Re: Canadian imprisoned in Trinidad for keychains

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 1st, 2019, 11:29 pm

20 min?
notenks

Postby sMASH » February 1st, 2019, 11:40 pm

had some used casings, put back a bullet, made them into key chains, traveling from guyana to canada, stop over in trini, customs see the key chain, got arrested, went to jail trinidad is sheit with sheit laws.
i agree.

Postby zoom rader » February 1st, 2019, 11:45 pm

Good on the TT goverment, our laws are stupid enought but abide with them.

Can't have these foreigners coming here thinking they have white privileges.

You cant go Canada break their laws and expect a blight. Jail his MC

Postby gastly369 » February 1st, 2019, 11:48 pm

sMASH wrote:had some used casings, put back a bullet, made them into key chains, traveling from guyana to canada, stop over in trini, customs see the key chain, got arrested, went to jail trinidad is sheit with sheit laws.
i agree.
With the ever changing world and laws to suit the times ...we still using archaic laws and because "how money go make"

Like I said we are looked on as Jurassic Park on a world scale

Postby zoom rader » February 2nd, 2019, 12:08 am

If he did that Chit in the UK , he have been jail aswell. Any part of a weapon in an UK airport is Jail.

Jail he MC

Postby sMASH » February 2nd, 2019, 12:39 am

gastly369 wrote:
sMASH wrote:had some used casings, put back a bullet, made them into key chains, traveling from guyana to canada, stop over in trini, customs see the key chain, got arrested, went to jail trinidad is sheit with sheit laws.
i agree.
With the ever changing world and laws to suit the times ...we still using archaic laws and because "how money go make"

Like I said we are looked on as Jurassic Park on a world scale

unintelligent laws for unintelligent people...

Postby shogun » February 2nd, 2019, 2:39 am

Great. Let the world see just how ass-backwards our laws are. This should be sent to the local news outlets. Come on lawmakers, do better than this? We can now count on this man, his family, friends and anyone else he knows, never setting foot on our soil again.

Postby j.o.e » February 2nd, 2019, 3:09 am

Laws are laws. Traveling with ammunition (even empty shells ) is stupid. I can’t even board a flight with bottled water to go USA. Hymc I iz Cro Cro

Postby MaxPower » February 2nd, 2019, 3:50 am

That poor Canadian..

So sad he had to be treated this way in this country.

He deserves an apology and compensation.

Postby pugboy » February 2nd, 2019, 5:34 am

It’s a good well spoken account.

We are backwards no doubt when it comes to these things and nobody wants to admit it for the sake of patriotism.

They don’t lock you up for spite knowing the laws are a woft though
They simply throw it in the big yellow bin.
I have seen folks with bottle opener keychains seized and dumped, no jail or stupid charges.

j.o.e wrote:Laws are laws. Traveling with ammunition (even empty shells ) is stupid. I can’t even board a flight with bottled water to go USA. Hymc I iz Cro Cro

Postby maj. tom » February 2nd, 2019, 6:22 am

Who doesn't want to admit that TT is one of the most backward nations on Earth?
Patriotism? With so much littering and stink behaviour on the roads? Some people live in this country like they renting.

The guy will spread the word, make sure other Canadians choose to visit Barbados or Jamaica.

Postby maj. tom » February 2nd, 2019, 6:23 am

A 51-year-old Canadian businessman held at the Piarco International Airport has been fined $5,000 forthwith by an Arima magistrate for having three rounds of ammunition and attempting to board a flight with the illegal items.

The man’s attorney Terry Boyer yesterday told senior magistrate Joanne Connor that the ammunition was spent shells in the form of key rings. The attorney, in mitigation plea, said the items were incapable of doing any harm.

The Canadian, a gold miner, pleaded guilty to both charges.

Last Tuesday at about 4 pm, an estate constable at the airport searched a bag belonging to the foreigner and found the items. The man was attempting to board a Caribbean Airlines flight.

Yesterday Boyer said the businessman, in transit from Guyana, was returning to his homeland. Through his attorney, the businessman apologised for having the items. He has no previous conviction nor pending matters.

Connor fined him $2,500 on each charge and in default, he would serve nine months in jail.

The court confiscated the key rings.
https://newsday.co.tt/2019/01/24/canadi ... key-rings/
Last edited by maj. tom on February 2nd, 2019, 6:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rspann » February 2nd, 2019, 6:26 am

Suppose he did shoot de pilot wid de bullet and make de plane crash? Den allyuh woulda blame the occifers.

Postby maj. tom » February 2nd, 2019, 6:33 am

From the video, the keychains look exactly like the picture above. The man stupid thinking he could travel with something like that. It's not like he used the brass casing alone and retooled it to look inert. They looked like live ammo, and were in fact spent shells. Which could easily be re-purposed.

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 2nd, 2019, 6:40 am

The AATT did their job well. It was the charging officer who made the error as there was an issue for the 2nd charge. Yes he got some red tape but he was given leniency as the judge said it could have been 28days instead of the 7 he got. He was allowed access to his personal belongings and mobile phone and was even visited by an official of the Canadian Embassy to provide him with some minor supplies.

If it was in reverse order, a T&T or West Indian national would have been treated worse and would not have been allowed to leave the country (US, Canada or UK) and would not have been treated with dignity or respect. We have lots of trinis and west indians on a whole that got into similar trouble in overseas airports and I don't recall local media highlighting these issues but 1 Canadian national got caught with something that is illegal here and we lambasting our own country?

Dont forget guys, an aircraft's cabin is pressurized. Any small explosion can affect fuselage integrity (especially considering the age of the aircraft) and can bring an entire plane down. The FAA/NTSB etc will investigate it especially if the aircraft had US nationals on board and then our lovely little country will be plastered all over international news for the wrong reasons which can even further our tourism woes. Yes this is an exaggeration but when it comes to airports, the lesson is, dont carry anything at all that can raise questions!

Pablo660

Canadian imprisoned in Trinidad for keychains

Postby Pablo660 » February 2nd, 2019, 7:57 am

Wow to read and skim tru some of the comments is amazing

Education level is real high here

android79

Postby android79 » February 2nd, 2019, 8:26 am

MaxPower wrote:That poor Canadian..

Compensation for breaking the law? even though the law is backward, I think not.

Postby zoom rader » February 2nd, 2019, 8:30 am

Can't believe that you kants.

The law is the law if you tried that Chit with any part of a weapon in the UK in the airport they will jail you.

He deserves jail .

I dare any of you kants to try that in a UK airport.

Postby zoom rader » February 2nd, 2019, 8:41 am

maj. tom wrote:Who doesn't want to admit that TT is one of the most backward nations on Earth?
Patriotism? With so much littering and stink behaviour on the roads? Some people live in this country like they renting.

The guy will spread the word, make sure other Canadians choose to visit Barbados or Jamaica.
I dare any of you to try that in an UK airport.

Postby zoom rader » February 2nd, 2019, 8:43 am

MaxPower wrote:That poor Canadian..

He was treated well

Postby zoom rader » February 2nd, 2019, 8:43 am

shogun wrote:Great. Let the world see just how ass-backwards our laws are. This should be sent to the local news outlets. Come on lawmakers, do better than this? We can now count on this man, his family, friends and anyone else he knows, never setting foot on our soil again.

Postby maj. tom » February 2nd, 2019, 8:48 am

I watched the video. His complaint wasn't that he broke the law, he accepted it and wanted to get it resolved in court, pay the fine etc. But the put him in jail overnight, jerked him around on the first hearing without a lawyer, then spent a week in maximum security prison, got a lawyer. He was observing how broken our justice system is. The smuggled phones and contraband that displayed the corruption within the prison walls. The treatment of prisoners. How he noted people in jail 6 to 9 years without even as much as a trial, illegal immigrants from Venezela in prison for years without a trial.

That's what the video is about. It's actually appalling because it's all true. That's how Trinidad works. Imagine having to wait so long for a f*cking trial and you could be innocent!!! How many innocent men in Orange Grove prison right now wasting their lives because of a corrupt system, or a bad police officer? That he should not have broken the law is obvious, but given that he was allowed to pass through several international ports and Guyana unmolested with the items, and that this was a simple mistake on his part, could this not have been resolved within 24 hours by our legal system? The highlight is our backward country that wants tourists here and have no respect for a few basic human rights.

rebound

Postby rebound » February 2nd, 2019, 8:51 am

I dont see an issue here, the law is the law, put some uncooked bhaji with ah bottle of blue waters sealed and go in the US nah, see how forward they would treat you.

Postby 88sins » February 2nd, 2019, 8:54 am

Welcome to T&T, the most back-asswards flyspeck nation on the planet where you can be arrested for basically anything by some overzealous jackasses in uniforms, thanks to laws written by jackasses in suits

Postby timelapse » February 2nd, 2019, 9:31 am

Allyuh popping down a law that actually makes sense. Who give a flying crapaud if he Canadian.Had a trini been caught flying into Canada with a prohibited item, would be the same result.IS a set of bullets, real bullets, whether live or not. But is a white man, so I guess he can do no wrong.

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » February 2nd, 2019, 9:50 am

Specify which uk airport/ Heathrow/ Gatwick/ Aberdeen
Non uk, Madrid / Amsterdam/ New York/ Miami/ Vegas/ Barbados, etc

I had a similar experience thank god not as bad but only in Trinidad
Honestly I hate flying out of our country, so much bad experience from foreign friends and co workers about this country is atrocious.
I have family in customs as well so I know they know what kind of poor Trini represents we have working.
These bad apples make our country looks like the hell it is becoming.

Postby matr1x » February 2nd, 2019, 9:56 am

Good for him

Postby zoom rader » February 2nd, 2019, 10:01 am

88sins wrote:Welcome to T&T, the most back-asswards flyspeck nation on the planet where you can be arrested for basically anything by some overzealous jackasses in uniforms, thanks to laws written by jackasses in suits
Yup but is the law.

Same as dumb ass law of smooth bore air rifles. Even importing pellets on your own there are dumb ass customs offices than impose their own interpretation of the law. Had a battle with these tin gods.

Then again you can buy a pump action shot gun to hunt , it upside down laws.