Starbucks opens in St Augustine now.. (is wah... SIXTEEN Branches now?)

Starbucks opens in Aranguez now.. (is wah... SIXTEEN Branch dey now?)

Postby MaxPower » March 4th, 2023, 11:22 pm

Friends,

A reminder to make more healthy choices. Trinis are consuming too much oil, fat, salt and sugar which contributes to excessive visceral fat/obesity, diabetes and other related issues.

Water is your best friend.

Exercise.

Skanky

Re: Starbucks opens in Aranguez now.. (is wah... SIXTEEN Branch dey now?)

Postby Skanky » March 5th, 2023, 6:52 am

Was in Starbucks Trincity roundabout on Friday and there were four flies in the glass display having a great time with the food.

We pointed this out to an employee and the employee explained how people had previously complained about the situation but that it was not on them to rectify the situation.

If not the employees then who is responsible?

Postby hover11 » March 5th, 2023, 7:54 am

Skanky wrote:Was in Starbucks Trincity roundabout on Friday and there were four flies in the glass display having a great time with the food.

We pointed this out to an employee and the employee explained how people had previously complained about the situation but that it was not on them to rectify the situation.

Like if prestige holdings gives a shite.All the ppl that complained I'm pretty sure they would return again to patronize. See they just posted over a billion dollars in revenue....

Postby adnj » March 5th, 2023, 8:08 am

MaxPower wrote:Friends,

A reminder to make more healthy choices. Trinis are consuming too much oil, fat, salt and sugar which contributes to excessive visceral fat/obesity, diabetes and other related issues.

Exercise.

And drinking coffee with caffeine.

https://academic.oup.com/eurjpc/article ... m=fulltext

Postby Dizzy28 » March 5th, 2023, 8:22 am

I bought SB coffee a lot up to June last year. Then for Father's Day/my birthday I got a hybrid coffee machine that can brew using grounds or K cups. Have never looked back since.

In going back to Starbucks one day around Nov realized one of the two drinks I would normally have i.e. cold brew coffee underwent a drastic price rise. Small size went from 17 to 30. That basically wrote them off for me. Would only have the iced tea now or thier daily fresh brew if I do end up there for any reason.

The mere existence of the chain doesn't bother me as it does some people here. Either you like something and buy or you don't and move on with your life gracefully.
wing wrote:How funny to see the amount of beat up over overpriced coffee that everyone swears they don't buy, I wonder what demographic of the population patronising the establishments that they expanding so rapidly. The sour grapes, suffering and jealousy real strong. How anyone spends their own money should be their business.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 5th, 2023, 11:45 am

Skanky wrote:Was in Starbucks Trincity roundabout on Friday and there were four flies in the glass display having a great time with the food.

Aren't the items in the glass case just for display - they don't serve that.
Either way flies in a glass case are a real deterrent and unhygienic anyway

Postby MaxPower » March 5th, 2023, 2:37 pm

adnj wrote:And drinking coffee with caffeine.

Good article adnj, black coffee is the best, i love it.

But take that same coffee and add sugar, syrup, essences, whip cream and give it a fancy name Trinis ketch their ass to pronounce and what have we?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 5th, 2023, 2:49 pm

But take that same coffee and add sugar, syrup, essences, whip cream and give it a fancy name Trinis ketch their ass to pronounce and what have we?

daz ah gay drink you describing dey max. only panty man does drink them thing. real men drink hong wing with brandy.

Postby adnj » March 5th, 2023, 3:45 pm

daring dragoon wrote:

daz ah gay drink you describing dey max. only panty man does drink them thing. real men drink hong wing with brandy.

Observational research has suggested that light alcohol consumption may provide heart-related health benefits, but a large study showed alcohol intake at all levels was linked with higher risks of cardiovascular disease. There is also the added risk of developing alcohol-attributable cancer.

https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jamane ... le/2790520

Postby MaxPower » March 5th, 2023, 4:46 pm

daring dragoon wrote:

Yeh boi hong wing does drink good

Postby st7 » March 5th, 2023, 7:04 pm

Aren't the items in the glass case just for display - they don't serve that.
Either way flies in a glass case are a real deterrent and unhygienic anyway

iirc, they do serve cookies and other dessert items though. not the sandwiches though.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » March 5th, 2023, 7:45 pm

All the baked goods are either imported or prepared elsewhere and are in single serve plastic packaging. They either unwrap it and put it straight in your bag or the toaster oven before handing it to you.

Either way, the flies in the display case is nastiness.

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 6th, 2023, 8:43 am

adnj wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

Observational research has suggested that light alcohol consumption may provide heart-related health benefits, but a large study showed alcohol intake at all levels was linked with higher risks of cardiovascular disease. There is also the added risk of developing alcohol-attributable cancer.

https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jamane ... le/2790520

Aight bmt you becoming a reply guy / "um ackshully" kinda mf now.

Just like Jared, just trying to win the small battles. Was just joke the man makin lmao.

But nah, u hadda link a study for everything.

(agreed with you on the benefits of coffee though, but what the man was saying was the sugar/soybean thickened milks is the real problem nowadays..... Nobody goes to Starbucks for black coffee really)

But yeah, #HongWingMasterRace.... I gonna sound F**kin insane here, but I just mix a teaspoon of HongWing in a shot glass with some room temperature water and shot it on a morning.
It slowly releases during the day and tapers off nicely so you won't get the crash.

Food is Medicine to me.

Starbucks opens in Aranguez now.. (is wah... SIXTEEN Branch dey now?)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 6th, 2023, 9:43 am

Tried some Turkish coffee at home yesterday. I usually drink green tea, not coffee but this tasted good. I think I need to make it thicker tho.

Had it in Starbucks serving set

Postby eliteauto » March 6th, 2023, 9:50 am

^^Bought some Turkish coffee at Peppercorns on Saturday, Shazel is the brand, will try soon, need some of those little demitasse cups

Postby adnj » March 6th, 2023, 9:54 am

It needs to be much thicker. You should not be able to see through Turkish coffee. Turks also drink tea and American coffee from the glasses that you show.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 7th, 2023, 4:08 am

if it wasnt for google eh. an how sunday punch close down you woulda have to resort to making sheit up.

Postby pugboy » March 7th, 2023, 5:40 am

turkish is not for french press, just bubbled over hard

plenty thicker and supposed to have sludge left over
some claim to swirl and do fortune telling from the sludge left over

Postby Chimera » March 7th, 2023, 6:48 am

eliteauto wrote:^^Bought some Turkish coffee at Peppercorns on Saturday, Shazel is the brand, will try soon, need some of those little demitasse cups
$7.99 for 25 Styrofoam cup in any grocery.

Multi purpose

Coffee. Rum. Whisky. Corn soup. Tea. Milk.

Postby adnj » March 7th, 2023, 7:22 am

^^ So sad. LOL
The next step is drinking from a Protox cap and cutting toenails with a kitchen knife.

Postby Chimera » March 7th, 2023, 8:31 am

Yuh doesn't get the true flavor of expensive whiskey unless u drink it in a Styrofoam cup with plenty coca cola and ice

Postby Chimera » March 7th, 2023, 8:55 am

Duane u does leave a tip for yourself after you make coffee like that?

Postby teems1 » March 7th, 2023, 10:55 am

MaxPower wrote:Friends,

Exercise.
Your mind is going to explode when you see the ingredients for arepas.

Postby eliteauto » March 7th, 2023, 11:09 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
eliteauto wrote:^^Bought some Turkish coffee at Peppercorns on Saturday, Shazel is the brand, will try soon, need some of those little demitasse cups

Multi purpose

If it's one thing with you, you're consistent in your love of a styrotex cup eh

Postby Chimera » March 7th, 2023, 1:11 pm

eliteauto wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:

Multi purpose

If it's one thing with you, you're consistent in your love of a styrotex cup eh
Styrofoam everything. The worse part of a lime is the cleaning up after.

I drink some 23 year old ron zacapa and gran reserve and johnnie blue Friday all from one Styrofoam cup.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 7th, 2023, 3:32 pm

adnj wrote:It needs to be much thicker. You should not be able to see through Turkish coffee. Turks also drink tea and American coffee from the glasses that you show.

pugboy wrote:turkish is not for french press, just bubbled over hard

Will definitely try it again much thicker

Postby Dizzy28 » March 7th, 2023, 3:38 pm

adnj wrote:It needs to be much thicker. You should not be able to see through Turkish coffee. Turks also drink tea and American coffee from the glasses that you show.

Will definitely items try it again much thicker

At this point I would probably just eat the grounds with a spoon oui!!!

Postby pugboy » March 7th, 2023, 4:21 pm

i think lawrence of arabia sells the little pot that it is boiled in with long handle

Postby eliteauto » March 7th, 2023, 5:25 pm

Briarend has as well

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 7th, 2023, 5:34 pm

At this point I would probably just eat the grounds with a spoon oui!!!

was gonna say the same lol