The Official Tropical Weather Thread 2022

Re: The Official Tropical Weather Thread 2022

Postby redmanjp » June 28th, 2022, 11:58 am

we getting more direct hits the past 5 years, starting with Bret.

SuperMan9999

Postby SuperMan9999 » June 28th, 2022, 12:00 pm

Hi so this will be a direct hit?

I have to go to work tomorrow, will this be possible? I don't think my boss wants to close cause he will lose money

Postby bluefete » June 28th, 2022, 12:02 pm

Okay folks. THIS IS WHAT WE SHOULD BE PAYING ATTENTION TO:

TRINIDAD will receive a direct LANDFALL today, June 28, 2022 from POTENTIAL TROPICAL CYCLONE #2 / TROPICAL STORM BONNIE.
SHELTER IN PLACE from strong tropical squalls + STORM SURGE + 40-55 mph winds or gusts + coastal/Island flooding + dangerous seas, June 28-29, 2022

https://www.facebook.com/HurricaneTyphoonCycloneAlerts/

Hurricane/Typhoon/Cyclone Alerts

* #CARIBBEAN: #PTC2

- Hurricane/Typhoon/Cyclone Alerts has posted a satellite graphic showing an organizing #PotentialTropicalCycloneTwo / #PotentialTropicalCyclone2, likely to become #TropicalStormBonnie, later today, June 28, 2022.

NOTE: The track of #PTCTwo / #TSBonnie has shifter further south placing TRINIDAD in the direct LANDFALL path, later today, June 28, 2022. SHELTER IN PLACE, TRINIDAD.

- Hurricane/Typhoon/Cyclone Alerts urges people/friends in #TrinidadAndTobago / #Trinidad / #Tobago + #Venezuela north coast + #Grenada & surrounding dependencies, to SHELTER IN PLACE, June 28-29, 2022.

Widespread strong tropical squalls capable of producing significant flooding has begun over the southeast Caribbean island nations.

Stay in your place of SHELTER until PTC2 / #Bonnie tracks west of your location likely by tomorrow, June 29, 2022.
- Hurricane/Typhoon/Cyclone Alerts recommends that people/friends in Trinidad + Tobago + Grenada + north Venezuela to SHELTER from ongoing and approaching tropical rain squalls + a 2-4 foot STORM SURGE + 40-55 mph winds with stronger gusts + coastal/island flooding + dangerous seas.

- Hurricane/Typhoon/Cyclone Alerts will post updates 24/7.
Last edited by bluefete on June 28th, 2022, 12:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » June 28th, 2022, 12:08 pm

just on news, latest update is it moved closer to Trinidad (something like 110 miles closer since the previous update) so they expect it to hit earlier....about 6 pm.

Postby bluefete » June 28th, 2022, 12:11 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:just on news, latest update is it moved closer to Trinidad (something like 110 miles closer since the previous update) so they expect it to hit earlier....about 6 pm.

And people squawking about it moving north. Not true at all!

Postby aaron17 » June 28th, 2022, 12:11 pm

That thing moving 23miles per hr?

Postby maj. tom » June 28th, 2022, 12:20 pm

AccuWeather shows that steady rain should start around half 2 or 3 pm and the winds will start to increase around 8pm.

Postby sMASH » June 28th, 2022, 12:20 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Image

How old is this update? It definitely seems to be more north now than it shows here.
It looking a Lil more north than before.

But, I will admit, I'm splitting hairs.

If it pick speed and reaching sooner, then it wouldn't be not much difference.

Postby sMASH » June 28th, 2022, 12:27 pm

That center looking more tobago than trinidad..
FB_IMG_1656433560254.jpg

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » June 28th, 2022, 12:46 pm

solarkh wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I doh see how this is north.....shrugs shoulders

Exactly. Have no idea why some people saying it move north.
Maybe all the scientists and supercomputers in the national hurricane center in miami got it wrong....

shaha87

Postby shaha87 » June 28th, 2022, 12:48 pm

They forgot to put in “God is a Trini!” variable

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 28th, 2022, 12:54 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:
solarkh wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I doh see how this is north.....shrugs shoulders

Exactly. Have no idea why some people saying it move north.
Maybe all the scientists and supercomputers in the national hurricane center in miami got it wrong....

Because it is moving north, those predictions are not real-time you can see from almost real-time satellite imagery, that l it is moving West North West.

It looks like the center is in line with Tobago.

Screenshot_20220628-175256_Chrome.jpg

Postby redmanjp » June 28th, 2022, 1:10 pm

Update- Storm conditions expected 2 hrs earlier from 6pm

A Tropical Storm Warning is in effect for Trinidad and Tobago. A Tropical Storm Warning means that tropical storm conditions (sustained winds of 63 km/h or greater) are likely over the warning area within 36 hours or less. At 11:00 am this morning, the centre of Potential Tropical Cyclone Two (PTC2) was located near 9.8ºN latitude 57.5ºW longitude or about 380 km East of Trinidad. PTC2 is moving toward the west at 37 km/h and a west to north-westward motion is expected over the next few days. The system is now forecast to pass near or over portions of the southern Windward Islands by this evening and tropical storm conditions are now likely from 6pm this evening. Ahead of the system, isolated afternoon heavy showers/thunderstorms can develop, which can produce gusty winds in excess of 55 km/h. As PTC2 moves over the islands this evening into tonight, it is likely to produce periods of heavy to intense showers and/or thunderstorms that can result in rainfall accumulations in excess of 100 mm in some areas and wind gusts in excess of 70km/h. These wind gusts are capable of breaking tree branches, displacing unsecured roofs and loose outdoor objects, and can even topple over unhealthy trees. Heavy rainfall can produce ponding and localized flash flooding. Marine activities can be adversely affected, as sea conditions will become rough with wave heights reaching occasionally above 3m in open waters and choppy in sheltered areas. The risk of landslides/landslips is likely in areas so prone. The next update will be issued at 2pm.
Instructions Prepare to protect lives, livelihood, and property. Plan your evacuation to a shelter if it becomes necessary. Always have emergency supplies of food and water on standby. Secure loose outdoor items and livestock. Do not wade or drive through floodwaters. Pre-position sandbags if your area floods and monitor river levels. Those with marine interest should exercise extreme caution. Follow the instructions of Government Officials. More information: www.metoffice.gov.tt/; www.odpm.gov.tt

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 28th, 2022, 1:13 pm

Calling it now its gonna miss Trinidad. Looking at latest satellite it is just north of Tobago

God is indeed a trini

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 28th, 2022, 1:16 pm

the center is not where the rain clouds are
The rainclouds are north of the storm center

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 28th, 2022, 1:23 pm

Tobago should be feeling it now

Expect mostly rain in T&T, though I'm sure it can get gusty up north.

Postby Gladiator » June 28th, 2022, 1:26 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:the center is not where the rain clouds are

LOL you know how long I wanted to type that...

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 28th, 2022, 1:41 pm

Gladiator wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:the center is not where the rain clouds are

LOL you know how long I wanted to type that...

I'm not disagreeing with either of you, but it is very apparent to me that the worst of the storm will be north of Trinidad with Tobago facing the brunt of it.

Storms are very dynamic lots of these forecasts were done hours ago when the center was definitely aligned with Trindiad. Things have changed a lot in the last 2 hours.

Screenshot 2022-06-28 at 6.41.54 pm.jpg
Last edited by Dohplaydat on June 28th, 2022, 1:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » June 28th, 2022, 1:42 pm

so we might get another 1993 brett

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 28th, 2022, 1:44 pm

Called tobago only light rain.
Called Arima no rain

SuperMan9999

Postby SuperMan9999 » June 28th, 2022, 1:46 pm

This storm is clearly not headed for Trinidad we might get some rain if so much.

Remember Trinidad sits outside the hurricane belt. This storm will miss us by some miles well, we will be lucky if we even get rain.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » June 28th, 2022, 1:48 pm

pugboy wrote:so we might get another 1993 brett

Similar mph winds....Bret had 60 mph at its peak. This one they predicting 50 mph I think.

SuperMan9999

Postby SuperMan9999 » June 28th, 2022, 1:50 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:
pugboy wrote:so we might get another 1993 brett

Similar mph winds....Bret had 60 mph at its peak. This one they predicting 50 mph I think.

Yeah but we not getting hit by this storm, it's already gone north. Even Tobago is probably gonna be spared at this point

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 28th, 2022, 1:53 pm

Called Arima again a Lil sun came out

Postby pugboy » June 28th, 2022, 2:07 pm

the proximity to land could be affecting it as they need a proper supply of hot moisture

SuperMan9999

Postby SuperMan9999 » June 28th, 2022, 2:08 pm

Sun finally come out in full up North Trinidad here in Curepe. Seems like the storm completely blew away past Trinidad, not unexpected since we are outside the hurricane belt.

People panic and went home for no reason.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 28th, 2022, 2:10 pm

SuperMan9999 wrote:Sun finally come out in full up North Trinidad here in Curepe. Seems like the storm completely blew away past Trinidad, not unexpected since we are outside the hurricane belt.

you know it didn't reach yet, right?

solarkh

Postby solarkh » June 28th, 2022, 2:24 pm

Heavy rain and winds in the Crown point area.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » June 28th, 2022, 2:28 pm

SuperMan9999 wrote:Sun finally come out in full up North Trinidad here in Curepe. Seems like the storm completely blew away past Trinidad, not unexpected since we are outside the hurricane belt.

So you going to relax maracas for the rest of the day then...

Postby aaron17 » June 28th, 2022, 2:33 pm

So 6pm gonna be it...not now