high end tools u will hardly use. In time, if u realize u need better, check Tool Store. I bought a Skil circular saw in Pricesmart and it's quite decent.

I advise against buying used power tools because u really have no idea what condition they are in on the inside. No warranty, no guarantee. Lose all your money tmrw if it stops working.

Some basic stuff and still collecting:

Skil Saw.
A good balanced hammer.
Framing square.
Cordless Power screwdriver set.
A good measuring tape. Stanley brand is good.
A few general purpose Clamps.
Hammer drill with some drill bits.
A socket set + wrench set including an adjustable wrench.
Basic 3 pliers set - needle nose, cutting, slip joint.
Allen key set.
A jigsaw is always nice.
1 manual multi-head ratchet screwdriver. And other cheap screwdrivers.
1 trowel + shovel.
Vise-grip.
Crowbar. Get a large one and a small pry-bar for nails.
Eye protection+hearing protection.
And many other miscellaneous items that you will eventually buy for specific jobs.

First thing is build a tool box to store all that.
Thanks for the list build

marcop2487

Postby marcop2487 » March 12th, 2019, 5:52 pm

Appreciate the advice from everyone.

Postby pugboy » March 12th, 2019, 9:48 pm

A good cordless hammer drill will go a long ways

airuma

Postby airuma » March 13th, 2019, 6:37 am

Fully agree with maj.tom. Most reputable manufacturers produce tools for home use, diy. Would not be surprised if idiots buy them for everyday use and then give them a bad name. Cordless tools are very convenient and as much as possible use the right size tool for the job e.g. don’t use a rotary hammer to burst a concrete slab.

Postby RedVEVO » March 13th, 2019, 6:48 am

marcop2487 wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:Order via Amazon ..

Won't the customs duties jack up the price?

There is no "custom duties" on power tools .

Postby Rovin » March 13th, 2019, 10:55 am

^^^ is it only hand tools duty free but powered tools have all d normal taxes ? ....

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » March 13th, 2019, 12:06 pm

guys amazon have a straight through socket set at a decent price , just purchased one
https://www.amazon.com/Crescent-CX6PT20 ... 439&sr=8-2

Postby Ted_v2 » March 13th, 2019, 12:09 pm

Empire tools have a lot in debe. Prices hot. Getting deals cheaper. Allied have things cheaper than thru amazon for their deals.

Postby 88sins » March 13th, 2019, 12:12 pm

doh study RedVAGINA
http://www.customs.gov.tt/importing/duties-and-payment

Tools, whether power or manual, are classified under Misc. iirc

Postby pugboy » March 13th, 2019, 5:15 pm

I thought whole bicycles were considered sporting goods and zero duty

88sins wrote:doh study RedVAGINA
http://www.customs.gov.tt/importing/duties-and-payment

Tools, whether power or manual, are classified under Misc. iirc

Postby 88sins » March 13th, 2019, 5:36 pm

depends on the what bicycle designed for.
if it's a racing bicycle it'll be classified as sporting equipment. if it's a little kids bike it'll be classified differently

Postby 88sins » March 13th, 2019, 5:52 pm

but fuh real, u hadda shop around to get the best value for yuh dollar.
couple months ago I was looking for a cordless drill as a gift for a family member. pass through Bhagwansingh and see a B&D cordless, drill only, for almost $800. went on amazon and saw a set with the exact same drill with tape measure, drill bits, spirit level, sockets, screwdriver tips and extension, and manual screwdriver, fuh US $50. landed total was about TT$550.

hindian

Postby hindian » March 13th, 2019, 6:02 pm

I bought a foreign used Rigid power saw for a $800 a few year ago when i was building my home, never even changed the blade that came with it lol. I have a B&D hammer drill that does every thing i need it to do as well as a B&D cordless. As someone said above, it's how you use the tools...

Defiant

Postby Defiant » March 13th, 2019, 7:06 pm

My lil 2cents on the topic, do you have a budget for the tools in question with a deadline to get them?. Reason being is the best brand tool is worthless with the cheapest consumables, a quality blade on a cheap saw will make short work of a task compared to high end tool with a shitty blade. So buy within reason and spend a little more on your blades and bits, also if you are drilling frequent concrete holes then buy a SDS drill with chipping function from a reputable brand(Bosch has a nice selection). Take a little time and get to understand the tools, their limitations and the blades/bits best suited for what. Save up and build that tool box with what you require and lastly make a LIST of your tools and write down who you lent your tools to.