Water Restrictions in effect from Monday 28th Jan. - Fines for hoses, sprinklers, pressure washers

Postby redmanjp » January 25th, 2019, 7:21 pm

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/you-now-face-fines-using-water-hoses-sprinklers-pressure-washers

Come Monday January 28, you will be fined if you're caught using a water hose to wash your car or even water your plants.

The fine is $75.

This as WASA implements its water use restrictions for this dry season, one in which the met office said will be harsher than usual.

But it's not just water hoses that are being banned.

You won't be able to use sprinklers, pressure washers, decorate fountains and other outdoor artistic water features.

The law also restricts customers from diverting water from a reservoir, watercourse or public standpipe.

WASA says any person who breaches the law is liable to a fine.

It warns that there will be increased patrols and upon the presentation of authentic documents, WASA personnel have the power to enter any premises supplies with water at all reasonable hours.

yuh think they going to increase that fine now?

Re: Water Restrictions in effect from Monday 28th Jan. - Fines for hoses, sprinklers, pressure washers

Postby pugboy » January 25th, 2019, 7:32 pm

Run your hose/pressure washer off a tank with rain water collection

Rainwater collection is legal

Re: Water Restrictions in effect from Monday 28th Jan. - Fines for hoses, sprinklers, pressure washers

Postby redmanjp » January 25th, 2019, 7:37 pm

pugboy wrote:Run your hose/pressure washer off a tank with rain water collection

hmm i thought wasa say they own rain water too- even if i do that not much rain forecast to fall anyway this dry season

Melchizedek

Postby Melchizedek » January 25th, 2019, 8:30 pm

intermittent showers today, hopefully it keeps up

Postby Ben_spanna » January 25th, 2019, 8:39 pm

How about the fking water trucks that illegally hooking up to hydrants and stealing water ?

Postby alfa » January 25th, 2019, 9:23 pm

What about those water trucks that spill a few gallons of water every time they turn a corner?How difficult is it to cover the damn tank, and they want to tell us to conserve :roll:

No_Name

Postby No_Name » January 25th, 2019, 9:28 pm

redmanjp wrote:
pugboy wrote:Run your hose/pressure washer off a tank with rain water collection

hmm i thought wasa say they own rain water too- even if i do that not much rain forecast to fall anyway this dry season

Then that'll be like fishermen who feel they "own" d fish in d sea...

screwbash

Postby screwbash » January 25th, 2019, 9:33 pm

wen wasa stop all dem car wash men den i go stop using my hoes

Postby Les Bain » January 25th, 2019, 9:37 pm

Can't fine anyone for the billion dollar failure plant on the beetham, but they could fine you for using a hose with a head attachment.

Nice.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » January 25th, 2019, 9:44 pm

Les Bain wrote:Can't fine anyone for the billion dollar failure plant on the beetham, but they could fine you for using a hose with a head attachment.

Nice.

dey probally plannin tuh make bak the bilions $75 at ah time. i hope they start with all dem car wash men who running hose tuh full dey barrels and presha washas. airport using som kinda sprey ting tuh wash d plains, pm1 always shiny buh dey wah my $75.

Zetski

Postby Zetski » January 25th, 2019, 9:47 pm

So they going to charge farmers for pumping water from the ravine to water plants? smh

Postby pugboy » January 25th, 2019, 9:48 pm

They don't own rain, they own rivers and we'll water.

No_Name wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Postby nervewrecker » January 25th, 2019, 10:41 pm

pugboy wrote:They don't own rain, they own rivers and we'll water.

No_Name wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

They said they have control over all the water or some stupidness so. How water is not a renewable resource and all come from precipitation. by collecting precipitation you collecting their resource directly. Does not matter if it run off in the river and they collect it or percolate into the ground and they bring it up, you took part of it when it was falling. so is them own you take

Postby pugboy » January 26th, 2019, 5:32 am

Angostura has a rainwater collection system and were taken to court by wasa.

Angostura won the case, I believe the key difference was between aggregation vs collection or some technicality like that.

They have a huge rainwater treatment plant which supplements the rum production.

Postby hydroep » January 26th, 2019, 6:01 am

The irony...

WASA gets international assistance with leak repair
Darlisa Ghouralal

With Trinidad and Tobago officially entering the dry season – one that’s forecast to be harsh and feature drought-like conditions – the Water and Sewerage Authority (WASA) is working doubly hard to repair leaks along its water distribution system.

An estimated 50 percent of the water produced by WASA is lost due to leaks, mainly caused by aging infrastructure, a daily loss of around 102 million imperial gallons.

The Ministry of Public Utilities in a statement revealed that Israeli —based UTILIS Corporation is currently in Trinidad and Tobago with a view to determining how it can assist WASA in achieving a reduction in the levels of non-revenue water caused by sub-surface leaks in its water distribution system.

The team is in the country to conduct workshops with WASA's management and repair teams in Trinidad and In Tobago, and will conduct several site verification exercises during the course of this week on both islands. The exercise is being supported by the Inter — American Development Bank, the IDB.

UTILIS uses advanced algorithm satellite imagery of the pipeline network. A map showing suspected areas of leaks is generated and WASA will then have to conduct a held verification, by walking along the pipeline network with acoustic equipment, which will then help to pinpoint the exact site or sites of the leak.

This expected to allow for greater efficiency in effecting repairs to leaking pipelines.

The UTILIS team will carry out several site verification exercises in Trinidad as well as in Tobago later this week, in collaboration with WASA's technical teams.

Public Utilities Minister Robert Le Hunte said the Israeli company’s involvement will greatly assist the Ministry in trying to get a handle on the leaks in the system so as to reduce the high levels of water loss currently being experienced.

Le Hunte emphasised that while locating the leaks is essential, it is not a solution for all the ills plaguing WASA as there are several factors which contribute to the lack of water in some parts of the country.

He added that the identification and repair of leaks must work in tandem with increased production, increased public awareness and conservation.

Conservation, he said, was particularly critical as the country faces an acute dry season. He urged citizens to be mindful about their consumption patterns during this period.

Minister Le Hunte said while the Government is working assiduously to fix the problems plaguing WASA, it does not absolve citizens from doing their part to conserve water.

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/01/26/wasa-to-restrict-water-usage-from-next-week/

Skanky

Postby Skanky » January 26th, 2019, 7:13 am

In the dry season wasa can't provide water.
In the wet season wasa can't provide water.
And it's the citizens fault wasa can't provide water because we 'waste' the water to wash cars and water plants?

Postby sMASH » January 26th, 2019, 7:34 am

No_Name wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

They said they have control over all the water or some stupidness so. How water is not a renewable resource and all come from precipitation. by collecting precipitation you collecting their resource directly. Does not matter if it run off in the river and they collect it or percolate into the ground and they bring it up, you took part of it when it was falling. so is them own you take

it literally falls from the mc sky.

annnnnd, when u collect it, u dont ship it abroad, u dont store it in a bank. u use it, u drink it, cook with it, wash the car, the yard, water the plants. when u wash with it, it runs back down into the drains, when drink it, u piss it back out. when u collect water, it doesnt stay there forever, it returns to they water cycle in a timing.

Postby aaron17 » January 26th, 2019, 8:48 am

Wash car on Sunday yes.....

airuma

Postby airuma » January 26th, 2019, 9:07 am

sMASH wrote:

No_Name wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

it literally falls from the mc sky.

annnnnd, when u collect it, u dont ship it abroad, u dont store it in a bank. u use it, u drink it, cook with it, wash the car, the yard, water the plants. when u wash with it, it runs back down into the drains, when drink it, u piss it back out. when u collect water, it doesnt stay there forever, it returns to they water cycle in a timing.

So what you’re saying is WASA should really be charging for the service to provide potable water rather than own the water else they are charging us for the same thing over and over?

Postby sMASH » January 26th, 2019, 9:26 am

^^meter for all???

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 26th, 2019, 9:35 am

Them hada catch me yes..I washing with hose as normal

Postby hydroep » January 26th, 2019, 11:24 am

Who it is charging yuh, the Police? Or WASA have dem own "Water Police"?...:?

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » January 26th, 2019, 12:00 pm

screwbash wrote:wen wasa stop all dem car wash men den i go stop using my hoes
This!

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » January 26th, 2019, 12:02 pm

No_Name wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

True, rain water collection is against the law

abbow

Postby abbow » January 26th, 2019, 12:14 pm

when this type of situation arise, the pressure is only increasing between the people and the powers that be....

meanwhile....men still have 5-10 trucks with tanks on it, filling them with WASA water and selling under "contract" for others on construction sites.

Postby aaron17 » January 26th, 2019, 12:55 pm

hydroep wrote:Who it is charging yuh, the Police? Or WASA have dem own "Water Police"?...:?
Or nosy neighbours?

Postby SR » January 26th, 2019, 1:48 pm

So wasa fix all thier leaks as yet??

Watch how dem wasa police go be driving around residential areas between 6 and 8 in the evening

maxtech

Postby maxtech » January 26th, 2019, 2:18 pm

Average 1.3 million people in this country. Not everyone has water directly to there property.
Everytime rain fall, people houses get flood out and they pray for the rain to stop because of too much water.

Yet WASA makes not improvement to there infrastructure. Every year they fix the same burst pipes and digging up the same roads they fix last year.
Would it be so costly to put at least one more desalination plant in Trinidad and 2 in Tobago.

I really can't justify charging people for wetting plants and washing there cars. Yet you have car wash still operating and leaky pipe all over the country, plus you paying WASA employee overtime to fix pipe they didn't fix good in the first place.
Why should I be charged? Now you telling me sheit capturing rain water illegal. Why the government don't place a subsidy on water tanks so everyone could get chance of capturing water during the rainy season.

We don't have a water problem in this country. We have people who are not innovative thinkers in government and they hiring people like themselves so run this country to the ground.
I find if wasa police charge anybody in this country the citizen nearby should give him/her some of the the finest cuttass he ever get.

Respectfully yours
WASA POlICE

Postby redmanjp » January 26th, 2019, 2:38 pm

hydroep wrote:Who it is charging yuh, the Police? Or WASA have dem own "Water Police"?...:?

i think they have their own estate police and under the WASA Act they have authority to enter your premises at reasonable times

airuma

Postby airuma » January 26th, 2019, 3:14 pm

While I am all for measures that will enable us to conserve our usage of potable water, decisions such as these make me realize that those in authority are clueless of what they are doing and are highly paid to be clueless too!
As I see it, a hose is just a conduit for the water, just like a pipe, except that it allows freedom of movement. If I have to wash my yard, water my plants, wash my car etc. The alternative I am left with is to full a bucket. Of course, I will not want to waste time so I will try to multitask rather than wait for the water to full in the bucket. This could easily lead to many overflown buckets. Also, from my observation, it takes much more water to scrub my yard with buckets than a pressure washer.
What doesn't WASA perform an inspection/testing service for hoses/nozzles or hose rental/ sale for the dry season. I personally won't mind paying $75 to inspect my hose and be able to use it during the dry season if the alternative is to not use it at all or use it but keep looking over my shoulder.